
PROTOCOL FOR DOGS, CATS & FERRETS POSSIBLY EXPOSED TO RABIES

Dog/cat/ferret exposed 1 to bat or other 

wild animal (mammal)

Dog/cat/ferret exposed 1 to bat or other 

wild animal (mammal)

Exposed dog/cat/ferret has 

current rabies vaccination 2

Exposed dog/cat/ferret has 

current rabies vaccination 2
Exposed dog/cat/ferret does NOT 

have current rabies vaccination

Exposed dog/cat/ferret does NOT 

have current rabies vaccination

Revaccinate Immediately and have 

owner observe for 45 days

Revaccinate Immediately and have 

owner observe for 45 days
Test bat or other wild animal 3
Test bat or other wild animal 3

Euthanize & Test dog/cat/ferret for rabies if it 

becomes ill, with signs suggestive of rabies, or 

dies during observation period

Euthanize & Test dog/cat/ferret for rabies if it 

becomes ill, with signs suggestive of rabies, or 

dies during observation period

Results are positive
Results are positive

Results are negative
Results are negative

Immediate euthanasia of 

exposed dog/cat/ferret

Immediate euthanasia of 

exposed dog/cat/ferret
Vaccinate dog/cat/ferret 

against rabies

Vaccinate dog/cat/ferret 

against rabies

If Owner Refuses Euthanasia of Animal:

1. Strict confinement (i.e., quarantine for six months.)

2. Vaccination may be administered at the beginning of 
confinement, or at month 5 of confinement.

3. Euthanize and test dog/cat/ferret if it becomes ill with signs 
suggestive of rabies, or dies during confinement period.

If Owner Refuses Euthanasia of Animal:

1. Strict confinement (i.e., quarantine for six months.)

2. Vaccination may be administered at the beginning of 
confinement, or at month 5 of confinement.

3. Euthanize and test dog/cat/ferret if it becomes ill with signs 
suggestive of rabies, or dies during confinement period.

1  If questions of exposure, first call your local health department and animal control offices.  If they are   unavailable, 

call the Michigan Department of Agriculture (MDA) at (517) 373-1077 during business hours, or call the Michigan 

Department of Community Health (MDCH) at (517) 335-8165 during business hours.  After 5:00 p.m. and on weekends 

call MDCH at (517) 335-9030, or MDA at (517) 373-0440.

2  Current rabies vaccination is vaccination by a veterinarian within 12 months if it was the animal’s first vaccination.  

First vaccination is by four months of age for dogs, 12 weeks for ferrets.  Cats are not required to be vaccinated by 

Michigan law, but rabies vaccination is strongly recommended due to the predatory nature of cats.  For subsequent rabies 

vaccinations, current means administered by a veterinarian, within one or three years from the previous vaccination, 

depending on the vaccine used.

3  If bat or wild animal is NOT available for testing, must proceed as if it is positive for rabies.

SEE LIST ON OPPOSITE SIDE FOR ANIMALS NOT CONSIDERED TO BE A RABIES RISK
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