
 
(Driver Responsibility Law Changes) 

Effective: April 1, 2009 
 
Public Act 460 of 2008 affords individuals with a Driver Responsibility Fee (DRF) suspension 
an opportunity to reinstate their driver’s license under certain conditions. 
 

Old DRF Provisions New DRF Provisions 
Payment arrangements (Installment 
Agreements) available for assessments of 
$500 or more. 

Payment arrangements (Installment 
Agreements) available for any assessed 
amount. 

Payment arrangements allowed for 12 months 
only. 

Payment arrangements allowed for 24 months. 

Driver is suspended indefinitely for failure to 
pay Driver Responsibility Fee or for 
defaulting on payment arrangement. 

Driver may obtain driving privileges with an 
approved payment arrangement (under certain 
conditions). 

Driver must pay Driver Responsibility Fee in 
full to restore driving privileges. 

Driver may have suspension terminated before 
Driver Responsibility Fee is paid in full. 

Once Driver Responsibility Fee is paid in full, 
a $125 reinstatement fee is paid at Secretary 
of State branch office before driver’s license 
is issued. 

Driver may include $125 driver’s license 
reinstatement fee into installment agreement. 

 
 
How the payment/installment process works on/after April 1, 2009: 

• Driver owes for an unpaid DRF. 
• Driver is suspended for non-payment of DRF and has no other suspensions, revocations 

or denials. 
• Driver must contact the Michigan Department of Treasury for an Installment Agreement 

that may lead to restoration of driving privileges.  Note that drivers under a current 
installment agreement (currently suspended) may be able to enter into a new agreement 
that would restore driving privileges. 

• Driver has the choice of including the $125 reinstatement fee into Installment Agreement. 
• Upon notification from the Michigan Department of Treasury, the driver will receive a 

letter regarding their eligibility to drive from the Michigan Department of State. 
• Driver continues to make DRF payments until paid in full. 

 
 
Individuals are NOT eligible for removal of the DRF suspension if they: 
1. Do not enter into a new Installment Agreement. 
2. Are suspended for any reason other than a DRF suspension. 
3. Were already afforded a new Installment Agreement and defaulted on the agreement.  
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Frequently Asked Questions 
1.  Where can I get information on the new Driver Responsibility Law changes? 

Driver Responsibility Fee (DRF) Program 
www.michigan.gov/driverresponsibility

Contact the Michigan Department of Treasury Contact the Michigan Department of State 
Collections Division 
1-800-950-6227 

Driver and Vehicle Record Information 
1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424) 

You may request an Installment Agreement by 
contacting Treasury. 

You also may purchase a copy of your driving 
record at any Secretary of State office for $8. 

2.  Can I make payment arrangements if I have never made a payment on my Driver 
Responsibility Fee? 
Yes.  The law may allow you up to 24 months to make payment arrangements on the amount you 
currently owe. 
 
3.  I initially made payment arrangements but defaulted and my license is now 
suspended. Can I make another payment arrangement to get my driver’s license back? 
If your license is suspended for non-payment of a driver responsibility fee or you defaulted on a 
payment arrangement (Installment Agreement), you may be eligible to enter into a new 
Installment Agreement that would allow your driving privileges to be reinstated.  Contact the 
Michigan Department of Treasury to see if you qualify. 
 
4.  If my license is suspended and I make a new payment arrangement, do I 
automatically get my driver’s license back? 
No, the reinstatement of your license is not automatic.  There are certain conditions in which you 
may be eligible to drive.  The law is intended to restore driving privileges only for those 
suspended for nonpayment of driver responsibility fees.  If the suspension is for nonpayment of 
driver responsibility fees only, you are still required to pay a $125 reinstatement fee.  If your 
driving privileges are reinstated, the $125 reinstatement fee can be included in your installment 
agreement.  If your license is suspended, revoked or denied for reasons other than nonpayment of 
driver responsibility fees, you are not eligible to drive. 
 
5.  What happens if I default on the payment arrangement after I get my driver’s 
license back? 
If your driving privileges are reinstated after entering into an approved Installment Agreement 
and you default on the payments, your driving privileges will again be suspended and will not be 
reinstated until the driver responsibility fees are paid in full.  An additional $125 reinstatement 
fee will be required prior to the reinstatement of your license. 
 
6.  If I entered into an installment agreement, when will I know if I am eligible to drive? 
Once you enter into an approved Installment Agreement with the Michigan Department of 
Treasury, the Michigan Department of State will mail a notification to the address on your 
driver’s license indicating whether you are eligible to drive.  You should not drive until you 
receive this notification. 

http://www.michigan.gov/driverresponsibility

