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B
y law, both employers and 
employees in the State of 
Michigan have certain rights 
and responsibilities as set forth 

by the Michigan Occupational Safety and 
Health Act (MIOSHA).

You are encouraged to read and save this 
booklet to help you understand your 
rights and responsibilities.

This booklet does not include all rights 
and responsibilities provided by MIOSHA. 
For a complete list as it applies to both 
employers and employees, refer to Act 
154, P.A. 1974, as amended.

For further information, contact:

Michigan Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (MIOSHA)

P.O. Box 30643
Lansing, MI 48909-8143

517-284-7778
800-866-4674

www.michigan.gov/miosha

www.michigan.gov/lara

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Printed under 
the authority of the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act, 
P.A. 154 of 1974, as amended. Total Printed: 5,000; Printing Cost: 
$2,203.80; Per Copy Cost: $0.44
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Rights
	 You can apply for a variance from a 

MIOSHA standard. Sec. 27(1-4).

	 You are entitled to receive a copy of 
a written complaint at the time of an 
investigation, but with the employee’s 
name deleted if the employee so 
requests. Sec. 28(1).

	 You have the right to be notified 
by the department if the alleged 
violations in a complaint were not 
found to exist at the time of the 
inspection. Sec 28(3).

	 You have the right to have an 
inspection or investigation conducted 
in a manner that is not unreasonably 
disruptive to the work operation. Sec. 
29(1).

	 You may accompany a department 
representative during a MIOSHA 
inspection or investigation. Sec. 
29(4).

	 You are entitled to a conference 
with a department representative 
upon completion of an inspection or 
investigation. Sec. 29(8).

	 You have the right to be informed by 
the department representative if it is 
determined that an imminent danger 
condition exists within the place of 
employment. Sec. 31(1).

	 You may request that a department 
area supervisor make an on-site 
review (within 24 hours of request) 
after the tagging of equipment or a 
process determined to be the source 
of imminent danger. Sec. 31(1).



	 You may petition the department for 
an informal appeal within 15 working 
days after receiving a citation. Sec. 41.

	 You have the right to appeal a 
department’s decision on an informal 
appeal. The petition must be made 
to the department within 15 working 
days after receiving the decision. 
Sec. 41.

	 You may participate in a hearing 
before a hearing officer and are 
entitled to receive a copy of the 
officer’s decision. Sec. 42.

	 You may apply to the Board of Health 
and Safety Compliance and Appeals 
(BHSCA) for an extension of an 
abatement period on a citation which 
has become final. Sec. 44(2).

	 You are entitled to receive 
occupational safety services from the 
Consultation Education and Training 
Division of MIOSHA. Sec. 54(2).

	 You are entitled to occupational 
health training and education from 
the Consultation Education and 
Training Division of MIOSHA. Sec. 56.

	 You have a right to have your trade 
secrets protected from disclosure in 
any proceeding under MIOSHA. Sec. 
63(1).

	 You may request a review of the 
department’s discrimination 
complaint determination within 15 
working days after receiving the 
determination. Sec. 65(4).



Responsibilities
	 You must furnish to each employee 

a workplace that is free from 
“recognized” hazards which can 
cause death or serious physical harm. 
Sec. 11(a).

	 You are responsible for complying 
with regulations and standards 
covered under MIOSHA and any 
orders issued pursuant to the act. 
Sec. 11(b).

	 You must keep employees informed 
of their protections and obligations 
under MIOSHA including the 
provisions of applicable rules and 
standards. Sec. 11(c).

	 You must provide, at your expense, 
personal protective equipment to 
employees when required by MIOSHA 
standards. Sec. 11(d).

	 You must pay for any medical 
examination or test required by a 
MIOSHA standard. Sec. 24(6).

	 You must either post a copy or 
provide an employee representative 
with a copy of any request for 
variance from a MIOSHA standard, 
rule or order. Sec. 27(2)(e).

	 You must give an employee or 
employee representative an 
opportunity (with or without 
compensation) to attend any meeting 
between yourself and MIOSHA 
concerning a citation or disposition of 
a complaint. Sec. 28(5).



	 You must permit a representative 
from MIOSHA to enter your 
workplace for the purpose of 
conducting an inspection or 
investigation regarding safety or 
health. Sec. 29(1).

	 You must allow an employee 
representative to accompany MIOSHA 
during an inspection or investigation. 
You must also allow the investigator 
to consult with the employee 
representative and/or employees. Sec. 
29(4).

	 You cannot withhold wages or fringe 
benefits, or discriminate against 
any employee or their authorized 
representative for time spent 
participating in a MIOSHA inspection, 
investigation or closing conference. 
Sec. 29(10).

	 You must not permit an employee 
(other than those whose presence 
is necessary to correct a hazardous 
condition) to operate equipment or 
engage in any process determined 
by the department to be imminently 
dangerous. Sec. 31(2).

	 You must post a copy of a MIOSHA 
citation at or near the place of 
violation. Sec. 33(2).

	 You must notify the issuing 
department of compliance with a 
MIOSHA citation. Sec. 33(3).



	 In the event that a violation is 
determined to be a de minimis 
violation you must post notice of 
this violation at or near the place 
of violation for 3 working days. Sec. 
33(5).

	 You must pay MIOSHA civil penalties 
within 15 working days after the 
penalty becomes a final order of the 
BHSCA. Sec. 36(3).

	 You must provide a copy of any 
citation appeal to the affected 
employees or their authorized 
representative. Sec. 41.

	 You must promptly post notice of the 
department’s decision concerning an 
informal appeal. Sec. 41.

	 You must make and keep accurate 
records and reports of work-related 
illnesses and injuries. Sec. 61(1).

	 You must maintain accurate 
records of any employee exposure 
to potentially toxic substances or 
harmful physical agents that are 
required to be monitored or measured 
by MIOSHA standards. Sec. 61(2).

	 You must promptly notify employees 
who were or are being exposed to 
certain toxic or harmful substances 
found to be at levels higher than 
allowed by MIOSHA standards. 
Sec.61(3).



	 You cannot discharge or in any way 
discriminate against an employee 
who has filed a complaint, instituted 
a proceeding, or who exercises any 
right afforded by MIOSHA. Sec. 65(1).

Michigan
Right to Know
	 Michigan Right to Know amendments 

to MIOSHA require an employer to 
develop and implement a hazardous 
chemical communication system 
within the workplace that informs 
employees about what chemicals they 
are or may be exposed to, possible 
harmful effects, and how to work 
safely around these chemicals.

	 Provide employees with a written 
hazard communication program that 
defines responsibilities, contains a 
complete list of hazardous chemicals 
present in the workplace, informs 
employees of the hazards of non-
routine tasks, and demonstrates how 
to identify the contents of in-house 
pipes and piping systems.

	 Obtain and make available to 
employees a Safety Data Sheet (SDS) 
for each hazardous chemical used in 
the workplace. Signs must be posted 
in the workplace telling employees 
where SDSs are located and when 
they are revised or newly received.



	 Employers are to see that current 
SDSs and properly labeled containers 
are received from producers and 
distributors of hazardous chemicals. 
The only unlabeled hazardous 
chemical containers permitted in the 
workplace are portable containers 
filled by an employee from a properly 
labeled container and used only by 
that employee to transfer chemicals 
during his/her shift.

	 Employers are required to hold 
employee training services during 
which employees receive information 
and have questions answered 
regarding the chemical hazards they 
may be exposed to, how to read 
and interpret labels and SDSs, how 
to locate a specific SDS, ways to 
protect themselves from chemical 
hazards, and the details of the hazard 
communication program.



Refer to the 
Michigan

Employee Right to 
Know (RTK) Law 
for the complete

rights and 
requirements 
provided by

the Part
42, 92, and
430. Hazard

Communication
Standard.

www.michigan.gov/mioshastandards
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Rights
	 Your place of employment must be 

free of all recognized hazards that can 
cause death or serious physical harm. 
Sec. 11(a).

	 Your employer must inform you of 
any protections and obligations under 
MIOSHA, including provisions of 
applicable rules and standards. Sec. 
11(c).

	 Personal protective equipment must 
be provided at employer’s expense 
when such equipment is required 
under a MIOSHA standard. Sec. 
11(d).

	 You must be given notice and have 
the opportunity for a hearing if your 
employer requests any variance from 
a MIOSHA standard.  
Sec. 27(2)(e), 27(4).

	 If you believe that a violation of a 
safety or health standard exists in 
your place of employment, you can 
request a MIOSHA inspection by 
giving written notice of the condition 
to MIOSHA. Sec. 28(1).

	 Your name or the names of any 
other employees referred to in the 
written inspection request will not 
be revealed to your employer, or any 
other person, at your request. Sec. 
28(1).

	 You have the right to be notified if 
the department determines that no 
inspection needs to be conducted. 
Sec. 28(1).



	 You may notify the department 
quickly and without written notice 
if you believe that imminent danger 
exists in the workplace. Sec. 28(2).

	 You have the right to be notified 
by the department if the alleged 
violations were found not to exist at 
the time of inspection. Sec. 28(3).

	 You can request both a review of 
the department’s final disposition 
of the complaint and a statement 
that explains the reasons for such a 
disposition. Sec. 28(1-4).

	 You have the right to attend (with or 
without compensation) all meetings 
between MIOSHA and an employer 
concerning a citation or disposition of 
a complaint. Sec. 28(5), Sec. 41.

	 You may, as an employee 
representative, accompany a safety or 
health officer during an investigation 
or inspection of a place of 
employment; and you can participate 
in a conference with the officer after 
completion of the investigation or 
inspection. Sec. 29(4) and (8).

	 You are entitled to payment of wages 
and fringe benefits and may not be 
discriminated against in any manner 
for time spent participating in a 
MIOSHA investigation, inspection or 
closing conference. Sec. 29(10).

	 You can file a complaint with MIOSHA 
if you feel that you are discriminated 
against or suffer loss of wages or fringe 
benefits for time spent participating 
in a MIOSHA inspection, investigation 
or closing conference. Sec. 29(10).



	 You have the right to be informed 
by a department representative 
if imminent danger conditions 
are found to exist at your place of 
employment. Sec. 31(1).

	 You may file a complaint with MIOSHA 
if you feel that you are discriminated 
against or if you suffer loss of wages or 
fringe benefits for refusing to operate 
equipment or engage in a process 
that has been determined by the 
department to be an imminent danger 
condition. Sec. 31(2).

	 If the department arbitrarily fails to 
act to correct an imminent danger 
condition, you or your representative 
are entitled to bring legal action 
in circuit court to compel the 
department to take appropriate action 
and for further relief, as may be 
appropriate. Sec. 31(4).

	 If your employer receives a citation 
and you believe the time given by the 
department to correct the violation 
is unreasonable, you may petition 
the department. The petition must 
be made within 15 working days after 
the employer receives the citation. 
Sec. 41.

	 You may appeal to the Board of Health 
and Safety Compliance and Appeals 
(BHSCA) the department’s decision 
concerning a citation. The appeal 
must be made within 15 working 
days after the employer receives the 
decision. Sec. 41.

	 You must be given an opportunity 
for a hearing on the appeal of the 
department’s decision regarding a 
citation. Sec. 42.



	 You are entitled to receive occupational 
safety services from the Consultation 
Education and Training Division of 
MIOSHA. Sec. 54.

	 You are entitled to receive 
occupational health training and 
education from the Consultation 
Education and Training Division of 
MIOSHA. Sec. 56.

	 As an employee or former employee, 
you must be given access to records 
of any exposure to potentially toxic 
substances or harmful physical agents 
which are required to be monitored  
or measured by MIOSHA standards. 
Sec. 61(2).

	 In the event of exposure to any toxic 
or harmful  substances at levels 
higher than allowed by MIOSHA 
standards, you must be promptly 
notified by your employer and told 
what corrective action is being taken. 
Sec. 61(3).

	 Your identity will not be disclosed 
if you provide information to a 
department representative during 
an inspection, investigation or other 
proceedings concerning a possible 
MIOSHA violation. Sec. 63(2).

	 You may file a discrimination 
complaint with MIOSHA if you 
believe that you were discharged or 
discriminated against for exercising 
any employee rights provided by 
MIOSHA. Sec. 65(2).

	 You may request a review, by a 
hearings officer, of the department’s 
determination on a discrimination 
complaint. The request must be made 
within 15 working days after the 
determination is issued. Sec. 65(4).



Responsibilities
	 You are responsible for complying 

with regulations and standards 
covered under MIOSHA. Sec. 12(a).

	 You shall not damage, move, or 
remove any safety related item that 
is provided for use at a place of 
employment; or do anything that 
would interfere with the use of that 
item by another person. Sec. 12(b).

Michigan
Right to Know
	 If you are exposed to hazardous 

chemicals under normal conditions 
of use or in a foreseeable emergency, 
your employer must develop and 
implement a hazardous chemical 
communication system within your 
workplace telling you:

1.	What chemicals you are being 
exposed to.

2.	How they can harm you.

3.	How you can work safely in their 
presence.

	 Your employer must make readily 
available to you current Safety 
Data Sheets (SDS) concerning all 
hazardous chemicals within the 
workplace.

	 Your employer is required to conduct 
training sessions on chemical hazards 
you may be exposed to, reading and 
interpretation of labels, location and 
understanding of SDSs, and ways 
to protect yourself from chemical 
hazards.
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