
STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
* * * * * 

 
 
In the matter of the request of         ) 
       ) 
J & L OIL COMPANY INC    )     Request ID No. 797004 
1365 W. Maple     )  
Clawson, Michigan  48017    )   
       ) 
Oakland County     ) 
       )   
 
 At the June 18, 2015 hearing of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

(Commission) in Southfield, Michigan. 

 
 

PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 
     Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 
           
                                   

LICENSING APPEAL ORDER  
 
 On March 5, 2015, J & L Oil Company Inc (applicant) filed a request to transfer 

ownership of a Specially Designated Merchant license with permission for motor vehicle 

fuel pumps under MCL 436.1541(1), and Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.) from BP Clawson, 

Inc. at the above-noted address.     

At a meeting held on May 13, 2015, the Commission denied this request under 

administrative rule R 436.1105(2)(a) after considering the operating record of applicant 

stockholder, Sejaan Ghafari, as a current licensee of the Commission that was cited and 

found responsible for two (2) violations of the sale of alcoholic liquor to person(s) under 21 

years of age (age 19 and age 17 years); which is contrary to MCL 436.1801(2). 

The request was also denied under administrative rule R 436.1105(2)(j) after 

considering the effects that issuance of a license would have on the health, welfare, and 

safety of the general public when determining whether an applicant should be issued a 
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license or permit. 

Kelly Allen, legal counsel on behalf of the applicant, submitted a timely request for 

an appeal in this matter and represented the applicant at the June 18, 2015 hearing, held 

at the Commission’s Southfield office. 

After hearing arguments, reviewing the MLCC file and documents presented, and 

discussion of the issue on the record, the Commission finds that the applicant has 

sufficiently demonstrated a course of action has been taken to assist in preventing further 

violations of the Michigan Liquor Control Code and Administrative Rules.  

The Commission further finds that the investigation revealed the proposed licensed 

location appears to qualify for SDM licensure with permission for motor vehicle fuel pumps 

under MCL 436.1541(1), providing the applicant installs and maintains a minimum 

inventory on the premises, excluding alcoholic liquor and motor vehicle fuel, of not less 

than $250,000.00, at cost, of those goods and services customarily marketed by approved 

types of businesses.  
Article IV, Section 40, of the Michigan Constitution (1963), permits the legislature to 

establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete control of the 

alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales thereof, subject to 

statutory limitations.  MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission with the sole right, power, 

and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic liquor within 

this state, including the manufacture, importation, possession, transportation and sale 

thereof. 

The applicant is authorized to do business in Michigan, as required under MCL 

436.1535 for licensure.  Under MCL 436.1537(1)(f) the licensee may sell beer and wine for 

consumption off the premises only. 
The Commission finds sufficient reasons to reverse its denial issued in this matter 

and to approve the applicant’s request for the reasons stated on the record. 

 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that: 
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A. The denial order of May 13, 2015 issued in this matter is reversed and the 

applicant’s request to transfer ownership of a Specially Designated Merchant license from 

BP Clawson, Inc. at the above-noted address is APPROVED, subject to the following: 

1. The licensee shall submit to a Final Inspection to be conducted by the 

Commission’s Enforcement Division to determine that the licensee 

has purchased and installed and will maintain an approved type 

inventory of at least $250,000.00, at cost, as required under MCL 

436.1541(1)(a)(ii), on the licensed premises, including an itemized 

breakdown of the installed inventory; and to determine that the 

licensed premises meets all requirements of the Michigan Liquor 

Control Code and Administrative Rules. 

2. The licensee shall submit to the Commission verification that J & L Oil 

Company Inc received a loan in the amount of $46,000.00 from 

Ghafari Trading Ltd. 

3. The licensee shall submit to the Commission verification that J & L Oil 

Company Inc received a loan in the amount of $225,000.00 from 

Ghafari Mobil Inc. 

4. The licensee shall submit to the Commission verification that real 

estate purchaser, Ghafari United Group, LLC received a loan in the 

amount of $1,000,000.00 from MBank. 

5. The licensee shall submit to the Commission verification that real 

estate purchaser, Ghafari United Group, LLC, received a $250,000.00 

line of credit from MBank. 

6. The licensee shall submit to the Commission an acceptable and 

executed Lease Agreement between J & L Oil Company Inc, tenant, 

and Ghafari United Group, LLC, landlord. 

7. The licensee shall submit to the Commission an executed land 

contract, real estate mortgage, warranty deed or quit claim deed.  A 
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Real Estate Transfer Valuation Affidavit must be provided if the 

warranty deed does not list the actual purchase price. 

8. The licensee shall submit proof of financial responsibility providing 

security for liability as required under MCL 436.1803.  Failure to 

maintain proof of financial responsibility providing security for liability 

will result in the immediate suspension of the subject license and 

permit until the licensee provides the Commission with proof of 

financial responsibility as required under MCL 436.1803. 

9. The licensee shall submit to the Commission form LCC-3010 “Report 

of Stockholders/Members/Partners”. 
10. The licensee shall submit to the Commission form LCC-3012 “Closing 

Form for License Sale”. 

 B. The applicant’s request to transfer the existing permission for motor vehicle 

fuel pumps on or adjacent to the licensed premises under MCL 436.1541(1) is 

APPROVED, subject to compliance with the requirements contained therein. 

C. The applicant’s request to transfer the existing permit to sell alcoholic liquor 

between 7 A.M. and Noon on Sundays is APPROVED, pursuant to Public Act 213 of 2010, 

MCL 436.2111-2115.  This permit is subject to revocation by operation of law or otherwise 

if the Commission receives notice from a county, city, village, township, or the local 

governmental unit, that it prohibits or otherwise objects to the sale of spirits, mixed spirit 

drink or beer and wine between the hours of 7 A.M. and Noon on Sundays.  If notice and 

supporting documentation is received by the Commission a Show Cause Hearing will be 

scheduled before the Commission under administrative rule R 436.1925(1) to determine if 

the permit must be revoked. 

D. The licensee shall continue to maintain on the licensed premises at all times, 

a minimum inventory of at least $250,000.00, at cost, of goods and services customarily 

marketed by approved types of businesses, excluding alcoholic liquor, motor vehicle fuel, 

inventory on a consignment, or inventory owned by others, as required for licensure under 
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MCL 436.1541(1)(a)(ii). 

E. Under administrative rule R 436.1003, the licensee shall comply with all state 

and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation, and health laws, rules, and ordinances as 

determined by the state and local law enforcements officials who have jurisdiction over the 

licensee.  Approval of the license by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission does not 

waive any of these requirements.  The licensee must obtain all other required state and 

local licenses, permits, and approvals before serving or selling alcoholic liquor. 

F. Failure to comply with all requirements of licensure in the State of Michigan 

will result in the licensee being charged with a violation of the Michigan Liquor Control 

Code, Administrative Rules, and Commission order, which may result in fines, suspension, 

and/or revocation of the license and permit. 

 

 

 

             MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

          
  
  
 

 
Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 
 

 

  
 

 
 Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 
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