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CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. 

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR LICENSING GUIDE 
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR (NHA) LICENSE BY 
EXAMINATION (first license) 

• Complete an approved course of instructional training in Nursing Home Administration 
(at least 9 semester credits or 144 clock hours that includes administrative 
management, human resources or personnel management, financial management, 
state and federal laws, gerontology or the aging process, patient care, provision of 
services, infection control, environmental issues, emergency preparedness)  or 
provide proof of employment as a chief executive or administrative officer at a state-
licensed hospital. 

• Arrange for submission of verification of licensure in any state where licensed, even if 
the license is no longer active. 

• Submit the NHA by Examination Application found at 
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417_27529_27543---,00.html with a 
$75.75 fee. 

• A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required.  Fingerprints must be 
taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after the 
license application and fee are received. 

• Pass the Nursing Home Administrator (NHA) and the Michigan Laws and Regulations 
(NSBL) licensing examination that are administered through the National Association 
of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB). 

 

ELIGIBILITY FOR NHA LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT (currently licensed in another 
state) 

• Arrange for submission of verification of licensure in any state where licensed, even if 
the license is no longer active. 

• If licensed less than five years in another state, must meet the educational 
requirements listed under License by Examination.  

• Submit the NHA by Endorsement Application found at 
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-27417_27529_27543---,00.html with a 
$75.75 fee. 

• A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required.  Fingerprints must be 
taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after the 
license application and fee are received. 

• Pass the Michigan Laws and Regulations (NSBL) licensing examination that is 
administered through the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator 
Boards (NAB). 
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