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Tax Rate Reduction Continues - The single business tax rate will continue to be reduced by 0.1% annually as
long as the Budget Stabilization Fund (BSF) reports an ending balance of more than $250 million for the previous
fiscal year. This reduction is reflected in the effective tax rate used on line 16 of Form 1366. The effective tax rate
for 2002 tax year is 1.0735%.

A Change to Section 35 of the Single Business Tax Act exempts from the tax that portion of the tax
base attributable to a multiple employer welfare arrangement that provides dental benefits only and has
obtained a certificate of authority under Chapter 70 of the Insurance Code. The exemption applies to tax years
beginning after December 31, 2000.

Important News for 2002....
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Instructions for Form C-8463
Insurance Company Annual Return for SBT and Retaliatory Tax

General Information
� Note: Public Act 115 of 1999 reduces the SBT tax rate by 0.1 percent

per year beginning January 1, 1999. The rate reduction will go into
effect each year if the State's Budget Stabilization Fund balance for the
previous year exceeds $250 million. The reduction will be reflected in
the effective tax rate used on Form 1366, line 16. The effective tax rate
for the 2002 tax year is 1.0735%.

This return is due March 1, 2003.
Who Must File
All insurance companies must file this return.
If apportioned or allocated gross receipts are less than $250,000, then it
is not necessary to complete the SBT portion of this return. Foreign or
alien insurers whose gross receipts are less than $250,000 must still
complete the retaliatory section of the return on lines 32-46.

All insurers, domestic and foreign, must submit copies of Schedule T and
the Michigan Business Page when filing this return.

Signing the Return
All returns must be signed and dated by the taxpayer or the taxpayer's
authorized agent. If someone else has prepared the return, the preparer
must also sign it and give his or her business address and telephone
number in the space provided.

Rounding Figures
Report all amounts in whole dollars. Round amounts of 50 cents or more
up. Carry all percentages to six decimal places. Do not round
percentages. For example, 24.154256 percent becomes 24.1542
(.241542).
Filing Estimated Tax Returns
Estimates must be paid in any year that the annual tax liability is expected
to be more than $600. Estimates must equal at least 85 percent of the
current year tax liability, or equal the tax liability for the previous year
if the tax was less than $20,000, provided these payments are made in 4
timely equal payments. If they are not, the taxpayer will be charged
penalty and interest. Quarterly estimate payments are due on April 30,
July 31, October 31 and January 31.

Computing Penalty and Interest
Returns filed late or without payment are subject to 5 percent penalty
per month to a maximum of 50 percent of the tax. Interest is charged at
1 percent above the prime rate from the due date of the return. This applies
to annual and estimated returns.
How to Get Forms
If additional forms are needed, 

Forms are also available on the Michigan
Department of Treasury Web site at: www.michigan.gov/treasury
Contacting Treasury
For general questions, call the Customer Contact Division, Single
Business Tax Unit, at (517) 636-4700.

Line-By-Line Instructions
Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Line 2:  Enter the federal employer identification number (FEIN) or the
Treasury assigned (TR) number. If the taxpayer doesn't have an account
number, one will be assigned . This number must appear on all documents
sent to Treasury.

Line 3:  Check the box to indicate the company’s status. Alien insurance
companies check “foreign," unless the port of entry is Michigan, in which
case the company is considered "domestic" for the filing of this return.
Adjusted Receipts
Line 5: Enter the amount of total company adjusted receipts for the
period.

Gross Receipts Checklist
1.  Rental and royalty receipts, unless received from an affiliated

insurance company or an insurance agent for the company.

2.  Gross direct premiums received.

3.  Receipts from administrative services only (ASO) contracts with a
person who is not an affiliated insurance company or an affiliated
nonprofit corporation.

4.  Receipts from a business activity other than the business of
insurance.

5.  Charges attributable to premiums paid on a deferred or installment
basis.

6.   Servicing carrier fees received from the Michigan auto insurance
placement facility.

Excluded Receipts
1.  Receipts from interest, dividends, or proceeds from the sale of assets.

2.  Receipts on the sale of annuities.
3.  Receipts on all reinsurance transactions.

4.    Any income which is a flow through from a partnership or other entity
whose business activities would be taxable under the Single Business
Tax Act.

Apportionment
Line 6:  Enter Michigan gross direct premiums received excluding annuity
considerations and reinsurance assumed.

Line 7:  Enter total gross direct premiums received everywhere excluding
annuity considerations and reinsurance assumed.

Disability Insurance Exemption
Line 12:  Subtract $180,000,000 from the amount  entered on line 11.  If
the result is less than zero, enter zero on line 12.
Credits
Line 17: Enter the amounts paid to the listed facilities or associations
from 1/1/2001 to 12/31/2001, the year immediately preceding the 2002
tax year, including special assessments. Net amounts paid and refunds
received during the 2001 tax year for the same facility. If   refunds  received
exceed the amount paid in the year for the same facility, enter zero.

Line 19: This year's credit percentage is 100%. Carry the amount on line
18 here.
Line 20:  Enter the amount of Michigan regulatory fees paid in 2002
(under MCL 500.224). Multiply this amount by 50 percent and enter the
result on line 20.

Line 22: Subtract line 21 from line 16. If line 21 is greater than line 16,
enter zero. The credit on line 21 may not be carried forward to another
taxable year.

Line 23, Community Foundation Credit: To be eligible for this credit,
the taxpayer must have donated to a Michigan foundation that has been
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California insurers must include Bureau of Fraudulent Claims
assessments.  New York domiciled companies must file and pay a
tentative retaliatory tax to Michigan by the annual due date, March 1,
2003. An amended return must be filed 30 days after the actual CT33
return is filed with New York. Do not submit a photocopy of the actual
CT33 return. We cannnot process them and will return them. Transfer
the CT33 numbers onto the amended annual return, Form 1366.

Lines 32 - 47.
In the Michigan column, enter actual payments made to Michigan.  In
the State of Incorporation column, enter the payments that would have
been payable by a similar Michigan company doing business in the
company’s home state.
Line 32:  Enter the tax a Michigan company would pay in the state of
incorporation for the company’s Michigan business.  Attach a copy of
the state’s tax form on which Michigan premiums were reported.

Lines 40 - 44: Attach proof of payment for any items listed in the
Michigan column. Itemize any other assessments not listed. Attach a
separate list if necessary.

Line 46: Subtract line 45, column B from line 45, column A. This
amount can't be less than zero. If line 45, column B is a negative number,
add column A to the negative number in column B. This will increase
the retaliatory amount reported.

Payments
Line 49:  Enter the total tax paid with the quarterly tax returns.
Line 50:  Enter any tentative payment of estimated tax made with a
request for more time to file the return.
Line 51, Refundable Credits. If claiming a Michigan Economic Growth
Authority (MEGA) Employment Tax Credit, a Workers Disability
Supplemental Benefit (WDSB) Credit, or an Apprenticeship Credit, see
SBT Miscellaneous Credits (Form C-8000MC). Enter the amount
from the C-8000MC, line 12, here. Attach C-8000MC to the return.

Line 55 and 56, Penalty and Interest.  See “Computing Penalty and
Interest” under General Information.

Mailing instructions
Mail the return to:

With payment:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Dept. 77229
Detroit, MI  48277-0229

Without payment:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30059
Lansing, MI 48909

Make checks  payable to "State of Michigan."  Write the FEIN on  the
remittance.

certified by the Michigan Department of Treasury. For a complete list
of certified foundations, see page 15. Enter the code for the foundation
contributed to. The credit will not be received if the proper code is not
entered. The credit is limited to the smallest of 50 percent of the
contribution, 5 percent of tax on line 16, or $5,000.

Line 25, Homeless Shelter/Food Bank Credit: A partial credit is
allowed when making a cash donation to a qualifying shelter for
homeless persons, food kitchen, food bank or other entity whose
primary purpose is to provide overnight accommodations, food or
meals to indigent persons. The credit is limited to the smallest of 50
percent of the contribution, 5 percent of tax on line 16 or $5,000. For
more information, request Revenue Administrative Bulletin 1992-10.
Line 27, Public Contribution Credit (Public Colleges and
Libraries):  A partial credit is allowed when donating during the taxable
year to institutions of higher learning located in Michigan, Michigan
public libraries, the Michigan colleges foundation, public broadcasting
stations located in Michigan and any nonprofit corporation, fund,
foundation, trust or association organized and operated exclusively for
the benefit of institutions of higher learning located in Michigan. The
credit is limited to the smallest of 50 percent of the contribution, 5 percent
of tax on line 26, or $5,000.

Line 29, Nonrefundable Credits: If claiming an Enterprise Zone
Credit, a Michigan Economic Growth Authority (MEGA) Business
Activity Credit, a Renaissance Zone Credit, a Michigan Historic
Preservation Tax  Credit, a Low-Grade Hematite Pellet Credit, or a
Brownfield Redevelopment Credit, complete SBT Miscellaneous
Credits  (Form C-8000MC)  using the amount from line 28 of this form
on C-8000MC, line 15.  Enter the amount from Form C-8000MC, line
75, here.  Attach Form C-8000MC to the return.

�Note: The C-8000MC,  SBT Miscellaneous Credits,  is  historically
filed as a schedule with the C-8000, SBT Annual Return. The line
references on the C-8000MC will not apply to this return.

Retaliatory Instructions
(For foreign and alien insurers only; domestic insurers skip lines
31-46)
Include with the return a copy of the State of Incorporation tax form on
which Michigan premiums were reported.
Do not mail this return with the Michigan annual financial
statement, and do not send the annual statement filing fee with this
return.  The taxpayer will be billed separately for the annual statement
filing fee by the Michigan Insurance Bureau.

Enter all items that are required of a Michigan insurance company.  In
some instances, there will be taxes and obligations imposed in other states
for which Michigan has no corresponding requirement.  Because of the
manner of this calculation, completing these items on a Michigan basis
may be difficult.  Nonetheless, difficulty of calculation does not excuse
a foreign insurer from paying to Michigan the same type of obligation
a similar Michigan insurer is required to pay in the company’s state of
domicile.

Do not include the following Michigan assessments, or comparable
assessments in the company's state of incorporation, in the retaliatory
calculation:

The Michigan Workers’ Compensation Placement Facility.
The Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association.
The Catastrophic Claims Association.
The Michigan Auto Insurance Placement Facility.
The Michigan Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association.
The Property and Casualty Guaranty Association.



Instructions for C-8000MC
Miscellaneous Credits

Purpose: To allow eligible taxpayers to claim the
Michigan Economic Growth Authority, Workers'
Disability Supplemental Benefit, Apprenticeship,
Enterprise Zone, Renaissance Zone, Michigan Historic
Preservation, Low Grade Hematite and Brownfield
credits. Review the descriptions carefully before claiming
a credit as there are strict eligibility requirements. Follow
the instructions on the form for each credit.

PART 1: Refundable Credits
The Michigan Economic Growth Authority (MEGA)
Employment Tax Credit promotes economic growth
and jobs in Michigan. Projects must be certified by
MEGA. Approved businesses receive a certificate from
MEGA each year showing the total amount of  tax credit
allowed. Attach the Annual Tax Credit Certificate to
the return to substantiate a claim. The credit will be
disallowed if the certificate is not attached. For more
information, call the Michigan Economic Development
Corporation at 517-373-9808 or visit the MEDC Web site
at medc.michigan.org/miadvantage.
The Workers' Disability Supplemental Benefit
(WDSB) Credit is available to self-insured employers
only for the amount authorized by the Department of
Consumer and Industry Services during the tax year. The
authorization date and the amount of credit are on the
credit list (LW06401-Z04) given to taxpayers by the
Department of Consumer and Industry Services. Attach a
copy of the credit list(s) to the return to substantiate
claims. For more information on WDSB credit eligibility,
call the Michigan Department of Consumer and Industry
Services, Bureau of Workers Disability Compensation, at
517-322-1879 or 1-888-396-5041 or visit the Michigan
Department of Consumer and Industry Services Web site at
www.michigan.gov/cis
The Apprenticeship Credit encourages businesses to
hire and provide training to qualified students. The credit
equals 50 percent of the payroll expenses paid for the
benefit of an apprentice in a qualified program plus 100
percent of the cost of classroom instruction and related
expenses. Apprentices must be 16 - 19 years old and
enrolled in either high school or a GED program. The
maximum credit is $2,000 annually per apprentice. To
substantiate claims, attach a copy of an approved federal
ETA 671 form to the return for each apprentice. For
more information, call the U.S. Department of Labor,
Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training, at 517-377-1746
or visit Michigan's School-to-Registered Apprenticeship
Program and Tax Credit Web site at
www.michigan.gov/mdcd and click on Fact Sheets.

PART 2: Nonrefundable Credits
The Enterprise Zone Credit was created to encourage
businesses to locate and expand in areas with high
unemployment, low income, high property taxes and low
property value. A certified business is eligible for a credit
equal to the amount of tax liability attributable to business
activity in the enterprise zone for 10 years from the date
that the business was certified. The only certified
enterprise zone eligible for this credit is in Benton Harbor.
No new applications are being accepted for this credit.
Be sure to enter the street address or the parcel number
of the property before beginning the calculation. For more
information, request Revenue Administrative Bulletin
1993-10 or call the Michigan Economic Development
Corporation at 517-373-9808.
The Michigan Economic Growth Authority (MEGA)
Business Activity Tax Credit promotes economic
growth and jobs in Michigan. Projects must be certified
by MEGA. Each year, approved businesses receive a
certificate from MEGA showing the total amount of  tax
credit allowed. Attach the Annual Tax Credit
Certificate to the return to substantiate a claim. The
credit will be disallowed if the certificate is not attached.
If the credit exceeds the tax liability for the year, the
difference may be carried forward for the next 10 tax
years. For more information, call the Michigan Economic
Development Corporation at 517-373-9808 or visit the
MEDC Web site  at medc.michigan.org/miadvantage.
The Renaissance Zone Credit encourages businesses
and individuals to move into a designated zone to help
revitalize the area. A business located and conducting
business activity within a renaissance zone may claim a
credit for tax years beginning after December 31, 1996.
Be sure to enter the street address or the parcel number
of the property before beginning the calculation. Any
business activity related to a casino, including operating a
parking lot, hotel, motel or retail store, cannot be used to
calculate this credit.
A business is not eligible for this credit if, as of December
31 of the prior tax year, it is delinquent in paying a
property tax, single business tax or city income tax.
Taxpayers will be notified if a claimed credit is
disallowed.
For more information on renaissance zones, contact the
Michigan Economic Development Corporation at
517-373-9808 or 1-800-94-NO-TAX. Visit the MEDC
Web site at medc.michigan.org/miadvantage.  For
information on the SBT credit, contact the  Michigan
Department of Treasury, Customer Contact Division,
SBT Unit at  517-636-4700. 9



The Michigan Historic Preservation Credit provides
tax incentives for homeowners, commercial property
owners and businesses to rehabilitate historic resources
located in Michigan. For tax years beginning on or after
December 31, 1998, a nonrefundable credit is available
based upon the qualified expenditures made for
rehabilitating an historic resource.
Michigan Historic Preservation Tax Credit (Form
3581) must be attached as well as all attachments re-
quested on that form.
Complete and attach Michigan Historic Preservation
Tax Credit Assignment (Form 3614) if the credit is being
assigned.
Questions regarding federal and state certification may be
directed to the State Historic Preservation Office at
517-373-1630.
For additional information, visit The State Historic
Preservation Office Web site at:
www.sos.state.mi.us/history/preserve
Information about Federal Historic Preservation Tax
Incentives is available at: www2.cr.nps.gov
The Low-Grade Hematite Pellet Credit provides a
credit equal to $1.00 per long ton of qualified low-grade
hematite pellets consumed in an industrial or
manufacturing process that is the business activity of the
taxpayer.  This credit shall be based on low-grade
hematite pellets consumed on or after January 1, 2000.  If
the credit exceeds the tax liability, the difference may be
carried forward for the next 5 tax years.
The Old Brownfield Credit (MCL 208.38d) was
available for tax years that began after December 31,
1996 and before January 1, 2001. The credit
carryforwards from credits that were previously approved
may still be applied against the current tax liability until the
credit is used up or the 10-year limitation has been
reached.
The New Brownfield Credit (MCL 208.38g)
encourages businesses to make investment on eligible
Michigan property that was used or is currently used for
commercial, industrial, or residential purposes and is either
a facility (environmentally contaminated property),
functionally obsolete, or blighted. Functionally obsolete or
blighted property must be located in a qualified local
governmental unit.  For the purpose of the SBT credit, the
local Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Authority
designates eligible property in an approved brownfield
plan.
For the credit to be valid, attach the Certificate of
Completion, issued after completion of the approval
process, to the return. If the credit is being assigned,
attach documentation verifying that the credit is valid.
10

If the credit exceeds the tax liability for the year, the
difference may be carried forward for the next 10 tax
years.
For more information on the approval process for the
brownfield credit see the Department of Treasury Web
site at www.michigan.gov/treasury.
Forms are available at the Michigan Department of
Treasury Web site above 

Attach this schedule to the return.
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01 Albion Community Foundation
51 Alger Regional Community Foundation
56 Allegan County Community Foundation
63 Anchor Bay Community Foundation
02 Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation

Ypsilanti Area Community Fund
49 Baraga County Community Foundation
58 Barry Community Foundation
17 Battle Creek Community Foundation

Athens Area Community Foundation
Homer Area Community Foundation
Springfield Community Foundation

03 Bay Area Community Foundation
Arenac County Fund

04 Berrien Community Foundation
Coloma Community Fund
Greater Berrien Springs Community Endowment Fund
Harbor County Endowment Fund

45 Branch County Community Foundation
36 Cadillac Area Community Foundation

Missaukee County Community Foundation
64 Canton Community Foundation
06 Capital Region Community Foundation

Eaton County Community Foundation
66 Central Montcalm Community Foundation
44 Charlevoix County Community Foundation
41 Community Foundation for Delta County
28 Community Foundation for Muskegon County

Mason County Community Foundation
Oceana County Community Foundation

29 Community Foundation for Northeast Michigan
North Central Michigan Community Foundation
Straits Area Community Foundation
Iosco County Community Foundation

09 Community Foundation for Southeastern Michigan
Community Foundation for Livingston County
Chelsea Community Foundation

10 Community Foundation of Greater Flint
Clio Area Community Fund
Fenton Community Fund
Flushing Area Community Fund
Grand Blanc Community Fund
Lapeer County Community Fund

19 Community Foundation of Greater Rochester
11 Community Foundation of Monroe County

   The Bedford Foundation
35 Community Foundation of St. Clair County
20 Community Foundation of the Holland/Zeeland Area
50 Dickinson County Area Community Foundation

Crystal Falls/Forest Park Area Community Fund
Norway Affiliate Fund

13 Four County Community Foundation
14 Fremont Area Foundation

Lake County Community Foundation
Mecosta County Community Foundation
Osceola County Community Foundation

15 Grand Haven Area Community Foundation
Allendale Community Foundation
Coopersville Area Foundation

Certified Community Foundations and Component Funds
A component fund serves donors and nonprofit organizations in a specific geographic area as a restricted fund of a
neighboring community foundation. The following are certified for the Community Foundations Credit for 2002.

16 Grand Rapids Community Foundation
Ionia County Community Foundation
Southeast Ottawa Community Foundation

   Sparta Community Foundation
   Wyoming Community Foundation

46 Grand Traverse Regional Community Foundation
48 Gratiot County Community Foundation
18 Greater Frankenmuth Area Community Foundation
37 Greenville Area Community Foundation

   Montcalm Panhandle Community Fund
43 Hillsdale County Community Foundation
60 Huron County Community Foundation
21 Jackson County Community Foundation
22 Kalamazoo Community Foundation

Covert Township Community Foundation
   South Haven Community Foundation

67 Keweenaw Community Foundation
23 Leelanau Township Community Foundation
62 Lenawee Community Foundation
55 Livonia Community Foundation
25 M & M Area Community Foundation
65 Mackinac Island Community Foundation
24 Manistee County Community Foundation
39 Marquette Community Foundation

Greater Ishpeming Area Community Foundation
Negaunee Area Community Foundation

26 Marshall Community Foundation
05 Michigan Gateway Community Foundation
27 Midland Area Community Foundation

Gladwin County Endowment Fund
42 Mt. Pleasant Area Community Foundation

Clare County Community Foundation
Shepard Community Fund

68 Northville Community Foundation
75 Otsego County Community Foundation
47 Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation
30 Saginaw Community Foundation
61 Sanilac County Community Foundation
70 Chippewa County Community Foundation
71 Shelby Community Foundation
31 Shiawassee Community Foundation
57 Southfield Community Foundation
74 Sterling Heights Community Foundation
40 Sturgis Area Community Foundation

   Constantine Area Community Foundation
White Pigeon Community Foundation

62 Tecumseh Community Fund Foundation
32 Three Rivers Area Community Foundation
72 Troy Community Foundation
73 Tuscola County Community Foundation
54 Upper Peninsula Community Foundation Alliance

Bois Blanc Island Community Foundation
Gogebic-Ontonagon Community Foundation
Les Chenaux Area Community Fund
St. Ignace Area Community Foundation
Schoolcraft County Community Foundation
Taquamenon Falls Area Community Foundation
Watersmeet Area Community Fund
West Iron County Area Community Fund






