Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Community and Health Systems
Health Facility Licensing, Permits and Support Division
Nurse Aide Training Program
P.O. Box 30664
Lansing, Michigan 48909

Phone: (517) 896-0511 Fax: (517) 241-3354

NURSE AIDE TRAINING PROGRAM APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1987, as amended

ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS:

An applicant for a Nurse Aide training program can be a licensed *nursing* or *health care facility* (i.e., hospital long-term care unit, county medical care facility, nursing home, hospital, home health agency). Long-term care facilities must be in compliance with specified State and Federal licensing and certification requirements at the time of application (as determined by the Department). Non-nursing facilities that are public, private, or proprietary must be in compliance with Department of Education standards

APPLICATION PROCESS:

- 1. Complete the Nurse Aide Training Program application with all signatures attesting that the nurse aide training program is following the State of Michigan Nurse Aide Training Program Curriculum Model.
- 2. Upon receipt of the application, a letter of acknowledgement will be sent within 30 days.
- 3. <u>Prior to starting the program</u>, an onsite announced in-depth review will take place within 60 days of the acknowledgement letter. At this time all materials must be readily available for review in order to demonstrate that the program is following the State of Michigan Nurse Aide Training Program Curriculum Model.

APPLICATION SUBMISSION:

- 1. Completed Application form. Please note that this application form can be used for initial, renewal, and changes to the program. Please check the appropriate box on the application.
- 2. Copies of the formal collaborative relationship contracts with other agencies, health care facilities, or educational institutions, if applicable.

APPLICATION REVIEW:

Once reviewed, the program will receive either:

- 1. A letter requesting additional information OR
- 2. A conditional approval notification. This does not allow the program to start teaching students.
- 3. Once a program has submitted all required documents and an on-site review has been conducted to the satisfaction of the Bureau, a program will be approved. A letter will be sent to the program notifying them as well as a Nurse Aide Training Program number will be assigned.

BCHS-HFLPSD-NAP App-Rev. 06/02/2017

CHANGES TO THE TRAINING PROGRAM

Substantive changes to the training program must be reported on a new application form. These changes consist of the following:

- 1. Location change (requires an on-site review)
- 2. Program Coordinator
- 3. Primary Instructor
- 4. Program schedule
- 5. Clinical site change (must provide new contract)

PROGRAM CURRICULUM:

The program curriculum is a course of study necessary to achieve learner objectives. This includes: program goals/objectives; behavioral/learner objectives for lecture, laboratory, and clinical skills training; teaching methods; evaluation measurements; student policies; program schedule; and instructor schedule.

The nurse aide training program must follow the State of Michigan Nurse Aide Training Curriculum Model of 2006, the model provides examples of program objectives and behavioral/learner objectives for lecture, laboratory and clinical skills training.

APPROVAL OF CLINICAL PRACTICE SITES:

Requirements for approval will include the following (not all inclusive):

- 1. Sufficient space conducive to training with noise and interruptions kept to a minimum, maintained at a comfortable temperature, and in a clean and safe environment with adequate light.
- 2. Equipment and supplies are available for use by the student.
- 3. Enrolled and in good standing as a provider in the Medicare and/or Medicaid program(s) with no termination action in process while participating as a clinical practice site.
- 4. Sufficient staff on duty as specified by State and Federal requirements to provide adequate and appropriate care to residents while participating as a clinical practice site.
- 5. Clinical training supervision is provided in accordance with the occupational Regulation Sections of the Michigan Public Health Code (Articles 1 and 14 of Act 368 of 1978); Part 172, Nursing 333.17201, Sections 17201(1)(a), (b) and (c).

RENEWAL PROCESS:

- 1. Approval to Conduct Nurse Aide Training Program are good for two years.
- 2. To renew the Approval to Conduct the facility must complete and submit a new application.
- 3. A confirmation letter will be issued upon receipt of the renewal application.

APPEALS:

Appeals are to be directed to the Manager, LARA, Bureau of Community and Health Systems, Health Facility Professional and Nurse Aide Section, P.O. Box 30664, Lansing, Michigan 48909.

BCHS-HFLPSD-NAP App-Rev. 06/02/2017