

## Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Liquor Control Commission (MLCC)

Toll-Free: 866-813-0011 - www.michigan.gov/lcc

### **Farmer's Market Permit Application**

(MCL 436.1415)

For more information on manufacturer and wholesaler licenses and permits, please visit the Liquor Control Commission's frequently asked questions website by clicking this link.

### **General Information**

- The annual permit issued by the Liquor Control Commission is for a qualified Small Wine Maker to conduct wine tastings and sell, at retail, wine produced by that Small Wine Maker at a Farmer's Market. This permit shall be prominently posted within the approved
- For the purpose of qualifying for a Farmer's Market Permit, a qualified Small Wine Maker means a small wine maker who manufactures or bottles not more than 5,000 gallons of wine at all locations in one (1) calendar year, and may also include an out of state winery.
- One (1) Permit may be issued for each 1,500 of population in a county where the Farmer's Market is located.
- The Farmer's Permit holder shall not sell wine or conduct tastings on Sundays unless the sale of wine is allowed by the local unit of government where the farmer's market is located. Furthermore, in locations where Sunday wine sales are allowed, a permit holder shall not sell wine or conduct tastings between 7:00am and 12:00 Noon on Sunday unless the licensee first applies for and is approved by the Commission for a Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.).
- Tastings and sales shall be limited to an exclusive area that is well-defined and clearly marked and under the control of the permit holder.
- The application must include a recommendation of approval for the tastings and sales of wine at the location from the police chief or sheriff who has jurisdiction and the Farmer's Market manager.
- Tasting samples provided to a customer shall not exceed three (3) servings of not more than two (2) ounces of wine in a 24-hour period
- All wine sold or used for tastings shall be furnished by the Small Wine Maker and removed from the Farmer's Market premises upon conclusion of the Farmer's Market.
- All tastings and sales shall be conducted by employees of the Farmer's Market Permit who have completed a server training program approved by the Commission.
- A licensed Wholesaler is prohibited from conducting or participating in any tastings or sales under this Permit.
- A Farmer's Market Permit issued by the Commission is not transferable.

### Requirements

Complete and submit the "Application for Farmer's Market Permit" (Form LCC-250), along with the following:

- The signature from the local law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction where the Farmer's Market is located.
- 2. The signature from the Farmer's Market manager approving the activities.
- 3. A \$25.00 Permit fee and a \$70.00 inspection fee. A \$160.00 Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.) fee may also be required for sales or tastings between 7:00am and 12:00 noon on Sunday. Make one check or money order payable to the State of Michigan or use the credit card form (attached).
- 4. A map of the Farmer's Market which clearly shows all booths, stalls or other designated locations where tastings and sales of wine may be conducted by the licensee.
- 5. Out of state wineries must include a copy of the Federal Basic Permit, copy of State license, and copy of the licensing requirements for that state.



## Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Liquor Control Commission (MLCC)

Toll-Free: 866-813-0011 - www.michigan.gov/lcc

	(For MLCC use only)
Request ID:	
Business ID:	

### **Farmer's Market Permit Application**

(MCL 436.1415)

For more information on manufacturer and wholesaler licenses and permits, please visit the Liquor Control Commission's frequently asked questions

website <u>by clicking this link</u> .					
Part 1 - Licensee Information Individuals, please state your legal name. Corporations or I	Limited Liability Companies	s, please state you	r name as it is filed with the State of N	Michigan Corporatio	n Divisior
Licensee name(s):					
Address:					
City:		Zip Code:			
City/township/village:		County:			
Contact Name:	Phone:		Email:		
How many gallons of wine were produced in to	otal for all locations in	the last calend	dar year?		
Part 2 - Farmer's Market Information					
Name of farmer's market:					
Address:					
City:		Zip Code:			
City/township/village:		County:			
lf the farmer's market operates on Sunday and t questions regarding whether Sunday sales are all					ollowing
1. Does the local unit of government where off-premises consumption <b>from 7:00am to</b>		is located allo	w Sunday sales of wine for	○ Yes ○	No
Does the local unit of government where off-premises consumption after 12:00 No.		is located allo	w Sunday sales of wine for	○ Yes ○	No
Part 3 - Required Fees and Documents					
\$70.00 Inspection Fee (MLCC Fee Code 4036)			Total Fees Due:		
\$25.00 Farmer's Market Permit Fee (MLCC Fee Code 4038)				tate of Michiga	<b>n</b>
\$160.00 Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.) Fee (MLCC Fee Code 4033)			Make check payable to <b>State of Michigan</b> (Leave Blank - MLCC Use Only)		
Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.) will be held with Small Wil required for wine sales and tastings at Farmer's Marke 12:00 Noon in local governmental units that allow Sund fee not required if Small Wine Maker licensee already ho	ets on Sundays between 7 day morning alcohol sales.	':00am and Additional	(Leave Stall) Miles	ose omy,	
Map of Farmer's Market showing the we Wine Maker at which an approved Small	ell-defined and clearly Wine Maker may conc	marked area luct tastings o	that is under the control of rell bottled wine.	the qualified Sn	nall
If licensee is located outside of Michigan, of issuance, along with the requirements			c Permit and a copy of the lic	ense from the st	ate

Part 4 - Local Law Enforcement Recommendation for Farmer's Market Permit The local law enforcement agency with primary jurisdiction over the event location must complete this section. Name of law enforcement agency: Address of law enforcement agency: Phone number of officer: Email of officer: I certify that I have reviewed this application and recommend the approval of the Farmer's Market Permit by the Michigan Liquor **Control Commission.** Print Name & Title of Reviewing Officer: Signature of Reviewing Officer Date Part 5 - Farmer's Market Manager Verification Name of Farmer's Market manager: Phone: Email: I verify that the Farmer's Market is a defined, community-sponsored or municipally-sponsored location, that the tastings and sales performed by the qualified Small Wine Maker licensee under the Farmer's Market Permit will be conducted in a well-defined and clearly marked exclusive area, and that the area is under the control of the qualified Small Wine Maker licensee. Further, the Farmer's Market Manager at this location recommends approval of the Farmer's Market Permit. Print Name of Farmer's Market Manager: Signature of Farmer's Market Manager Date Part 6 - Signature of Licensee I certify that the information contained in this form is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I agree to comply with all information is a violation of the Liquor Control Code pursuant to MCL 436.2003.

requirements of the Michigan Liquor Control Code and Administrative Rules. I also understand that providing false or fraudulent

Print Name of Licensee & Title Signature of Licensee Date

> Please return this completed form along with corresponding documents and fees to: Michigan Liquor Control Commission Mailing address: P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, MI 48909 Hand deliveries or overnight packages: Constitution Hall - 525 W. Allegan, Lansing, MI 48933 Fax to: 517-284-8557



# Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Finance and Administrative Services Revenue Services

LARA Revenue Services is not a part of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (see note below).

### **Credit Card Authorization Form**

# \*\* FAX COMPLETED FORM TO SECURE FAX LINE: 517-284-8557 \*\* \*\* DO NOT EMAIL OR MAIL THIS FORM \*\*

Requests with credit card payments that are not faxed to the above secure fax line will be destroyed along with the credit card authorization in order to ensure the security of applicants' personal credit card numbers.

# \* \*IF YOU ARE NOT SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION FORM WITH THIS CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION, YOU MUST PROVIDE AN ITEMIZATION OF THE FEES FOR WHICH YOU ARE SUBMITTING PAYMENT OR YOUR PAYMENT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED\* \*

Name on Card:			Payment Amount:				
Billing Address:			Card Number:				
City: State: Zip Code:			Check One:				
Phone:				○ Visa	○ Discover		
Email:			Security Code/CVV Code:				
Applicant/Licensee Name: Request or Business ID #:		Expiration Date:					
Payment is fo	 or:						
			Signature				
IF YOU ARE NOT SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION FORM WITH THIS CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION, YOU MUST PROVIDE AN ITEMIZATION OF THE FEES FOR WHICH YOU ARE SUBMITTING PAYMENT OR YOUR PAYMENT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED.  Credit Card Payment Itemization:  MLCC Fee Type Fee Amount  Fee Code			LARA Revenue Services is not a part of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC). Receipt of payment and application forms by LARA Revenue Services does not constitute receipt of an application by the MLCC. Applications submitted through LARA Revenue Services may take up to two (2) additional business days to be received by the MLCC after receipt by LARA Revenue Services.				
Inspection Fee(s):	recrimount	4036	For requests that require a	a timely receipt	of an application by the		
Special License Fee(s):		4008	MLCC to be processed, such as Special Licenses and temporary requests, please ensure that your application will be received in adequate time to be processed by the MLCC after the payment is				
Temporary Authorization Fee:		- 4037					
License Renewal Fee(s):		4004	received and processed by LARA Revenue Services.				
Manufacturer License(s):		- 4038					
Wholesaler License(s):		- 4085					
New Retailer License(s):		- 4012					
Transfer Retailer License(s):		- 4034					
Conditional License		_					
Now Add Day Transfer Add Day		4012					
☐ New Add Bar ☐ Transfer Add Bar:		4012 - 4012/4034					
Sunday Sales Permit (AM):		_					

Catering Permit:

4031