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Under General Information- Fire Safe Cigarette Registration and Approval Information 

 
Fire Standard Compliant (FSC) Packaging Mark and Brand Family Registration Process 

 
 
Public Act 56 of 2009 known as the Fire Safety Standard and Firefighter Protection Act provides 
for the regulation of the sale and distribution of reduced ignition propensity cigarettes otherwise 
known as “fire safe cigarettes”. These cigarettes are specifically manufactured to self-extinguish 
if they are left unattended. As discarded smoking materials are the second leading cause of home 
fire related deaths and injuries in the United States, this legislation will result in saving lives. 
Michigan is one of 50 states to have this type of law, which took effect on January 1, 2010. 
 
Cigarette manufacturers are required to register their cigarette brand families and pay a fee of 
$1250.00 for each brand family in order to sell these cigarettes in Michigan. Manufacturers, 
distributors and retailers who knowingly continue to sell non- fire-safe cigarettes in Michigan 
will be subject to a fine of $100 per pack and/or product seizure. 
Wholesalers/distributors/retailers will be allowed to sell their existing inventory if they can prove 
the state tax stamp was affixed to the cigarettes before January 1, 2010, in a quantity that is 
comparable to the quantity of cigarettes they purchased during 2009.  
Packaging for these cigarettes are required by law to have a special mark called the Fire Standard 
Compliant (FSC) mark indicating that the cigarettes meet certified laboratory low ignition 
standards. These marks must be submitted to the Bureau of Fire Services for approval.  
 
The approval process for the FSC packaging mark consists of the manufacturer simply sending 
an email with an illustration of the FSC mark on the pack, carton and shipping case that meets 
the requirements of the law attached as a PDF file to statefiremarshal@michigan.gov   
 
The request will be reviewed and an approval email will be sent to the manufacturer within five 
business days.  
 
The approved packaging mark, manufacturer request, approval email, laboratory certification 
and cigarette testing results will be stored electronically for each manufacturer by the Bureau of 
Fire Services. 
 
Manufacturers that have submitted a written request for FSC packaging mark approval will not 
have to submit another request electronically and will receive an approval email. 
 
The brand family and associated brand style registration process consists of an on-line 
registration and payment process for brand families and associated brand styles. Manual 
payments by check or money order may also be made. Manufacturers are required send the 
written laboratory certification and test results for low ignition propensity or self-certification to 
statefiremarshal@michigan.gov  as part of the registration process.  
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As the on-line system does not permit the uploading documents, sending the laboratory 
certification and test results  or self-certification to the Bureau of Fire Services first prior to using 
the on-line system meets the requirement of the law and allows the manufacturer to certify 
during the on-line registration process that this step this has been accomplished.  The 
certification will be for three (3) years and there is no fee for adding additional styles for any 
certified brand family. The direct link for on-line brand family registration is 
www.michigan.gov/fscregistration  
 
The MyLicense system requires a user generated User Identification and Password and accepts 
only Master Card and Visa for credit card payments. The system generates an approval email 
within two to three business days to the customer point of contact to notify them that the brand 
family and associated styles have been approved for sale in the State of Michigan. For customers 
sending a manual payment, the approval process is little longer. The payment must be received 
and processed the Department of Energy Labor and Economic Growth (Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs or DLARA after April 24, 2011) Finance and the proof of payment provided 
to the Bureau of Commercial Services by the Bureau of Fire Services. This process can take up 
to five to ten business days.  
 
Checks or money orders must be made out to the Michigan Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection 
Act Enforcement Fund and mailed to: 
 
Fire Safe Cigarette Registration Payment Processing 
DLARA Office Services Mailroom, 
P.O. Box 30015 
Lansing, Michigan 48909, 
 
 
If UPS or Fed-Ex is used, the street address is: 
 
Fire Safe Cigarette Registration Payment Processing 
DLARA Office Services Mailroom, 
7150 Service Drive 
Lansing, Michigan 48909, 
 
 
The customer is notified by the Bureau of Fire Services by email that they can register their 
brand family and associated styles by going to the direct link for on-line brand family 
registration is www.michigan.gov/fscregistration The system generated email is then sent to the 
customer within two to three business days. It is important to note that sending in the manual 
payment does NOT mean the customer product is automatically registered for sale in the State of 
Michigan. The customer must use the MyLicense system in order to officially register their 
product and be notified the registration has been approved. 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/fscregistration
http://www.michigan.gov/fscregistration


For more information, contact the Assistant to the State Fire Marshal, Dr. Terry Fobbs at 
517.373.8331, email fobbst@michigan.gov 
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FSC Sample Illustration-RJ Reynolds 
 

 
 
 
 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Sample Request Email 
 
 
 
To: statefiremarshal@michigan.gov     date: XXXXXX 
 
From: XYZ Cigarette Manufacturer 
 
 
Re: XYZ Company’s Reduced Ignition Propensity for Michigan 
 
In accordance with the Fire Safety Standard and Firefighter Protection Act, MCL 29.491 et seq,  
XYZ Company hereby seeks approval for use of a certain package marking for cigarettes it will 
sell in Michigan.  
 
Pursuant to MCL 29.501(4) XYZ Company request approval of the letters “FSC” as its marking 
for al cigarettes sold in Michigan under this statute. Attached is an illustration of the marking as 
described in the statute as an exemplar of the communication XYZ Company will provide to 
Michigan’s wholesale dealers and agents that illustrate the use of the marking.   
 
With reference to subsection (5) the marking has been approved by all regulatory agencies from 
those states currently requiring reduced ignition propensity cigarettes, including the New York 
Office of Fire Prevention and Control, and is currently being used by XYZ Company for the sale 
of cigarettes in those states currently requiring reduced ignition propensity cigarettes.  
  
Any questions concerning this request may be directed to: 
 
Company Point of Contact Name 
Telephone Number 
Email address  
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Sample Approval Email 
 
 
 
To: XYZ Company Point of Contact     date: XXXXXX 
 
From: State Fire Marshal Representative 
 
 
Re: XYZ Company’s Reduced Ignition Propensity for Michigan Request 
 
In accordance with the Fire Safety Standard and Firefighter Protection Act, MCL 29.491 et seq,, 
paragraph 29.501,  approval  is granted for XYZ Company for use of a certain package marking 
for cigarettes it will sell in Michigan.  
 
A copy of this approval email will be filed with original request and certification of this approval 
will be required by the applicant when the brand family and associated brand styles are 
registered. In addition certification of laboratory testing of cigarettes sold in this state has been 
received and  certification of the submittal of this documentation will be required by the 
applicant when the brand family and associated brand styles are registered. 
 
This approval remains valid unless packing marking requirements are changed by either State or 
Federal statute.  
 
FOR THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL: 
 
Terry Fobbs, PhD  
Assistant to the State Fire Marshal 
Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth\ 
Bureau of Fire Services 
P.O. Box 30700 
Lansing, MI 48909 
fobbst@michigan.gov 
517.373.8331  
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SAMPLE WRITTEN LABORATORY CERTIFICATION-SANTA 
FE NATURAL TOBACCO COMPANY 

 

 
 
 



SAMPLE WRITTEN LABORATORY CERTIFICATION-SANTA 
FE NATURAL TOBACCO COMPANY 

 
 

 
 



SAMPLE LABORATORY TEST RESULTS-SANTA FE 
NATURAL TOBACCO COMPANY 

 

 
 
 



 
 
 


