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Memorandum 
 
 
 
DATE: August 20, 2008 
 
TO: All Mortgage Broker, Lender, and Servicer Licensees and Registrants 
 
FROM: Mark W. Weigold, Director 
 Consumer Finance Section 
 
SUBJECT: Loan Officer Education, Testing, and Registration 
 
In April 2008, Governor Granholm signed several Bills that amend the Mortgage Brokers, 
Lenders, and Servicers Licensing Act, 1987 PA 173, (MBLSLA), to require the registration of 
loan officers that originate mortgage loans in Michigan.  The new Acts either took immediate 
effect on April 3, 2008, or will take effect January 1, 2009.  Loan officer registration is required 
effective January 1, 2009.  The Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation (OFIR) is 
responsible to administer the MBLSLA.  The following is important information that every 
mortgage broker, lender, and servicer needs to review with their loan officers/originators, staff, 
and counsel. 
 
Loan Officer Legislation 

• The new Public Acts include Act 59, Act 60, Act 61, Act 62, Act 63, Act 64, Act 65, Act 
66, Act 67, Act 68, Act 69, Act 70, and Act 71 are effective April 3, 2008; Act 72 is 
effective January 1, 2009.  The updated MBLSLA can be viewed at the OFIR website. 

 
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) 

• The NMLS was developed by state regulators through the Conference of State Bank 
Supervisors (CSBS) and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators 
(AARMR).  The NMLS will enhance consumer protection and streamline the licensing 
process for regulators and the industry.  Michigan loan officer registration applications 
will be completed and submitted through the NMLS along with a Michigan specific 
application and attestation. 

• The NMLS website may be accessed at www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/nmls.  To view 
the future loan officer registration forms, click on “Licensees,” then “MU Forms.” 

 

http://www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/nmls
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Loan Officer Notification 

• Effective January 1, 2009, an employing licensee or registrant is required to notify OFIR 
within 20 days of hiring or engaging an individual as a loan officer or terminating the 
employment of or agency relationship with a loan officer. 

• Additional information will be posted on the OFIR website as it becomes available. 
 
Loan Officer Registration 

• Loan officer registration is required beginning January 1, 2009. 
• Any individual that is not a loan officer registrant beginning January 1, 2009, will not be 

authorized to originate mortgage loans unless the licensee or registrant that the individual 
is an employee or agent of has completed an acceptable criminal background 
investigation and has provided appropriate electronic notification to the OFIR. 

• Loan officer notification, fingerprints with criminal background investigation, pre-
registration education, testing, application, registration fee, and continuing education will 
be required. 

• Individuals currently licensed as a mortgage broker will also require loan officer 
registration, if they are originating loans. 

• Individuals that have originated mortgage loans 4½ out of the last 5 years effective 
April 3, 2008 are not required to complete pre-registration education if the individual 
meets all other application, testing, and criminal background investigation requirements 
on or before December 3, 2008. 

• Loan officer registration is required effective January 1, 2009; however, a loan officer 
registration paper certificate will not be issued. 

 
Loan Officer Registration Application 

• Applying for loan officer registration will begin October 1, 2008. 
• Applications will be completed electronically though the NMLS. 
• Applications will be submitted by mortgage broker, lender, or servicer licensee/registrant. 
• The mortgage broker, lender, or servicer licensee/registrant and the loan officer are both 

required to attest to the application responses. 
• There will be a Michigan specific section on the loan officer application. 

 
Loan Officer Registration Fees 

• A $350 non-refundable loan officer registration fee must be paid at application. 
• A $30 non-refundable NMLS one time set up fee must be paid at application. (revised 

9/18/08) 
• A $30 non-refundable NMLS annual fee must be paid at application. (revised 9/18/08) 

 
Denial of Loan Officer Registration 

• A loan officer registration shall not be issued if any of the following is met by a loan 
officer registrant applicant: 
1. The individual has been convicted of, or pled no contest to, a felony or misdemeanor 

involving embezzlement, forgery, fraud, a financial transaction, or securities. 
2. Within the 10-year period preceding the date of the application the individual has 

been convicted of, or pled no contest to, a felony involving any felony other than a 
felony involving embezzlement, forgery, fraud, a financial transaction, or securities. 
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3. An individual against whom the commissioner has issued a prohibition order. 
4. An individual for whom the commissioner has not received the results of the criminal 

record check. 
 
Fingerprints and Criminal Background Review 

• Fingerprints are to be taken for all loan officers and all loan officer registrant applicants. 
• Fingerprints will be submitted to the Michigan State Police for a criminal record check. 
• Additional information about how to obtain a criminal record check will be posted on the 

OFIR website as it becomes available. 
 
Pre-Registration Education Requirements 

• 24-hours of pre-registration education are required. 
• The only exception to the 24-hour pre-registration education requirement is for 

individuals that have originated mortgage loans 4½ out of the last 5 years effective 
April 3, 2008, that complete the all application, testing, and criminal background 
investigation requirements on or before December 3, 2008. 

• Approved Michigan pre-education providers will be available on the OFIR website. 
 
Loan Officer Testing 

• Testing will be provided by an approved testing vendor. 
• Testing for loan officer registration will begin October 1, 2008. 
• Each individual must pass the required loan officer registration test with a score of at 

least 75%. 
• Additional information will be posted on the OFIR website as it becomes available. 

 
Mortgage Industry Advisory Board 

• The OFIR approved seven Mortgage Industry Advisory Board (MIAB) members 
effective May 19, 2008.  The approved MIAB members are Allan Daniels, Mark Janssen, 
Michael A. Kus, Pava J. Leyrer, Bruce Rosenblat, Tim Ross, and Mike Winks. 

• The MIAB is responsible for communicating to the commissioner issues of concern to 
the residential mortgage industry and shall review and make recommendations to the 
commissioner concerning: course sponsors or providers, course instructors, and the 
content of and materials for courses provided to loan officers and loan officer applicants; 
content and procedures for examinations given to loan officers; rules proposed under the 
Mortgage Brokers, Lenders, and Servicers Licensing Act; procedures to verify attendance 
at and participation in courses conducted electronically; procedures for maintaining the 
confidentiality of personal identifying information and other information concerning 
mortgage licensees, registrants, and applicants for license or registration; and, any other 
issue referred to the MIAB by the commissioner. 

• The MIAB meeting minutes may be viewed on the OFIR website by clicking on 
“Industry Services,” then “Mortgage and Consumer Finance.” 

 
OFIR Website 

• The general OFIR website address is www.michigan.gov/ofir. 
• For the latest information pertaining to loan officer registration, click on “Industry 

Services,” then “Mortgage and Consumer Finance.” 
• “Frequently Asked Questions” may be viewed on the OFIR website. 

http://www.michigan.gov/ofir
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Timelines 

• August 15, 2008 Pre-registration education provider application is available on the 
OFIR website for all entities that intend to provide pre-registration 
education courses and instructors. 

• September 1, 2008 Pre-registration education courses will be available through 
approved education providers and instructors. 

• October 1, 2008 Loan officer registration tests will be available to potential loan 
officer registrants through an approved testing vendor. 

• October 1, 2008 Loan officer registration application will be available through 
NMLS. 

• January 1, 2009 Loan officers must be registered. 
 
Future correspondence will be available on the OFIR website www.michigan.gov/ofir.  Please 
continue to check the OFIR website to verify requirements to register Michigan loan officers. 

http://www.michigan.gov/ofir

