# CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN PODIATRISTS

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended

This form is for information only

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process to physicians licensed to practice Podiatry in Michigan.

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every Podiatrist to complete, during the 3-year period prior to the date of renewal of the license, at least 150 hours of continuing education in courses or programs approved by the Board. Pursuant to this requirement, the Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the board's approval of continuing medical education courses and programs.

## **REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL**

The continuing education requirements apply to every physician renewing a Michigan Podiatrist license who held the license for the 3-year period immediately preceding the date the license expires. The requirements apply whether or not the physician is actively engaged in the practice of podiatry. No one, including medical school faculty and resident physicians, is exempt from this requirement.

Each Podiatrist is required to complete 150 hours of continuing medical education in courses or programs approved by the Board of which not less 75 hours of the required 150 hours must be earned in courses or programs designated as either Category 1 (accredited) or Category 6 (residency) education.

Every podiatrist who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education. Those documents should be retained for a period of 4 years after each renewal.

**DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS** along with the license renewal application. The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services will conduct an audit, at the conclusion of the renewal period. Physicians chosen for an audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of 150 hours of continuing education credit.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 150 HOURS OF CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION CREDITS.

A Podiatrist who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.

## **REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE**

"Relicensure" means the granting of a license to a person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date.

ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE EARNED 150 HOURS APPROVED CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION CREDITS DURING THE 3-YEAR PERIOD PRIOR TO THE APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE.

## **CATEGORIES OF CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION**

The Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery has established six categories of approved continuing medical education. The following is a brief description of each category, the number of allowable hours that may be earned in each category during the 3-year period preceding license renewal, and examples of acceptable documentation:

**Category 1 – Maximum: 150 hours** Continuing medical activities with accredited sponsorship – programs designated as Category 1 programs by a sponsor accredited by the Accreditation Council on Podiatry Education – **Certificate of Attendance** 

**Category 2 – Maximum: 60 hours** Continuing medical activities with nonaccredited sponsorship – the program must be submitted to the Board for approval – **Certificate of Attendance**.

Category 3 – Maximum: 48 hours Teaching medical physicians or teaching the allied health services – the hospital or institution must approve the teaching in an accredited residency program and the Board must approve all other hospital or institutional instructional programs – Letter from program director.

Teaching students of an accredited podiatry college under a rotating externship or clerkship program recognized and approved by the college. - **Letter from program director.** 

Category 4 – Maximum: 45 hours may be earned under category 4.

A maximum of 30 credit hours may be earned for preparation and initial presentation of a scientific exhibit at a professional meeting. **Must be submitted to the Board for approval before license renewal.** 

A maximum of 30 credit hours may be earned for preparation and initial presentation of a formal original scientific paper at a professional meeting. **Must be submitted to the Board for approval before license renewal.** 

A maximum of 30 credit hours may be earned for preparation and initial publication of an original scientific article or a chapter in a book, in a journal, or in a publication listed in the publication entitled "Index Medicus." – Copy of the document presented or published with evidence of presentation or publication; i.e., meeting and agenda or publication acceptance letter.

## Category 5 – Maximum: 45 hours may be under category 5.

A maximum of 30 credit hours may be earned for completion of a media program. **Must be submitted to the Board for approval before license renewal.** 

A maximum of 30 credit hours may be earned for the independent reading of scientific journals approved by the board. **Licensee's signed statement describing materials read** 

A maximum of 30 credit hours may be earned for preparation for specialty board certification or recertification examination. **Must be submitted to the Board for approval before license renewal.** 

A maximum of 10 credit hours may be earned for participation on a staff committee for quality care or utilization review in a hospital or institution. **Must be submitted to the board for approval before license renewal.** 

**Category 6 – Maximum: 150 hours.** Full-time participation in a graduate training program – A maximum of 50 hours per year may be earned for satisfactorily participating in an accredited postgraduate training program with a minimum of 5 months participation per year required – **Letter from program director**.

Except the nonsupervised educational activities designated in Category 5, completion of the required continuing medical education activities must be independently verified by an official source than the licensee.

Accredited sponsors are required to provide attendance certificates which indicate program dates and number of designated Category 1 hours. Further information about programs with accredited sponsorship may be obtained by contacting the Council on Podiatric Medical Education at the following address: **Council on Podiatric Medical Education**, 9312 Old Georgetown Rd, Bethesda MD 20814-1698, 310-571-9200 <a href="https://www.cpme.org">www.cpme.org</a>

For activities requiring board approval, the licensee is responsible for obtaining the information necessary for the Board to determine whether approval can be granted before license renewal.

#### RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Podiatrist licenses are renewed every 3 years by the last day of February. Submission of the renewal application form certifies that the requirements are met. If the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted. Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period after completion of continuing education requirements, with the renewal fee and the additional \$20.00 late fee. If a waiver is necessary, an application should be made after the licensee receives the renewal application in early January, but before the license expires March 1. Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses to expire. Application for Relicensure may be made upon completion of the 150-hour requirement within the 3-year period immediately preceding the date of the application for Relicensure.

Information, forms and instructions for obtaining board approval can be obtained from the Continuing Education Section of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services.

**Continuing Medical Education Waivers** The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery to waive the continuing medical education requirements for a license renewal applicant if, upon written application, the board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs were due to the licensee's disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers sufficient. Pursuant to this authority, the Board has promulgated guidelines, which set forth the policy the board will follow in granting a waiver. The guidelines provide for the following:

**DISABILITY:** The licensee's disability shall have been temporary in nature and the licensee's physician shall attest on the application that the <u>disability no longer prevents the licensee from attending educational programs and engaging in the practice of podiatry without limitation.</u>

**MILITARY SERVICE:** The licensee shall have been practicing podiatry while in active service of the United States, shall have been licensed at the time of induction or entering into service, and shall have requested that his or her license be placed in military status to continue in effect without payment of the license renewal fee pursuant to Section 16196 of the Public Health Code.

**ABSENCE FROM THE UNITED STATES:** The licensee shall establish that board-approved educational programs were not available within a reasonable distance from which the licensee was located and the licensee shall provide evidence of attendance at educational programs, which substantially meet the requirements for approval by the Board.

**OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND LICENSEE'S CONTROL:** For circumstances, other than disability, military service, or absence from the continental United States, the licensee shall submit compelling evidence that the circumstances were good and sufficient for a waiver of the requirements.

If the Board finds that any of the conditions for waiving the requirements have been met, the number of hours waived shall be proportional to the length of time the licensee was temporarily disabled, in active military service, outside the continental United States, or involved in circumstances beyond the licensee's control. The Board will not waive the requirements prospectively, nor will the requirements be waived for a licensee whose circumstances change in time to reasonably allow the licensee to complete all or part of the requirements before license renewal.

## To summarize:

- \* All Michigan licensed Podiatrists must complete 150 hours of board approved CE within the 3 years immediately prior to the date of renewal of the license. Of the 150 hours, at least 75 hours must be in Category 1 or Category 6.
- \* Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met.
- \* Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code.

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American's with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency.