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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

FOR MICHIGAN OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIANS 
Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended 

This form is for information only 

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process to physicians licensed to practice osteopathic medicine in 
Michigan. 

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every osteopathic physician to complete, during the 3-year period prior to the 
date of renewal of the license, not less than 150 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board.  Pursuant to this 
requirement, the Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the board’s approval of continuing 
medical education courses and programs.   

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 

The continuing education requirements apply to every physician renewing a Michigan Osteopathic license who held the license for the 3-year period 
immediately preceding the date the license expires.  The requirements apply whether or not the physician is actively engaged in the practice of 
osteopathic.  No one, including medical school faculty and resident physicians, is exempt from this requirement. 

Each osteopathic physician is required to complete 150 hours of continuing medical education in courses or programs approved by the board of which not 
less 60 hours of the required 150 hours must be earned in osteopathic related courses or programs designated as either Category 1 (accredited) or 
Category 3 (residency) programs. 

Every osteopathic physician who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education.  Those documents 
should be retained for a period of 4 years from the date of application. 

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application.  The Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services will conduct an audit, at the conclusion of the renewal period.  Physicians chosen for an audit through 
an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of 150 hours of continuing 
education credit. 

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 150 HOURS OF CONTINUING OSTEOPATHIC MEDICAL 
EDUCATION CREDITS. 



An osteopathic physician who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the 
Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions:  reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, 
limitation, restitution, and fine. 

 

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE 

“Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after 
the expiration date. 

ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE EARNED 150 HOURS APPROVED CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION CREDITS DURING THE  
3-YEAR PERIOD PRIOR TO THE APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE. 

CATEGORIES OF CONTINUING OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE EDUCATION 

The Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery has established 3 categories of approved continuing medical education.  The following is a brief 
description of each category, the number of allowable hours that may be earned in each category during the 3-year period preceding license renewal, and 
examples of acceptable documentation: 

A minimum of 60 credit hours of the total 150 credit hours shall be earned in either Category 1 or Category 3. 

Category 1 – Maximum: 150 hours 

Formal osteopathic educational programs with accredited sponsorship – programs designated as Category 1 with the American Osteopathic Association – 
Certificate of Attendance. 

Scientific papers and publications – Maximum: 90 hours at 10 hours per publication.  Development and presentation of scientific papers and electronic 
communication programs intended for physician education – Copy of the document presented or published with evidence of presentation or 
publication; i.e., meeting and agenda or publication acceptance letter. 

Osteopathic medical teaching – Maximum:  90 hours.  Participation as a teacher, lecturer, preceptor, or moderator-participant in a medical education 
program approved by the board.  Teaching includes classes in colleges of osteopathic medicine and lecturing to hospital interns, residents and staff – 
Letter from program director indicating role and estimated hours of participation.  

Formal inspection of an osteopathic medical educational program – Maximum:  90 hours at 5 hours per inspection.  Participation in inspection programs 
of osteopathic hospitals and conducting clinical examinations of osteopathic specialty certification boards – Letter from agency verifying hours of 
participation and location of inspection or examinations. 



Peer review activities in osteopathic medical institution – Maximum:  90 hours.  Participation in hospital committees and departmental conferences 
concerned with the review and evaluation of patient care in osteopathic medical hospitals and colleges or participation on professional standards review 
organizations – Letter from hospital or educational institution official. 

Category 2 – Maximum:  90 hours 

Formal non-osteopathic educational programs with accredited sponsorship by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education or of its 
constituent state medical societies or a program that has Michigan Board of Osteopathic Medicine approval. 

Peer review activities in all allopathic medical institutions – Maximum:  90 hours.  Participation in hospital committees and departmental conferences 
concerned with the review and evaluation of patient care in allopathic medical hospitals and colleges and includes serving on professional standards 
review organizations (PSRO) – Letter from hospital or educational institution official. 

Home study – Maximum:  90 hours.  Consists of reading journals published by osteopathic organizations or other scientific journals listed in “Index 
Medicus” or completion of mediated physician education programs in audiocassette, videocassette or computer-assisted format – Licensee’s signed 
statement describing materials read or certificate of programs completed. 

Scientific exhibits – Maximum: 90 hours at 10 hours per exhibit.  Preparation and personal presentation of an exhibit related to the practice of 
osteopathic medicine at a county, regional, state or national professional meeting – Copy of the document presented with evidence of 
presentation or publication; i.e., meeting and agenda. 

Formal nonosteopathic programs – Maximum:  90 hours.  Consists of formal educational programs approved by the board which do not include 
osteopathic principles and practice; the subject matter shall relate to the practice of osteopathic medicine and surgery – Certificate of Attendance. 

Category 3 – Postgraduate clinical training programs - Maximum:  150 hours.  50 hours per year allowed for full time participation for not less than  
5 months per year in a postgraduate clinical training program approved by the board in Rule 339.106(2) – Letter from program director. 

Except for the nonsupervised educational activities designated in Category 2, completion of the required continuing education activities must be independently 
verified by an official source other than the licensee. 

Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates, which indicate program dates, and number of continuing education credits and category of 
programs.  Further information about programs with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by contacting either the American Osteopathic Association or the 
Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education at the address below: 

American Osteopathic Association   142 E. Ontario, Chicago, Illinois 60622, (800) 621-1773, (312) 202-8000  

Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education   515 N. State Street, Suite 2150, Chicago, Illinois 60010, (312) 464-2500, Fax:  (312) 464-2586, 
www.accme.org 

For activities requiring board approval, the licensee is responsible for obtaining the information necessary for the board to determine whether approval can be 
granted prior to license renewal. 

http://www.accme.org/


RENEWAL PROCEDURES 

Osteopathic medical licenses are renewed every 3 years by December 31.  Submission of the renewal application form certifies that the requirements are met.  If 
the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted. Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period after 
completion of continuing education requirements, with the renewal fee and the additional $20.00 late fee.  If a waiver is necessary, an application should be made after the 
licensee receives the renewal application in early October, but before the license expires on December 31.  Licensees who have not been granted waivers should 
allow their licenses to expire.  An Application for Relicensure may be made upon completion of the 150-hour requirement within the 3-year period immediately 
preceding the date of the application for Relicensure. 

Information, forms and instructions for obtaining board approval can be obtained from the Continuing Education Section of the Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services. 

CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION WAIVERS 

The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Osteopathic Medicine to waive the continuing medical education requirements for a license renewal 
applicant if, upon written application, the board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs were due to the 
licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers 
sufficient.  Pursuant to this authority, the board has promulgated guidelines that set forth the policy the board will follow in granting a waiver.  The guidelines 
provide for the following: 

DISABILITY:  The licensee’s disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee’s physician shall attest on the application that the disability 
no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of osteopathic medicine without limitation. 

MILITARY SERVICE:  The licensee shall have been practicing osteopathic medicine while in active service of the United States, shall have been licensed 
at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his or her license be placed in military status to continue in effect without 
payment of the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code. 

ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES:  The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were not available within a reasonable 
distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at educational programs that substantially meet the 
requirements for approval by the board. 

OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE’S CONTROL:  For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence from the 
continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a waiver of the requirements. 

If the board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be proportional to the length 
of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, or involved in circumstances beyond the 
licensee’s control.  The board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived for a licensee whose circumstances 
change in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements before license renewal. 

 



To summarize: 

* All Michigan licensed Osteopathic Physicians must complete 150 hours of board approved CE within the 3 years prior to the date of renewal of the 
license.  Of the 150 hours, at least 60 hours must be in osteopathic activities in Category 1 or 3. 

* Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met. 

* Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code. 

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, 
color, marital status, disability or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American’s with Disabilities Act, you 
may make your needs know to this agency. 


