CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN PROFESSIONAL SURVEYORS

Authority: Public Act 299 of 1980, as amended

This notice is for information only

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process to professional surveyors licensed to practice surveying in Michigan.

The Michigan Occupational Code and administrative rules requires every professional surveyor to complete the required number of continuing education hours during the 2-year renewal period. A licensee who holds a license for more than 12 months, but less than 24 months from the date of initial licensure shall obtain 15 hours of continuing education for the first renewal period. A licensee who holds a license for 24 months or more from the date of initial licensure shall obtain 30 hours of continuing education for the renewal period. Continuing education hours shall be relevant to the occupation.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

The continuing education requirements apply to every professional surveyor renewing a license who has been licensed during the 2-year renewal period. The requirements apply whether or not the professional surveyor is actively engaged in the practice of surveying. No one is exempt from this requirement.

Each professional surveyor is required to accumulate 30 hours of continuing education in activities relevant to the profession, during the 2-year renewal period.

Every professional surveyor who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education. Those documents must be retained for 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal.

DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS to the Bureau when renewing your license. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing will conduct an audit at the conclusion of the renewal period. Professional surveyors chosen for an audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of the continuing education requirement.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.

A professional surveyor who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the Michigan Occupational Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE

"Relicensure" means the granting of a license to an individual whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date.

ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE COMPLETED 15 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES DURING THE 12-MONTHS IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE,

ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION

The Board of Professional Surveyors has established acceptable ways in which continuing education hours may be earned. Continuing education hours shall be relevant to the occupation. The following is a brief description of the different activities in which continuing education can be earned:

- A. Successfully completing a college course
- B. Successfully completing a continuing education course
- C. Successfully completing a distance learning course
- D. Presenting or attending a seminar, in-house course, workshop, or professional or technical presentation made at a meeting, convention, or conference
- E. Teaching, instructing, or presenting an acceptable course or activity listed in sections A D above
- F. Publishing a peer-reviewed paper, article, or book in the licensee's area of professional practice
- G. Serving as a member of the state board of professional surveyors or attending a state board of professional surveyors meeting
- H. Participating in a company sponsored seminar or training that is designed to enhance professional development in the licensee's area of professional practice
- I. Serving as a mentor to an surveying student in a school-sponsored program
- J. Obtaining patents related to surveying

RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Professional surveyor licenses are renewed every 2 years by October 31. Submission of the online renewal application certifies that the requirements are met. If the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal should not be submitted. An application for relicensure may be made upon completion of the 15-hour CE requirement during the 12-months immediately preceding the application for relicensure.

Continuing Education Waivers The Michigan Occupational Code authorizes the Board of Professional Surveyors to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal applicant if, upon written request, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to complete the required number of continuing education hours was due to the licensee's disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers good and sufficient.

A written request for a waiver must be submitted by mail to Bureau of Professional Licensing, Attn: Board of Professional Surveyors, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, MI or by email to BPLHelp@michigan.gov and shall include supporting documentation for the reason for the waiver. A waiver cannot be requested after the renewal has been submitted or a licensee has been selected for a CE audit. The Board cannot prospectively waive continuing education requirements.

To summarize:

- * All Michigan licensed Professional Surveyors who have held a license for more than 12 months, but less than 24 months from the date of initial licensure must obtain 15 hours of continuing education for the first renewal period.
- * All Michigan licensed Professional Surveyors who have held a license for 24 months or more from the date of initial licensure shall obtain 30 hours of continuing education for the renewal period.
- * Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met.
- * Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Occupational Code.

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American's with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency.

BPL/CE ReqPS (August2017)