
 

 
STATE OF MICHIGAN 

 

RICK SNYDER 
GOVERNOR 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
BUREAU OF FIRE SERVICES 

JULIE SECONTINE 
STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

SHELLY EDGERTON 

DIRECTOR  

 

 

LARA is an equal opportunity employer   
Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 

3101 TECHNOLOGY BLVD., SUITE H  P.O. BOX 30700  LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909 

www.michigan.gov/bfs    (517) 241-8847   Fax: (517) 332-1427 or (517) 332-1428 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Fireworks Application 

 

1. Question: What is required for someone to receive a consumer fireworks 
certificate in Michigan?  
 
Answer: According to the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Section 
28.454: 
 

a) To obtain a consumer fireworks certificate, the application shall be submitted no 
later than April 1 of each year in which consumer fireworks are to be sold.    
 

b) The application shall be accompanied by a copy of the applicant's current sales 
tax license, including the applicant's account number, issued by the department 
of treasury for each retail location where consumer fireworks are to be sold by 
the applicant.   If the retailer is not a sole proprietorship, please submit a Federal 
Tax ID number.  You may need to submit site or floor plans.  Please see 
Fireworks Plan Submittal Guidelines for guidance (if applicable). 

  
c) The application shall be accompanied by a fee of $1,000.00 for a certificate for 

each retail location that is a permanent building or structure or $600.00 for each 
retail location that is not a permanent building or structure.  
 

d) A consumer fireworks certificate issued under this section is valid from the date 
of issue until April 30 of the year after it was issued. A person may renew a 
consumer fireworks certificate for a retail location by making application in the 
same manner as provided under subsection (2). However, the department shall 
not issue a renewal consumer fireworks certificate unless the department 
determines that the applicant properly remitted all of the fireworks safety fees 
required to be paid in the preceding year. 
 

e) The retailer must pass an on-site inspection approved by the Bureau of Fire 
Services. An approved inspector may visit your retail location at any time, and all 
rules and regulations must be upheld at all times to negate the risk of receiving a 
citation. 
 
 
 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Plan_Review_Guidelines_413497_7.pdf?20141107132717
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2. Question: What is required when running a Consumer Fireworks Retail Sales 
(CFRS) facility?  
 
Answer: According to the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Section 
28.454: 

a) The holder of a consumer fireworks certificate shall prominently display the 
original or copy of the certificate in the appropriate retail location. A person that 
violates this subsection is responsible for a civil fine of $100.00. Each day that 
the consumer fireworks certificate is not displayed as required under this 
subsection is a separate violation. 
 

b) The certificate holder will be responsible for meeting all code requirements of 
NFPA 1124, 2006 Edition, Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011  and 
the Fireworks Safety General Rules.  As well you will be responsible for 
addressing any local ordinances or laws for each location. 
 

c) According to Section 28.458 of PA 256 of 2011; retailers are required to submit a 
Retailers Fireworks Sales Report and pay any subsequent fire safety fees on a 
monthly basis.  All Sales Reports and Safety Fees are due no later than 20 days 
after the end of each month. 

 
d) PA 256 of 2011 Section 28.455 requires:  During periods when consumer 

fireworks are sold, each retail location selling consumer fireworks either shall be 
added as an additional insured, or public liability and product liability insurance 
coverage shall be obtained and maintained, in an amount not less than 
$10,000,000.00 per occurrence. A person that knows, or should know, that he or 
she is required to comply with this subsection and who fails or neglects to do so 
is liable for a civil fine of not more than $5,000.00. 

 

  
3. Question: What is the Fireworks Safety Fee and how is it collected?  

 
Answer: According to the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Section 
28.458: 

a) A user fee, known as the fire safety fee, is imposed on retail transactions made in 
this state for consumer fireworks and low-impact fireworks.  A person that 
acquires consumer fireworks or low-impact fireworks in a retail transaction is 
liable for the fireworks safety fee on the transaction and, except as otherwise 
provided in this act, shall pay the fireworks safety fee to the retailer as a separate 
added amount to the consideration in the transaction. The retailer shall collect 
the fireworks fire safety fee as an agent for the state.   
 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-act-256-of-2011
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Fireworks_rules_3-20-14_451210_7.pdf?20141107132717
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-458
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-42271_59975---,00.html
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-458
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-458
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-42271_59975---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-42271_59975---,00.html
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b) Retailers must collect a 6% safety fee in addition to the 6% Michigan Sales Tax 
on the retail sales of both consumer and low-impact fireworks.  Fire safety fees 
must be paid to the Bureau of Fire Services and sales tax must be paid to the  
Department of Treasury.  

 
c) Sales reports and any subsequent safety fees are due 20 days after the end of 

every month.  This requirement begins with the month that you are registered or 
are issued a consumer certificate.  It continues until you cancel your certificate or 
registration or it expires.  Regardless of sales amount, even if you have zero 
sales, you are required to submit a report monthly.  
 

d) If you have not submitted all of the required reports at the time you apply for a 
new certificate you will not be issued a certificate.  Payments for Safety Fees can 
be submitted online by logging into your fireworks account.   
 

e) A cancellation request may be submitted using your online account. The 
cancellation will go into effect on the first day of the month after it was submitted.  
Up to and including that time period you will have to meet the requirements and 
submit all Safety Fee Sales Reports.  Reversal of the cancellation is not 
permitted; a new application must be made if you want to sell at the same 
location again.  

4. Question: Is it possible to be denied a Consumer Fireworks Certificate?  
 
Answer: Yes. If you don’t meet all of the application requirements you will be denied.   
 
Possible reasons for denial: 
 

 If you do not submit your certificate fee you will be denied. 

 Confirmation of a valid and active Michigan Sales Tax License; this will be 
confirmed with the Michigan Department of Treasury.  If confirmation is received 
not valid and active; you will be denied. 

 If you had a consumer certificate the previous year and your fire safety fees and 
sales reports are not up to date; you will be denied. 

 
In the event that you receive a denial notice you will have 45 days to correct any issues 
and resubmit any missing documentation. 
 

5. Question: How long is the Consumer Fireworks Certificate valid for?  
 
Answer: According to the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Section 
28.454, Section 4(3)   a consumer fireworks certificate issued under this section is valid 
from the date of issue until April 30 of the year after it was issued.   A retailer must apply 
annually and meet all statutory requirements. Currently there is no renewal process in 
place. 

https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
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6. Question: What if I only want to sell low impact fireworks like sparkling wheel 
devices and ground sparkling devices? 
 
Answer: According to the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Section 
28.456(2) the act requires that any retailer selling low-impact fireworks in the state of 
Michigan must register online each calendar year at least ten days prior to sales.  The 
retailer must also collect the 6% Fireworks Safety Fee and remit those fees to the State 
of Michigan 20 days after the end of each month. Sales reports are required regardless 
of sales amount, including zero sales. This requirement begins with the month of 
registration and ends on December 31 of the same year. In order to sell low impact 
fireworks the following year, the individual must re-register. 
 

7. Question: Do I have to register if I sell both consumer and low impact fireworks? 
 
Answer: Yes, according to the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Section 
28.454, Section 4, selling consumer fireworks will require a certificate for each retail 
sales location. Low impact sales will require a registration for each retail sales location. 
If you are selling both consumer fireworks and low impact fireworks you will need a 
consumer certificate and registration for each retail location. 
 

8. Question: How do I know if my certificate has been issued? 
 
Answer:  New in 2017 your Certificate will be emailed to you for you to print and 
display.  Your account will have all of your application history so you can see when it is 
being issued. 
 
 

9.   Question:  Is it possible that I could be issued a citation?  
 
Answer:  Yes, if your retail sales location does not meet the code requirements as 
described in the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act, PA 256 of 2011, Fireworks Safety 
General Rules, NFPA 1124, and NFPA 101, you may be issued a citation. At any time 
your retail sales location is found to be non-compliant you may be issued a citation 
and/or charged with a misdemeanor.   
 

10.   Question: Under what circumstances may I request a refund?  
 

Answer: Rule 7.  Refunds of 100% of the certificate application fee are permitted only 
under either of the following conditions:  

(a) When a duplicate payment is submitted. 

(b) Payments received without submitting an application. 

 

Refunds requests submitted due to the death of the certificate owner will be considered 
for a 70% refund of the certificate application fee.  The refund application request must 
be received in BFS prior to any inspection.  A copy of the death certificate and executor 
authorization shall be submitted with the online refund request.   

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-456
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-456
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-28-454
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11.    Question: Can I transfer the ownership of my consumer fireworks certificate?  

 
Answer: Yes, you may transfer ownership for a consumer fireworks certificate.  
Transfers of ownership are available for permanent facilities and temporary facilities.  
An ownership transfer may occur when the certificate holder wishes to transfer the 
certificate ownership to another individual. Once the transfer has been approved and 
processed the new owner then becomes responsible for the retail sales location 
including all safety fee reporting and code compliance. 

 The new certificate owner must submit an online ownership transfer application 
by logging onto your existing fireworks account or if needed by creating a new 
fireworks account . 

 Both the original owner and new owner will submit an ownership transfer 
affidavit.  The affidavits are 2 separate forms, one for the original owner (found 
on our website) and one for the new owner (produced at the time the application 
is submitted online). 

 The transfer affidavit documents must be notarized. 

 The new owner is responsible for the $25.00 transfer of ownership fee. 
 

12.   Question: Can I transfer my consumer fireworks certificate location? 
 

Answer: Yes, you may transfer the location of a consumer fireworks facility.  A location 
transfer may occur when the retail sales location is moving. 
 

 You must submit an online location transfer application by logging in to your 
fireworks account. PLEASE NOTE: The location transfer online application 
must be submitted no later than June 1.  No transfer applications will be 
permitted after June 1. 
 

 You will submit the transfer a consumer fireworks facility location fee of $25.00 
online through your fireworks account. 
   

13.   Question: Who do I contact if I have more questions? 
 

Answer: You may refer to the Bureau of Fire Services Fireworks Program home page 
for information related to fireworks and access to forms. Tutorials are also posted on our 
website that will walk you through each step of the application, refund, transfer, fire 
safety fees processes.  These tutorials may address many of your questions. 
You may call Bureau of Fire Services main phone line at 517-241-8847; or you may 
also call the fireworks phone line at 517-373-7441.  From February thru July we 
experience a heavy call volume and encourage you to submit inquiries via email to 
fireworks@michigan.gov.  

 

https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
https://aca3.accela.com/lara/
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_42271_59975---,00.html
mailto:fireworks@michigan.gov

