
General Instructions

Per the Mobile Home Commission Act, “A person shall not operate a mobile home park or seasonal mobile home park without a license.”

Per Manufactured Housing General Rules, 

	 “Rule 204.  An applicant shall file a change to a licensing application with the department within 30 days after the change is made.”

	 �“Rule 214k.  (1) If a licensing application is for a new community or an expansion to an existing community, then the applicant shall submit 
a completed application to the department on a form prescribed by the department.

	 �(2) If a licensing application is for a community that is or was licensed to another person, then the applicant shall submit a completed 
application to the department on a form prescribed by the department not more than 30 days after the date the community is conveyed by 
deed or land contract.

	 (3) After conveyance, the applicant is responsible for operation of the community.”

	 �“Rule 214n.  (1) Except as provided in subrule (2) of this rule, before the department issues an initial license for a new community or adds 
additional home sites to the community’s existing license, all of the following shall be certified to be complete under the provisions of the act:

	 �(a) Internal roads servicing the completed home sites. The owner may construct the final lift of the road in the next construction season if a 
bond covering the cost of constructing the final lift is delivered to the department before licensure. The bond shall be made payable to the 
“State of Michigan.”

	 (b) Home site individual sidewalk.
	 (c) Common sidewalks, if provided, servicing the completed home sites.
	 (d) Parking servicing the home site.
	 (e) Patios, if provided.
	 (f) Permanent foundations.
	 (g) Internal road lighting servicing the completed home sites.
	 (h) At a minimum, the stabilization of the soil on the completed home sites to prevent, as much as possible, erosion and soil runoff.
	 �(2) Upon approval by the department, all of the following may be constructed after licensing of a home site for the purpose of customizing 

the home site to a specific home:
	 (a) The home site individual sidewalk.
	 (b) Parking on the home site.
	 (c) Patio, if provided.
	 (d) Light fixture, if on the home site.
	 (e) Permanent foundation.
	 (3) The applicant shall file all of the following documents with the license application for a new community or additional home sites:
	 �(a) An affidavit signed by the community owner or operator and an engineer or architect stating that the construction was completed 

according to the approved plans and specifications under the provisions of the act. If the community owner or operator elects to complete 
the home site under the provisions of subrule (2) of this rule, then the affidavit shall specifically state that the home site construction shall be 
completed before the home is occupied and shall be 12 completed according to the approved plans and specifications. The affidavit shall 
cite the specific home sites to be licensed by home site number.

	 (b) Certification of the community sewer system by home site number under the provisions of R 325.3391.
	 (c) Certification of the community-owned electrical system by home site number under the provisions of R 325.3391.
	 �(4) Before the department may issue a license, the department shall receive certification of the home sites by the Michigan department of 

environmental quality and the Michigan department of labor and economic growth under the provisions of the act.
	 �(5) It is a violation of this rule and the act if any home that is placed on a home site is occupied by residents before the home site is licensed. 

In a licensed community, each home site that has a home occupied by residents shall be licensed whether or not it is being offered to the 
public.”

Mobile Home Dealer and Installer/Repairer Licenses:  A mobile home park license is expressly for the operation of a park.  Additional licenses 
for selling or installing and repairing manufactured homes must be applied for separately through the Bureau of Construction Codes, Building 
Division.  A Mobile Home Dealer License allows for the business of offering mobile homes for sale, and a Mobile Home Installer and Repairer 
License allows for the business of installing or disassembling the installation of homes, or servicing a mobile home for compensation.

Certificate of Compliance:  As a condition of licensing pursuant to Executive order No. 2006-16 and Sections 16 (3)  and 17 (1) of the Mobile 
Home Commission Act, the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) is required to conduct annual inspections of mobile home 
and seasonal mobile home parks and grant certificates of compliance for the purpose of licensing.   Inquiries regarding certification may be 
directed to LARA’s Bureau of Construction Codes, Building Division at 517-241-9317.



Instructions for Application for Mobile Home Park License

Required Submittals for Park Licensing

For each separate park, submit completed application, appropriate fee made payable to the State of Michigan and required documentation as stated below.  Your 
application will not be processed if incomplete or without the required fees and documentation.  There is no written test for this license.

Mobile Home Park
“LHD” - Local Health Department, “DEQ” - Department of Environmental Quality, “LEA” - Local Enforcing Agency

License Type Fee Documents Notes

New or 
Change of 
Ownership of 
Existing Park

$225.00 for 25 sites 
or less, plus $3.00 for 
each site in excess 
of 25

•  Legal documentation proving ownership to entity listed 	
	 under Owner Information
•  Certifications or approvals:
	 •  LHD or DEQ - On-site water supply and wastewater 	
	 	 systems are in compliance.  If municipal connections, 	
	 	 letter from governing municipality stating connected 	
	 	 to their system(s) and an official satisfactory report of 	
		  water sample taken from the park.
	 •	 LEA - No outstanding local ordinance or code 	 	
	 	 violations and whether park is in flood plain.

•	 Changes in ownership shall be 	
	 filed not more than 30 days 	
	 after date park is conveyed by 	
	 deed or land contract.
•	 �Site(s) must be licensed prior 
to resident occupying site.

•	 �Upon receipt of applicable 
documents and fees, the 
Building Division will conduct 
inspection of previously 
unlicensed sites.

Additional 
Sites to an 
Existing Park

$3.00 for each 
site (include only if 
combined number of 
existing and additional 
sites exceeds 25)

•	 �Mobile Home Park Construction Affidavit
•	 �Certification of park sewer system by site number 
•	 �Certification of park-owned electrical system by site 

number

Seasonal Park
“LHD” - Local Health Department, “DEQ” - Department of Environmental Quality, “LEA” - Local Enforcing Agency

License Type Fee Documents Notes

New or 
Change of 
Ownership of 
Existing Park 
License

$120.00 for 25 sites 
or less, plus $1.50 for 
each site

•  Legal documentation proving ownership to entity listed 	
	 under Owner Information
•  Certifications or approvals:
	 •  LHD or DEQ - On-site water supply and wastewater 	
	 	 systems are in compliance.  If municipal connections, 	
	 	 letter from governing municipality stating connected 	
	 	 to their system(s) and an official satisfactory report of 	
		  water sample taken from the park.
	 •	 LEA - No outstanding local ordinance or code 	 	
	 	 violations and whether park is in flood plain.

•	 Changes in ownership shall    	
	 be filed not more than 30 days 	
	 after date park is conveyed by 	
	 deed or land contract.
•	 �Site(s) must be licensed prior 
to resident occupying site.

•	 �Upon receipt of applicable 
documents and fees, the 
Building Division will conduct 
inspection of previously 
unlicensed sites.

Additional 
Sites to a 
Seasonal Park

$1.50 for each 
site (include only if 
combined number of 
existing and additional 
sites exceeds 25)

•	 �Mobile Home Park Construction Affidavit
•	 �Certification of park sewer system by site number 
•	 �Certification of park-owned electrical system by site 

number

	 	
Licenses are issued in 3-year cycles which expire September 30.  A renewal application is mailed to each licensee every 3 years in August and must be returned 
before October 1 with the applicable fees.  All licensees are on the same 3-year cycle.

Park Information:  Provide all requested information including the address for the physical location of the park; not a post office location.  If the owner is a foreign 
(non-Michigan) corporation, limited liability company, or limited or limited liability partnership, and does not have a Certificate of Authority to transact business in 
Michigan, one may be obtained from the Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing Bureau, Division, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909; 517-241-6470.

	 �NOTE:  To obtain a Certificate of Assumed Name, if the park owner is a corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership or limited liability partnership, 
they will need to contact the Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909; 517-241-6470.  If the owner is 
not one of the previously mentioned entities, they will need to contact their county clerk’s office.  For partnerships (except Limited and Limited Liability) 
that do not have a Certificate of Assumed Name, include a copy of the Certificate of Copartnership.

Operator Information:  Provide all requested information.  All correspondence will be sent to this address and this individual will be directly responsible for the 
operation of the licensee as described in the Manufactured Housing General Rules (the Rules) including all fees.  As defined in the Rules, an “Operator” means an 
individual 18 years of age or older who is an officer of a corporation, a manager or member, if member managed, of a limited liability company, a general partner, 
a co-partner, or a sole proprietor.”

Owner Information:  Provide all requested information.  If the owner is a foreign (non-Michigan) corporation, limited liability company, or limited or limited liability 
partnership, and does not have a Certificate of Authority to transact business in Michigan, one may be obtained from the Corporations, Securities, & Commercial 
Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909; 517-241-6470. See NOTE above.

Certification and Signature:  Provide all requested information with an original signature.

If you have any questions regarding the license application, contact the Bureau of Construction Codes, Building Division at 517-241-9317.  To 
obtain a copy of the Mobile Home Commission Act, Manufactured Housing General Rules, Mobile Home Buyer’s & Resident’s Handbook or 
additional forms, visit our web site at www.michigan.gov/bcc.

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfhm_community_construction_affidavit_275096_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfhm_community_construction_affidavit_275096_7.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(qhenbz45eollgn451om0z355))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-act-96-of-1987&queryid=396153&highlight=
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfhm_buyers_residents_handbook_267716_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/bcc


Application for Mobile Home Park License
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Bureau of Construction Codes / Building Division
P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909

517-241-9317
www.michigan.gov/bcc
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LICENSE NUMBER

DATE ISSUED

FEE

Authority:	 1987 PA 96
Completion:	 Voluntary
Penalty:	 	 Failure to complete may result in denial of application

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request 
to individuals with disabilities.

Instructions
•Complete application.  Type or print in ink.
•Failure to accurately complete the form may be reason for denial.
•Be sure to sign application.
•Make check or money order payable to the State of Michigan.
•Mail application, all applicable documents, and payment to the address listed above.

License Type
Check One	 (see instructions)

Fees
(See instructions) License Number Number of Sites

□ New Park

□ Change of Ownership (Check one)

		 □	 Mobile Home Park

		 □	 Seasonal Park

□	 	Additional Sites to an Existing Park

□	 �Changes to Original Application
	 (Must be filed within 30 days after the change is made)

Park Information
PARK ENTITY ASSUMED NAME

PARK TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code) COUNTY PARCEL NO.

PARK LOCATION - STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

MI

Operator Information
NAME OF OPERATOR (Last, First, Middle Initial) (Must be an individual) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEIN OR SOCIAL SECURITY 

NO.* 
TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include 
Area Code)

MAILING STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

E-MAIL ADDRESS PREFERRED METHOD OF CONTACT/CORRESPONDENCE (Check One)

□  E-Mail          □  Regular Mail

*This information is confidential.  Disclosure of confidential 
information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.
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Owner Information
CHECK ONE

If this application is being filed as a Corporation, Limited Liability Company, Limited Partnership or Limited Liability Partnership furnish the 
number assigned to you by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing 
Bureau.

□	 Sole Proprietor □	 Limited Partnership Number
	 ________________________________

□	 Corporation Number
	 ______________________________□	 Partnership

□	 Other Type
	 _________________________________ 

□	 Limited Liability Partnership Number
	 ________________________________

□	� Limited Liability Company Number
	 ______________________________

Complete the information below (required) for each member of the business entity checked above.  Attach “Additional Owner Information” 
sheets as necessary.
NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

Disclosure Information
Have any of the general partners or co-partners in a partnership, officers of a corporation, managers or members, if a member managed  
limited liability company, or sole proprietor(s) had a conviction or administrative or civil judgment rendered against them within 10 years 
before the date of the application in connection with:
A.  Any aspect of the business of homes, which includes, but is not limited to, sales, brokering, installation, servicing, financing, and insuring 	
	 homes or any aspect of park ownership, management, operation, development, or construction?    

	 □ Yes □ No If yes, under the Mobile Home Commission Act and Manufactured Housing General Rules R 125.1202b, provide all  
	 information associated with the conviction or judgment.

B.  A violation of a statute regulating the offering of securities or franchises or regulating builders, real estate brokers, or real estate agents 	
	 or a violation of 1972 PA 286, MCL 565.801 to 565.835?

	 □ Yes □ No If yes, under the Mobile Home Commission Act and Manufactured Housing General Rules R 125.1202b, provide all  
	 information associated with the conviction or judgment.

Certification and Signature of Operator
I hereby certify, as operator (sole proprietor, general partner, corporate officer, or member or manager of the LLC), I am authorized to make 
this application and I agree to conform to all applicable laws of the State of Michigan.  All information submitted on this application is accurate 
to the best of my knowledge.  Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement shall be grounds for denial of this application.

I stipulate and agree any legal process affecting the business, served on the Mobile Home Code Commission shall have the same effect as 
if personally served on me and all other general partners or corporate officers of this business, if any.  I further agree this appointment shall 
remain in force as long as any liability of this business shall remain outstanding within the state of Michigan.

_______________________________________________________________________        __________________________________________________
	 (Print Name of Operator)	 (Title)

_______________________________________________________________________        __________________________________________________
	 (Signature of Operator Required)	 (Date)
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Application for Mobile Home Park License
Additional Owner Information Continued

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Construction Codes / Building Division

P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909
517-241-9317

www.michigan.gov/bcc

List names and residence addresses of sole proprietor, partners, corporate officers and directors or LLC managers or members.  
Mark partners as Limited or General (LP or GP).  Attach additional sheet(s) if necessary.
NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.
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