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SUBMITTED: April 12, 2010

MEMORANDUM TO THE NATURAL RESOURCES COMMISSION
Subject: Deer Regulations — Statewide Antlerless and DMU 487 Antler Points

Wildlife Conservation Order Amendment No. 10 of 2010
FOR INFORMATION ONLY

Authority:

The Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended, authorizes
the Director and the Commission to issue orders to manage wild animals in this state.

Discussion and Background:

This amendment establishes the open/closed status for antlerless deer license availability for each
Deer Management Unit (DMU), establishes an antler point restriction for DMU 487, provides a
recommended increase in the length of the September youth firearm deer season by adding four
days of antlerless deer hunting in DMU 486 in southern Michigan, and authorizes issuance of
managed deer hunting permits to allow for increased harvest of antlerless deer when needed on
the Gladwin Field Trial Area.

Deer Management Units are the regulatory units for issuing antlerless deer licenses. The
availability status of public land antlerless deer licenses and private land antlerless deer licenses
must be determined prior to establishing the antlerless deer license quotas. The status of each
DMU for both public land and private land antlerless deer licenses will be published in the 2010
Antlerless Deer Hunting Guide. This provides hunters with the information needed to make
decisions regarding antlerless deer hunting opportunities. Antlerless deer license quotas
recommendations will be presented to the Natural Resources Commission at the June meeting.

There are 65 DMUs recommended to be open for public land antlerless deer licenses, all of
which would also be open for private land licenses, and 16 DMUs to be open only for private
land licenses. A total of 6 DMUSs in the Upper Peninsula, which were open for private land
antlerless licenses last year are recommended to be closed this year, including 017 (Sault Ste.
Marie), 031 (Nissula), 121 (Bay De Noc), 127 (Ironwood), 252 (Rock), and 349 (Engadine).
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Within the Northern Lower Peninsula, Kalkaska County (DMU 040) was open to private land
antlerless licenses last year and is recommended to be closed this year, while Emmet County
(DMU 024) was closed last year and is recommended to be open this year. Two units that were
open to public land antlerless licenses last year are recommended to be closed this year,
including DMU 121 (Bay De Noc) and DMU 025 (Genesee).

A self-sustained infection of bovine tuberculosis (TB) continues to persist within deer in
northeast Michigan. While the long-term trend in TB prevalence still demonstrates a decline, the
trend from 2005-2009 indicates no change. Establishing an antler point restriction for DMU 487
will focus harvest of antlered deer on animals at greatest risk of being TB positive. Data indicate
at ages 2 years and older, males are increasingly more likely to be TB positive than females of
the same age class. Furthermore, the risk of bucks being TB positive continuously increases
with age, while the risk for does levels off at ages of 4 years and up.

There is a desire to expand or enhance opportunities for recruitment and retention of youth
hunters through modifications to the youth firearm deer season. Additional days of youth
firearm hunting for antlerless deer in DMU 486 will increase the number of days that mentors
may take youth afield in southern Michigan. This would provide continuous hunting
opportunities for youth hunters between the early antlerless season and the existing youth and
100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting weekend days in the region of the state
experiencing the greatest challenges to youth hunter recruitment and retention.

The Gladwin Field Trial Area (GFTA) is managed primarily to provide high quality early
successional habitat for forest game bird species and is recognized as a premier dog field trial
area in the nation. At times, additional antlerless licenses specifically for the GFTA are needed
above the established overall public land antlerless license quota for DMU 026 (Gladwin
County). It is sometimes necessary to concentrate antlerless harvest on the GFTA to address the
impacts of deer browsing on forest regeneration. Section 5.81 authorizes issuance of permits for
public lands requiring an access permit and open to deer hunting by lottery. It is recommended
that the management unit supervisor or their representative be authorized to designate days for
which managed deer hunting permits may be issued to persons during the deer hunting season.
These permits will be issued by a lottery handled at the Gladwin Field Office.

Sections 3.101e of the Wildlife Conservation Order also contain provisions that allow for the use
of crossbow and, due to the sunset provision of March 2012 for the use of crossbow, these
proposed deer regulations must be included in both the current (sunsetted) order section, and the
section to which it may revert in the future.
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Recommendation:

This order is being submitted for information and consideration. This item appeared on the
Department’s April 2010 calendar and may be eligible for approval on June 3, 2010.

Russ Mason, Ph.D., Chief Ronald A. Olson, Chief
Wildlife Division Recreation Division

Lynne M. Boyd, Chief Gary Hagler, Chief

Forest Management Division Law Enforcement Division

Arminda S. Koch
Resource Management Deputy Director

I have analyzed and discussed these recommendations with staff and concur as to matters over
which the Natural Resources Commission has authority.

Rebecca A. Humphries
Director



WILDLIFE CONSERVATION ORDER

Amendment No. 10 of 2010

By authority conferred on the Natural Resources Commission and the Director of the Department of Natural
Resources and Environment by sections 40107 and 40113a of 1994 PA 451, MCL 324.40107 and 324.40113a, it is
ordered that effective June 4, 2010, the following section(s) of the Wildlife Conservation Order shall read as
follows:

3.101b Repealed-Am-—6,-2001-EfJun-1,2001-DEER HUNTING IN DEER MANAGEMENT
UNIT 487, ANTLER RESTRICTION.

Sec. 3.101b Notwithstanding any other provisions of this order, in that area described as deer management unit
487 in section 12.487, a person shall not take an antlered deer unless the deer has at least 1 antler with 3 or more
antler points each 1 or more inches in length.

3.101c Deer hunting in deer management units 117-and-135, antler restriction.

Sec. 3.101c Notwithstanding any other provisions of this order, in deer management units 117-and-135, a person
shall not take an antlered deer unless the deer has at least 1 antler with 2 or more antler points each 1 or more inches
in length.

**Section 3.101e takes effect on March 6, 2009, and will remain in effect until March 6, 2012**

3.101e Youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days, season established,
limits defined, adult requirements, hunting hours.

Sec. 3.101e (1)The youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days shall be a 2-day hunt
starting the fourth Saturday in September.

(2) THE YOUTH EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS SHALL BE A 4-DAY HUNT
STARTING ON THE TUESDAY PRIOR TO THE FOURTH SATURDAY IN SEPTEMBER WITHIN
DMU 486.

(32) Individuals wishing to participate in the youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days
AND THE YOUTH EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS shall be eligible if one of the
following applies:

(a) A youth 10 through 16 years of age.

(b) A veteran with 100 percent disability as defined by the United States department of veterans affairs MAY
PARTICIPATE IN THE YOUTH AND 100 PERCENT DISABLED VETERAN FIREARM DEER
HUNTING DAYS. Documentation from the United States department of veteran’s affairs indicating 100 percent
disability shall be in the possession of a veteran participating in this hunt.

(c) A resident rated by the United States department of veterans affairs as individually unemployable MAY
PARTICIPATE IN THE YOUTH AND 100 PERCENT DISABLED VETERAN FIREARM DEER
HUNTING DAYS. Documentation from the United States department of veteran’s affairs indicating this rating
shall be in the possession of a veteran participating in this hunt.

(43) The following rules shall apply to a person taking deer on the YOUTH AND 100 PERCENT DISABLED
VETERAN FIREARM DEER HUNTING DAYS yeuth-firearm-deer-hunting-days AND THE YOUTH EARLY
ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS:



(a) A person participating in youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days may take one deer
provided they possess a firearm or combination deer hunting license or an antlerless deer hunting license valid for
the unit in which they are hunting. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this order, during the youth firearm deer
hunting days a firearm or combination deer hunting license is valid for either an antlered or an antlerless deer.

(B) A PERSON PARTICIPATING IN THE YOUTH EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING
DAYS MAY TAKE ONE ANTLERLESS DEER FOR EACH ANTLERLESS DEER HUNTING LICENSE
THEY POSSESS VALID FOR THE UNIT IN WHICH THEY ARE HUNTING.

{b) (C) A parent or legal guardian shall not allow a youth hunter to go afield to hunt deer unless the youth hunter
is accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age or older. Subject to section 43510, subsections (2) and (3), of
Part 435, as amended, hunting and fishing licensing, MCL 324.43510, an adult accompanying a youth firearm deer
hunter shall not possess or carry a firearm, a crossbow, or bow and arrow, except a veteran with 100 percent
disability may possess a firearm, crossbow, or bow and arrow if hunting under the authority of section 3.101e(2)(b).

{€} (D) The hunting hours shall be one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset, local time.

{d) (E) Except as otherwise specifically provided in this section, all regulations of state law and this order
regarding the taking, possession, transportation, and storage of deer during a firearm deer season shall apply to
persons participating in youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days AND THE YOUTH
EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS.

**Section 3.101e is superseded by Am. 2 of 2009 from March 6, 2009, through March 6, 2012**

3.101e Youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days, season established,
limits defined, adult requirements, hunting hours.

Sec. 3.101e (1)The youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days shall be a 2-day hunt
starting the fourth Saturday in September.

(2) THE YOUTH EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS SHALL BE A 4-DAY HUNT
STARTING ON THE TUESDAY PRIOR TO THE FOURTH SATURDAY IN SEPTEMBER WITHIN
DMU 486.

(23) Individuals wishing to participate in the youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days
AND THE YOUTH EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS shall be eligible if one of the
following applies:

(a) A youth 10 through 16 years of age.

(b) A veteran with 100 percent disability as defined by the United States department of veterans affairs MAY
PARTICIPATE IN THE YOUTH AND 100 PERCENT DISABLED VETERAN FIREARM DEER
HUNTING DAYS. Documentation from the United States department of veteran’s affairs indicating 100 percent
disability shall be in the possession of a veteran participating in this hunt.

(c) A resident rated by the United States department of veterans affairs as individually unemployable MAY
PARTICIPATE IN THE YOUTH AND 100 PERCENT DISABLED VETERAN FIREARM DEER
HUNTING DAYS. Documentation from the United States department of veteran’s affairs indicating this rating
shall be in the possession of a veteran participating in this hunt.

(43) The following rules shall apply to a person taking deer on the YOUTH AND 100 PERCENT DISABLED
VETERAN FIREARM DEER HUNTING DAYS yeuth-firearm-deer-hunting-days AND THE YOUTH EARLY
ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS:

(a) A person participating in youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days may take one deer
provided they possess a firearm or combination deer hunting license or an antlerless deer hunting license valid for



the unit in which they are hunting. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this order, during the youth firearm deer
hunting days a firearm or combination deer hunting license is valid for either an antlered or an antlerless deer.

(B) A PERSON PARTICIPATING IN THE YOUTH EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING
DAYS MAY TAKE ONE ANTLERLESS DEER FOR EACH ANTLERLESS DEER HUNTING LICENSE
THEY POSSESS VALID FOR THE UNIT IN WHICH THEY ARE HUNTING.

{b) (C) A parent or legal guardian shall not allow a youth hunter to go afield to hunt deer unless the youth hunter
is accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age or older. Subject to section 43510, subsections (2) and (3), of
Part 435, as amended, hunting and fishing licensing, MCL 324.43510, an adult accompanying a youth firearm deer
hunter shall not possess or carry a firearm, or bow and arrow, except a veteran with 100 percent disability may
possess a firearm, or bow and arrow if hunting under the authority of section 3.101e(2)(b).

{e} (D) The hunting hours shall be one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset, local time.

{d} (E) Except as otherwise specifically provided in this section, all regulations of state law and this order
regarding the taking, possession, transportation, and storage of deer during a firearm deer season shall apply to
persons participating in youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunting days AND THE YOUTH
EARLY ANTLERLESS FIREARM HUNTING DAYS.

3.105a Deer management units open to antlerless license quotas.
Sec. 3.105a (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section the status of each deer management unit for
antlerless deer licenses shall be as follows:

Private Public

DMU Land Land

Number DMU Name License  License
001 Alcona County Open Open
003 Allegan County Open Open
004 Alpena County Open Open
005 Antrim County Open Closed
006 Arenac County Open Open
007 Big Bay Unit Closed Closed
008 Barry County Open Open
009 Bay County Open Open
010 Benzie County Open Closed
011 Berrien County Open Open
012 Branch County Open Open
013 Calhoun County Open Open
014 Cass County Open Open
015 Charlevoix County Open Closed
016 Cheboygan County Closed Closed
017 Sault Ste. Marie Unit Open Closed

CLOSED



018
019
020
021
022
023
024

025

026
027

028

029
030
031

032
033
034
035
036
037
038
039
040

041
042
043
044
045
046
047
048

Clare County
Clinton County
Crawford County
Manistique Unit
Crystal Falls Unit
Eaton County

Emmet County
Genesee County

Gladwin County

Watersmeet Unit

Grand Traverse County

Gratiot County
Hillsdale County

Nissula Unit

Huron County
Ingham County
lonia County

losco County

Amasa/Michigamme Unit

Isabella County
Jackson County
Kalamazoo County

Kalkaska County

Kent County
Keweenaw Unit
Lake County
Lapeer County
Leelanau County
Lenawee County
Livingston County

Newberry Unit

Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open

Closed
OPEN

Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open

Open
CLOSED

Open
Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open

Open
CLOSED

Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Closed

Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Closed

Open
CLOSED

Open
Closed
Closed
Open
Open
Closed

Open
Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open
Closed

Open
Closed
Closed
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Closed



050
051
053
054
055
056
057
058
059
060
061
063
064
065
066
067
068
069
070
071
072
073
074
075
076
078
079
080
081
082
083
115
117

Macomb County
Manistee County
Mason County
Mecosta County
Menominee Unit
Midland County
Missaukee County
Monroe County
Montcalm County
Montmorency County
Muskegon County
Oakland County
Oceana County
Ogemaw County
Ontonagon County
Osceola County
Oscoda County
Otsego County
Ottawa County
Presque Isle County
Roscommon County
Saginaw County
St. Clair County

St. Joseph County
Sanilac County
Shiawassee County
Tuscola County
Van Buren County
Washtenaw County
Wayne County
Wexford County
Beaver Island

Drummond Island

Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open

Open
Closed
Closed
Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Closed
Closed
Open
Closed
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Open
Closed
Open
Open



121 Bay De Noc Open Open
CLOSED CLOSED

122 Norway Unit Open Open
127  Ironwood Unit Open Closed
CLOSED
131 Twin Lakes unit Closed Closed
135 Tawas Unit Open Open
145 North Manitou Island Closed Open
149 Round/Bois Blanc Island Closed Closed
152 Gwinn Unit Closed Closed
155 Gladstone Unit Open Open
162 South Newaygo Unit Open Open
173  Shiawassee Flats Open Open
174 St Clair Flats Open Open
245  South Fox Island Open Open
249 Trout Lake Unit Closed Closed
252 Rock Unit Open Closed
CLOSED
255 LaBranche Unit Open Open
262 North Newaygo Unit Open Closed
273  Shiawassee Unit Open Open
349 Engadine Unit Open Closed
CLOSED
452 Core Area Open Open
486 SLP Multi-County Unit Open Closed
487 NLP Multi-County Unit Open Closed

8.15 Gladwin field dog trial area, hunting and trapping restrictions.

Sec. 8.15 ON T+he Gladwin field dog trial area, as described in section 15.2, NO PERSON SHALL TAKE AN
ANIMAL EXCEPT AS SPECIFIED IN WRITING BY shal-be-closed-to-the-taking-ofany-animal-exceptunder
written-authorization-from the WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT SUPERVISOR directoror-the-director's OR
THEIR representative, EXCEPT:

(1) Netwithstanding-any-otherprovision-of-this-section-d-Deer may be taken during their open seasons on or after
November 15 of each year AND A VALID DEER LICENSE SHALL CONSTITUTE WRITTEN
AUTHORIZATION TO TAKE DEER;and-

(2) Bbeaver and otter may be trapped from November 15 to March 15 AND A VALID FURHARVESTER
LICENSE SHALL CONSTITUTE WRITTEN AUTHORIZATION TO TAKE BEAVER AND OTTER.

(3) ON DAYS DESIGNATED BY THE MANAGEMENT UNIT SUPERVISOR OR THEIR
REPRESENTATIVE, MANAGED DEER HUNTING PERMITS AS AUTHORIZED IN SECTION 5.81



MAY BE ISSUED TO PERSONS DURING THE DEER HUNTING SEASON. MANAGED DEER
HUNTING PERMITS SHALL SERVE AS AN ACCESS PERMIT TO THE GLADWIN FIELD TRIAL
AREA FOR THE PURPOSE OF ANTLERLESS DEER HUNTING. NOTWITHSTANDING ANY OTHER
PROVISION OF THIS ORDER, HOLDERS OF MANAGED DEER HUNTING PERMITS MAY TAKE
ANTLERED DEER ON THE GLADWIN FIELD TRIAL AREA.

Issued this 3rd day of June, 2010.

Approved as to matters over which the Natural Resources Commission has authority.

Keith J. Charters, Chairman
Natural Resources Commission

Approved as to matters over which the Director has authority.

Rebecca A. Humphries
Director



