Click here for a PDF version of the 2013 Antlerless Deer Hunting Digest PDF icon

Return to DNR Home Page

Man with a turkey

2013 SEASON
Application Period: July 15 - August 15, 2013
Click here to apply online
.

Drawing results will be posted on September 5. You will not be notified by mail.

NOTICE: This brochure is not a legal notice, nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. It is a condensed guide issued for hunters' convenience. Copies of Wildlife Conservation Orders can be obtained from our website, www.michigan.gov/dnrlaws.

>>>CLICK HERE FOR 2013 ANTLERLESS LICENSE QUOTA INFO<<<

Table of Contents

1. Important Changes & Reminders
2. How to Obtain a License
3. Application Information
4. Where to Hunt
5. Antlerless Deer Hunting License
6. Antlerless Deer License Quotas
7. Multi-County Antlerless Deer Licenses
8. License Purchase
9. Antlerless Deer License Options
10. Leftover Licenses
11. Antlerless Deer License Limits

12. Junior Antlerless Hunting Licenses
13. How to Apply
14. Antlerless Application Worksheet
15. Deer Hunting Seasons
16. 2013 Hunting Units Table & Map
17. Early and Late Season Firearm Map
18. Special Antlerless Deer Seasons
19. Youth & 100% Disabled Hunting Days
20. Firearm Hunting Rules for Youth
21. Apprentice Hunting Licenses
22. Mentored Youth Hunting Program

23. Tagging Option for Antlerless Deer
24. Online Harvest Survey
25. Commercial Hunting Guides
26. Bovine Tuberculosis
27. Chronic Wasting Disease
28. Epizootic Hemorrhagic Disease
29. Dioxin Advisory Information
30. Deer Baiting & Recreational Feeding
31. Contact Information

Pure Michigan Hunt Advertisement

1. Important Changes & Reminders

  • Eight new multi-county DMUs have been created in the southern Lower Peninsula (DMUs 308, 311, 319, 332, 339, 341, 354 and 361). These replace DMU 486.
  • Combination and firearm deer licenses can be used to harvest antlerless and antlered deer in DMU 487.
  • Review the DMUs open and closed to antlerless hunting carefully, as changes occur to some DMUs each year.
  • Report sick or dead deer at www.michigan.gov/wdm or to the DNR Wildlife Disease Lab at 517-336-5030.

Return to the Top

2. How to Obtain a License

A limited number of antlerless deer hunting licenses are available for many deer management units (DMUs) for private-land and public-land hunting. Licenses are distributed through an application and drawing; licenses that remain after the drawing will be sold until the quota is met for each DMU. In some DMUs, private-land licenses are available only over the counter (without application). Hunters may apply for one license through the drawing, or wait to purchase licenses after the drawing, if available. See map inside for details.

Return to the Top

3. Application Information

You may apply for a license online at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings or at a DNR Customer Service Center or authorized license agent. It costs $4 to apply.

You will need one of the following forms of customer identification:

  • Valid Michigan driver's license
  • State of Michigan ID card (issued by the Secretary of State)
  • DNR Sportcard (issued through license agents or at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings)

You must be at least 10 years old by the time a license is purchased.

You may submit a single application only, either for a public-land or private-land license (not both). When applying for a private-land antlerless license, the telephone number of the private landowner is required.

You are responsible for obtaining a DNR application receipt that states your customer ID and hunt choice. Check the receipt for accuracy and retain as proof of application. Ensure any application errors are corrected prior to the application deadline. Do not accept a receipt that is not legible.

Applicants who submit an invalid application will be ineligible for the drawing.

You are responsible for obtaining your drawing results online at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings. Applicants will not be notified by mail.

For application assistance, call 517-373-1263.

Return to the Top

4. Where to Hunt

No matter where you are in Michigan, you can find public hunting land with Mi-HUNT. Plan your next hunting adventure online or on your smartphone with this interactive mapping tool featuring the most up-to-date information on public lands open to hunting and trapping. Customize your search to find vegetation types; land topography; aerial photography; campgrounds, trails, boat launches and parking areas; your GPS location; the route to and from your selected point; links to local hunting information and more!

My Hunt Logo
www.michigan.gov/mihunt

Return to the Top

5. Antlerless Deer Hunting License

This license entitles residents and nonresidents 10 and older to take an antlerless deer or a deer with antlers less than three inches in length within the deer management unit specified on the license. There are two types of antlerless deer hunting licenses: public-land and private-land.

  • A public-land antlerless deer hunting license is valid for taking antlerless deer from public lands (including state, federal and county lands) open to hunting within the deer management unit (DMU) specified on the license or on lands within the DMU that are enrolled as Commercial Forest lands.
  • A private-land antlerless deer hunting license is valid only for taking antlerless deer from any privately owned lands within the deer management unit specified on the license with permission of the landowner. To purchase a private-land antlerless license, the phone number of the landowner is required. A private-land license is not valid on public or Commercial Forest lands.

Antlerless deer licenses are valid during all deer seasons with hunting equipment appropriate for the season and hunting zone. The antlerless deer license is a stand-alone hunting license. No additional license is necessary to be legally afield. It is illegal to use an antlerless deer license to tag a deer with antlers three inches or more in length.

Youth under 14 years of age may hunt with archery and crossbow equipment on public or private lands or with a firearm on private or Commercial Forest lands only. Hunters under the age of 10 must be licensed through the Mentored Youth Hunting Program and accompanied by a qualified mentor.

All hunters wishing to hunt antlerless deer on public land or Commercial Forest Land must have a public-land antlerless license during the firearm deer seasons.

For additional details, see the map and the Mentored Youth Hunting Program section inside this digest.

Return to the Top

6. Antlerless Deer License Quotas

Antlerless deer license quotas were not available at the time this digest was printed. An antlerless license quota is established based on the management objectives for each DMU. Antlerless quotas are available online at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings.

Return to the Top

7. Multi-County Antlerless Deer Licenses

Multi-county private-land licenses will be available in DMU 487. Private-land licenses are no longer available for individual DMUs within DMU 487. Public-land licenses are available for individual DMUs within DMU 487.

DMU 487 is a multi-county DMU created to address bovine tuberculosis in the deer herd in the northeast Lower Peninsula (see map). A private-land antlerless deer license for DMU 487 is valid, with the landowner's permission, for private-land hunting in DMUs 001, 004, 035, 060, 068, 071, 135 and 452. A combination or firearm deer license can be used to harvest antlerless or antlered deer in DMU 487 during the firearm and muzzleloading seasons.

Private-land and public-land licenses are available for DMU 308, 311, 319, 332, 339, 341, 354 and 361. For more information about the creation of these new multi-county DMUs, see the "New Deer Management Units" section in this digest.

Return to the Top

8. License Purchase

If you are selected in the drawing or wish to purchase a private-land license without application or a leftover license, you may purchase your hunting license online at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings or from any license agent. The telephone number of the private landowner is required.

All licenses must be signed to be valid. Your signature on the license certifies that you meet applicable residency and hunter-safety requirements to purchase a Michigan hunting license.

Make sure the information on your license is accurate. Licenses may not be altered or transferred.

Private-land licenses for DMUs shaded green go on sale September 10 at 10am. Remaining licenses may be viewed at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings.

Return to the Top

9. Antlerless Deer License Options

Item No. Apprentice Item No. Type of License Cost
150*   Application for Public-Land License Drawing $4.00
151 642 Resident Public-Land License (successful applicants) $15.00
152 643 Nonresident Public-Land License (successful applicants) $138.00
153 644 Junior License (only available July 15 - August 15) $15.00
154 645 Resident OTC Public-Land License $15.00
155 646 Nonresident OTC Public-Land License $138.00
 
450*   Application for Private-Land License Drawing $4.00
451 665 Resident Private-Land License (successful applicants) $15.00
452 666 Nonresident Private-Land License (successful applicants) $138.00
453 667 Resident OTC Private-Land License $15.00
454 668 Nonresident OTC Private-Land License $138.00
320   Mentored Youth License $7.50

OTC = Over-the-counter, no application required.

Discounted Antlerless Deer Licenses

Hunting license fees are established by the Legislature. The DNR has authority to discount antlerless deer license. In 2013, antlerless deer licenses will be discounted 40 percent in DMUs 001, 004, 035, 060, 068, 071, 135, 452 and 487, where bovine tuberculosis has been documented in the northeast Lower Peninsula.

*Only a single application may be submitted, either for public-land or private-land license (not both).

NOTE: Individuals who purchase a license online will receive the license by mail within seven days. If you do not receive your license, contact customer service at (517) 373-1204.

Return to the Top

10. Leftover Licenses

After the drawing, leftover antlerless deer licenses will be sold on a first-come, first-served basis beginning September 10 at 10 a.m. Remaining licenses may be viewed at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings beginning September 5. Licenses will be sold until the quota is met in each DMU.

Return to the Top

11. Antlerless Deer License Limits

Licenses will be sold until the quota is met in each DMU.

Daily Purchase Limit
Private land in DMU 487
Public land in DMU 452
5 licenses per day*
All other antlerless licenses 2 licenses per day*
*In total, no more than 5 licenses per day may be purchased statewide.
Season Purchase Limit
Public land statewide No limit until quota met
Private land in DMU 487 10 licenses
Private land statewide (except DMU 487) 5 licenses

Return to the Top

12. Junior Antlerless Hunting Licenses

Young hunters, ages 9 to 16, may purchase one junior antlerless deer license over the counter July 15 through August 15; however, a 9-year-old must be 10 by September 15, 2013 to purchase this license. No application fee or drawing is required. This license is available only in Deer Management Units (DMUs) with a quota for antlerless licenses. This license may be purchased for either public land or private land, not both. Also see section "Firearm Hunting Rules for Youth Hunters." Nonresidents, ages 10 to 16, are allowed to purchase resident licenses.

Return to the Top

13. How To Apply

  1. Select a DMU from the Hunt Table.
    • For a public-land antlerless deer license, an application is recommended.*
    • For a private-land antlerless deer license in DMUs shaded in purple on the map, an application is recommended.*
    • Private-land licenses for DMUs shaded in green may be purchased without application beginning September 10 at 10 a.m. EDT.
  2. Complete the Antlerless Deer Application Worksheet.
  3. Apply online at www.michigan.gov/huntdrawings or at any license agent. You may apply for either a private-land antlerless license or a public-land antlerless license - not both.
  4. Check your application receipt. Retain receipt as proof of application.

*Hunters may apply for an antlerless license or wait to purchase a leftover license after the drawing, if available. Licenses will be sold until the quota is met for each DMU. There is no guarantee leftover licenses will be available in any DMU.

NOTE: It is unlawful to apply for more than one antlerless deer license. If you are selected in the drawing, your drawing success authorizes you to purchase only one antlerless license. This does not preclude you from purchasing remaining licenses after the drawing, if available, within the daily and seasonal limits noted in this digest.

Return to the Top

14. Antlerless Application Worksheet

You will be asked for the following information when applying:

1. Your birth date? ___ ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___
2. Customer ID number? Michigan Driver License, State of Michigan ID Card or DNR Sportcard
3. Application item number?
(Choose Only One)
150 (Public Land) or 450 (Private Land)
4. Enter DMU number
(See map or hunt table)

For Public-Land Application
_1_ ___ ___ ___ Enter public land DMU

OR

_2_ ___ ___ ___ Enter private land DMU

5. If applying for a private-land license, the telephone number of the private landowner is required.

NOTE: Only public-land antlerless licenses are valid on Commercial Forest lands. If you plan to hunt during the firearm or muzzleloader season for an antlerless deer on Commercial Forest land, you must have a public-land antlerless license for that DMU.

Return to the Top

15. Deer Hunting Seasons

Antlerless deer licenses are valid during all deer seasons with hunting equipment appropriate for the season and hunting zone.

Season Location Season Dates
Early Antlerless Firearm* Private land in select DMUs Sept. 21-22
Youth and 100 Percent Disabled Veterans Hunt***
Statewide Sept. 21-22
Special Disabled Firearm Hunt*** Private land statewide and certain public lands by application Oct. 17-20
Archery** Statewide Oct. 1-Nov. 14
Dec. 1-Jan.1
Regular Firearm Statewide Nov. 15-30
Muzzleloading Zone 1
Zone 2
Zone 3
Dec. 6-15
Dec. 13-22
Dec. 6-22
Late Antlerless Firearm* Private land in select DMUs Dec. 23-Jan. 1

* See the Early and Late Season Firearm Antlerless Map in this digest.
** A combination license can be used to tag antlerless deer during archery seasons.
*** Regulations for these hunts are currently under review. Please see the 2013 Michigan Hunting and Trapping Digest for expanded hunt qualifications and other information.

Return to the Top

16. 2013 Hunting Units Table & Map

2013 Antlerless Deer Hunting Units map and table
Click here for a scalable PDF version of the above map and table.

Return to the Top

17. Early and Late Season Firearm Map

Antlerless Early and Late Season Firearm Map
Click here for a scalable PDF version of the above map and table.

Return to the Top

18. Special Antlerless Deer Seasons

Firearm antlerless deer hunts will take place in some Lower Peninsula DMUs on the following dates:

  • Early Antlerless Deer Season: September 21-22, 2013
  • Late Antlerless Deer Season: December 23, 2013 - January 1, 2014

Refer to the 2013 Early and Late Season Firearm Antlerless Deer Hunting Units map for the DMUs included in the early and late antlerless deer seasons. Hunters must possess a private-land antlerless deer license issued for the DMU upon which they are hunting, or a Deer Management Assistance (DMA) permit valid for that DMU for the early and late antlerless seasons. A deer kill tag issued under the mentored youth license must be used for an antlerless deer during the antlerless-only seasons.

Firearm, combination, archery and junior archery deer licenses are not valid for any of the above seasons. All hunters are required to wear hunter orange and must have permission from the landowner or leaseholder before hunting on private land. The telephone number of the private landowner is required to acquire a private-land antlerless deer license. Also see section below, "Firearm Hunting Rules for Youth Hunters."

Return to the Top

19. Youth & 100% Disabled Hunting Days

A youth and 100 percent disabled veteran firearm deer hunt will take place on all lands in Michigan September 21-22, 2013. Youth 16 years of age or younger may participate in this special hunt. Hunters under the age of 10 must be licensed through the Mentored Youth Hunting Program and accompanied by a qualified mentor. Also see section below, "Firearm Hunting Rules for Youth Hunters." For youth 10 to 16 years of age and qualified veterans with disabilities, valid licenses include a combination, firearm or antlerless deer license. During this two-day hunt, a firearm or combination license may be used for an antlered or antlerless deer. A Deer Management Assistance (DMA) permit may also be used to take one antlerless deer only, if issued for the area/land upon which hunting. Archery and junior archery deer licenses are not valid for this hunt. The bag limit for this season is one deer.

A veteran who has been determined to have a 100 percent disability, or is rated as individually unemployable by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs may participate in this hunt.*** Documentation from the Veterans Administration shall be in the possession of a veteran participating in this hunt.

All hunters are required to wear hunter orange and must have permission from the landowner or leaseholder before hunting on private land. The telephone number of the private landowner is required to acquire a private-land antlerless deer license.

***Regulations for this hunt are currently under review. Please see the 2013 Hunting and Trapping Digest for expanded hunt qualifications and other details.

Return to the Top

20. Firearm Hunting Rules for Youth

The following restrictions apply to youth hunters during any firearm deer season:

  • Youth under 14 years of age may hunt with archery and crossbow equipment on public or private lands or with a firearm on private or Commercial Forest lands only.
  • A public-land antlerless deer license is required to hunt antlerless deer on Commercial Forest land.
  • All hunters under age 17 must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or someone designated by their parent or guardian; additional qualifications apply with the apprentice or mentored youth licenses.
  • All hunters participating in a firearm season must wear hunter orange.

Return to the Top

21. Apprentice Hunting Licenses

A person who does not have a hunter safety certificate and is 10 years of age or older may purchase an apprentice hunting license. An apprentice hunter may purchase this license for two license years before he or she must successfully complete a hunter safety course. The apprentice hunting license is available to residents and nonresidents.

When afield, an apprentice hunter must be accompanied by someone 21 or older who possesses a regular current-year hunting license for the same game as the apprentice. For apprentices between ages 10-16, the accompanying hunter must be the apprentice's parent, guardian, or someone designated by the parent or guardian. "Accompanied by" requires the accompanying hunter to be able to come to the immediate aid of the apprentice and stay within a distance that permits uninterrupted, unaided visual and verbal contact.

For hunting antlerless deer, the accompanying hunter needs any deer hunting license that is valid sometime within the 2013 deer hunting season. A person may accompany no more than two apprentice hunters while hunting.

Return to the Top

22. Mentored Youth Hunting Program

The Mentored Youth Hunting Program allows youth hunters 9 years old and younger to hunt deer, turkey and small game, trap furbearers and fish for all species with a qualified youth mentor who is at least 21 years old and hunter safety-certified. The mentored youth license is a "package" license that entitles the youth to hunt, trap and fish for the species listed above during all open seasons for the species. Additional restrictions apply; complete program details can be found in the Michigan Hunting and Trapping Digest, or online at www.michigan.gov/mentoredhunting.

A deer kill tag issued under the mentored youth license is valid for any deer in any deer management unit, except during antlerless-only seasons when only an antlerless deer may be taken.

Return to the Top

23. Tagging Option for Antlerless Deer

Antlerless deer hunters with an unused valid license for an antlered deer and an unused antlerless deer license for the DMU in which they are hunting may tag a male antlerless deer with an antlered deer license kill tag. A male antlerless deer, often called a "button buck," means a deer with antlers where the longest antler extends less than three inches above the skull.

Return to the Top

24. Online Harvest Survey

Accurate and complete information on hunting activity is vital for sound wildlife management. Hunters are encouraged to report their hunting activity online after the season has ended at www.michigan.gov/hunting. These surveys are the same as those traditionally mailed to randomly selected hunters. The online reporting option now allows all hunters to participate.

Return to the Top

25. Commercial Hunting Guides

All commercial hunting guides utilizing state-owned lands must receive written authorization. Guides are also required to meet the conditions of the written authorization. If you are a guide who utilizes state-owned lands, please visit the DNR website at
www.michigan.gov/wildlifepermits or contact Casey Reitz at: (517) 373-9329 for more information.

Commercial guiding on National Forest (NF) lands requires a special use permit. Applications can be obtained through any NF office or by calling - Hiawatha NF: 906-428-5800; Huron-Manistee NF: 231-775-5023; or Ottawa NF: 906-932-1330.

Return to the Top

26. Bovine Tuberculosis

The DNR is urging hunters to submit their deer's head for TB testing if it was harvested in the following 19 counties: Alcona, Alpena, Bay, Cheboygan, Crawford, Genesee, Gratiot, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, Shiawassee and Tuscola. Hunters are asked to submit deer carcasses with chest lesions suspicious for TB (pea-sized tan or yellow lumps on the inside of the ribcage or on the lungs) from anywhere in the state. A list of deer check stations is available at www.michigan.gov/deer or by contacting a DNR Customer Service Center.

Return to the Top

27. Chronic Wasting Disease

The DNR will continue identifying and testing free-ranging cervids statewide that have been observed showing symptoms consistent with chronic wasting disease (CWD), including emaciation, behavioral changes, drooling, incoordination, loss of fear and death. If a deer, elk or moose is observed exhibiting symptoms of CWD, contact the DNR Wildlife Disease Lab at 517-336-5030 or the nearest DNR Customer Service Center. After hours, reports should be made to the DNR RAP Line at 800-292-7800.

Return to the Top

28. Epizootic Hemorrhagic Disease

Epizootic Hemorrhagic Disease (EHD) is an acute, infectious, often fatal disease contracted by wild ruminants but most commonly affecting white-tailed deer. EHD is transmitted via the bite of infected midges, gnats and other biting flies. The disease cannot be transmitted from one animal to another by direct contact, and it is not transmissible to humans. EHD typically is detected in deer in late summer and early fall, and sick and dead deer are often found near water.

Deer infected with the virus appear lethargic, disoriented, lame and unresponsive to humans. As the disease progresses, the deer may have blood-tinged discharge from the nose and mouth along with sores in the mouth and a swollen tongue. Deer usually develop a high fever (they seek out water to decrease their body temperature - that is why they are found near or in water) Blood is found in the body cavities.

To report a deer with EHD symptoms, contact the DNR Wildlife Disease Lab at 517-336-5030 or the nearest DNR Customer Service Center. After hours, reports should be made to the DNR RAP line at 800-292-7800.

Return to the Top

29. Dioxin Advisory Information

Health assessors from the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) and the DNR determined that samples of wild game taken in 2003, 2004 and 2007 from the floodplains of the Tittabawassee River and Saginaw River downstream of Midland contained high levels of dioxin and dioxin-like compounds. Wild game that have been tested include deer, turkey, cottontail rabbit, squirrel, wood duck and Canada goose. As a result, the MDCH advises that hunters and their families follow these recommendations related to deer:

  • Do not eat the liver from deer harvested in or near the Tittabawassee River floodplain downstream of Midland. Eating liver taken from deer harvested in the floodplain of the Saginaw River is not likely to result in adverse health effects
  • Limit consumption of muscle meat from deer harvested in or near the floodplain of the Tittabawassee River downstream of Midland, and in or near the floodplain of the Saginaw River. Women of childbearing age and children under the age of 15 should eat only one meal of deer muscle meat harvested in the floodplains per week. Trimming any visible fat will lower the level of dioxins in the cooked meat.
  • Other wild game that have not been tested in this area may also contain dioxins at levels that are a concern. To reduce general dioxin exposure from other wild game, trim any visible fat from the meat before cooking, do not consume organ meats such as the liver or brains, and do not eat the skin.

For more information on dioxin, go to www.michigan.gov/dioxin.

Return to the Top

30. Deer Baiting & Recreational Feeding

Baiting is prohibited year-round in Alcona, Alpena, Montmorency and Oscoda counties, and within the townships of Oscoda, Plainfield, Wilber, Au Sable and Baldwin in Iosco County. Baiting in the rest of the state is allowed in limited quantities from October 1 to January 1. Hunters may place no more than two gallons of any type of bait scattered across a minimum 10-foot by 10-foot area per hunting location.

Property owners may place two gallons of recreational feed on their property within 100 yards of their residence year-round except in DMU 487. The feed must be scattered or dispersed at least 100 yards from any area accessible to cattle, goats, sheep, new world camelids, bison, swine, horses or captive cervidae.

The DNR requests that individuals not place bait or feed repeatedly at the same point on the ground. Only place bait out when actively hunting. This may minimize the chance of direct and indirect exposure of deer to any diseases that may be present.
Baiting is also prohibited statewide during the early antlerless firearm season and the Youth and 100 Percent Disabled Veterans Hunt in September.

Return to the Top

31. Contact Information

The Department of Natural Resources is committed to the conservation, protection, management, use and enjoyment of the state's natural and cultural resources for current and future generations.

The Natural Resources Commission provides a strategic framework for the DNR to effectively manage the state's natural resources. The NRC works closely with a broad cross-section of constituents to advise the DNR on continuous improvement of resource management policy.

Department of Natural Resources
Wildlife Division - P.O. Box 30444 - Lansing, MI 48909 - 517-373-1263
www.michigan.gov/hunting
Report All Poaching: 800-292-7800

The DNR Customer Service Centers are open
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

 

Baraga
427 US-41 North
Baraga, MI 49908
906-353-6651

Bay City
3580 State Park Drive
Bay City, MI 48706
989-684-9141

Cadillac
8015 Mackinaw Trail
Cadillac, MI 49601
231-775-9727

Gaylord
1732 West M-32
Gaylord, MI 49735
989-732-3541

Marquette
1990 US-41 South
Marquette, MI 49855
906-228-6561

Newberry
5100 State Highway M-123
Newberry, MI 49868
906-293-5131

Plainwell
621 North 10th Street
Plainwell, MI 49080
269-685-6851

Roscommon
I-75 & M-18 South
8717 North Roscommon Rd.
Roscommon, MI 48653
989-275-5151

Rose Lake Field Office*
8562 Stoll Rd.
East Lansing, MI 48823
517-641-4903
* This is a field office

Southfield
26000 W. Eight Mile Rd.
Southfield, MI 48034
248-359-9040

 

Thank you for purchasing a Michigan hunting license. Your hunting license dollars help restore and improve habitats for wildlife species, advance research on wildlife and wildlife-borne diseases, foster programs that help ensure access for public hunting, support hunter safety education and much more. We encourage you to keep hunting and to share your experiences with others. In doing so, you can do your part to keep our state's hunting heritage alive for future generations.

 

Wildlife Restoration Logo The Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act places an excise tax on firearms, handguns, ammunition and archery equipment. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service apportions these funds to state wildlife agencies to be used for wildlife management, research, habitat acquisition, game area and shooting range development and hunter education. Since its inception in 1937, Michigan's share of the Wildlife Restoration funds has reached over $238 million.

 

The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employment and access to Michigan's natural resources. Both state and federal laws prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, disability, age, sex, height, weight or marital status under the Civil Rights Acts of 1964 as amended (MI PA 453) and MI PA 220, Title V of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended, and the Americans with Disabilities Act). If you believe that you have been discriminated against in any program activities, or facility, or if you desire additional information, please write: Human Resources, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, P.O. Box 30028, Lansing, MI 48909-7528 or the Michigan Department of Civil Rights, Cadillac Place, Suite 3-600, 3054 W. Grand Blvd., Detroit, MI 48202 or the Division of Federal Assistance, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 4401 North Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop MBSP-4020, Arlington, VA 22203.

For information or assistance on this publication, contact the Michigan Department of Natural Resources, P.O. Box 30444, Lansing, MI 48909-7944. This publication is available in alternative formats upon request.

Return to the Top