

LEASE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

State of Michigan (Lessor) metallic/nonmetallic minerals and underground gas storage leases require the Lessee to maintain commercial general liability insurance on an "occurrence basis" listing the Lessor as a certificate holder and named as an additional insured as follows:

"The State of Michigan, its departments, divisions, agencies, offices, commissions, officers, employees, and agents"

Lessee is required to provide Lessor with a certificate of insurance evidencing minimum policy limits of \$1 million per occurrence and \$2 million general aggregate limit. If providing an umbrella or excess liability insurance, the minimum limit is \$5 million. Lessee must also provide proof of worker's compensation insurance, as required by law, with a waiver of subrogation, except where a waiver is prohibited by law. The companies issuing such policies are also required to furnish to Lessor written notice thirty days prior to cancellation, termination, or other change of any such insurance.

Certificate of Insurance may be sent as follows:

Mailing Address DNR-Minerals Management Section

P.O. Box 30452 Lansing, MI 48909

Express/Overnight DNR-Minerals Management Section

Mailing Address Constitution Hall, 3rd Floor

525 West Allegan Street

Lansing, MI 48933

Fax 517-284-5890

If you have questions, please contact the DNR, Minerals Management Section, at VenneK@Michigan.gov.