STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

* k% k% %

In the matter of the request of
MADIGAN’S, LLC

250 W. Chicago

Allen, Michigan 49227

Request ID No. 623637

Hillsdale County

N N N N N N N

At the June 19, 2012 hearing of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission

(Commission) in Lansing, Michigan.

PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman
Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner

LICENSING APPEAL ORDER

On September 12, 2011, Madigan’s, LLC (applicant) filed a request for a new Class
C license with new Dance Permit and new authorization for the outdoor sale, service, and
consumption of alcoholic liquor in an area measuring up to 18 x 20’, located directly
adjacent to the licensed premises, and which will be well-defined and clearly marked, to be
located at the above-noted location.

At a meeting held on April 11, 2012, the Commission approved the applicant’s
request for a new Class C license with new Outdoor Service Area, and denied the
applicant’s request for a new Dance Permit under MCL 436.1916(1)(c) as the Hillsdale
County Sheriff’s Department did not recommend approval of the new Dance Permit. On
May 9, 2012, the Commission amended its April 11, 2012 order as it incorrectly referenced
Dearborn Heights Police Department as the local law enforcement agency, as opposed to
the Hillsdale County Sheriff's Department.

Applicant member William Sours submitted a timely request for an appeal in this



matter, and represented the applicant at the June 19, 2012 hearing, at the Commission’s
Lansing office.

After hearing arguments, reviewing the MLCC file, and discussion of the issue on
the record, the Commission finds significant the letter dated June 5, 2012 submitted by
Undersheriff William Whorley of the Hillsdale County Sheriff’'s Department, recommending
approval of the requested Class C license with Dance Permit and Outdoor Service at the
proposed location.

The Commission finds sufficient reasons to reverse its denial issued in this matter

and to approve the applicant’s request for the reasons stated on the record.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:

A. The Commission orders of April 11, 2012 and May 9, 2012 are RESCINDED.

B. The applicant’s request for a new Class C license is APPROVED, subject to
the following:

1. The licensee shall pay all license renewal fees by April 30" each year.

2. The licensee shall submit to a Final inspection by the Commission’s
Enforcement Division to determine that adequate furniture, fixtures,
and equipment have been installed; to determine that seating capacity
has been established and posted; and to determine the establishment
meets all requirements of the Michigan Liquor Control Code and
Administrative Rules.

3. The licensee shall submit documentary proof to the Commission that
Madigan’s, LLC received a gift in the amount of $2,800.00 from
applicant member, William J. Sours.

4, The licensee shall submit documentary proof to the Commission that
Madigan’s, LLC received a gift in the amount of $2,800.00 from

applicant member, Christopher A. Warren.



5. The licensee shall submit documentary proof to the Commission that
real estate purchaser, Madsun Investments, LLC, received a gift in
the amount of $11,000.00 from member, William J. Sours.

6. The licensee shall submit form LCC 3010 (Report of
Stockholders/Members/Partners) to the Commission.

7. The licensee shall submit proof of financial responsibility providing
security for liability as required under MCL 436.1803. Failure to
maintain proof of financial responsibility providing security for liability
will result in the immediate suspension of the subject licenses and
permits until the licensee provides the Commission with proof of
financial responsibility as required under MCL 436.1803.

8. The licensee shall provide documentary proof to the Commission to
demonstrate that, at a minimum, supervisory personnel on each shift
and during all hours in which alcoholic liquor is served have
successfully completed a server training program approved by the
Commission as required under MCL 436.1501(1), within 180 days
from the release from escrow and issuance of the license and
permits, as provided in administrative rule R 436.1060.

a. The licensee shall maintain active certification of completion
for server training on the licensed premises at all times as
provided in administrative rule R 436.1060.

b. Failure to provide this documentary proof to the Commission
within 180 days of the issuance of the license and permits shall
result in the licensee being charged with failure to comply with
this order, under administrative rule R 436.1029, which may
resultin fines, suspension and/or revocation of the license and
permits.

C. The applicant’s request for the new Dance Permitis APPROVED, subject to

the following:



1. Under administrative rule R 436.1415, the licensee shall not allow
dancing on the licensed premises, except on a dance floor that is not
less than 100 square feet.

2. The licensee shall ensure that the dance floor shall be well defined
and clearly marked and shall be without tables, chairs, or other
obstacles while customers are dancing.

D. The applicant’s request for new authorization for the outdoor sale, service,
and consumption of alcoholic liquor in an area measuring up to 18’ x 20’, located directly
adjacent to the licensed premises, and which will be well-defined and clearly marked is
APPROVED, subject to the following:

1. Under administrative rule R 436.1419(2), the licensee shall ensure
that the outdoor service area is well-defined and clearly marked.

2. The licensee shall not sell, or allow the consumption of, alcoholic
liquor outdoors, except in the defined area.

E. Under administrative rule R 436.1003, the licensee shall comply with all state
and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation, and health laws, rules, and ordinances as
determined by the state and local law enforcements officials who have jurisdiction over the
licensee. Approval of the license and permit by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission
does not waive any of these requirements. The licensee must obtain all other required
state and local licenses, permits, and approvals before serving or selling alcoholic liquor.

F. Failure to comply with all requirements of licensure in the State of Michigan
will result in the licensee being charged with a violation of the Michigan Liquor Control
Code, MLCC Administrative Rules, and Commission order, which may result in fines,
suspension, and/or revocation of the license and permits.

G. Further, it is the order of the Commission that the 2011 SDD and SDM
licenses with On-Premise Seating Entertainment held by JSCL, Inc. located at 250 W.

Chicago, Allen, Hillsdale County, not be reactivated at this location.



MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman

Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner

Prepared by:
Terri Chase, Commission Aide



STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

* k% *x k% %

In the matter of the request of
SIDNEY TAVERN, INC.

3045 S. Derby

Sidney, Michigan 48885

Request ID No. 625434

Sidney Township  Montcalm County

N N N N N N N

At the June 19, 2012 hearing of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission

(Commission) in Lansing, Michigan.

PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman
Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner

LICENSING APPEAL ORDER

On September 29, 2011, Sidney Tavern, Inc. (applicant) filed a request to transfer
stock wherein existing stockholder, George F. Adams, transfers 172 shares of stock to new
stockholder, Timothy E. Lehner, in the 2012 Class C and SDM licenses with Sunday Sales
Permit (P.M.) and Outdoor Service (1 area) held at the above-noted location.

At a meeting held on May 9, 2012, the Commission denied this request under
administrative rule R 436.1105(2)(d) after considering the resolution adopted by the Sidney
Township Board on February 6, 2012, which does not recommend this transfer of stock,
and the unfavorable recommendation submitted by the Montcalm County Sheriff
Department for this application.

Scott Millard, legal counsel on behalf of the applicant, submitted a timely request for

an appeal in this matter, and represented the applicant at the June 19, 2012 hearing, at the



Commission’s Lansing office.

After hearing arguments, reviewing the MLCC file, and discussion of the issue on
the record, the Commission finds that the applicant sufficiently demonstrated mitigating
circumstances relative to Mr. Lehner’s arrest and conviction history, answering the previous
guestions raised concerning the applicant stockholder. Under administrative rule R
436.1105(2)(d), the Commission shall consider the opinions of the local residents, local
legislative body, or local law enforcement agency with regard to the proposed business.
Opinions were received from the Sidney Township Board and the Montcalm County
Sheriff’'s Department. These opinions were considered by the Commission.

The Commission finds sufficient reasons to reverse its denial issued in this matter

and to approve the applicant’s request for the reasons stated on the record.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:

A. The denial order of May 9, 2012 issued in this matter is reversed and the
applicant’s request is APPROVED, subject to the following:

B. The licensee shall maintain proof of financial responsibility providing security
for liability as required under MCL 436.1803. Failure to maintain proof of financial
responsibility providing security for liability will result in the immediate suspension of the
subject licenses and permits until the licensee provides the Commission with proof of
financial responsibility as required under MCL 436.1803.

C. Under administrative rule R 436.1003, the licensee shall comply with all state
and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation, and health laws, rules, and ordinances as
determined by the state and local law enforcements officials who have jurisdiction over the
licensee. Approval of this license and permit by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission
does not waive any of these requirements. The licensee must obtain all other required
state and local licenses, permits, and approvals before serving or selling alcoholic liquor.

D. Failure to comply with all requirements of licensure in the State of Michigan

will result in the licensee being charged with a violation of the Michigan Liquor Control



Code, MLCC Administrative Rules, and Commission order, which may result in fines,

suspension, and/or revocation of the licenses and permits.

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman

Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner

Prepared by:
Terri Chase, Commission Aide



