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As we approach the end of an era,
Michigan can be proud of the
accomplishments achieved during the
past 28 years in the built environment.
Michigan’s safety record in buildings
isone to be admired. Since the State
Construction Code Act was passed
by the legislature in 1972, establishing
for the first time in Michigan,
requirements for the uniform
application of construction regulations
throughout the state, we have made
continual improvements. This first
effort helped to create standards for
the construction of buildings and
structures that complimented the
licensing provisions established for
the various construction trades.

Since that initial adoption we have
made great strides in improving the
built environment. These include
improvements in licensing provisions,
updating of codes, and the
implementation of inspector
registration.

We have improved the licensing
provisions to make the construction of
buildings a friendlier environment by
clarifying the regulations by which
construction is measured and
improving the standards by which
individuals are licensed. Improvements
such as triennial licensure, improved
testing methods, and speedier test
results have all aided in this effort.

Improvements in the codes haslong
been a goal of the Bureau. Tothisend
we have worked to simplify the code
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Assistant Elevator Chief Appointed

Bob Schumacher has been appointed to the position of assistant
chief of the bureau’s Elevator Safety Division. Mr. Schumacher will
be responsible for review and approval of elevator permit
applications, training and technical assistance, direct supervision of
state elevator inspectors, and other special projects. Prior to his
appointment to this position Bob worked in the elevator industry for 8
years and as a state elevator inspector for 3 years. Mr. Schumacher
is very excited about his new challenge and looks forward to
continuing his relationship with representatives of the elevator
industry. Bob may be reached at (517) 241-9337.

Plumbing Code Rules Update

The bureau is in the final stages of the Legislative process to
update the state plumbing code rules. It is anticipated these rules
will be filed with the Secretary of State in February with a March 1,
1999, effective date. Rules will be mailed to the clerks of all local
units of government, all registered plumbing inspectors, licensed
master and journey plumbers, manufacturers of premanufactured
units, and approved inspection agencies. If you wish to receive a
copy of these rules please send a check for $2.50 per copy, made
payable to the State of Michigan, to the Bureau of Construction
Codes, P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, Michigan 48909.

Inspector Registration Alert

A REMINDER TO ALL REGISTERED INSPECTORS IN CYCLE ONE:
The deadline for obtaining all training and education hours necessary
for re-registration is September 17, 1999. That deadline is less than
eight months away. By now, you should have obtained over seventy-
five percent of the required hours needed for re-registration.

Please review the Educational Credit Statement you recently
received which indicates the number of hours you have achieved to
date. Please compare this information with your records. If there is a
discrepancy in the number of hours recorded, you should contact our
office in writing, or contact the program provider to determine if the
attendance rosters for the programs you attended, but have not
received credit for, have been forwarded to our office. If you have
any questions, you may call the Office of Local Government and
Consumer Services at (517) 241-9347.
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requirements and to provide tools that assist both
the seasoned professional and novice in
understanding the technical application of
construction standards. These improvements
have included specific training programs, the use
of technical bulletins that provide information on
various technical and legal topics affecting the
construction industry, and the participation in on-
going code development and standards activities
to meet the changes in technology.

In 1986, the first regulations governing
inspectors was enacted. Act No. 54 provides a
basis to determine minimum qualifications for
inspection personnel. These provisions again
provided complimentary standards to enhance
the built environment and the application of
construction regulations.

As we enter a new era, we can look forward
to continued efforts to improve our program and
enhancements of communications and
understanding between code officials and those
in the construction industry. Most recently, the
bureau installed a new permitting system. While
we have more improvements to achieve in this
system, it has shown certain advancements we
previously did not have available. A new
inspector data collection system is on the horizon
and will be put in place within the next several
months.

It is time to work on other areas to facilitate the
submission of applications for permits through
such items as common application forms, billing
for permits, on-line submission of applications,
electronic plan reviews, and the use of current
technology to improve the speed and
effectiveness in which we communicate with
our clients.

The Bureau of Construction Codes looks
forward to these and many more opportunities
that lie ahead.
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Can an Electrical Utility be
a Licensed Electrical Contractor?

Recently, several electrical cooperatives have applied for and received electrical
contractors licenses. This has raised questions from several other contractors and from
enforcing agencies throughout the state. Act No. 217, P.A. 1956, as amended prescribes
requirements for issuance of licenses. Section 338.883b of the act states, in part:

"(1) The department of labor shall issue an electrical contractor’s license to a person
who does all of the following:

(a) Holds a master electrician’s license or has not less than 1 master
electrician residing in this state who is in his or her full-time employ. That
master electrician shall be actively in charge of and responsible for code
compliance of all installations of electrical wiring and equipment.”
(emphasis added)

Review of applications in these instances indicates that all requirements for licensure
have been met. Therefore, the answer to the questions is yes!

There may be underlying reasons for the question. For example, is the electrical
contracting business sufficiently separated from the utility, to remove any implication of
unfair competition with individual business? The act does not address this issue,
however, hearings on electrical utility deregulation have brought this issue forward.
Another reason for the question may be related to the issue of enforcement of licensed
practitioners (journeyman, masters, and registered apprentices) performing the electrical
installations. The act specifically states that licensed persons shall perform the
installations and that they shall be employed by and working at the direction of a licensed
electrical contractor. This would not allow the electrical contracting part of the utility to use
the utility’s linemen to perform electrical installations because they are not required to be
licensed.

The bottom line is if a utility company has an electrical contractor’s license, that work
must be regulated in accordance with the act. If you have any questions, please contact
the Electrical Division at (517) 241-9320.

Flexible Gas Piping

In November 1997, an article was written answering three questions regarding flexible
gas piping. On November 30, 1998, the new state code (1996 International Mechanical
Code with Part 9a amendments) became effective. This article will answer the same
questions based on the code now in effect.

The three original questions and revised answers are as follows:

(1) Can this be installed strictly to the installation instructions that are shipped with the
product? Answer-Flexible gas piping must be installed according to the following
conditions:

a. Shall be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation instructions.

b. Shall comply with the Michigan Mechanical Code.

c. Shall be installed in accordance with ANSI LC 1-1993 when installed
underground.

d. Can be used in combination with other gas piping materials.

e. One manufacturer’s flexible gas piping can not have direct contact with any other
manufacturer’s flex piping or fitting.

(2) Can flexible gas piping be concealed? Answer-Flexible gas piping and fittings can
be concealed. The fittings must be listed and tested to ANSI LC 1-1993 for concealment.

(3) Can flexible gas piping be run directly to an appliance? Answer-When installing
furnaces and water heaters the CSST may be installed directly to the piping which
connects to the gas valve. When connecting to a gas fireplace you must connect the
CSST to a termination fitting and from that point the appliance may be connected.

Although there are many other questions that are asked from time to time, these are the
three most asked questions.

If you need clarification, please contact Tennison B. Barry, Chief, Mechanical Division at
(517) 241-9325.
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Licenses for Installing or
Repairing Boilers

The Boiler Act of 1965, P.A. 290
states:

Section 13, (1&2) A person shall
not engage in the business of
installing or repairing a boiler
unless the person has obtained a
license from the director.

In order to obtain a license from the
boiler division one must pass a
written exam and score a minimum of
70% on that exam. The exam is
made up of multiple choice questions;
the higher the class of license the
more questions on the exam and the
more material covered. The exam
guestions are taken from the
Michigan Boiler Law and Rules and
the appropriate ASME Code for the
applicable license classification.

Applicants for the exam must meet
the minimum requirements of Act 290
which states that a person applying
for a boiler license shall have notless
than 5 years of experience in all
areas of the class of license for which
the person is applying. A credit of 2
years of experience towards the 5
years of experience may be given for
2 years experience in the design,
construction, manufacture, or
inspection of boilers.

A person meeting the minimum
experience requirements needs to
apply to the Boiler Division for an
application to take the exam. This
application must be received by the
Boiler Division 30 days prior to the
exam date. The dates for the exam
are the first Wednesday and Thursday
of March, June, September and
December. The exam is given in
Okemos and Escanaba.

Questions and applications may be
requested by calling the Boiler
Division at (517) 241-9334.

Scheduled Board Meetings

MEETING DATE TIME PLACE
Board of Mechanical Rules Feb. 17 9:00 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3
Electrical Administrative Board Feb. 19 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 1
Board of Mechanical Rules Feb. 24 9:00 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3
Construction Code Comm. Mar. 3 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3
Board of Boiler Rules Mar. 9 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 1
Barrier Free Design Board Mar. 12 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 1
Elevator Safety Board Mar. 19 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3
State Plumbing Board Mar. 30 10:00 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 2
State Plumbing Board Apr. 14 10:00 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 2
Electrical Administrative Board Apr. 16 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 2
Board of Mechanical Rules Apr. 28 9:00 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3
Construction Code Comm. May 5 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3
Barrier Free Design Board May 14 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 2
Elevator Safety Board May 21 9:30 a.m. Okemos-Conf. Room 3

Okemos = 2501 Woodlake Circle, Okemos, Ml

License Exam Schedule

EXAM DATE PLACE DEADLINE
Mechanical Contractor Exam Mar. 11 Lansing Feb. 19
Elevator Contractor &

Certificate-of-Competency Exam  Mar. 19 Okemos Feb. 26
Electrical Exam Mar. 24/25 Lansing Feb. 24
Plumbing Exam Mar. 31 East Lansing Mar. 12
Elevator Journeyperson Exam Apr. 14 Okemos Mar. 26
Elevator Contractor &

Certificate-of-Competency Exam  May 21 Okemos Apr. 30
Electrical Exam May 27 Escanaba Apr. 29
Boiler National Board Exam Jun. 2/3 Okemos May 2
Boiler Installer/Repairer Exam Jun. 2/3 Okemos May 2
Plumbing Exam Jun. 2 East Lansing May 14
Mechanical Contractor Exam Jun. 15 Lansing May 26
Electrical Exam Jun. 23/24 Lansing May 25

*Dates and locations are subject to change.

Automatic Sprinklers in Elevator Shafts
and Elevator Machine Rooms

It was reported in the August 1998 issue of the CIS Bulletin that the Elevator Safety
Division and the Office of Fire Safety agreed upon a policy regarding the placement of
sprinklers in elevator shafts and machine rooms. Confusion still seems to exist
regarding the statement that “each elevator “system” shall have a readily accessible
shut off valve.” The intent of this statement is that each separate area i.e., hoistway,
pit, and/or machine room shall have their own shut off valve. Questions regarding this
issue should be directed to the Elevator Safety Division at (517) 241-9337.

Statewide Plumbing Fixture Requirements

All licensed installers and enforcing municipalities are reminded that assembly use
group occupancies greater than 150 occupants are subject to the state plumbing
code, Part 7, fixture table requirements. The State Construction Code Act of 1972 in
section 8 (10) clarifies male and female fixture requirements for sake of uniformity.
The rule requirements address increased number of fixtures for female occupants.

This clarification of the Part 7 authority is necessary due to several governmental
subdivisions updating their plumbing codes to the 1997 International Plumbing Code
with or without technical amendments.

The Bureau has continued its efforts to update the state plumbing code
enforcement of the 1997 International Plumbing Code with far fewer technical
amendments this code cycle. The division anticipates an enforcement date of March
1,1999.

Individuals having questions related to this matter may call the Plumbing Division at
(517) 241-9330.
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Ice Shield

Please note that an error was made in the 1% printing of the
Part 9a, Mechanical Code Rules, incorporating the 1996
edition of the International Mechanical Code. The errorwas
made in Rule 408.30906a. The word “replacement” should
not have beenincluded in M 106.2. (j). The correctrule
language is printed below.

A copy of this errata was previously mailed to licensed
mechanical contractors, registered mechanical inspectors,
clerks of each governmental subdivision, premanufacturers,
and third party inspection agencies. We apologize for any
confusion this error may have caused.

M-106.2. Permits not required: A person is not required
to obtain a permit to perform mechanical work on any of the
following items:

(@ Aportable heating or gas appliance.

(b) Portable ventilation equipment.

(c) Aportable cooling unit.

(d) A minor part thatis replaced if the replacement does
not affect equipment approval or make it unsafe.

(e) Aportable evaporative cooler.

() Self-contained refrigeration equipment and a window-
type air conditioner that is not more than 1.5
horsepower.

(@ Aboileror pressure vessel for which a permitis
required by sections 17 and 18 of Act No. 290 of the
Public Acts of 1965, as amended, being §8408.767
and 408.768 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.

(h)y Anoil burner that does not require connection to a
flue, such as an oil stove and a heater equipped with
a wick.

() Aportable gas burner that has inputs of less than
30,000 Btu’s per hour.

() Gas piping limited to 10 feet in length and not more
than 6 fittings.

Section 1507.4 of the 1996 edition of the BOCA
National Building Code (BNBC) requires ice shield under
steep-sloped roof covering. It is to be installed in all
climates where the average daily January temperature
is 25 degrees or less. The provisions of section 1507.2
of the 1993 edition of the BNBC were identical. The
Climate Atlas of Michigan indicates that the entire state
has an average daily January temperature less than 25
degrees. The atlas is provided by the Michigan
Department of Agriculture and is based on a 30 year
climatic study.

The 1996 edition of the BNBC designates the
underlayment as Type I. In the 1993 edition of the
BNBC the underlayment is designated as Type 15. The
new designation is in accordance with ASTM D 226
standard, referenced in section 1507.1, for the old Type
15. The ice shield must be “at least 2 layers of
underlayment cemented together or of a waterproofing
membrane”. The code does not acknowledge the use
of a single layer of Type Il (Type 30) as an alternate.
This is because the heavier felt does not have
properties equal to those of 2 layers of Type | cemented
together. There are products that are available to be
used in a single layer as a waterproof membrane.

The ice shield is required to extend from the eave
edge of the roof to a point 24 inches inside the exterior
wall line. This is measured horizontally from the interior
face of the exterior wall and vertically by a straight line
projection to the roof line. It is essential that the
waterproof membrane extend over the heated interior to
this point to prevent passage of water from melting ice.

If you have any questions, please contact the Building
Section at (517) 241-9317.
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