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October 7, 2009 
 
TO: All Mortgage Broker, Lender, and Servicer Licensees/Registrants, Loan Officer 
Registrants, and Interested Parties 
 
RE: New Loan Originator License Required July 31, 2010 
 
On July 27, 2009, Governor Granholm signed four Bills that pertain to the licensing of 
individuals that originate mortgage loans in Michigan.  The new Public Acts (PA) either became 
effective July 31, 2009, or will take effect July 31, 2010.  Individuals, including individuals that 
are currently registered as loan officers, will be required to comply with the requirements of the 
new “Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act” beginning July 31, 2010. 
 
Please review this letter very carefully with your Counsel and staff, including loan 
officers/originators, processors, and underwriters.  This letter is a brief overview of new loan 
originator licensing requirements, and does not address every item in the Mortgage Loan 
Originator Licensing Act. 
 
Mortgage Loan Originator Legislation 
 
The new Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act, 2009 PA 75 (Senate Bill 462) requirements 
are effective July 31, 2010.  Three additional Public Acts, 76 (Senate Bill 463), 77 (Senate Bill 
464), and 78 (Senate Bill 465), amend the Mortgage Brokers, Lenders, and Servicers Act, 1987 
PA 173, the Secondary Mortgage Loan Act, 1981 PA 125, and the Consumer Financial Services 
Act, 1988 PA 161 effective July 31, 2010 to align with the new Mortgage Loan Originator 
Licensing Act.  These Public Acts can be viewed at the Michigan Legislature website at:  
www.legislature.mi.gov. 
 
Components of the Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act 
 
The Mortgage Loan Originator Licensing Act (MLOLA) was written to bring Michigan into 
compliance with the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (“SAFE 
Act”).  Failure to comply with the minimum standards set under the SAFE Act would have 
resulted in the Department of Housing and Urban Development establishing standards to license 
and regulate loan originators in Michigan. 
 
To meet SAFE Act standards, the MLOLA includes the following: 
 

 Licensing of state mortgage loan originators. 
 State licensing exemption for mortgage loan originators of depository institutions and 

their subsidiaries.1 
 Electronic application and renewal of mortgage loan originators through the Nationwide 

Mortgage Licensing System & Registry (NMLS&R). 
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 Fingerprints submitted to the NMLS&R.FBI background history checks with results 
returned to the NMLS&R for State review. 

 Credit report checks for each loan originator. 
 20 hours of pre-licensing education approved by the NMLS&R. 
 8 hours of continuing education approved by the NMLS&R. 
 NMLS&R mortgage loan originator national and state tests, each required to be passed 

with a minimum score of 75%. 
 Surety bond for each mortgage loan originator based on volume of loans closed. 
 Mortgage Call Report. 
 Reporting of enforcement actions. 
 Providing public access to mortgage loan originator information through the NMLS&R. 
 Providing consumer complaint processing through the NMLS&R. 
 Establishing protocols for use of a unique identifier through the NMLS&R. 

 
1Individuals who are employed by and are originating mortgage loans for depository institutions 
and their subsidiaries are required to register with the NMLS&R, and are not required to be State 
licensed. 

 
Currently registered individuals and those intending to originate loans on or after July 31, 2010, 
must become licensed under the new MLOLA. 
 
Meeting MLOLA Requirements  
 
A. Existing Mortgage Loan Officer Registrant 
 

1. Loan Officer Registration Renewal 
 
An individual that is currently registered as a Michigan loan officer will need to renew his/her 
loan officer registration in 2009.  The renewal fee that will be paid in 2009 will apply to the loan 
officer registration and the loan originator license for the period January 1, 2010, through 
December 31, 2010.  The approved renewal fee to be paid in 2009 for the 2010 loan officer 
registration period is $250.  Please be advised that continuing education will not be required in 
2009 to meet the renewal requirement.  Loan officer registration renewals will be conducted 
through the NMLS&R. 
 

2. Loan Officer Registration to Loan Originator License Transition 
 
All loan officer registrations will expire on July 30, 2010; therefore, individuals will be required 
to transition from a loan officer registrant to a loan originator licensee on July 31, 2010.  To meet 
transition standards, a loan officer registrant will, in addition to the requirements already met as a 
loan officer registrant, need to meet the following on or before July 31, 2010: 
 

 Submit fingerprints to the NMLS&R. 
 Credit report obtained by the NMLS&R. 
 Complete 20 hours of NMLS&R approved pre-licensing education.2 
 Take and pass the NMLS&R national test.3 
 Submit a bond in the amount of $10,000, $25,000, or $50,000.4 
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2A loan officer registrant that previously took the required 24 hour pre-registration education 
course through an approved Michigan pre-registration education provider will not be required to 
take an additional 20 hours of NMLS&R approved pre-licensing education.  All other 
individuals, including Michigan loan officer registrants that were previously “grandfathered” and 
exempt from pre-registration education will be required to meet the 20 hours of NMLS&R 
approved pre-licensing education. 
 
3All individuals, including current loan officer registrants, will be required to take and pass the 
NMLS&R national test with a minimum 75% score.  Loan officer registrants that took and 
passed the Michigan loan officer registration test will not be required to take and pass the 
NMLS&R state test to obtain their loan originator license. 
 
4A surety bond is required for all loan originator licensees in the following amounts: 

 $10,000 bond is required for a new loan originator applicant, and for a loan originator 
licensee that during the preceding calendar year closed $0 to less than $12,000,000 in 
mortgage loans. 

 $25,000 bond is required for a loan originator licensee that during the preceding calendar 
year closed $12,000,000 to less than $24,000,000 in mortgage loans. 

 $50,000 bond is required for a loan originator licensee that during the preceding calendar 
year closed $24,000,000 or more in mortgage loans. 

 
B. New Mortgage Loan Officer Applicants Prior to July 31, 2010 
 
Individuals intending to originate mortgage loans in Michigan prior to July 31, 2010, will still be 
required to apply for and obtain a mortgage loan officer registration.  The following 
requirements are still the same to obtain a loan officer registration: 
 

 Fingerprints obtained through L1; submitted to the Michigan State Police and FBI; results 
returned to employer. 

 Complete 24 hours of in-Michigan live pre-registration education.5 
 Take and pass the Michigan loan officer registration test.6 
 Loan officer registration application submitted through the NMLS. 
 Paper Michigan form FIS 2080 submitted to OFIR. 
 $350 loan officer registration fee for applications submitted prior to January 1, 2010.  The 

registration fee is reduced to $250 beginning January 1, 2010, for calendar licensing year 
2010. 

 
5An individual may take the NMLS&R approved pre-license course; however, 24 hours is 
required, and the course must be a live course taught in Michigan.  The NMLS&R approved pre-
license course will meet Michigan’s prelicensure education requirement effective July 31, 2010, 
for a loan originator license. 
 
6Beginning October 22, 2009, an individual may take the NMLS&R national and the NMLS&R 
Michigan state tests.  By passing each test with a minimum score of 75%, the individual will 
meet Michigan’s loan officer registration requirement and the loan originator license requirement 
effective July 31, 2010. 
 
C. New Mortgage Loan Originator Applicants Beginning July 31, 2010 
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The new loan originator licensure requirements are as follows: 
 

 Complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education approved by the NMLS&R.7 
 Pass the NMLS&R mortgage loan originator national and state tests with a minimum 

score of 75%.8 
 Loan originator license application submitted through the NMLS&R. 
 $250 loan originator application fee. 
 Fingerprints submitted to the NMLS&R, who will submit them to the FBI. 
 FBI background history check results will be returned to the NMLS&R for State review. 
 Credit report check for each loan originator obtained by the NMLS&R. 
 Surety bond submitted by individual or surety bond submitted by employer.  Surety bond 

is based on volume of loans closed. 
 Mortgage Call Report submitted electronically through the NMLS&R. 

 
7Completing 20 hours of pre-licensing education approved by the NMLS&R will meet the 
requirement for all participating states (exception: if a state requires more than 20 hours of pre-
licensing education). 
 
8An individual will only need to take and pass the NMLS&R national test once to meet the 
requirement for all states. 
 
Please note that the MLOLA requires a loan processor or an underwriter who is an 
independent contractor to obtain and maintain a loan originator license. 
 
Exemptions 
 
Unless specifically exempted under Section 5(2) of the MLOLA, beginning July 31, 2010, an 
individual shall not engage in the business of a mortgage loan originator with respect to any 
dwelling located in this state without first obtaining and maintaining annually a mortgage loan 
originator license. The MLOLA specifically exempts to the following: 
 

 A registered mortgage loan originator when the individual is an employee of and 
originating mortgage loans on behalf of a depository institution, a subsidiary of a 
depository institution, or an institution regulated by the Farm Credit Association. 

 An individual who offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan with or on 
behalf of an immediate family member of that individual. 

 An individual who offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan secured by a 
dwelling that served as his or her residence. 

 A licensed attorney who negotiates the terms of a residential mortgage loan on behalf of a 
client as an ancillary matter to the attorney's representation of the client, unless the 
attorney is compensated by a lender, mortgage broker, or other mortgage loan originator 
or by any agent of a lender, mortgage broker, or other mortgage loan originator. 

 
The MLOLA states under Section 5(5) that an individual engaged in the business of a mortgage 
loan originator is not required to obtain and maintain a license under this act until July 31, 2011, 
if that individual is employed exclusively by a mortgage servicer; if that individual is authorized 
to perform loan modification activities concerning existing residential mortgage loans, and not to 
originate new residential mortgage loans or perform any other activities of a mortgage loan 
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originator, on behalf of that mortgage servicer; and if this extension of time is not inconsistent 
with any guideline, rule, regulation, or interpretative letter of the United States Department of 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) concerning the interpretation of the SAFE act and its 
applicability to loan modification activities. 
 
Additional instruction and information is available on the NMLS&R website:  
www.stateregulatoryregistry.org. 
 
If you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact the Consumer Finance Licensing 
Unit toll free at (877) 999-6442, or you can contact Senior Analysts Brandye Sedelmaier at 
Sedelmaier@michigan.gov or Deb Smith at smithd39@michigan.gov. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
/s/ 
 
Ken Ross 
Commissioner 
 
mww\h:c drive data\Letters\2009 Loan Originator Legislation 

 
 

 
Street/Overnight Delivery Address: 611 W. OTTAWA STREET, 3rd FLOOR, LANSING, MICHIGAN  48933 

Mailing Address: P.O. BOX 30220, LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-7720 
www.michigan.gov   TOLL FREE (877) 999-6442  LOCAL (517) 373-0220 

 


