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STATE OF MICHIGAN 

EXAMINATION INFORMATION 

MASTER PLUMBER 
 
 
 
EXAMINATION AUTHORITY 
The State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733 with licensing rules establishes the criteria, which 
controls the examinations and issuances of plumbing licenses in the State of Michigan. 

 
APPLICATION FORMS AVAILABILITY 
The forms and others are available on the Bureau of Construction Codes web site - 
www.michigan.gov/bcc.  Various other forms and copies of the law are available for use 
based upon your area of interest. 

 
The site can be accessed by: 

1. Selecting the FORMS button 
2. Selecting PLUMBING DIVISION 

 
Further inquiries may be directed to the following: 

Bureau of Construction Codes 
Plumbing Division 
P. O. Box 30254 
Lansing, Michigan 48909 
Telephone: (517) 241-9330 

 
ELIGIBILITY 
To qualify for the examination a person shall be 18 years of age and have 4,000 hours 
experience in work as a journey plumber over a period of not less than 2 years immediately 
preceding the date of application. 

 
The plumbing law requires all examinees to be of good moral character as defined and 
determined under 1974 PA 381.  All applications request background information if the 
applicant has been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor. When an applicant states yes 
a review process will be initiated. Failure to accurately report a conviction history will result 
in forfeiting any rights of consideration for examination. 

 
CANDIDATES WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 
If you have a disability and require an accommodation to take the examination, please 
submit written documentation from a professional (education professional, doctor, 
psychologist, psychiatrist) to certify that your disabling condition requires the requested test 
accommodation. Accommodation request forms are available on our web site or you may 
contact this office. 

http://www.michigan.gov/bccfs
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OVERVIEW OF THE EXAMINATION 
The master examination consists of a material take off practical, building chart practical 
and written question test.  The tests portions are an open book test using the 
Michigan Plumbing Code and the State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733. The material take off 
and chart practical examinations shall be completed in three hours in the morning and the 
written in two and a half hours in the afternoon. 

 
The material take off practical consists of a drawing indicating back-to-back rest rooms on 
17½” x 23½” sheet, not drawn to scale.  All pertinent data is provided to enable the 
applicant using the code to list the required amount of pipe, fittings, and identify venting 
methods. 

 
The building practical consists of a 4 to 5 story building drawing on a 17½” x 23½” sheet, 
drawn to scale.  The applicant is to provide the sanitary and storm lines, sizing, venting, 
sump, cleanouts, and water supply system information in accordance to code. 

 
The written examination consists of 100 multiple choice questions answered on a machine- 
graded form.  The questions are based upon drainage systems, general knowledge, 
fixtures, water/backflow protection, storm/special waste, testing and inspections, venting, 
and knowledge of the State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733. 

 
SAMPLE QUESTION 
1. The minimum size of a water service is    inches. 

A. ½” 
B. 5/8” 
C. ¾” 
D. 1” 

The applicant fills in C for question 1 on the answer sheet. 
 
Candidates must receive a minimum of 70% on all parts of the examination to qualify for a 
license. 

 
EXAMINATION DATES 
Examinations are given in March, June, July (in the Upper Peninsula only for a limited 
number of those residents), September and December of each year. 

 
All parking is free at the MSU Agricultural and Livestock Pavilion.  The most convenient 
place to park will be in the EXHIBITORS LOT. You may use Entrance “P” for admission to 
the examination.  Maps will be mailed with the admission card. 

 
APPLICATIONS AND FEES 
Applications and fees must be submitted to the State of Michigan/Plumbing Division. The 
master examination fee is $100.00. 

 
ADMISSION TO THE EXAMINATION 
If approved for examination, an admission card will be mailed to you approximately 7 days 
prior to the examination date.  The admission card shows the candidate number, date, 
location, and time of the exam.   Only pre-registered candidates are admitted to the 
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examination.  No walk-in applicants are admitted. 
 
WHAT TO BRING TO THE EXAMINATION 
Candidates must bring their admission card and an official signed photo identification to be 
admitted to the examination. No one is admitted to the examination without picture 
identification. 

 
The following materials are to be furnished by the applicant: 

• At least two sharpened #2 pencils are required to mark answer sheets. 
• Silent non-printing calculators and scale conversion rulers are permitted. 
• Michigan Plumbing Code book 
• A copy of the State Plumbing Act, 2002 PA 733, which shall be unmarked. 

 
ITEMS NOT PERMITTED AT THE EXAMINATION 
Cameras, videotaping equipment, recorders, cell phones and PDA’s are prohibited. 
Further programmable calculators, note paper, notes or other material will not be allowed 
into the examination site. 

 
The IPC Commentary is not permitted.  Chapter index tabs are acceptable. 

 
LICENSE ISSUANCES 
All scores are mailed simultaneously after grading and board approval.  To insure 
confidentiality exam scores are not given over the telephone.  Successful applicants 
receive a license after payment of the initial license $300.00 fee for a period of up to three 
years dependent upon the current masters licensing cycle. 

 
FAILURE OF EXAMINATION 
If the applicant fails the examination, the application is canceled and the fee forfeited. 
Notification includes a reexamination application form. Applicants are eligible to apply for 
the next examination by completing the reexamination form and sending it to the Plumbing 
Division with the examination fee. 


