STATE OF MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
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In the matter of the Dishonored
Payments/Service Charge Procedures for:

Licensees

N N N N N

At the December 15, 2015 meeting of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission

(Commission) in Lansing, Michigan.
PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman
Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2015-07
DISHONORED PAYMENTS/SERVICE CHARGES PROCEDURES

Article 1V, Section 40, of the Constitution of Michigan (1963), permits the
legislature to establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete
control of the alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales
thereof, subject to statutory limitations. MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission
with the sole right, power, and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in
other alcoholic liquor within this state, including the manufacture, importation,
possession, transportation and sale thereof.

Licensees are required to pay for the purchase of alcoholic liquor by cash only,
as required by MCL 436.2013 and as defined under MCL 436.1107(1). Furthermore,
making payment to the Commission or the State of Michigan by any means that will be
dishonored by a financial institution for lack of sufficient funds or for any other reason is
a violation of the Michigan Administrative Code, R 436.1059.

After review and discussion at the meeting, the Commission finds this
Administrative Order should be approved to establish that any licensee that makes any
form of payment to the Commission that is dishonored shall be required to pay the

dishonored payment and a service charge of $40.00.
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

A. Any licensee that makes a payment to the Commission that is dishonored shall

immediately pay for the dishonored payment by cash, cashier’s or certified
check, or bank or postal money order made payable to the State of Michigan. If

payment is by cash, it shall be paid in the Commission’s Lansing office.

. Any licensee that makes a payment to the Commission that is dishonored shall

pay a $40.00 service charge for such payment.

. Licensee payments and service charges shall be mailed or brought to the

Lansing office and not mailed or brought to any Commission district offices or an
Authorized Distribution Agent (ADA). Payments shall not be given to the ADAS’

delivery drivers.

. Licensee dishonored payments shall be referred to the Commission’s Hearings

and Appeals Section, Executive Services Division, for issuance of a formal

violation complaint.
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Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner
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