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REPORT AUTHORITY

Public Act 200 of 2012, Section 731:

(1) The bureau of health systems shall prepare a report detailing the number of
facilities, locations, and beds for each type of health facility licensed, certified,
inspected, or otherwise regulated by the bureau. The report shall also include the
bureau’s cost to license, certify, inspect, or otherwise regulate each type of facility. The
data required by this subsection shall be collected and reported on acute care hospitals,
home health agencies, hospices, hospice residences, psychiatric units in general
hospitals, psychiatric hospitals, partial hospitalization psychiatric programs, freestanding
surgical outpatient facilities (FSOF), laboratories, end stage renal disease (ESRD)
facilities, rural health clinics, substance abuse programs, radiation long-term care
facilities including nursing homes, hospital long-term care units, county medical care
facilities, and radiation machines.

(2) By February 1, the bureau of health systems shall work with interested
stakeholders to recommend to the governor and the legislature a schedule of fees to be
charged by the bureau for regulating health facilities. The fee schedule proposed by the
bureau shall bear a direct relationship to the cost of the service or act, including
overhead expenses. The report shall also recommend the necessary statutory and
administrative rule changes necessary to implement the recommended fee schedule.

REPORT OVERVIEW

In accordance with Public Act 200 of 2011, this report provides the following:

A proposed fee schedule for State licensing of health facilities and agencies,

Costs associated with State licensing and federal certification activities,

Statutory and rule changes necessary to implement the proposed fee schedule, and
A directory of all health facilities and agencies licensed and certified in the State.
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RECOMMENDED STATE LICENSING FEE STRUCTURE

The Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL), specifically 333.20161 and 330.1139, set forth the
licensing fees. Licensing fees were established in Code on October 1, 1981 and have
remained for the most part unchanged for the last 30 years.

Table 1 is the recommended fee schedule for licensing activities by the Bureau of
Health Care Services (“Bureau”) within the Michigan Department of Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs (“Department”). This table also includes the current fee schedule.

Table 1

Recommended Health Facility/Agency Licensing Fee Schedule
Hospitals..........coovvviiii i, Proposed $1,500 per license + $40 per bed
Current $8.28 per bed x # of years
Hospice Agencies...................... Proposed $1,500 per license
Current No Licensure Fee
Hospice Residences.................... Proposed $1,500 per license + $20 per bed
Current $200 per license + $20 per bed
FSOFS...ciii i Proposed $1,500 per license
Current $238 per license
Nursing HOmMeS.............cccceveeeenen, Proposed $1,500 per license + $20 per bed
Current $2.20 per bed
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units........... Proposed $1,500 per license + $30 per bed
Current $600 per license + $7.50 per bed

Partial Psych Hosp Programs*...... Proposed See Recommendations

Current $600 per license + $7.50 per Tx position
Clinical Laboratories*.................. Proposed See Recommendations

Current $475 per license

Substance Abuse Programs*....... Proposed $1,500 per license

No Licensure Fee

Application Fee..........ccoovviiiiiiii i, $3,500 per new license

*The Department recommends deregulation of this provider type or reducing the number of provider
types to be licensed (inpatient and residential for substance abuse programs).
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The proposed fees are assessed on an annual basis. If licensure is for more than one
year, as specified in Code, the proposed fees are multiplied by the number of years for
which the license is issued. The Bureau is also proposing an application fee for new
providers to assist in covering the initial costs of pre- and post-licensure surveys prior to
initial licensure. The application fee does not apply to renewal of a license or for
changes to an existing license.

RECOMMENDED FEE STRUCTURE BENEFITS

The recommended fee schedule will:

Reduce the need for general fund dollars to support state licensing functions.
Provide necessary funding to fulfill mandatory licensing activities, such as

o Timely processing of licensing applications for new providers,

0 Routine onsite inspections to assure compliance with state requirements,
o Timely issuance of inspection reports, and

o Timely inspection revisits to verify compliance.

Create an application fee for new providers.
Create an uninformed base fee for renewals and changes in licensure.
Create an annual fee adjustment mechanism to offset inflationary increases.

Create an uninformed triennial inspection requirement for all provider types.

RECOMMENDED FEE STRUCTURE OVERVIEW

The recommended fee schedule includes:

An annual base license fee for all providers, similar to the current license fee for
psychiatric providers. The license fee is designed to cover routine fixed costs
that occur no matter the size of the provider. Routine expenditures include
administrative costs, periodic onsite inspection visits, issuing licenses,
maintaining records, database maintenance, consultations, etc.

An increase in the existing per bed or per treatment position fee. This proxy
allows for an incremental increase in licensing fees based on the size of the
health facility or agency. Larger facilities and agencies tend to consume more
survey time due to the size and complexity of services offered and potential
number of complaints.

Initiation of a licensing fee for hospice and substance abuse providers consistent
with other providers. Currently these providers types are not charged a licensing
fee.
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e A new initial application fee. This initial fee is to offset the cost of establishing
and processing a new provider in the licensing system, as well as the labor
intensive work to conduct pre- and post-licensure surveys. New providers will
benefit from a timely processing of licensure applications, while not shifting the
added costs for this labor intensive process to existing providers under routine
licensing fees.

e Create a standardized inspection requirement for all licensed health facilities and
agencies. Current inspection requirements call for annual to biennial inspections
based on provider type. This fee recommendation is to standardize routine
inspections to every three years. These triennial inspections will reduce the cost
burden on both the provider and State of Michigan while still assuring patient
safety and quality of care oversight.

e Elimination of the State clinical laboratory licensing requirement. State licensing
for clinical laboratories was suspended in 1992 under the former Department of
Public Health. The Bureau estimates approximately 3,200 existing laboratories
could fall under State licensing requirements if re-initiated. A comparable federal
program, Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA), is administered
by the Bureau on behalf of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS) covering nearly 8,000 laboratories in the State.

e Elimination of the State psychiatric partial hospitalization program licensing
requirement. State licensure requirements are minimal since these outpatient
programs were removed from Certificate of Need oversight/approval in the late
1990s. There is no evidence that patient safety or quality of care would be
impacted from deregulation since current requirements are minimal.

e Reduction in the number of service categories that require State licensing for
substance abuse programs. There are currently 11 service categories requiring
state licensing. The Bureau recommends delicensing all but three service
categories: residential, inpatient-intermediate care, and outpatient-methadone.
There are approximately 1,700 licensed substance abuse providers in the State.
Eliminating nine of the service categories will reduce the number of providers to
approximately 220.
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CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED April 12, 2013 6 | P a g e



Table 2 is an estimate of revenues generated under the current and recommended fee
schedules based on licensed health facilities and agencies as of January 2013.

Table 2
Estimated Annual Fee Revenues

Facility Type Current Fees Proposed Fees
Acute Care Hospitals $216,430 $1,299,060
Hospices $11,360 $207,760
Psychiatric Hospitals, Units, Programs* $64,424 $155,250
Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities | $28,798 $181,500
Clinical Laboratories* N/A N/A

Nursing Homes $102,865 $1,598,140
Substance Abuse Program* $0 $330,000
TOTAL FEE REVENUES $411,767 $3,771,710

*Proposed elimination of licensing programs for clinical laboratories and psychiatric partial hospitalization
programs and reduction in service categories for substance abuse programs.

LEGISLATIVE FEE STRUCTURE HISTORY

LICENSING FEES

Prior to the Public Act 76 of 1981, the licensing fee section of the Public Health Code
read, “The department may promulgate rules to prescribe fees for a review of a license
application and the issuance or renewal of a license.”

Public Act 76 codified the current licensing fees for health facilities and agencies,
effective October 1, 1981, under MCL 333.20161(1). Relevant amendments since 1981
are identified below.

Public Act 376 of 1984 amended the fee for clinical laboratories from $270 to $475. On
September 4, 1992, the former Department of Public Health suspended all State clinical
laboratory licensing activities. This action was taken to save general fund dollars at the
time. No State clinical laboratory licenses have been issued or fees collected since.

Public Act 267 of 1996 added a licensing fee for hospice residences of $200 per license
and $20 per bed annually. This amendment did not propose a license fee for hospice
agencies that provide in-home care. Last year, the Bureau issued approximately 110
licenses to existing hospice agencies with no licensing fee assessed.
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ANNUAL COST OF LICENSING ACTIVITIES

Public Act 469 of 2004 amended MCL 333.20161(9) to read, “The cost of licensure
activities shall be supported by license fees.”

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

HEALTH FACILITIES/AGENCIES

For purposes of this report, MCL 333.20106 defines a “Health facility or agency” as a
clinical laboratory, county medical care facility, freestanding surgical outpatient facility,
hospital, nursing home, hospice, and hospice residence.

PROVIDER LICENSING REQUIREMENT

MCL 333.20141(1) states that, “A person shall not establish or maintain and operate a
health facility or agency without holding a license from the department.”

MCL 333.6233(1) states that, “A person not otherwise licensed to provide psychological,
medical, or social services shall not establish, conduct, or maintain a substance abuse
service unless it is licensed under this article.”

DEPARTMENT LICENSING DUTIES

The following excerpts from the Code provide a general overview of core duties of the
Bureau related to issuing licenses and monitoring compliance with State requirements.

MCL 333.20131 requires the establishment of a comprehensive system to license and
certify health facilities or agencies in order to protect the health, safety, and welfare of
individuals receiving care and services in or from a health facility or agency, and assure
the medical accountability for reimbursed care provided by a certified health facility or
agency participating in a federal or state health program.

MCL 333.20162 (1) requires the issuance of an initial license within 6 months after the
applicant files a completed application.

Prior to issuance of a license, the Bureau conducts a pre-licensure survey to verify
policies, procedures, and staffing are in place prior to receiving and caring for patients.
In addition, MCL 20145 may require a construction permit to be issued prior to
construction of or renovation to a health facility.

Some administrative rules require the department to conduct opening surveys for initial
licensure within specific time frames. For example, Hospice Administrative Rule
325.13205 requires the department to conduct a survey and investigation of a hospice
for initial licensure within the 3-month period following receipt of the application.

LIEENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
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Once a pre-licensure survey is conducted, and the health facility or agency
demonstrates compliance with State requirements, a post-licensure survey will be
conducted after the provider has delivered care to patients. The pre- and post- surveys
are designed to assure the health, safety and welfare of patients.

MCL 333.20164 (1) requires a license to be issued for one to two years. Licenses are
then renewed through the department’s online licensing system.

MCL 333.20155 (1) requires the department to make annual visits to each health facility
or agency licensed for the purposes of survey, evaluation, and consultation, as well as
to investigate complaints.

MCL 333.20155 (2) requires the department to make at least a biennial (every two
years) visit to each licensed clinical laboratory, each nursing home, and each hospice
residence for the purposes of survey, evaluation, and consultation.

MCL 333.20155 (3) requires the department to make a biennial visit to each hospital for
survey and evaluation for the purpose of licensure. This provision can be waived if the
hospital meets certain requirements set forth by Code.

MCL 333.6238 requires the department to issue substance abuse licenses annually and
under Section 6241 conduct onsite inspections of these licensed programs.

DEPARTMENT STRUCTURE

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS (LARA)

The Department is composed of agencies and commissions that promote business
growth and job creation through streamlined, simple, fair, and efficient regulation, while
at the same time protect the health and safety of Michigan's citizens.

BUREAU OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES (BHCS)

The Bureau serves to protect and improve the health status of Michigan citizens through
the development, maintenance and assurance of safe, effective, efficient and accessible
health care services delivered through health care facilities and to promote the
development of appropriate regulatory policies to achieve a safe, efficient and effective
health care delivery system.

The Bureau is responsible for State licensing of health facilities and agencies under the
Public Health and Mental Health Codes. In addition, the Bureau is the State agency in
Michigan responsible for conducting certification surveys on behalf of the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to assure that covered health providers meet
the federal conditions of participation for the Medicare and Medicaid programs.

LIEENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
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Table 3 shows the types of health facilities and agencies that are required to be
licensed in the State of Michigan, while table 5 shows the types of health providers and
suppliers that can apply for federal certification.

Table 3
Health Facilities Requiring State Licensure
Hospitals Hospice Agencies
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units Hospice Residences
Partial Psychiatric Hospitalization Programs Nursing Homes

Freestanding Outpatient Surgical Facilities (FSOF)  Clinical Laboratories
Substance Abuse Programs

Like other states, Michigan has contracted with the federal government to perform
certification inspections at health facilities participating in Medicare and Medicaid.
Michigan receives federal dollars for performing this function that has and will continue
to reduce the cost of licensing activity. In addition to certification inspections, the
Bureau receives complaints filed by consumers and other interested parties against
federally certified providers and suppliers. If the complaint alleges a violation of the
federal conditions of participation in Medicare/Medicaid, the Bureau will investigate,
including onsite inspections, on behalf of CMS.
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Table 4

Health Entities Requiring Certification to Participate in Medicare/Medicaid

Conducted by the

Hospitals

Psychiatric Hospitals/Units

Partial Psychiatric Hospitalization Programs
Ambulatory Surgical Centers/FSOF
Comprehensive Outpatient Rehab (CORF)
Outpatient Physical Therapy (OPT)
End-Stage Renal Dialysis (ESRD)

BHCS

Hospice Agencies
Hospice Residences

Nursing Homes

Clinical Laboratories (CLIA)

Home Health Agencies

Portable X-Ray Providers

Rural Health Clinics

While it is important to recognize and understand the Bureau’s scope of duties related
to the federal certification activities, this report focuses primarily on those Bureau
activities needed to maintain and support the state licensing functions set forth in Code.

STATE LICENSED & FEDERALLY CERTIFIED PROVIDERS

Table 5 lists (as of February 1, 2013) State licensed provider types, number of sites,
and number of beds/treatment positions under Bureau oversight, excluding radiation
machines (9,951) and clinical laboratories (7,830). All State licensed provider types can
also be federally certified for participation in the Medicare and Medicaid programs.

Table 5
State Licensed and Federally Certified Sites

Type Sites Beds
Acute Care Hospitals 169 26,139
Hospices 111 N/A
Hospice Residences 23 338
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units 60 2,175
Partial Psychiatric Hospitalization Programs 28 990
Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities 121 N/A
Nursing Homes 442 46,757
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Table 6 lists (as of February 1, 2013) other provider types that can be federally certified
and the number of sites under Bureau oversight pursuant to CMS agreement (no state
licensing required).

Table 6

Federally Certified Sites
Type Sites
Home Health Agencies 668
Clinical Laboratories* 7,830
End-Stage Renal Dialysis (ESRD) Centers 177
Rural Health Clinics 152
Comprehensive Outpatient Rehab Facilities (CORF) 14
Portable X-Ray Providers 9
Outpatient Physical Therapy Providers (OPT) 196

*Not licensed since 1992; licensing requirements remain in Code (see recommendation).

LICENSING ACTIVITY OVERVIEW

In general, the majority of State licensing activities involve the issuance and renewal of
licenses to qualified health facilities and agencies; conducting initial, routine and revisit
surveys to determine compliance with State and federal requirements; and investigating
complaints against providers.

Onsite surveys are routinely conducted by State surveyors (nurses, pharmacists, social
workers, engineers, etc.) to determine if a health facility or agency is ready for licensure
and certification prior to receiving and caring for patients or currently meeting State and
federal requirements after licensure. These surveys are labor intensive that include, but
limited to, intensive training of surveyors, pre-onsite preparations, travel, onsite survey
time, report writing, revisits, and data input and record maintenance.

Another labor intensive activity for the Bureau is the intake and investigation of
complaints against State licensed and federally certified providers. In FY 2012, the
Bureau received more than 2,022 complaints and 6,095 facility incidents reports against
State licensed or federally certified providers. Long-term care related complaints
(nursing homes, county medical care facilities, hospital long-term care units) accounted
for 74% of all complaints received by the Bureau in FY 2012.

LIEENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
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BUDGET OVERVIEW

The Bureau employs approximately 162 employees related to State licensing and
federal certification activities. These positions include managers, secretaries, health
care surveyors, and other support staff.

State licensing fees for health facilities and agencies have not been revised since the
early 1980s, when State licensing of hospice residences was added to the Public Health
Code. Even with the addition of hospice residences to the fee schedule, all other health
facility and agency fees remained the same. The licensing fees paid by hospitals ($8.28
per bed) and nursing homes ($2.20 per bed) have remained the same since the 1970s,
while operational costs to license and inspect health facilities and agencies have
steadily increased. In addition, there are more licensed health facilities and agencies
today with the growth of hospice agencies (currently no fee paid) and freestanding
surgical outpatient facilities ($238 per facility).

This fee proposal has a long-term goal to substantially reduce or completely eliminate
the need for general funds dollars, create a cost-based fee schedule, and include
funding for other enhancements that are designed to decrease the fixed operating costs
of the State licensing program while increasing its efficiency and effectiveness.

Table 7
Current State Licensing Fee Schedule and Estimated Generated Revenues

License Facility Type Fee Schedule AL

Revenues
Hospitals* $8.28 per bed $216,430
Hospice Agencies No Fee $0
Hospice Residences $200 per license + $20 per bed $11,360
Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities | $238 per license $28,798
Nursing Homes/CMCF/HLTCU $2.20 per bed $102,865
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units* $600 per license + $7.50 per bed $52,312
Psych Partial Hospitalization Programs* $600 per license + $7.50 per Tx position | $12,112
Clinical Laboratories** $475 per license $0
TOTAL $411,767
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Table 8

Proposed State Licensing Fee Schedule and Estimated Generated Revenues

License Facility Type Fee Schedule ggcgﬁhes
Hospitals* $1,500 per license + $40 per bed $1,299,060
Hospice Agencies $1,500 per license $166,500
Hospice Residences $1,500 per license + $20 per bed $41,260
Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities | $1,500 per license $181,500
Nursing Homes/CMCF/HLTCU $1,500 per license + $20 per bed $1,598,140
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units* $1,500 per license + $30 per bed $155,250
Psych Partial Hospitalization Programs* Recommend deregulation $0

Clinical Laboratories** Recommend deregulation $0

TOTAL $3,441,710

* Licensing fee is biennial (every two years)

**State licensing program deactivated in 1992/number of laboratories is estimated by on CLIA data.

Table 9
Current and Proposed Annual Licensing Fee Range by Health Facility Type
License Facility Type Smallest State Facilit Largest State Facility
Beds Current Proposed | Beds Current Proposed
Hospitals 8 $66 $1,820 1,040 $8,611.20 | $43,100
Hospice Agencies N/A $0 $1,500 N/A $0 $1,500
Hospice Residences 6 $320 $1,620 32 $840 $2,140
FSOFs N/A $238 $1,500 N/A $238 $1,500
Nursing Homes/CMCF/HLTCU 7 $15 $1,640 330 $726 $8,100
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units 10 $337 $1,800 139 $821 $5,670
Table 10
Estimated State Licensure Inspection Costs by Health Facility or Agency Type
License Facility Type :\r|1cs)bgfctors* f:;vlen rsg:CtDayS Estimated Costs**
Hospitals 4-6 3-4 $5,410 - $10,800
Hospice Agencies/Residences 1-3 2-3 $900 - $4,050
Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities 1-3 1-2 $450 - $3,000
Nursing Homes/CMCF/HLTCU 4-6 3-4 $5,400 - $9,600
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units 2-3 2-4 $1,800 - $5,400

* Inspectors include nurses, engineers, social workers, dietitians, etc.
**Costs include staffing and travel costs, but not fixed costs such as equipment, fringes, offices, etc.
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Table 11

FY12 Bureau Budget/Expenditures for State and Federal Surveys and

Certifications

Categories Expenditures
Salaries $9,093,852
Retirement/Fringe Benefits $5,878,782
Other Direct Costs $3,290,906
Indirect $534,719
TOTAL $18,798,259

2013 PROVIDER DIRECTORY

In accordance with Section 731(1), the 2013 Provider Directory can be obtained from
this link: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/BHCS 2013 ProviderDirectory 04-

05-2013 416672 7.pdf.

In addition this report and directory have been posted to the following websites:

e The Health Facilities Division of the Bureau of Health Care Services:

www.michigan.gov/bhcs.

e The All About LARA section - Legislative Reports of the Department of Licensing

and Regulatory Affairs: www.michigan.gov/lara.

This directory lists all facilities and agencies either State licensed or federally certified in

Michigan, including:

Acute care hospitals;
Home health agencies;
Hospices;

Hospice residences;

Psychiatric hospitals;

Outpatient surgical facilities;
Laboratories;

Rural health clinics;
Substance abuse programs;

Hospital long-term care units;

Radiation machines.

LIEENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
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County medical care facilities; and
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APPENDIX | - STAKEHOLDER SURVEY
OVERVIEW

In accordance with Section 731(2), the Bureau completed a survey of stakeholders in
2012 to gauge support for modification to the current fee schedule to support licensing
activities. The survey tool was sent by E-mail to more than 1,000 healthcare providers
and interested parties (hospitals, nursing homes, hospices, surgery centers, and
consumer advocacy groups) using Survey Monkey. Appendix | summarizes the survey
findings.

Stakeholder Survey Overview

Organizational Interest No. Responses Percent
Acute Care Hospitals 43 14%
Psychiatric Hospitals/Units/Programs 3 1%
Hospice 12 4%
Freestanding Surgical Centers 28 9%
Long Term Care 213 71%

Total (3 unknown responders) 302

Licensed Provider Responses
Licensed Providers 282 93%
Non-licensed Responders 12 4%

Key Survey Findings

Survey Questions Percent
#4 Important to issue license within 90 days from application. 93%
#9 Important to conduct timely revisits after deficient practice is sited. 97%
#10 Support to improve timeliness and effectiveness of licensing process. 85%
#11 Care and treatment generally better when inspections are performed. 35%
#12 Bureau should respond timely to citizen complaints against providers. 92%
#13 Fees should support cost of licensing activities. 49%
#14 Support reasonable license fee increase. 37%

FSOF related responders 52%

Hospice related responders 52%

Hospital related responders 67%

Nursing home related responders 30%

Psychiatric related responders 68%
#15 Actively opposed to a license fee increase. 45%
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SURVEY TOOL

1. Please select the type of health facility/agency that best describes your
organization’s interest:

[ ] Hospital (includes acute, rehab, long-term-acute care)

[ ] Psychiatric Hospital (exclude psychiatric units that are part of acute care hospital)

[ ] Hospice Agency [ ] Hospice Residence

[] Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facility

[ ] Nursing Home (includes county medical care facilities, hospital long-term-care units)
[] Clinical Laboratory

2. Is your organization currently licensed by BHS? [ | YES [ ] NO
a. If no, is your organization currently applying for a license? [_] YES [ ] NO

I. If yes, how important is it to your organization to have a license issued
within 90 days from application? [_] Extremely [ ] Important [_] Not
Important

3. How long has your health facility/agency been licensed?

[ ] Less than 2 years [ ] Between 2 to 5 years
[ ] More than 5 years [ ] Not yet licensed

4. When was your health facility/agency last surveyed for state licensing purposes?

[ ] Less than 2 years ago [ ] Between 2 to 5 years ago
[ ] More than 5 yearsago  [_] Not yet licensed

5. New facility construction, by Code, involves a coordinated process of licensure and
initial Medicare/Medicaid certification. How valuable/important is it to your
organization to receive timely licensure approval, followed by a timely initial
certification inspection on new facilities? [_] Very Important [ ] Important [ ] Not
Important

6. The department is required to perform routine onsite inspections and complaint
investigations to assure licensed health facilities/agencies are delivering care and
services as required by law. These unannounced onsite reviews are also valuable
learning opportunities for licensed providers to improve services and protect
patients. How valuable/important is it to your organization that inspection reports of
deficient practices are issued by the State within 10 business days after the
conclusion of the inspection? [ ] Very Important [ | Important [ | Not Important
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Does your organization believe the department should conduct timely revisits after a
deficient practice is cited and an organization’s plan of correction is received while
the facility is in penalty status? [_|Yes [ |No

Does your organization believe the department should improve the timeliness and
effectiveness of the state’s licensing and inspection processes? [ ]Yes [ INo

Does your organization believe that patient care and treatment generally are better
when periodic unannounced regulatory inspections are performed? [ ] Yes [ | No

Does your organization believe that BHS should be positioned to respond timely to
citizen complaints regarding care and treatment received in licensed health
facilities? [ JYes [ ]No

MCL 333.20161(9) states, “The cost of licensure activities shall be supported by
license fees.” Does your organization agree that the licensed health facilities fee
structure should support the cost of inspection activity? [ Yes [ [No

Is your organization supportive of a reasonable fee increase to replace State
General Fund support and improve the effectiveness of the licensing and survey
processes in Michigan? [ JYes [ |No

Would your organization actively oppose a reasonable fee increase to replace State
General Fund support and improve the effectiveness of the licensing and survey
processes in Michigan? [_]Yes [ INo

If the legislature were to pass a license fee increase, would your organization prefer
that the resulting funds generated from that fee increase be restricted to use only to
support and improve the licensing and survey processes? [ lYes [ INo

Optional:

a. Name of the organization you represent?
b. Your position within that organization?
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