
 

 

LARA-LNR-700 (01/13) 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

FOR MICHIGAN NURSES  
Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended 

This form is for information only 
 

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process for every 
nurse licensed to practice in Michigan. 

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every nurse to complete, during the  
2-year period prior to the renewal of the license, at least 25 hours of continuing education, with at least one 
hour in pain and symptom management, in courses or programs approved by the Board.  Pursuant to this 
requirement, the Board of Nursing has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the Board’s approval 
of continuing education courses and programs.   

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 

The continuing education requirements apply to every nurse renewing a Michigan license who held the license 
for the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of the license renewal.  The requirements apply whether 
or not the nurse is actively engaged in the practice of nursing.  No one is exempt from this requirement. 

Each nurse is required to complete not less than 25 hours of continuing education contact hours that are 
approved by the Board during the 2 years preceding an application for renewal or relicensure.  An applicant for 
license renewal shall complete at least one (1) continuing education contact hour in pain and pain symptom 
management in each renewal period.  Continuing education contact hours in pain and pain symptom 
management may include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, 
pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions.  Every 
nurse who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing 
education.  Those documents should be retained for a period of 4 years after the renewal of the license. 

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application.  
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services will conduct an audit, at 
the conclusion of the renewal period.  Nurses chosen for audit through an automated random selection process 
will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of 25 hours of continuing 
education contact hours with one (1) hour in pain & pain symptom management. 

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 25 HOURS OF 
CONTINUING EDUCATION CONTACT HOURS. 

A nurse who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when 
requested, is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following 
possible license sanctions:  reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine. 

If a licensee holds both an RN and LPN license and both licenses expire in the same year, continuing education 
contact hours earned may be applied to both licenses.  However if a licensee holds an RN and LPN license, and 
one expires in one year and the other expires in the following year, the contact hours may overlap as long as 
they are earned within 2 years of the expiration of the license being renewed. 

 



Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates that indicate name of 
licensee, program dates and number of designated hours.  Further information about programs 
with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by contacting the accredited sponsor.  “Contact 
hour” is the same as one 50-60 minute or (1) credit hour. 

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE 

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to 
renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date. 

Nurses applying for relicensure pursuant to R338.10601 – ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE 
EARNED 25 HOURS APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION CONTACT HOURS WITH AT LEAST ONE (1) 
CONTACT HOUR IN PAIN & PAIN SYMPTOM MANAGEMENT  DURING THE 2-YEAR PERIOD PRIOR TO 
THE APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE. 

R 338.10602   ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION 

Rule 2 (a) The following accrediting organizations are permitted by the Michigan Board of Nursing to approve nursing 
continuing education providers for Michigan.  The Board will consider any of the following organizations as providing 
acceptable continuing education for license renewal or relicensure without limitation. 

AMERICAN NURSES CREDENTIALING CENTER’S COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION 

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR PRACTICAL NURSE EDUCATION AND SERVICE 

NATIONAL LEAGUE FOR NURSING 

AMERICAN OSTEOPATHIC ASSOCIATION 

ACCREDITATION COUNCIL FOR CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION 

CERTIFICATION IN BASIC AND ADVANCED LIFE SUPPORT SET FORTH BY THE AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION 

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF NURSING MIDWIVES 

Rule 2(b) A licensee may earn 3 continuing education contact hours for each hour of presentation of continuing 
education that is not part of the licensee’s job with a MAXIMUM OF 6 HOURS for the two-year licensing period.  
The licensee may use the same program only once in each renewal period. The program must be accredited through 
providers listed in 2(a). 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the presentation notice or advertisement showing the 
date and his/her name listed as a presenter. 

Rule 2(c) – Academic Credit - Five (5) continuing education contact hours for each semester credit earned for 
academic courses related to nursing practice offered in an accredited education program approved by the board.  A 
licensee may earn all 25 continuing education contact hours through this process.  For example, a 4-credit class would 
be worth 20 CE credits. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the transcript showing credit hours of the academic 
courses related to nursing. 

Rule 2(d) – Academic Credit - Three (3) continuing education contact hours for each quarter credit earned for 
academic courses related to the nursing practice offered in an accredited education program approved by the board.  
A licensee may earn all 25 continuing education contact hours through this process.  For example, a 3- credit class 
would be worth 9 CE credits. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the transcript showing credit hours of the academic 
courses related to nursing. 



Rule 2(e) – Twenty-five hours of continuing education contact hours may be earned by specialty certification or  
re-certification. 

The specialty certifications or recertifications recognized by the board are:  

(i) Nurse Midwife  (ii) Nurse Anesthetist (iii) Nurse Practitioner          

If audited, the licensee must submit proof of the certification or recertification. 

Rule 2(f) One continuing education contact hour may be granted for each hour of program attendance, at a 
continuing education program that has been granted approval by another state board of nursing.  A licensee may earn 
all 25 continuing education contact hours through this process.    

If audited, the licensee must submit a certificate and proof that it is approved in that state. 

Rule 2(g) One contact hour for each hour in attendance at a program related to nursing practice offered by an 
educational program.  A licensee may earn all 25 contact hours at a continuing education program related to 
nursing practice offered by an accredited educational program approved by the board.  

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate showing his/her name, hours 
earned and the date on which the program was held. 

Rule 2(h) Ten continuing education contact hours may be earned for publication of an article or chapter related 
to the practice of nursing or allied health in a nursing or health care journal or textbook.  All 25 continuing 
education contact hours may be earned by publishing different articles. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a copy of the publication showing his/her name on the 
publication. 

Rule 2(i) A maximum of 4 continuing education contact hours may be earned by reading articles, viewing, or 
listening to media devoted to nursing practice. 

If audited, the licensee must submit a letter listing complete references for the articles read 
and/or the title and specific focus of the nursing practice media program viewed. 

Rule 2(j) A licensee may earn 10 continuing education contact hours for passing a specialty examination.  The 
10 hours may only be granted in the year in which an applicant is advised that he or she successfully completed 
a national nursing specialty examination. 

 If audited, the licensee must submit the letter advising him/her of the successful completion of 
the national nursing specialty examination. 

Rule 2(k) One continuing education contact hour for each hour of documented participation in a health care 
organization committee dealing with patient care related issues. A licensee may earn a maximum of 4 hours per 
licensing period through this process. 

If audited, the licensee must submit documentation of his/her participation in the health care 
organization committee. 

Rule 2(l) A maximum of 10 continuing education hours may be earned for participation in a workshop dealing 
with patient care issues offered by a health care organization or professional organization that falls outside the 
accepted methods of approval that have been adopted by the board. 

If audited, the licensee must submit documentation of his/her participation in the workshop 
offered by a health care organization or professional organization. 



Rule 2(m) One continuing education hour may be granted for each hour of reading a journal article developed 
for continuing nursing practice education and completing a test evaluating knowledge of content.  The licensee 
may earn all 25 continuing education contact hours through this method of continuing education. 

If audited, the licensee must submit documentation of completing and passing the test for proper 
credit for licensing renewal. 

Except for Rule 2(i), completion of the required continuing education activities must be independently verified 
by an official source other than the licensee. 

RENEWAL PROCEDURES 

Nursing licenses are renewed every 2 years by March 31.  Submission of the renewal application form certifies that the 
requirements are met.  Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period after completion of continuing 
education requirements, with the renewal fee and the additional $20.00 late fee.  If the renewal requirements have 
not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted.  If a waiver is necessary, an application should 
be made after the licensee receives the renewal application in early January, but before the license expires on March 
31.  Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses to expire.  Application for relicensure 
may be made upon completion of the 25-hour requirement within the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of 
the application for relicensure. 

Information, forms and instructions for obtaining board approval can be obtained from the Continuing Education 
Section of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services. 



CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS 

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Nursing to waive the continuing education 
requirements for a license renewal applicant if, upon written application, the board finds the failure of the 
licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs was due to the licensee’s disability, 
military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the 
licensee which the board considers good and sufficient.  Pursuant to this authority, the board has promulgated 
guidelines that set forth the policy the board will follow in granting a waiver.  The guidelines provide for the 
following: 

DISABILITY:  The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall 
attest on the application that the disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs 
and engaging in the practice of nursing without limitation. 

MILITARY SERVICE:  The licensee shall have been practicing nursing while in active service of the United 
States, shall have been licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that 
his or her license be placed in military status to continue in effect without payment of the license renewal fee 
pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code. 

ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES:  The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational 
programs were not available within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee 
shall provide evidence of attendance at educational programs that substantially meet the requirements for 
approval by the board. 

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’S CONTROL:  For circumstances, other than disability, 
military service, or absence from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence 
that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a waiver of the requirements. 

If the board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours 
waived shall be proportional to the length of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military 
service, outside the continental United States, or involved in circumstances beyond the licensee’s control.  The 
board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived for a licensee whose 
circumstances changed in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements 
before license renewal. 

To summarize: 

* All Michigan licensed nurses must complete 25 hours of board approved continuing education, with at least one 
hour in pain and pain symptom management, within the 2 years immediately preceding the expiration date of 
their license. 

* Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been 
met. 

* Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code. 

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group 
because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs.  If you 
need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American’s with Disabilities Act, you may make 
your needs known to this agency. 

 


