
PART 89  

LITTERING 

324.8901 Definitions.  
Sec. 8901. As used in this part: 

(a) "Litter" means rubbish, refuse, waste material, garbage, offal, paper, glass, cans, bottles, trash, debris, or other 
foreign substances or a vehicle that is considered abandoned under section 252a of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 
PA 300, MCL 257.252a. 

(b) "Public or private property or water" includes, but is not limited to, any of the following: 

(i) The right-of-way of a road or highway, a body of water or watercourse, or the shore or beach of a body of 
water or watercourse, including the ice above the water. 

(ii) A park, playground, building, refuge, or conservation or recreation area. 

(iii) Residential or farm properties or timberlands. 

(c) "Vehicle" means a motor vehicle registered or required to be registered under the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 
PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923. 

(d) "Vessel" means a vessel registered under part 801. 
History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 494, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2004  

 324.8902 Littering property or water prohibited; removal of injurious substances dropped on 
highway as result of accident. 

Sec. 8902. (1) A person shall not knowingly, without the consent of the public authority having supervision of 
public property or the owner of private property, dump, deposit, place, throw, or leave, or cause or permit the 
dumping, depositing, placing, throwing, or leaving of, litter on public or private property or water other than 
property designated and set aside for such purposes. 

(2) A person who removes a vehicle that is wrecked or damaged in an accident on a highway, road, or street shall 
remove all glass and other injurious substances dropped on the highway, road, or street as a result of the accident. 

History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995. 

324.8903 Causing litter or object to fall or be thrown into path of or to hit vehicle; violation as 
misdemeanor; penalty. 

Sec. 8903. (1) A person shall not knowingly cause litter or any object to fall or to be thrown into the path of or to 
hit a vehicle traveling upon a highway. 

(2) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 
1 year or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. 

History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995. 

324.8904 Presumptions.  
Sec. 8904. (1) Except as provided in subsection (3) involving litter from a leased vehicle or leased vessel, in a 

proceeding for a violation of this part involving litter from a motor vehicle or vessel, proof that the particular 
vehicle or vessel described in the citation, complaint, or warrant was used in the violation, together with proof that 
the defendant named in the citation, complaint, or warrant was the registered owner of the vehicle or vessel at the 
time of the violation, gives rise to a rebuttable presumption that the registered owner of the vehicle or vessel was the 
driver of the vehicle or vessel at the time of the violation. 



(2) There is a rebuttable presumption that the driver of a vehicle or vessel is responsible for litter that is thrown, 
dumped, deposited, placed, or left from the vehicle or vessel on public or private property or water. 

(3) In a proceeding for a violation of this part involving litter from a leased motor vehicle or leased vessel, proof 
that the particular vehicle or vessel described in the citation, complaint, or warrant was used in the violation, 
together with proof that the defendant named in the citation, complaint, or warrant was the lessee of the vehicle or 
vessel at the time of the violation, gives rise to a rebuttable presumption that the lessee of the vehicle or vessel was 
the driver of the vehicle or vessel at the time of the violation. 

(4) In a proceeding for a violation of this part involving litter consisting of an abandoned vehicle, proof that the 
particular vehicle described in the citation, complaint, or warrant was abandoned, and that the defendant named in 
the citation, complaint, or warrant was the titled owner or lessee of the vehicle at the time it was abandoned, gives 
rise to a rebuttable presumption that the defendant abandoned the vehicle. 

History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995 ;-- Am. 1995, Act 111, Imd. Eff. June 28, 1995 ;-- Am. 1998, Act 15, Imd. Eff. Mar. 9, 1998 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 494, 
Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2004  

 324.8905 Violation involving litter produced at health facility, agency, or laboratory as 
misdemeanor; violation involving infectious waste, pathological waste, or sharps as felony; penalty; 
second or subsequent violation under subsection (2); definitions. 

Sec. 8905. (1) A person who violates this part where the violation involves litter that is produced at a health 
facility or agency as defined in section 20106 of the public health code, Act No. 368 of the Public Acts of 1978, 
being section 333.20106 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, or at a laboratory described in section 20507 of Act No. 
368 of the Public Acts of 1978, being section 333.20507 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 6 months or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or 
both. 

(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), a person who violates this part where the violation involves litter that is 
infectious waste, pathological waste, or sharps is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 2 
years or by a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. 

(3) For a second or subsequent violation under subsection (2), the person shall be punished by imprisonment for 
not less than 1 year or more than 5 years and a fine of not more than $10,000.00. 

(4) As used in this section: 

(a) "Infectious waste" means waste that contains varying amounts of microorganisms that have a potential for 
causing serious illness. 

(b) "Pathological waste" means body organs, tissues, parts, and fluids removed during surgery or autopsy, 
whether or not they are infectious. 

(c) "Sharps" means discarded hypodermic needles, syringes and scalpel blades, whether or not they are infectious. 
History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995. 

324.8905a Violations as state civil infractions; civil fines; default remedies; exception.  
Sec. 8905a. (1) A person who violates this part where the amount of the litter is less than 1 cubic foot in volume 

is responsible for a state civil infraction and is subject to a civil fine of not more than $800.00. 

(2) A person who violates this part where the amount of the litter is 1 cubic foot or more but less than 3 cubic feet 
in volume is responsible for a state civil infraction and is subject to a civil fine of not more than $1,500.00. 

(3) Except as provided in subsection (4), a person who violates this part where the amount of the litter is 3 cubic 
feet or more in volume is responsible for a state civil infraction and is subject to a civil fine of not more than 
$2,500.00. A person found to have committed a violation described in this subsection in a subsequent proceeding is 
subject to a civil fine of not more than $5,000.00. 



(4) A person who violates this part where the litter consists of an abandoned vehicle is responsible for a state civil 
infraction and is subject to a civil fine of not less than $500.00 or more than $2,500.00. A person found to have 
committed a violation described in this subsection in a subsequent proceeding is subject to a civil fine of not less 
than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00. However, the court shall not order the payment of a fine unless the vehicle 
has been disposed of under section 252g of the Michigan vehicle code, 1949 PA 300, MCL 257.252g.  

(5) A default in the payment of a civil fine or costs ordered under this part or an installment of the fine or costs 
may be remedied by any means authorized under the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.101 to 
600.9947. 

(6) This section does not apply to a violation of section 8903 or 8905. 
History: Add. 1998, Act 15, Imd. Eff. Mar. 9, 1998 ;-- Am. 2004, Act 494, Imd. Eff. Dec. 29, 2004  

Compiler's Notes: Former § 324.8905a, which pertained to violations as civil infractions, was repealed by Act 111 of 1995, Eff. Dec. 31, 1997.  

324.8905b Additional penalties or sanctions; community service. 
Sec. 8905b. (1) In addition to any other penalty or sanction provided in this part for a criminal or civil action 

brought under this part, the court may require the defendant to pay either or both of the following: 

(a) The cost of removing all litter which is the subject of the violation and the cost of damages to any land, water, 
wildlife, vegetation, or other natural resource or to any facility damaged by the violation of this part. Money 
collected under this subdivision shall be distributed to the governmental entity bringing the enforcement action. 

(b) The reasonable expense of impoundment under section 8905c. Money collected under this subdivision shall 
be distributed to the governmental entity that impounded the vehicle involved in the violation of this part. 

(2) In addition to any other penalty or sanction provided for in this part, the court shall impose, under the 
supervision of the court, community service in the form of litter gathering labor, including, but not limited to, litter 
connected with the particular violation. 

History: Add. 1998, Act 15, Imd. Eff. Mar. 9, 1998.  

Compiler's note: Former § 324.8905b, which pertained to payment of additional costs and expenses, was repealed by Act 111 of 1995, Eff. Dec. 31, 1997. 

324.8905c Impoundment of vehicles; lien; forfeiture of bond; foreclosure sale; notice; distribution 
of proceeds. 

Sec. 8905c. (1) A peace officer may seize and impound a vehicle operated in the commission of a violation of this 
part if the operator of the vehicle has previously been convicted for a violation of this part. Upon impoundment, the 
vehicle is subject to a lien, subordinate to a prior lien of record, in the amount of any fine, costs, and damages that 
the defendant may be ordered to pay under this part. The defendant or a person with an ownership interest in the 
vehicle may post with the court a cash or surety bond in the amount of $750.00. If such a bond is posted, the vehicle 
shall be released from impoundment. The vehicle shall also be released, and the lien shall be discharged, upon a 
judicial determination that the defendant is not responsible for the violation of this part or upon payment of the fine, 
costs, and damages. Additionally, if the defendant is determined to be not responsible for the violation of this part, 
the court shall assess against the governmental entity bringing the action costs, payable to the defendant, for any 
damages that the defendant has sustained due to the impoundment of the vehicle. 

(2) If the court determines that the defendant is responsible for the violation of this part and the defendant defaults 
in the payment of any fine, costs, or damages, or any installment, as ordered pursuant to this part, any bond posted 
under subsection (1) shall be forfeited and applied to the fine, costs, damages, or installment. The court shall certify 
any remaining unpaid amount to the attorney for the governmental entity bringing the action. The attorney for the 
governmental entity may enforce the lien by a foreclosure sale. The foreclosure sale shall be conducted in the 
manner provided and subject to the same rights as apply in the case of execution sales under sections 6031, 6032, 
6041, 6042, and 6044 to 6047 of the revised judicature act of 1961, 1961 PA 236, MCL 600.6031, 600.6032, 
600.6041, 600.6042, and 600.6044 to 600.6047. 



(3) Not less than 21 days before the foreclosure sale under subsection (2), the attorney for the governmental entity 
bringing the action shall by certified mail send written notice of the time and place of the foreclosure sale to each 
person with a known ownership interest in or lien of record on the vehicle. In addition, not less than 10 days before 
the foreclosure sale, the attorney shall twice publish notice of the time and place of the foreclosure sale in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the vehicle was seized. The proceeds of the foreclosure sale 
shall be distributed in the following order of priority: 

(a) To discharge any lien on the vehicle that was recorded prior to the creation of the lien under subsection (1). 

(b) To the clerk of the court for the payment of the fine, costs, and damages, that the defendant was ordered to 
pay. 

(c) To discharge any lien on the vehicle that was recorded after the creation of the lien under subsection (1). 

(d) To the owner of the vehicle. 
History: Add. 1998, Act 15, Imd. Eff. Mar. 9, 1998.  

Compiler's note: Former § 324.8905c, which pertained to seizure and impoundment of vehicle, was repealed by Act 111 of 1995, Eff. Dec. 31, 1997. 

324.8906 Posting notices; publication; receptacles for litter. 
Sec. 8906. All public authorities having supervision of public property of this state or any political subdivision of 

this state may post notice signs and otherwise publicize the requirements of this part. All public authorities having 
supervision of public property in this state may establish and maintain receptacles for the deposit of litter on the 
property and publicize the location of those receptacles. 

History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995. 

324.8907 Powers of municipalities not limited. 
Sec. 8907. This part does not affect or in any way limit the powers of municipalities to enact and enforce 

ordinances for the control and elimination of litter. 
History: 1994, Act 451, Eff. Mar. 30, 1995. 


