
General Instructions

Per Manufactured Housing General Rules, Rule 204, “An applicant shall file a change to a licensing application with the 
department within 30 days after the change is made.”

Mobile Home Park License:  A Mobile Home Dealer License allows for the business of offering mobile homes for sale, 
and a Mobile Home Installer and Repairer License allows for the business of installing or disassembling the installation 
of homes, or servicing a mobile home for compensation.  An additional license for operating a mobile home park must be 
applied for separately through the Bureau of Construction Codes, Building Division.  A mobile home park license is expressly 
for the operation of a park.

Mobile Home Dealer License Only

Per the Mobile Home Commission Act, “A mobile home dealer shall not engage in the retail sale of a mobile home without 
a license.”

Sales Tax Number:  To obtain a sales tax number, contact the Michigan Department of Treasury, Sales, Use and Withholding 
Taxes Division, Treasury Building, Lansing, MI 48922; 517-636-4730; or www.michigan.gov/treasury.  A sales tax number is 
not required to lease or rent manufactured homes.

Titling Mobile Homes: A “Dealer Application for Certificate of Mobile Home Ownership” (BCC-944) can be obtained from 
the Secretary of State’s web site or at a branch office.  Review the provisions of the Mobile Home Commission Act and 
Manufactured Housing General Rules regarding titling prior to using this form.

http://www.michigan.gov/treasury
http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1585_1587_1588-26228--,00.html
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(202ogz45x2a5ena4hho0qsjq))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-act-96-of-1987&queryid=396153&highlight=
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=


Instructions for Application for Mobile Home Dealer License
or Mobile Home Installer and Repairer License

Required Submittals for Licensing

Submit completed application, appropriate fee made payable to the State of Michigan and required documentation as stated below.  Your 
application will not be processed if incomplete or without the required fees and documentation.  Requests for licensing should be submitted at 
least 30 days prior to the date you want to begin conducting business.  Once complete, your licensing submittal will be presented for approval 
to the Mobile Home Code Commission at its next regularly scheduled meeting.

Mobile Home Retailer License
License Type Fee Documents Notes

New or Change 
of Ownership of 
Existing License

$450.00 •	� Proof of applicable surety bond or account in 
accordance with Manufactured Housing General 
Rules, Rule 214f.  For surety bond, file original 
executed “Uniform Mobile Home Dealer’s Surety 
Bond.”

•	� Proof of consumer deposits account or bond in 
accordance with Manufactured Housing General 
Rules, Rule 403.  To establish escrow account, file 
“Mobile Home Dealer Affidavit of Consumer Deposit 
Escrow Checking Account.”  To post escrow account, 
file “Uniform Mobile Home Dealer’s Consumer Deposit 
Surety Bond.”

•	� There is no written test for this license.
•	� Separate applications shall be filed for 

each sales location.
•	� License Exemption:  A licensed mobile 

home park is not required to obtain a 
dealer license in order to engage in 
the leasing or renting of homes in the 
park; however, it remains responsible 
for complying with Retailer Business 
Practices of the Manufactured Housing 
General Rules.

Licenses are issued in 3-year cycles which expire September 30.  A renewal application is mailed to each licensee every 3 years in August 
and must be returned before October 1 with the applicable fees.  All licensees are on the same 3-year cycle.

Mobile Home Installer and Repairer License
License Type Fee Documents Notes

New or Change 
of Ownership of 
Existing License

$150.00 •	� Proof of course participation.  Must complete 
approved installation instructional course before 
application is submitted for approval to the Mobile 
Home Code Commission.

License Exemption:
•	� Manufacturer who installs or services 

homes it manufactured or one of its 
employees installs or services as part 
of employment.

•	� If performing work for which person 
is licensed under another Michigan 
license as indicated in Mobile Home 
Commission Act, Section 25(2).

Licenses are issued in 3-year cycles which expire September 30.  A renewal application is mailed to each licensee every 3 years in August and 
must be returned before October 1 with the applicable fees.  All licensees are on the same 3-year cycle.

Business Information:  Provide all requested information.  If the owner is a foreign (non-Michigan) corporation, limited liability company, or 
limited or limited liability partnership, and does not have a Certificate of Authority to transact business in Michigan, one may be obtained from the 
Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909; 517-241-6470.

	 �NOTE:  To obtain a Certificate of Assumed Name, if the business owner is a corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership or 
limited liability partnership, they will need to contact the Corporations, Securities, and Commercial Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 30054, 
Lansing, MI 48909; 517-241-6470.  If the owner is not one of the previously mentioned entities, they will need to contact their county clerk’s 
office.  For partnerships (except Limited and Limited Liability) that do not have a Certificate of Assumed Name, include a copy of 
the Certificate of Copartnership.

Operator Information:  Provide all requested information.  All correspondence will be sent to this address and this entity will be directly 
responsible for the operation of the licensee as described in the Manufactured Housing General Rules (the Rules) including all fees.  As defined 
in the Rules, an “Operator” means an individual 18 years of age or older who is an officer of a corporation, a manager or member, if member 
managed, of a limited liability company, a general partner, a copartner, or a sole proprietor.”

Owner Information:  Provide all requested information.  If the owner is a foreign (non-Michigan) corporation, limited liability company, or limited 
or limited liability partnership, and does not have a Certificate of Authority to transact business in Michigan, one may be obtained from the 
Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing Bureau, P.O. Box 30054, Lansing, MI 48909; 517-241-6470. See NOTE above.

Certification and Signature:  Provide all requested information with an original signature.

If you have any questions regarding the license application, contact the Bureau of Construction Codes, Building Division at 517-241-9317.  To 
obtain a copy of the Mobile Home Commission Act, Manufactured Housing General Rules, Mobile Home Buyer’s & Resident’s Handbook or 
additional forms, visit our web site at www.michigan.gov/bcc.

http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-154-10575_17394_17412-42904--,00.html
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfghsg_retailers_surety_bond_275135_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfghsg_retailers_surety_bond_275135_7.pdf
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfghsg_retailer_affidavit_275149_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfghsg_retailer_affidavit_275149_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfghsg_retailers_consumer_deposit_surety_bond_275143_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfghsg_retailers_consumer_deposit_surety_bond_275143_7.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1lovpf45thmagm55ccy5wy55))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-act-96-of-1987&queryid=396153&highlight=
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(1lovpf45thmagm55ccy5wy55))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-act-96-of-1987&queryid=396153&highlight=
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(qhenbz45eollgn451om0z355))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-act-96-of-1987&queryid=396153&highlight=
http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admincode.asp?AdminCode=Single&Admin_Num=12501101&Dpt=LG&RngHigh=
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/dleg_bcc_mfhm_buyers_residents_handbook_267716_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/bcc


Application for Mobile Home Dealer License
or Mobile Home Installer and Repairer License

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Construction Codes / Building Division

P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909
517-241-9317

www.michigan.gov/bcc

15/16
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

LICENSE NUMBER

DATE ISSUED

FEE
Dealer (15)
Installer/Repairer (16)

Authority:	 1987 PA 96
Completion:	 Voluntary
Penalty:		  Failure to complete may result in denial of application

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available 
upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Instructions
•Complete application.  Type or print in ink.
•Failure to accurately complete the form may be reason for denial.
•Be sure to sign application.
•Make check or money order payable to the State of Michigan.
•Mail application, all applicable documents, and payment to the address listed above.

	 License Type
Check One	 (see instructions)

Fees
(see instructions) License Number

□  New License (Check one)

		 □	 Dealer          □  Additional Location

		 □	 Installer / Repairer          

□  Change of Ownership of Existing License (Check one)

		 □	 Dealer          

		 □	 Installer / Repairer          

□	� Changes to Original Application
	 (Must be filed within 30 days after the change is made)

Business Information
BUSINESS TRUE NAME ASSUMED NAME

BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include Area Code) COUNTY

BUSINESS LOCATION - STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

MI

Operator Information
NAME OF OPERATOR (Last, First, Middle Initial) (Must be an individual) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEIN OR SOCIAL SECURITY 

NO.* 
TELEPHONE NUMBER (Include 
Area Code)

MAILING STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

E-MAIL ADDRESS PREFERRED METHOD OF CONTACT/CORRESPONDENCE (Check One)

□  E-MAIL      □  REGULAR MAIL

Installer/Repairer License:  List the date and location that the operator completed Commission and Department approved 
installation instruction during this licensing cycle.

Date __________________ Location ______________________________________________________________________

*This information is confidential.  Disclosure of confidential 
information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.

BCC-968 (Rev. 09/14) Page 1



Owner Information
(CHECK ONE)

If this application is being filed as a Corporation, Limited Liability Company, Limited Partnership or Limited Liability Partnership furnish the 
number assigned to you by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Corporations, Securities, & Commercial Licensing 
Bureau.

□	 Sole Proprietor □	 Limited Partnership Number
	 ________________________________

□	 Corporation Number
	 ______________________________□	 Partnership

□	 Other Type
	 _________________________________ 

□	 Limited Liability Partnership Number
	 ________________________________

□	� Limited Liability Company Number
	 ______________________________

Complete the information below (required) for each member of the business entity checked above.  Attach “Additional Owner Information” 
sheets as necessary.
NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

Disclosure Information
Have any of the general partners or copartners in a partnership, officers of a corporation, managers or members, if a member managed  
limited liability company, or sole proprietor(s) had a conviction or administrative or civil judgment rendered against them within 10 years  
before the date of the application in connection with:

A.  Any aspect of the business of homes, which includes, but is not limited to, sales, brokering, installation, servicing, financing, and insuring 	
	 homes or any aspect of park ownership, management, operation, development, or construction?    

	 □ Yes □ No If yes, under the Mobile Home Commission Act and Manufactured Housing General Rules R 125.1202b, provide all  
	 information associated with the conviction or judgment.

B.  A violation of a statute regulating the offering of securities or franchises or regulating builders, real estate brokers, or real estate agents 	
	 or a violation of 1972 PA 286, MCL 565.801 to 565.835?

	 □ Yes □ No If yes, under the Mobile Home Commission Act and Manufactured Housing General Rules R 125.1202b, provide all  
	 information associated with the conviction or judgment.

Certification and Signature of Operator
I hereby certify, as operator (sole proprietor, general partner, corporate officer, or member or manager of the LLC), I am authorized to make 
this application and I agree to conform to all applicable laws of the State of Michigan.  All information submitted on this application is accurate 
to the best of my knowledge.  Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement shall be grounds for denial of this application.

I stipulate and agree any legal process affecting the business, served on the Mobile Home Code Commission shall have the same effect as 
if personally served on me and all other general partners or corporate officers of this business, if any.  I further agree this appointment shall 
remain in force as long as any liability of this business shall remain outstanding within the state of Michigan.

_______________________________________________________________________        __________________________________________________
	 (Print Name of Operator)	 (Title)

_______________________________________________________________________        __________________________________________________
	 (Signature of Operator Required)	 (Date)

BCC-968 (Rev. 09/14) Page 2



Application for Mobile Home Dealer License
or Mobile Home Installer and Repairer License

Additional Owner Information Continued
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Bureau of Construction Codes / Building Division
P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909

517-241-9317
www.michigan.gov/bcc

List name(s) of sole proprietor, partners, corporate officers and directors or LLC members or managers.  Mark partners as Limited 
or General (LP or GP).  Give residence address; attach additional sheet(s) if necessary.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) BIRTH DATE (MO / DAY / YEAR) FEDERAL ID NUMBER OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER* 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE / PROVINCE ZIP CODE / POSTAL CODE COUNTRY, IF NOT U.S.

*This information is confidential.  Disclosure of confidential 
information is protected by the Federal Privacy Act.

BCC-968a (Rev. 09/14) Page 1
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