
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 

OFFICE OF RACING COMMISSIONER 
 

GENERAL RULES 
 

Filed with the Secretary of State on May 18, 2009 
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adopted under sections 33, 44, or 45a(6) of 1969 PA 306.  Rules adopted under these sections 
become effective 7 days after filing with the Secretary of State. 
 
(By authority conferred on the office of racing commissioner by section 7 of 1995 PA 279, 
MCL 431.307) 
 
R 431.1245, R 431.3055, R 431.3075, and R 431.3295 of the Michigan Administrative Code 
are amended as follows: 
 
R 431.1245   Declaratory order or ruling. 
  Rule 1245. (1)  Pursuant to section 63 of 1969 PA 306,  MCL 24.263, any person may 
request a declaratory ruling as to the applicability to an actual state of facts of a statute, rule, 
or order administered by the racing commissioner. 
  (2)  A request for a declaratory ruling shall be submitted in writing to the Racing 
Commissioner, Michigan Office of Racing Commissioner, PO Box 30773, Lansing, MI 
48909-8273 and shall contain all of the following information: 
  (a)  Specific reference to the statute, rule, or order in question. 
  (b)  A complete account of the facts which actually exist for which the declaratory ruling is 
sought. 
  (c)  Contact information and the signature of the requestor. 
  (3)  Within 45 business days after receiving a submitted request, the commissioner shall 
notify any person of record as to whether the declaratory ruling will be issued or denied. 
  (4)  The request may be declined for any of the following reasons: 
  (a)  The subject matter of the request is frivolous on its face. 
  (b)  The statement of actual facts or issues contained in a request is indefinite, incomplete, 
or lacks specificity. 
  (c)  The same, or substantially similar, actual state of facts or issue of law is under 
investigation or is subject to any litigation, pending or resolved.   
  (5)  Denials shall include the facts upon which the denial has been made. 
  (6)  A declaratory ruling shall include a statement or findings of fact, conclusions of law 
supported by legal authority or reasoned opinion, and the ruling or determination made. 
  (7)  Once issued, a ruling is binding on the office of racing commissioner and shall not 
retroactively be changed, but nothing in this rule shall prohibit the commissioner from 
prospectively changing a ruling. 
  (8)  Upon a written request to the commissioner, a person may inspect, copy, or receive a 
copy of a declaratory ruling. 
 



R 431.3055  Clerk of scales; duties; jockey weights. 
  Rule 3055. (1)  The clerk of scales shall secure, regulate, and control the jockeys’ room, the 
equipment therein, and the personnel permitted access thereto. The clerk of   scales shall 
weigh all jockeys out and weigh in not less than the first 3 finishers. The clerk of scales shall 
accurately record and   publish a scratch, overweight, change of jockey, and any change of 
weight or racing colors from what is stated in the official program and shall promptly supply 
all racing officials and the mutuel department with all pertinent changes. 
  (2)  After each race, the clerk of scales shall report to the racing secretary or his or her 
representative the weights carried by each   horse, with the name of each horse's jockey and 
the overweight, if any.  The clerk of scales shall also report the post time and running time in 
each race and shall report any other information which may from time to time be required. 
  (3)  The clerk of scales shall promptly report an infraction of the rules with respect to 
weight, weighing, or riding equipment to the stewards. 
  (4)  A jockey's weight shall include all of the following: 
  (a)  Clothing. 
  (b)  Boots. 
  (c)  Saddle and its attachments. 
  (d)  Saddle cloth. 
  (e)  Other equipment required by the stewards. 
  (5)  A jockey's weight shall not include any of the following: 
  (a)  Whip. 
  (b)  Head number. 
  (c)  Number cloth. 
  (d)  Bridle. 
  (e)  Safety helmet and goggles. 
  (6)  The clerk of scales, with the consent of the stewards, may permit clothing allowances 
for inclement weather. 
  (7)  Seven pounds is the limit of overweight any horse is allowed to carry. If the weight of a 
rider exceeds the weight the horse is published to carry, the jockey shall declare the amount 
of overweight to the clerk of scales at the time designated by the stewards, and the clerk of 
scales shall have the overweight posted and announced immediately.  A trainer has the pre-
post time option of removing a jockey from a horse if the jockey is under his or her training 
and is carrying more than 2 pounds overweight. Such removal shall be without penalty to the 
trainer. The failure of a jockey to comply with this rule shall be reported to the stewards. 
  (8)  The clerk of scales shall maintain a record of the winning races of an apprentice jockey. 
At the close of the meeting, or on departure of the jockey, the record sheet shall be attached 
to the rider's copy of his or her contract or shall be written into his or her certificate and shall 
be released to the rider. The clerk of scales shall inform   the stewards of the expiration date 
of the apprentice jockey's apprentice allowance. 
 
R 431.3075  Workout clockers. 
  Rule 3075.  (1) The racing commissioner shall employ an experienced clocker.  The clocker 
shall make a record of all morning workouts or any morning trials on the main track or 
training track of the association.  A record of all workouts and trials shall be presented to the 
racing secretary by the clockers and a copy shall be delivered to the stewards. 



  (2)  Every occupational licensee who exercises a horse shall correctly identify to the 
clockers the horse he or she is exercising and shall state the distance over which the horse is 
to be worked and the point at which the workout is intended to begin. 
  (3)  Horses working between races shall also be identified and their times announced.  A 
horse shall not be permitted to work between races without the permission of the stewards 
and notification to necessary officials to ensure safety. 
  (4)  A horse that has not started for 45 days is ineligible to race until it has completed 1 or 
more timed workouts satisfactory to the stewards before the day of the race in which the 
horse is entered.  If such workouts do not appear in the daily racing form, they shall be 
published, where possible, in the track program the day of the race in which the horse is 
entered or shall be posted in 3 places in the racing plant for public inspection. 
  (5)  The stewards may scratch a horse whose recent workouts have not been properly 
recorded with the stewards' office. 
 
431.3295  Disqualification. 
Rule 3295.  (1)  A leading horse is entitled to any part of the track, but if any horse swerves 
or is ridden to either side so as to interfere with or impede another horse, it is a foul and the 
horse may be disqualified if, in the opinion of the stewards, the incident altered the finish of 
the race, whether the foul was willful or the result of careless riding. If the stewards 
determine the foul was intentional or due to careless riding, they shall take disciplinary action 
against the offending jockey. 
  (2)  The stewards may determine the extent of disqualification in case of fouls. The 
stewards may place the offending horse behind the horses which, in their judgment, it 
interfered with or the stewards may place the offending horse last. 
  (3)  When a horse is disqualified under this rule, the stewards may disqualify a horse in the 
same race belonging wholly or partly to the same owner or trained by the same trainer.   
  (4)  The time recorded for the first horse to cross the finish line shall be the official time of 
the race, except as provided for in R 431.1330. 
  (5)  The stewards shall take cognizance of foul riding, whether or not an objection is made. 
An objection shall not be received from any person other than the jockey, trainer, owner, or 
authorized agent of the owner of the horse allegedly interfered with. 
  (6)  A person shall not assist a jockey in taking his or her equipment off his or her horse, 
except with permission of the stewards. 
  (7)  A person shall not throw any covering over any horse at the place of dismounting until 
the horse's equipment is removed. 
  (8)  A jockey shall weigh in at the same weight as that which he or she weighed out. If short 
of the weigh-out weight by 2 pounds or more, the jockey's mount shall be disqualified and a 
refund of wagers on the horse shall be ordered. 
  (9)  A horse that does not carry its jockey across the finish line is disqualified. A horse that 
leaves the course shall turn back and run the course from the point at which the horse left the 
course. 
  (10)  A jockey who willfully strikes another jockey or horse with his or her whip or who 
grabs the clothing, equipment, or person of another jockey or horse may be fined, suspended, 
or ruled off and his or her mount may be disqualified. 
  (11)  Whips are to be used uniformly and the stewards shall take cognizance of unusual use 
or nonuse of a whip by a jockey. 


