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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
FOR MICHIGAN NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended

This form is for information only

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for every Nursing Home Administrator
licensed to practice in Michigan.

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every Nursing Home Administrator to complete, during the 2-year
period prior to the date of renewal of the license, at least 36 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board.
Pursuant to this requirement, the Board of Nursing Home Administration has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the Board’s
approval of continuing education courses and programs.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

The continuing education requirements apply to every Nursing Home Administrator renewing a Michigan license who held the license for the
2-year period immediately preceding the date of the license renewal. The requirements apply whether or not the Nursing Home
Administrator is actively engaged in the practice of Nursing Home Administration. No one is exempt from this requirement.

Each Nursing Home Administrator is required to complete 36 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board.

Every Nursing Home Administrator who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing
education. Those documents should be retained for a period of 4 years after the renewal of the license.

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS with the license renewal application. The Department of Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services, will conduct an audit at the conclusion of the renewal period. Nursing Home
Administrators, chosen for audit through an automated random selection process, will be contacted by letter to submit documented
evidence of the completion of 36 hours of continuing education credit.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 36 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS.

A Nursing Home Administrator who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested,
is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand,
probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.



Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates that indicate name of licensee, program dates and
number_of designated hours. Further_information about programs with accredited sponsorship _may be obtained by

contacting the accredited sponsor. “Contact hour” is the same as one 50-60 minute or (1) credit hour.

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within
60 days after the expiration date.

ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE EARNED 36 HOURS OF APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS DURING
THE 2-YEAR PERIOD PRIOR TO THE APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE.

ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION - The Michigan Board of Nursing Home Administrators accepts:

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BOARDS OF EXAMINERS OF LONG TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS (NAB)
Quialifying Subjects.

Courses that could apply should be in the following subjects:

(a) Behavioral science. (b) Economics/finance. (c) Geriatrics/gerontology. (d) Health Care.
(e) Management. () Marketing. (g) Pharmacology and toxicology. (h) Labor relations.
(i) Law. (j) Communications.

(k) Any other related subject’s contribution to the professional competency of a licensee. The responsibility for substantiation of such subjects rests
solely with the licensee.

TYPES OF CE APPROVAL THAT CAN BE REQUESTED.

(1) A continuing education sponsor seeking approval of a continuing education program shall apply on forms provided by the department.

(4) An individual applying for continuing education credit for a course the individual completed that was not approved by the department at the
time the course was taken shall apply on forms provided by the department.



CRITERIA FOR PROGRAM APPROVAL.

(1) The department shall approve a continuing education program if the program is in compliance with all of the following requirements:
(a) The subject matter is in a qualifying subject.
(b) Attendance is taken.
(c) The program is not less than 50 minutes in duration.

(d) The program is conducted by an instructor or discussion leader whose background, training, education, or experience makes it
appropriate for him or her to lead a discussion on the subject matter.

(e) The sponsor of the program maintains written records of individual attendance for a period of 3 years.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned and the date on
which the program was held.

(2) The department shall approve a continuing education self-study program if the program is in compliance with the following requirements:

(2) The subject matter is in a qualifying subject.
(b) The program is an educational course which is designed for self-study and which required evidence of satisfactory completion.

(c) The sponsor maintains written records of individual course completion, including a program outline and the qualifying hours earned by
participants, for a period of 3 years.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours earned and the date.

(4) The department shall approve a college or university course for continuing education credit if the subject matter is in a qualifying subject
and an application is filed on forms provided by the department.

An academic semester credit hour earned from an accredited college or university shall equal 15 continuing education hours.
An academic quarter credit hour earned from an accredited college or university shall equal 10 continuing education hours.

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the transcript showing credit hours of the academic courses related to Nursing
Home Administration.



SELF-STUDY PROGRAMS

(4) Credit for completion of a self-study program shall not be more than 50% of the required qualifying hours in any continuing education period.
Credit shall not be given for more than 1 completion of any self-study program.

RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Nursing Home Administration licenses expire every 2 years on October 31. Submission of the renewal application certifies that the requirements are
met. If the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted. If a licensee would like to apply for a
waiver of education requirements an application should be made after the licensee receives the renewal application in early August, but before the
license expires on October 31. Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses to expire. Application for relicensure may
be made upon completion of the 36-hour requirement within the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure.

Information, forms and instructions for obtaining board approval are obtained from the Continuing Education Section of the Department of
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services.

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Nursing Home Administrators to waive the continuing education requirements for
a license renewal applicant. If, upon written application, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required Board-approved
courses or programs was due to the licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance
beyond the control of the licensee which the Board considers good and sufficient. Pursuant to this authority, the board has promulgated
guidelines that set forth the policy the Board will follow in granting a waiver. The guidelines provide for the following:

DISABILITY: The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall attest on the application that
the disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of Nursing Home
Administration without limitation.

MILITARY SERVICE: The licensee shall have been practicing Nursing Home Administration while in active service of the United States,
been licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and have requested that his or her license be placed in military status to
continue in effect, without payment of the license renewal fee, pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code.

ABSENCE FROM THE CONTINENTAL UNITED STATES: The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were
not available within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at
educational programs that substantially meet the requirements for approval by the board.

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’'S CONTROL: For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence
from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a
waiver of the requirements.



If the board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be proportional
to the length of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, or involved in
circumstances beyond the licensee’s control. The board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived
for a licensee whose circumstances changed in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements before
license renewal.

To summarize:

* Al Michigan licensed Nursing Home Administrators must complete 36 hours of board approved continuing education within the 2 years
prior to the date of renewal of the license.

*  Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met.
*  Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code.
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age,

national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the
American’s with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency.



