	Subject:  Other


	Topic:   Employee Discrimination and Whistleblowers Protection    


	Question:   Six months ago I was terminated by my employer after contacting MIOSHA.  Am I beyond the time that I can file a discrimination complaint?  Can I still make a claim under the whistleblower law? 

    



	Answer:   Michigan has two workplace whistleblower laws.  These two laws are similar in that both are intended to protect workers who disclose information to the public or to appropriate authorities concerning illegal or harmful actions of an employer.  

One law is found in Section 65(2) of the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act (Act 154 of 1974, as amended).  Section 65(2) provides that an employee who believes that he or she was discharged or otherwise discriminated against by a person in violation of this section may file a complaint with the Michigan Department of Labor, Energy and Economic Growth alleging the discrimination within 30 days after the violation occurs.  Complaints not filed within 30 days of alleged discrimination will ordinarily be considered to be untimely.  The department will not ordinarily investigate complaints which are determined to be untimely.  This law only covers discrimination against an employee who complained about workplace safety and health hazards.  Issues other than workplace safety and health hazards are covered by the other Michigan whistleblower law.  

The other Michigan whistleblower law is The Michigan Whistleblowers Protection Act (Act 469 of 1980).  This law prohibits an employer from discriminating against a worker because the worker has reported or is about to report a violation or a suspected violation of law to a public body.  This whistleblower law has a 90-day statute of limitation.  That is, a worker must file civil action in circuit court within 90 days of the act of retaliatory discrimination.  Action may be brought in the circuit court for the county where the alleged violation occurred, where the plaintiff lives, or where the person against whom the suit is filed lives or has their principal place of business.  Court may award: reinstatement, back pay, reinstate benefits and seniority rights, and court costs.     
 



	Applicable Construction Safety Standard/Rule:   (None)    


	Applicable General Industry Safety Standard/Rule:   (None)    


	Applicable Occupational Health Standard/Rule:   (None)    


	Additional Resources:  Section 65(2) of the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act 
 The Michigan Whistleblowers Protection Act   
 

For complimentary MIOSHA consultation please contact our office at (517) 284-7720 or submit a Request for Consultative Assistance (RCA).
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