Provisions of the Workers’ Disability
Compensation Act

About Michigan’s
Vocationally
Handicapped Law

Public Act 183 of 1971 amended the Workers’ Disability Compensation
Act by adding Chapter 9, entitled Vocationally Handicapped. This
amendment is often referred to as Michigan’s “vocationally handicapped
law.” It significantly limits an employer’s liability in case of work-related
injuries when properly certified individuals with back, heart, epileptic, or
diabetic conditions are hired.

How Does the
Law Work?

The law limits an employer’s liability for workers’ compensation
benefits to 52 weeks of benefits for any work-related injury. All benefits
paid after 52 weeks for which the employer is liable will be reimbursed
by the state’s Second Injury Fund.

This Fund will also assume liability, from the date of injury, for
vocational rehabilitation benefits provided under Chapter 3, Section 319, of
the Workers’ Disability Compensation Act.

What Are the Benefits
of Being Certified?

Individuals with a certified back, heart, epileptic, or diabetic condition
may have a competitive edge when applying for employment. They
bring to an employer their talents and skills as well as potential cost
savings through reduced liability. Another important point is that certifica-
tion through the vocationally handicapped law does not affect the
workers’ compensation rights of injured employees or their dependents.

How Does a Worker
Become Certified?

To be covered by the law, employees must be certified prior to hire.
Michigan Rehabilitation Services (MRS) offices located throughout the
state issue Vocationally Handicapped Worker’s Certificates. To be
eligible, a worker must:

* have a back, heart, epileptic, or diabetic condition,
* be unemployed at the time of certification,
* not have a current offer of employment, and
* meet one of the following three criteria:
— was turned down for a job for disability-related reasons,
— is unable to return to work for a previous employer for
disability-related reasons, or
— is a current client of either MRS or the Michigan Commission
for the Blind.

To become certified, an applicant must complete an application form,
have it signed by the employer who did not hire or could not rehire
the worker for disability-related reasons, and provide medical informa-
tion documenting the existence of the disability.

Applicants with a qualifying condition who are current clients of MRS
or the Michigan Commission for the Blind may be certified without
obtaining an employer’s signature. Eligibility for these programs is
accepted in lieu of being refused employment for disability-related
reasons. All other certification requirements still apply.
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The worker’s certificate is a wallet-sized card that informs prospective
employers that a worker has met the requirements of the vocationally
handicapped law. It enables the worker to begin work immediately,
pending employer certification. The card can be renewed every two
years if the individual continues to meet certification requirements.
Employers should check to see if a job applicant’s card is still valid at the

time of hire.
What Is the Employers must complete the certification process by filling in and
Responsibility of the returning to MRS Form RA-4476 for each new certified worker they hire in
Employer? order to receive the benefits of the vocationally handicapped law. The

certification process cannot be completed if an employment relationship
existed between the person and the same employer in the 52 weeks
prior to the date the employee certificate was issued. Certification is
permanent for each certified worker who works continuously for the same
employer. However, if a certified worker leaves the place of employment
for any reason for 52 weeks or longer and is then rehired by the same
employer, a new RA-4476 form must be completed by the employer.
Employers should request Form RA-4476 from the MRS field office that
issued the worker’s certificate. Employers are required to file the form with
MRS within 60 days of the first date of employment. However, employers
will be protected under Chapter 9 even if they file after the 60-day period
as long as filing takes place before an injury occurs for which benefits are
payable under the Workers’ Disability Compensation Act. Failure to follow
correct certification procedures may jeopardize an employer’s right to
Chapter 9 benefits.

Will Hiring Certified No — hiring someone with a back, heart, epileptic, or diabetic condition

Workers Raise Workers’ will not raise an employer’s workers’ compensation rates. Further, the

Compensation Rates? vocationally handicapped law covers any job-related injury that may be
incurred by a certified worker — even an aggravation of the pre-existing
disability which extends 52 weeks or longer from the date of injury. The
claims history of the vocationally handicapped law has demonstrated that
hiring certified workers is an extremely low risk to employers.

Does MRS Help MRS counselors and disability management specialists can help injured
Employers Rehabilitate workers return to their former jobs or, when this is not possible, to other
Disabled Workers? work with the same employer. Sometimes medical restoration services or

job accommodations may be needed.

If a person cannot go back to work with the same employer, jobs with
other employers will then be sought. Retraining is considered only for
those injured workers who cannot use current work skills because of their
disability.

Additional Information For further information about eligibility for certification or the certification
process, call Michigan Rehabilitation Services toll free at (800) 605-6722
(voice) or (888) 605-6722 (TTY). For more information about the Second
Injury Fund, call the Assistant Funds Administrator at (517) 241-8999.
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