
 

  
 

 
 

FAQ 
 
 

Bureau of Professional Licensing 
Nursing FAQs 

 
1. What licenses are available?  

 
 Registered Nurse and Licensed Practical Nurse  
 Specialty 

Clinical Nurse Specialist 
Nurse Midwife 
Nurse Practitioner  
Anesthetist 
 
 

2.  Is there a Nursing Practice Act in Michigan?  
 

 Michigan has an act that regulates the practice of nursing, along with 25 other health 
occupations. Michigan does not have a stand-alone act called the Nurse Practice Act 
because in Michigan, we have a consolidated practice act that covers 25 health 
occupations and is formally titled the Occupational Regulation Sections of the Michigan 
Public Health Code, PA 368 of 1978.  

 Helpful Links:  
• Article 15, Part 172 of the Public Health Code  
• Article 7 for Advanced Practice Nurses  
• Administrative Rules for the Board of Nursing  

 
3. How do I verify my Michigan RN or LPN license to another state?  

 
 Effective October 3, 2011, Michigan's nursing licensure program utilizes the NURSYS® 

electronic license verification system.  Michigan licensed RNs and LPNs who are 
applying for licensure in another state, should contact Nursys at: www.nursys.com, to 
have their Michigan license verified.   

 A fee will be charged for that verification.  If you have questions about Nursys, please 
contact them toll free at: (866) 819-1700.  

 
 If you hold a Michigan RN license and a specialty license (Certified Nurse Specialist, 

Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Midwife, or Nurse Practitioner), you must obtain your 
verification from the Michigan Board of Nursing.  You may submit your request in 
writing to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional 
Licensing, Health Professions Licensing Division, Verifications, PO Box 30670, 
Lansing, MI 48909, along with the required $15.00 fee (check or money order payable 
to State of Michigan) for certification processing.  Include your name as it appears on 
your license, your license number and the complete name and address of the state 
board to which the certification should be sent.  Normal processing time is 20-30 
business days.  
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4. How long are RN and LPN licenses valid?  Can I renew my license early?  How will 
I know when I need to renew?  
 

 Your initial RN/LPN license is only good until the next expiration date of your 
profession (anywhere from 4 months to 1 year).  After your first renewal, your license 
will be valid for 2 years.   

 
 Licensees will be mailed a renewal notification postcard to their address on record 

approximately 45 – 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license.  Remember to 
notify the Department in writing of any address change.  It’s a licensee’s responsibility 
to renew his or her license on time.  Failure to receive the renewal postcard 
notification, or to notify to Department of an address change, does not exempt a 
licensee form renewing their license on time. 

 
 You can renew online at www.michigan.gov/elicense using a debit or credit card 

containing a Discover, MasterCard, or Visa logo or by electronic check.  
 

5.  Is there a grace period for my renewal?  
 

 Yes, there is a 60-day grace period in which you may still turn in your money without 
having to go through our relicensure process. However, if you go past the 60-day grace 
period, there is an additional $20.00 late fee.  

 
6.  How many continuing education hours are required?  

 
 Michigan nurses are required to earn 25 hours of continuing education within the 2-

year period preceding the date of renewal.  At least 2 of these hours must be in pain 
and symptom management.  

 
 ** PLEASE NOTE: Nurses who hold specialty licenses may have additional 
 requirements. Please refer to the Administrative Rules for Health Professionals 
 for more detailed information. 
 
7.   Do I need to submit proof of my continuing education?  

  
 The Board does not maintain a record of continuing education earned.  You are 

required to maintain your own records and keep documentation on hand for a minimum 
of 4 years.  You are not required to submit continuing education information with your 
renewal notice.  The Board conducts a random audit after each renewal period.  At that 
time, a percentage of all licensees renewing will be randomly selected and notified by 
mail that they must submit evidence of having earned the required education.  If you 
are selected for the audit, then you will be required to submit copies (keep the 
originals) of the CE certificates you earned.  

 
 

 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/elicense
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8. How many continuing education hours are required for nursing specialties?  
 
Nurse Anesthetist Recertification  

2 years 
 

Nurse Midwife 20 hours in specialty field 
or recertification. 
 

 
2 years 

Nurse Practitioner If certified before 1991, 40 
hours in specialty field or 
recertification. If certified 
after 1991, maintained 
certification or recertified. 
 

 
2 years 

Clinical Nurse Specialist 
 
 

Recertification 2 years 

 
9.  Where can I find approved CE courses?  

 
 The Michigan Board of Nursing does not approve or present continuing education 

courses. We do, however, recognize approval granted by the following accrediting 
organizations:  

• AMERICAN NURSES CREDENTIALING CENTER'S COMMISSION ON 
ACCREDITATION (ANCC)  

• NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR PRACTICAL NURSE EDUCATION AND 
SERVICE (NAPNES)  

• NATIONAL LEAGUE FOR NURSING (NLN)  
• AMERICAN OSTEOPATHIC ASSOCIATION (AOA)  
• ACCREDITATION COUNCIL FOR CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION 

(ACCME)  
• CERTIFICATION IN BASIC & ADVANCED LIFE SUPPORT SET FORTH BY 

THE AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION  
• AMERICAN COLLEGE OF NURSING MIDWIVES  

 
Please contact the Michigan Nurses Association for more detailed assistance at:  

 
• LPN's: (517) 882-6657 
• RN's: (517) 349-5640 

 
 You can also log on at: www.nursingworld.org.  This website lists all organizations 

accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on 
Accreditation.  
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10.   What is the difference between a CEU and a contact hour?  

 
 A contact hour consists of 50-60 minutes.  A continued education credit and a contact 

hour are the same.  
 
 A Continuing Education Unit (CEU) consists of ten (10) contact hours/credits.  
 You are required to earn 25 continuing education credits/contact hours or 2.5 CEUs 

within each 2- year cycle of licensure. 
 

11. When do I have to meet the requirements for the completion of training in 
identifying victims of human trafficking?  
 
Rule 338.604 requires licensees to complete one time training in identifying victims of 
human trafficking beginning with the 2017 renewal cycle. This training requirement will 
need to be completed prior to the license renewal in 2019.  
 
Applicants who apply for a license on or after January 6, 2022 will be required to have 
completed the required training in identifying the victims of human trafficking. 

 
12. How can I meet the requirements for the completion of training in identifying 

victims of human trafficking?  
 
The one-time human trafficking training may be done through: a teleconference or a 
webinar, online presentation, live presentation, or printed or electronic media.  
 
The training must cover all of the following: understanding the types and venues of 
human trafficking in MI or the US; identifying victims of human trafficking in health care 
settings; identifying the warnings signs of human trafficking in health care settings for 
adults and minors; and the resources for reporting suspected victims of human 
trafficking.  
 
The training may be offered through a nationally recognized or state recognized, health 
related organization, by or in conjunction with a state or federal agency, an approved 
training program, college or university, or by reading a relevant article in a peer review 
journal, health care journal or scientific journal. If audited, licensees are to have an 
appropriate certificate or self-certify. 

 
13. Does my training on identifying victims of human trafficking count towards my CE 

hours?  
 
No. However, if the training also satisfies a Board’s requirements for CE/CPD/PDR, the 
training may be applied toward the CE/CPD/PDR requirement. 
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14.   If I request the Educational Testing Service (ETS) to submit my TOEFL scores 
directly to the Board, which institutional code(s) should I use?  
 

 Institutional Codes:  
• Board of Audiology: 7430  
• Board of Nursing: 9228  
• Board of Occupational Therapy: 1000  
• Board of Pharmacy: 1789  
• Board of Physical Therapy: 9715  

 
15.   How do I contact CGFNS?  

 
 The Commission of Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) may be contacted 

by mail or telephone at:  
 
          CGFNS  
    3600 Market Street, Suite 400  
    Philadelphia, PA 19104-2651  
            (215) 222-8454  
 
 You may have more success reaching CGFNS if you call early in the day.  You may 

also contact them at: www.cgfns.org.  There is a "Contact Us" form on the website that 
is used to send emails to CGFNS.  This form can be accessed through the "Contact Us 
Wizard" at: https://www.cgfns.org/cerpassweb/processContactUs.do. 

 
16.   If I am a Canadian nurse, do I need to obtain a CGFNS certification?  

 
If you hold an active Canadian license, your education program was taught in English, 
and your Nursing license has not been sanctioned you are not required to obtain 
CGFNS certification.  However, you must take and pass the NCLEX exam to receive a 
full Michigan license.  
 
If you do not meet any of the above mentioned conditions you will be required to 
submit a CGFNS certification. 

 
 You may apply for a temporary license until you have taken the NCLEX.  A temporary 

license is good for one year, which allows enough time to take the NCLEX and have 
your results submitted to this office as part of your application. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.cgfns.org/cerpassweb/processContactUs.do
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17.   When can I take the NCLEX exam?  
 
 You must register to test for testing with Pearson Professional Testing and pay your 

examination fees for the NCLEX. However, please be aware that eligibility to take the 
test is determined by us. Pearson will notify us WHEN you have applied to take the 
test. WE will notify them when your application is complete and that you are eligible to 
sit for the test. 

  
 You will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) from Pearson Vue that allows you to 

make your appointment to sit for the exam.  You will also receive a list of available 
testing sites.  The test is administered on a daily basis at various Pearson Professional 
Centers sites in each state.  You may take the test at any site listed in any state, 
regardless of where you have applied to be licensed.  

 
18.   How do I apply for NCLEX?  

 
   You can apply via the web, mail, or telephone:  
 

• Website: www.vue.com/nclex  
• Mail: Use registration form from NCLEX Examination Candidate Bulletin  
• Telephone: (866) 496-2537 (toll free) Monday-Friday 7am through 7pm Central 

Standard Time or (952) 681-3815 (pay number)  
 

19.   How many times can I take the NCLEX?  
 

 You must complete the NCLEX within 12 months of your first attempt at the test. If you 
fail the test, you will have to wait for 45 days before you can retake the test.  Once you 
pay and re-register with Pearson, you will be sent an ATT with a 90-day window, which 
will not begin until the 45th day has passed from your previous testing date.  You will 
typically be able to test up to 3 times per year.  If you fail the test 1 time, you will have 
to complete an educational program that is acceptable to the board, before you are 
approved to take the test up to 3 more times.  You are allowed a total of 6 attempts to 
successfully pass the test, this includes any attempts taken elsewhere. 

  
20.   When will I receive my test results?  

 
 Your test scores are usually transmitted to our office within 3 to 5 business days after 

you have taken the exam.  You will not receive your results from our office if you pass 
the exam.  However, once you pass the exam, if your application is in order, you will 
receive your license.  If you fail the NCLEX exam, you will receive your results from our 
office.  You may also call (900) 776-2539, or visit: www.vue.com/nclex, and pay $7.95 to 
receive your unofficial results. 

 
 
 
 

 

http://www.vue.com/nclex
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21. What is the passing score on the NCLEX?  
 

 There is no fixed percentage.  Scores are reported on a pass/fail basis.  The score is 
determined by comparing the individual's performance to an established standard for 
safe and effective entry-level nursing practice.  Visit the National Council of State Boards 
of Nursing's website at: www.ncsbn.org for more information. 

 
22. What is an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)? 

 
Pursuant to MCL 333.17201(a) “advanced practice registered nurse” means a 
registered nurse who has been granted a specialty certification under MCL 333.17210 
in 1 of the following health profession specialty fields: nurse midwifery, nurse 
practitioner, or clinical nurse specialist. 

 
23. What are the prescribing rights for an APRN? 
 

Profession General Prescribing Authority Controlled Substance 
APRN’s 

• Clinical Nurse 
Specialist 

 
• Nurse Midwife 

 
• Nurse 

Practitioner 
 
 
 
 

 
Nonscheduled prescription drugs can 
be prescribed without delegation. 
 
Also can receive and dispense 
complimentary starter dose drugs 
without delegation from a physician.  
 
 

Permitted to write a prescription for a 
controlled substance, schedule 2-5 under 
the delegation of a physician.  
 
The prescription must have the names 
and DEA# of the APRN and the 
delegating doctor. 
 
If a complementary starter dose 
containing a controlled substance is 
involved, the APRN and delegating 
physician’s name and DEA registration 
number must be linked to the 
prescription.  
 
Because they are writing CS’s under 
delegation, they do not get their own CS 
license.   
 
Under the Board of Medicine rules, there 
must be a written delegation agreement 
between the APRN and the doctor when 
dealing with controlled substances. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.ncsbn.org/
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24. How do I file a complaint against a health care professional? 
 
Information on how to File an Allegation Against a Health Care Licensee can be 
located on the Bureau of Professional Licensing’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl. 

 
25. Where can I find a copy of the administrative rules pertaining to Nursing? 

 
 You may view the current Administrative Rules and proposed revisions on the Bureau 

of Professional Licensing’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl. 
 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_73836---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
http://w3.lara.state.mi.us/orr/AdminCode.aspx?AdminCode=Department&Dpt=LR&Level_1=Bureau+of+Professional+Licensing
http://www.michigan.gov/bpl

