
STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
* * * * * 

 
 
In the matter of the request of         ) 
ELLIS SLOAN INC.     ) 
D/B/A US 12 AMERICAN BAR & GRILL ) 
34816-34824 Michigan    ) Business ID No. 1639 
Wayne, Michigan  48184    ) Complaint Nos. 2-154811, 2-154660 & 
       )         2-154661 
Wayne County     ) 
       ) 
 
 At the March 21, 2013 hearing of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

(Commission) in Southfield, Michigan. 

 
 

 
PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 

Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner  
Dennis Olshove, Commissioner  

 
 
                                   

VIOLATION APPEAL ORDER  
 
 On February 8, 2013, John Goci, sole stockholder of Ellis Sloan Inc. (licensee) filed 

a request for an appeal of the order of Administrative Law Judge Robert Mourning dated 

January 15, 2013 issued as a result of three (3) violations of making a payment to the 

Commission or the State of Michigan which was subsequently dishonored by a financial 

institution for lack of sufficient funds on September 7, 2012 and two (2) incidents on 

September 14, 2012; in connection with the 2012 Class C and SDM licenses with Sunday 

Sales Permit (P.M.), Outdoor Service Permit, Dance Permit, two (2) Bars, and Specific 

Purpose Permit (Food), held at the above-noted location. 

In the January 15, 2013 consolidated order, Administrative Law Judge Mourning 

concluded that the licensee violated administrative rule R 436.1059 in each charge cited in 
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Complaint Nos. 2-154811, 2-154660 and 2-154661, and ordered a fine in the amount of 

$200.00 for each charge, for a total consolidated fine of $600.00.  As added penalty, the 

Administrative Law Judge ordered the licensee to serve a thirty (30) consecutive day 

suspension period if the fine was not paid within forty-five (45) days from the date of the 

order.  Further, the Administrative Law Judge ordered the licensee to pay for purchases of 

alcoholic liquor from the Commission by certified check, cashier’s check, or money order 

for a period of twelve (12) months from the date of the order.  The consolidated order was 

entered after a hearing was held pursuant to administrative rule 436.1915(1)(e) as a 

representative of the licensee failed to appear at the violation hearing held in these matters 

on December 14, 2012 in Pittsfield, Michigan. 

John Goci submitted a timely request for an appeal hearing in this matter and 

represented the licensee at the March 21, 2013 hearing, held at the Commission’s 

Southfield office.   

After hearing arguments on behalf of the licensee, reviewing the MLCC files, and 

discussion of the issue on the record, the Commission does not find error with the 

application of the MLCC Code or Administrative Rules; however, for the reasons stated on 

the record, the order of Administrative Law Judge Mourning dated January 15, 2013 issued 

in this matter should be reversed, in part, by striking a portion of the order where the 

licensee was ordered to pay for purchases of alcoholic liquor from the Commission by 

certified check, cashier check, or money order for a period of twelve (12) months from the 

date of the order; 

 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that: 

 

A. The order of Administrative Law Judge Robert Mourning dated January 15, 

2013 issued in this matter is REVERSED in part, by STRIKING that part of the order where 

the licensee was ordered to pay for purchases of alcoholic liquor from the Commission by 
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certified check, cashier check, or money order for a period of twelve (12) months from the 

date of the order. 

B. The remainder of the order of Administrative Law Judge Robert Mourning 

dated January 15, 2013 issued in this matter is AFFIRMED, and the fine in the amount of 

$200.00 for each charge in each complaint, for a total consolidated fine of $600.00, is due 

within forty-five (45) days from the date of this order.  Failure to remit the $600.00 fine 

within forty-five (45) days from the date of this order will result in a thirty (30) consecutive 

day suspension period. 

 
 
             MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
 
       
  
 Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 

 
 

  
 Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner 

 
 

  
 Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 
 
___________________________ 
Prepared by: 
Terri Chase, Commission Aide 
 
Date Mailed: _________________ 
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