
16. How has Michigan, and how have other jurisdictions limited the rate impact of renewable 
energy mandates on the residential, commercial, and industrial sector, if at all? What effect have 
such rate limitations had on other areas?  
 
Michigan has limited the rate impact of the renewable energy mandated in Act 295 on each of 
the three sectors listed by including a retail rate impact limit in the law. As listed in Section 45 of 
Act 295, electric providers “shall not comply with the renewable energy standards to the extent 
that, as determined by the commission, recovery of the incremental cost of compliance will have 
a retail rate impact that exceeds any of the following: $3.00 per month per residential customer 
meter, $16.58 per month per commercial secondary customer meter or $187.50 per month per 
commercial primary or industrial customer meter.” 
 
In addition to the retail rate impact limits applied to the incremental cost of compliance described 
above, Act 295 directs the Michigan Public Service Commission to review all costs incurred and 
revenues recovered by electric providers whose rates are regulated by the Commission (Act 295, 
Section 49). The Commission also reviews and approves contracts for renewable energy and  
 
renewable energy credits (Section 37) and annually establishes the transfer price (Section 47), for 
electric providers whose rates are regulated by the Commission. 
 
 
 



 

 
 
 
 
Sources: 
Calls with State Public Utility Commission Staff 
http://www.in.gov/legislative/bills/2011/SE/SE0251.1.html  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=216b.1691  

http://www2.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/BI/BT/2003/0/SB1030P1973.pdf  

 

State 
Renewable Rate Impact Policy-Michigan and 

Neighboring States 

Illinois 

The cost cap changes each year through 2011, when it is the 
greater of an additional 0.5% of the amount paid per kWh 
during the year ending in 2010, or 2% of the amount paid per 
kWh during the year ending May, 2007. Thereafter, the cost 
is limited to the greater of 2.015% of the amount per kWh 
paid in 2007, or the incremental amount paid in 2011. 

Indiana 

The application for the voluntary standard program will not 
be approved unless it will not result in an increase to the 
retail rates and charges of the electricity supplier above what 
could reasonably be expected if the application were not 
approved. 

Michigan 

$3.00 per month per residential customer meter, $16.58 per 
month per commercial secondary customer meter, $187.50 
per month per commercial primary or industrial customer 
meter. 

Minnesota Statute does not appear to impose a rate impact limit. 

Ohio 
Utilities are not required to comply with the annual 
benchmarks if it is "reasonably expected" to raise their costs 
by 3% or more above what they would have otherwise been. 

Pennsylvania Statute does not appear to impose a rate impact limit. 

Wisconsin 
No dollar limit, costs are based on Commission decision of 
reasonableness. 


