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REPORT AUTHORITY 
 
Public Act 252 of 2014 
 
 Sec. 509. By February 1, the bureau of health care services shall provide the state 
budget office, the subcommittees, and the fiscal agencies an updated schedule of fees 
to be charged by the bureau of health care services for regulating health facilities. The 
updated fee schedule proposed by the bureau shall be based on the schedule 
submitted previously, but include updated figures from the prior fiscal year. It shall also 
bear a direct relationship to the cost of the service or act, including overhead expenses. 
The report shall also recommend the necessary statutory and administrative rule 
changes necessary to implement the recommended fee schedule. 
 
REPORT OVERVIEW 
 
In accordance with Public Act 252 of 2014, this report provides the following: 

 
• Proposed fee schedule for state licensing of facilities, agencies and programs. 

 
• Costs to state license and federally certify facilities, agencies and programs. 
 
• Recommended statutory and rule changes necessary to implement the proposed fee 

schedule and related activities. 
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RECOMMENDED STATE LICENSING FEE STRUCTURE 
 
The Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL), specifically 333.20161 and 330.1139, set forth the 
state licensing fees for health facilities, agencies and programs operating in Michigan.  
Licensing fees were established in Code on October 1, 1981 and have remained for the 
most part unchanged for the last 30 years. Health facility and agency is defined under 
MCL 333.20106. 
 
Table 1 is the recommended fee schedule for state licensing activities by the Bureau of 
Health Care Services (“Bureau”) within the Michigan Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs (“Department”).  This table also includes the current fee schedule. 
 

Table 1 
Recommended State Licensing Fee Schedule 

 

Hospitals Proposed $500 per license + $10 per bed 

Current $8.28 per bed x # of years 
  

Hospice Agencies Proposed $500 per license 

Current No Licensure Fee 
  

Hospice Residences Proposed $500 per license + $5 per bed 

Current $200 per license + $20 per bed 
  

Freestanding Surgical Proposed $500 per license 

Outpatient Facilities (FSOF)              Current $238 per license 
  

Nursing Homes Proposed $500 per license + $5 per bed 

Current $2.20 per bed 
  

Psychiatric Hospitals/Units Proposed $500 per license + $10 per bed 

Current $600 per license + $7.50 per bed 
  

Partial Psych Hosp Programs Proposed Recommend Deregulation 

Current $600 per license + $7.50 per Tx position 
  

Clinical Laboratories Proposed Recommend Deregulation 

Current $475 per license 
  

Substance Abuse Programs Proposed $500 per license 

Current No Licensure Fee 
  

Application Fee New $2,000 per new license 
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Currently hospitals and psychiatric hospitals, units and programs are issued biennial 
licenses as specified in Code.  In addition to the proposed fee schedule, the Department 
recommends annual licensure renewal for all provider types and an application fee for 
new providers. Annual licensure creates a standardized renewal process for all 
providers and a consistent annual revenue balance for the Department. The proposed 
application fee applies only to new providers seeking initial licensure to assist with 
covering the costs of pre- and post-licensure inspections. 
 
Table 2 shows the range for individual state licensing fees based on the current and 
proposed fee schedules using provider data as of December 30, 2014.  
 

Table 2 
Current and Proposed Annual Licensing Fee Range by Provider Type and Size 

 

License Provider Type 
Smallest State Facility Largest State Facility 

Beds Current 
Fee 

Proposed 
Fee Beds Current 

Fee 
Proposed 

Fee 

Hospital 4 $33.12 $540 1,040 $8,611.20 $10,900 

Hospice Agency - $0 $500 - $0 $500 

Hospice Residence 6 $320 $530 32 $840 $660 

FSOF - $238 $500 - $238 $500 

Long-Term Care* 7 $15.40 $535 330 $726 $2,150 

Psychiatric Hosp/Unit 10 $337.50 $600 205 $406.25 $3,000 

Substance Abuse Program - $0 $500 - $0 $500 
 
* Nursing homes, county medical care facilities, and hospital long-term care units. 

 
BENEFITS OF RECOMMENDED STATE LICENSING FEE STRUCTURE 
 
The recommended fee schedule will: 
• Reduce the need for general fund dollars to support state licensing functions. 

• Provide necessary funding to fulfill mandatory licensing activities, such as 

o Timely processing of licensing applications for new providers, 

o Routine onsite inspections to assure compliance with state requirements, 

o Timely issuance of inspection reports, and 

o Timely inspection revisits to verify compliance. 

• Create a uniformed fee schedule for all provider types. 

• Create a uniformed triennial inspection requirement for all provider types.
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RECOMMENDED STATE STATUTORY AND RULE CHANGES 

Recommended changes include: 
 

• An annual base fee for all providers, similar to the current base fee already 
assessed to psychiatric and hospice residence providers. The base fee is designed 
to cover routine fixed costs that occur no matter the size of the provider. Routine 
expenditures include administrative costs, issuing licenses, maintaining records, etc. 
 

• An increase in the existing per bed or treatment position fee. This proxy fee allows 
for an incremental increase in licensing fees based on the size of the health facility.  
Larger health facilities tend to consume more inspection time due to the size and 
complexity of services offered and potential number of complaints. 
 

• Initiation of a licensing fee for hospice agency and substance abuse providers. 
Currently these providers types are not charged a licensing fee. 
 

• Creation of an initial application fee for new providers. This new fee is to offset the 
cost of establishing and processing a new provider for licensure, as well as the labor 
intensive work to conduct pre- and post-licensure inspections. 
 

• Creating a uniformed inspection schedule for all provider types. Current inspections 
are either annual or biennial depending on the provider type. The Department 
recommends an inspection every three years for all provider types. Triennial 
inspections are in line with industry standards and will reduce costs for both the 
provider and state while still assuring patient safety and quality of care regulatory 
oversight. The Department also recommends expanding the option to waive state 
inspection to all provider types. The waiver is currently available only to acute care 
hospitals (MCL 333.20155(9)). If a provider is already inspected by an accrediting 
organization, the provider can request waiver of the state inspection as long as the 
most recent accrediting organization report cites no deficiencies that represent a 
threat to public safety or patient care. These changes will not impact routine 
complaint investigations when allegations are made against a licensed provider, as 
these inspections will continue to be conducted as deemed necessary. 
 

• Elimination of the state clinical laboratory licensing requirement. State licensing for 
laboratories was suspended in 1992 under the former Department of Public Health. 
The Bureau estimates approximately 3,200 existing laboratories could fall under 
state licensing requirements if the program is reconstituted. A comparable federal 
program, Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA), is administered by 
the Bureau on behalf of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
covering nearly 8,000 laboratories in the State with similar requirements. 

 

• Elimination of the state psychiatric partial hospitalization program licensing 
requirement. State licensure requirements are minimal since these outpatient 
programs were removed from the Michigan Certificate of Need oversight/approval in 
the late 1990s. There is no evidence that patient safety or quality of care would be 
impacted from deregulation since current requirements are minimal. 
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STATE LICENSING AUTHORITY 
 
MCL 333.20141(1) states that, “A person shall not establish or maintain and operate a 
health facility or agency without holding a license from the department.” 
  
MCL 330.1137(1) states that, “A person shall not construct, establish, or maintain a 
psychiatric hospital, psychiatric unit, or psychiatric partial hospitalization program or use 
the terms psychiatric hospital, psychiatric unit, or psychiatric partial hospitalization 
program, without first obtaining a license.” 
 
MCL 333.6233(1) states that, “A person not otherwise licensed to provide psychological, 
medical, or social services shall not establish, conduct, or maintain a substance abuse 
service unless it is licensed under this article.” 
 

STATE LICENSING FEE HISTORY 
 
Prior to the Public Act 76 of 1981, the licensing fee section of the Public Health Code 
read, “The department may promulgate rules to prescribe fees for a review of a license 
application and the issuance or renewal of a license.” 
 
Public Act 76 codified the current licensing fees for health facilities and agencies, 
effective October 1, 1981, under MCL 333.20161(1). Relevant amendments since 1981 
are identified below. 
 
Public Act 376 of 1984 amended the fee for clinical laboratories from $270 to $475. On 
September 4, 1992, the former Department of Public Health suspended all State clinical 
laboratory licensing activities. This action was taken to save general fund dollars at the 
time. No State clinical laboratory licenses have been issued or fees collected since. 
 
Public Act 267 of 1996 added a licensing fee for hospice residences of $200 per license 
and $20 per bed annually. This amendment did not propose a license fee for hospice 
agencies that provide in-home care.  
 
Public Act 469 of 2004 amended MCL 333.20161(9) to read, “The cost of licensure 
activities shall be supported by license fees.” 
 

DEPARTMENT STRUCTURE AND DUTIES 
 
LARA is composed of agencies and commissions that promote business growth and job 
creation through streamlined, simple, fair, and efficient regulation, while at the same 
time protect the health and safety of Michigan's citizens. 
 
The Bureau of Health Care Services, within LARA, serves to protect and improve the 
health status of Michigan citizens through the development, maintenance and 
assurance of safe, effective, efficient and accessible health care services delivered 
through health care facilities and health professions, and to promote the development of 
appropriate regulatory policies to achieve a safe, efficient and effective health care 
delivery system.   
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The Bureau is responsible for state licensing of health facilities, agencies and programs 
under the Public Health and Mental Health Codes. The Bureau is also the State Agency 
responsible for conducting certification activities on behalf of the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS) to assure that covered health providers and suppliers 
meet federal conditions to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid programs. 
 
While it is important to recognize and understand the Bureau’s scope of duties related 
to federal certification activities, this report focuses primarily on those Bureau activities 
needed to maintain and support the state licensing functions set forth in Code. 
 
Table 3 shows the types and numbers of health facilities, agencies and programs that 
are required to be state licensed as well as those eligible for federal certification to 
participate in the Medicare and Medicaid program as of December 30, 2014. 
 

Table 3 
Provider Types Requiring State Licensure and Eligible for Federal Certification  

 

Type/No. of Beds/Treatment Positions No. of 
Providers 

State 
Licensure 

Federal 
Certification 

Acute Care Hospitals (26,063 Beds) 169 Yes Yes 

Clinical Laboratories 8,309 Yes Yes 

Community Mental Health Centers (CMHC)* 7 No Yes 

Comprehensive Outpatient Rehab (CORF) 7 No Yes 

End-Stage Renal Dialysis (ESRD) 197 No Yes 

Home Health Agencies 659 No Yes 

Hospice Agencies 126 Yes Yes 

Hospice Residences (254 Beds) 18 Yes Yes 

Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities (FSOF) 132 Yes Yes 

Long-Term Care Facilities** (46,747 Beds) 450 Yes Yes 

Outpatient Physical Therapy (OPT)/Speech 162 No Yes 

Portable X-Ray Providers 9 No Yes 

Psychiatric Hospitals/Units (2,338 Beds) 59 Yes Yes 

Psych Partial Hosp Programs (1,100 Tx Positions) 31 Yes No 

Rural Health Clinics 164 No Yes 

Substance Abuse Programs 1,284 Yes No 
 
* CMHC providers have been added to federal certification activities for state agencies in 2015. 
** LTC facilities include nursing homes, hospital long-term care units, and county medical care facilities. 
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The following Code excerpts provide a general overview of core duties of the Bureau 
related to issuing licenses and monitoring compliance with state requirements. 
 
MCL 333.20131 requires the establishment of a comprehensive system to license and 
certify health facilities or agencies in order to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 
individuals receiving care and services in or from a health facility or agency, and assure 
the medical accountability for reimbursed care provided by a certified health facility or 
agency participating in a federal or state health program. 
 
MCL 333.20162 (1) requires the issuance of an initial license within 6 months after the 
applicant files a completed application. 
 
Prior to issuance of a license, the Bureau conducts a pre-licensure survey to verify 
policies, procedures, and staffing are in place prior to receiving and caring for patients.  
In addition, MCL 20145 may require a construction permit to be issued prior to 
construction of or renovation to a health facility. 
 
Some administrative rules require the department to conduct opening surveys for initial 
licensure within specific time frames. For example, Hospice Administrative Rule 
325.13205 requires the department to conduct a survey of a hospice for initial licensure 
within the 3-month period following receipt of the application. 
 
Once a pre-licensure survey is conducted, and the health facility or agency 
demonstrates compliance with State requirements, a post-licensure survey is conducted 
after the provider has delivered care to patients. The pre- and post- surveys are 
designed to assure the health, safety and welfare of patients. 
 
MCL 333.20164 (1) requires a license to be issued for one to two years. Licenses are 
then renewed through the department’s online licensing system. 
 
MCL 333.20155 (1) requires the department to make annual visits to each health facility 
or agency licensed for the purposes of survey, evaluation, and consultation, as well as 
to investigate complaints. 
 
MCL 333.20155 (2) requires the department to make at least a biennial (every two 
years) visit to each licensed clinical laboratory, each nursing home, and each hospice 
residence for the purposes of survey, evaluation, and consultation. 
 
MCL 333.20155 (3) requires the department to make a biennial visit to each hospital for 
survey and evaluation for the purpose of licensure. This provision can be waived if the 
hospital meets certain requirements set forth by Code. 
 
MCL 333.6238 requires the department to issue substance abuse licenses annually and 
under Section 6241 conduct onsite inspections of these licensed programs within 90 
days of licensure renewal.  
 



 January 30, 2015 (Revised) 10 | P a g e  
 

STATE LICENSING ACTIVITY OVERVIEW 
 
In general, the majority of state licensing activities involve the issuance and renewal of 
licenses to qualified health facilities and agencies; conducting initial, routine and revisit 
inspections to determine compliance with state and federal requirements; and 
investigating complaints against state licensed and federally certified providers. 
 
Onsite inspections are routinely conducted by Bureau surveyors (nurses, pharmacists, 
social workers, engineers, etc.) to determine if a health facility, agency or program is 
ready for state licensure prior to receiving and caring for patients or currently meeting 
state and federal requirements after licensure. These surveys are labor intensive that 
include, but limited to, intensive training of surveyors, pre-onsite preparations, travel, 
onsite survey time, report writing, revisits, and data input and record maintenance. 
Table 4 provides estimated time and costs for standard inspections of state licensed 
health facilities and agencies. 
 

Table 4 
State Licensure Inspection Estimated Costs by Provider Type 

 

License Facility Type No. of 
Inspectors* 

Average Days 
to Inspect 

Estimated 
Costs** 

Hospitals 1-3 1-3 $600 - $5,400 

Hospice Agencies/Residences 1-2 1 $600 - $1,200 

FSOFs 1-2 1 $600 - $1,200 

Nursing Homes/CMCF/HLTCU 4-6 3-4 $7,200 - $14,400 

Psychiatric Hospitals/Units 1-2 1-2 $600 - $2,400 

Substance Abuse Program 1 1 $600 
 
* Inspectors include nurses, social workers, dietitians, engineers, etc. 
** Costs include wages, fringes, travel, etc. 
 
Another labor intensive activity for the Bureau is the intake and investigation of 
complaints against state licensed and federally certified providers. In Fiscal Year 2014, 
the Bureau received 5,651 complaints containing 14,015 allegations and 2,327 facility 
incidents reports against state licensed or federally certified providers. Long-term care 
related complaints (nursing homes, county medical care facilities, hospital long-term 
care units) accounted for 83% of all complaint allegations received by the Bureau during 
this time period. Complaint investigations can take up to three health care surveyors 
one to three days to conduct an onsite investigation depending on the allegations and 
provider type. 
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BUDGET OVERVIEW 
 
The Bureau employs approximately 160 employees related to state licensing and 
federal certification activities (132 for long-term care and 28 for all other providers). 
These positions include managers, secretaries, analysts, health care surveyors, etc. 
 

Federal certification activities are primarily funded by CMS that includes a cost share 
mechanism. For example, there are generally 12 provider types that can be federally 
certified to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid programs. Five (5) of these 
provider types also require state licensure.  Therefore, CMS apportions shared costs to 
these common types (hospitals, hospices, surgery centers, long-term care facilities) and 
does not reimburse the state 100% of expenditures where state licensure and federal 
certification activities occur jointly.  
 
State licensing fees for health facilities, agencies and programs have not been revised 
since the early 1980s, when state licensing of hospice residences was added to the 
Public Health Code. Even with the addition of hospice residences to the fee schedule, 
all other fees remained the same. The licensing fees paid by hospitals ($8.28 per bed) 
and nursing homes ($2.20 per bed) have remained the same since the 1970s, while 
operational costs to license and inspect these providers have steadily increased. In 
addition, hospice agencies and substance abuse programs pay no licensing fee. 
 

Table 5 
Current and Proposed State Licensing Annual Estimated Fee Revenues 

(Table Revised – Current Hospital Revenue Corrected) 
 

Provider Type Current Fee 
Schedule 

Proposed Fee 
Schedule 

Total New 
Revenues 

Hospitals* $215,801 $345,130 $129,329 

Hospice Agencies None $63,000 $63,000 

Hospice Residences $8,680 $10,270 $1,590 

Freestanding Surgical Outpatient Facilities $31,416 $66,000 $34,584 

Long-Term Care Facilities $102,843 $458,735 $355,892 

Psychiatric Hospitals/Units* $26,467 $52,880 $26,413 

Psych Partial Hospitalization Programs* $18,067 Deregulate ($18,067) 

Clinical Laboratories** $0 Deregulate $0 

Substance Abuse Programs None $642,000 $642,000 

TOTAL $403,274 $1,638,015 $1,234,741 
 
* Current licensing fee is biennial (every two years). Estimate above is an annual average. 
** State licensing program deactivated in 1992/number of laboratories is estimated on CLIA data. 
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Table 6 and 7 show expenditures and revenue shortfall from Fiscal Year 2014 for state 
licensing and federal certification activities. 
 

Table 6 
FY14 Expenditures and Revenue Shortfall for State Licensing Activities 

(Table Revised – Non-LTC State Licensing Fees Corrected) 
 

Provider Type Licensing & 
Certification 
Expenditures 

State 
Licensing 
Fees** 

Shortfall 

Long-Term Care (LTC) $1,554,069 $102,843 $(1,451,226) 

Non-LTC $625,085 $300,431 $(324,654) 

TOTAL $2,179,154 $403,274 $(1,775,880) 
 
* Title 18 and 19 revenues, including Medicaid state match, are to support federal certification activities. 
** Hospital licensing fees are currently collected only on even years. An annual average for hospitals was 
included in the above table. 
Note: Table does not include expenditures or revenues related to federal CLIA certification or state 
construction permit activities. 
 

Table 7 
FY14 Expenditures by Category for State Licensing Activities 

 

Expenditure Categories Amount 

Salaries $980,624 

Fringe/Retirement Benefits $806,286 

Other Direct Costs $326,872 

Indirect $65,373 

TOTAL $2,179,154 
 
Note: Tables do not include expenditures related to federal certification or state construction permit 
activities. 

 

SUMMARY 
 
The recommendations in this report have the long-term goal to reduce the need for 
general funds dollars by creating an equitable cost-based state licensing fee schedule 
while restructuring the inspection schedule to reduce the regulatory burden on the 
provider and the state’s costs to operate the program. 


