Registration Decal and
Trail Permit Sticker

(one on each side)

Registration and Trail Permits

¢ A snowmobile shall not be operated
unless the owner first obtains a certificate
of registration, registration decals and a trail
permit sticker.

* The certificate of registration
must accompany the snowmobile and be
made available for inspection upon demand
by a peace officer.

¢ If owned by a nonresident, before operation
in Michigan, a snowmobile must display a
valid registration from the operator's home

state or province, or be registered in Michigan.

* State law requires that you affix the
registration decals issued to the snowmobile
to each side of the forward half of the
cowl above the footwell. Decals must
be exposed and visible. It is illegal to place
registration decals on the tunnel or footwell.

It is illegal to place registration decals
on the tunnel or footwell.
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* Snowmobile registrations are valid for

three years, expiring on September 30 of the
year indicated on the registration decal

and certificate.

Any time a registered snowmobile is sold to
another person, the registration also must

be transferred within 15 days of acquisition to
avoid monetary penalty. Contact the Secretary
of State for transfer information.

A person who desires to operate a
snowmobile in this state shall obtain a
snhowmobile trail permit sticker. The
snowmobile trail permit sticker shall be valid
for a period of one year, which begins

October 1 and ends September 30 of the
following year.

The trail permit sticker shall be permanently
affixed and visible on the forward half of

the snowmobile directly above or below

the headlight.

Snowmobile trail permits are available

from snowmobile dealers, DNR offices and retail
license agents throughout Michigan as well as
on the E-License website at
www.mdnr-elicense.com.

Snowmobiles are exempt from registration

and having a trail permit if they are: operated
exclusively on lands owned or under the control

of the owner; used entirely in a safety education
program conducted by a certified snowmobile
safety instructor; or exclusively operated in a
special event of limited duration which is conducted
according to a prearranged schedule under a
permit from the governmental unit having proper
jurisdiction. In addition, a snowmobile used solely
for transportation on the frozen surface of public
waters for ice fishing is exempt from the trail sticker
requirement, but must still be registered.

Michigan law allows owners to register snowmobiles
26 or more years old and owned solely as a
collector’s item as a historic snowmobile. Historic
snowmobiles are limited to occasional use and for
participation in club activities, exhibitions, tours,
parades, and similar uses, including mechanical
testing. Unlike regular snowmobile registrations,

the historic registration is non-expiring and cannot
be transferred with the snowmobile to a new owner.
A trail permit is not required for snowmobiles
registered as a historic snowmobile. A single historic
snowmobile decal is issued and is placed above or

below the headlight or, if the historic showmobile

was not originally equipped with a headlight, on
the forward half of the cowl above the footwell.
A historic snowmobile registration is $50.

A Person Shall Not Operate a Snowmobile:

¢ While under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
¢ At a rate of speed greater than is reasonable for

existing conditions.

¢ In a forest nursery or planting area or on public

lands posted or reasonably identifiable as an area
of forest reproduction when growing stock may be
damaged or on any desighated wild, wilderness or
natural area in the state.

On the frozen surface of public waters within 100
feet of a person, including a skater, not in or

upon a snowmobile; or within 100 feet of a fishing
shanty or shelter except at the minimum speed
required to maintain forward movement of the
snowmobile; or on an area that has been cleared
for ice skating, unless necessary for gaining
access to the public water.

Within 100 feet of a dwelling between the hours
of midnight and 6 a.m. at a speed greater than the
minimum required to maintain forward movement
of the snowmobile.

Upon the land of another without consent of the
owner or his agent, as required by the recreational
trespass act.

In an area open to public hunting during the Nov.
15-30 firearm deer season from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m.
and from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.

While transporting a bow unless it is unstrung

or encased, or a firearm unless it is unloaded and
securely encased. A person with a valid concealed
pistol license (CPL) may carry a loaded and
uncased pistol, but not a longarm such as a rifle or
shotgun, on a snowmobile.

On or across a cemetery or burial ground, airport,
public or private parking lot, railroad or a railroad
right-of-way within 100 feet of a sledding, skiing or
skating area.

* To chase, pursue, worry or Kill any wild bird

or animal.

Michigan

Snowmobile Regulations

www.michigan.gov/snowmobiling

Legal Definition of a Snowmobile:

“Snowmobile” means any motor-driven vehicle designed
for travel primarily on snow or ice of a type that utilizes
sled-type runners or skis, an endless belt tread, or any
combination of these or other similar means of contact
with the surface upon which it is operated, but is not a
vehicle that must be registered under the Michigan vehicle
code. (1949 PA 300, MCL 257.1 to 257.923)

Equipment Required

Brakes: Each snowmobile must have a braking
system capable of:

a. Stopping the snowmobile in not more than 40
feet from an initial speed of 20 miles per hour while
the snowmobile travels on packed snow carrying an
operator who weighs 175 pounds or more.

b. Locking the snowmobile’s traction belt or belts.

Noise: Each snowmobile must be equipped with
a muffler in good working order and in constant
operation from which noise emission does not
exceed the current standards. To see the current
snowmobile noise regulations, visit
www.michigan.gov/snowmobiling.

Helmet: All those operating or riding on a
snowmobile must wear a Department of
Transportation-approved crash helmet, except those
operating on their own private property.

Lighting: All snowmobiles must display a lighted
headlight and taillight at all times during operation.
However, the headlight shall not be covered with a
lens cap of any color.



A Snowmobile May Operate on a Public
Highway Under the Following Conditions:

¢ A snowmobile may be operated on the right-of-
way of a public highway (except a limited-access
highway) if it is operated at the extreme right of
the open portion of the right-of-way and with the
flow of traffic on the highway.

* Snowmobiles operating on the shoulder of right-
of-way must travel with the flow of vehicular
traffic and in single file and shall not operate
abreast except when overtaking or safely
passing another snowmobile.

* A snowmobile may be operated on the roadway
or shoulder when necessary to cross a bridge
or culvert if the snowmobile is brought to a
complete stop before entering onto the roadway
or shoulder and the operator yields the right-
of-way to any approaching motor vehicle on
the highway.

* A snowmobile may be operated across a
public highway, other than a limited-access
highway, at right angles to the highway for
the purpose of getting from one area to
another when the operation can be done safely
and another vehicle is not crossing the highway
at the same time in the immediate area. An
operator must bring his/her snowmobile to a
complete stop before proceeding across the
public highway and must yield the right-of-way
to all oncoming traffic.

* Snowmobiles may be operated on the shoulder
of an open county roadway or its right-of-way,
outside the corporate limits of a city or village,
which is designhated and marked for snowmobile
use by the county road commission
having jurisdiction.

Accident Reporting

The law requires that the operator of a
snowmobile involved in an accident resulting
in injury to, or death of, any person, or property
damage in an estimated amount of $100

or more, must immediately notify a law
enforcement agency within the county in which
the accident occurred.

Regulatory Signs
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Purpose: Instructs riders  Purpose: Instructs riders
to bring their snowmobile at an intersection to
to a complete stop before yield the right-of-way to
proceeding with caution. vehicles traveling on the
Colors: Red and white. other trail.

Colors: Red and white.

Driver License Information

Suspended Driver License

You may not operate a snowmobile if your license
to operate an automobile has been suspended or
revoked by Michigan or your home state.

Points Assessed to Your Driver Record

A person convicted of manslaughter, negligent
homicide or a felony resulting from snowmobile
operation shall have six points assessed against his/
her driver record. A person convicted of operating a
showmobile while under the influence of alcohol or
a controlled substance, or with an unlawful blood
alcohol content, shall have six points assessed against
his/her driver record. A person who is convicted of
operating a snowmobile while visibly impaired due
to consumption of alcohol or a controlled substance
shall have four points assessed against his/her
driver record.

Purpose: Instructs riders that
a railroad crossing is ahead.
Colors: Yellow and black.

Purpose: Reminds riders
of the importance of
staying on the
designated trail.

Colors: Black and white.

Purpose: Identifies areas
where snowmobiling is
not allowed.

Colors: Black legend
with red slash and circle.

Caution Signs
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Purpose: Advise snowmobile operators to proceed with caution at a
reduced speed, or advise the snowmobiler of a specific trail condition.
Colors: Yellow with black or red letters or symbols.

Safety Education and Training

Snowmobile safety education training is required
for youthful operators as indicated below and
recommended for snowmobile operators of

all ages.

For information on snowmobile safety training,
visit www.michigan.gov/recreationalsafety or
contact a DNR Service Center.

Restrictions on Youthful Operations

Those under the age of 12:
* May not operate a snowmobile without

direct supervision of an adult, except on . Obiect .
property owned or controlled by the parent or SNOWMOBILES Community J Trail Reassurance
legal guardian. Route Marker Markers Marker

B : PERMITTED ON
May not cross a highway or street. i ‘ '
OR SHOULDER
Those who are at least 12 but less than 17 OF ALL

years of age: OTSEGO
 May operate a snowmobile if they have a valid COUNTIE "5 k ‘

snowmobile safety certificate in their immediate 3 )
possession, or are under the direct supervision of :UCFOPUO:; l-l‘li;f”:'i‘;r:r:;gm: PlL)erosle: Ir|1forms thelz) tl‘ider Purpos:: |%enti?eﬁ an qlbs_I'E;uctiqn on
" about local snowmobile or at the side of the trail. (S strlpes
oSl yege pliescCild R . the right-of-ways or on the routes within a community.  slope down towards the trail.
* May not cross a highway or street without shoulders of county roads. These  Color: Green.
having a valid snowmobile safety certificate in signs do not permit operation on

- - - any highways in that county that
their immediate possession. arg degsigna{ed “M” or uu.s)fn

Colors: Blue and white.
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Purpose: Lets the
rider know which
specific trail they are
Colors: Yellow and black. using.

Colors: Orange with
black numbers.



