
STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
 

In the matter of     ) 
       ) 
CK EXPRESS, LLC     ) Business ID No. 227483 
D/B/A BUDDY’S LIQUOR    )  
4443 SE Breton     ) 
Suite E      )   
Kentwood, Michigan  49508   ) 
       ) 
Kent County      )  
       ) 
 
 
 At the January 22, 2015 hearing of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

(Commission) in Southfield, Michigan.  
    
 

PRESENT: Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner 
Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 

     
 

PENALTY HEARING ORDER 
 

Under MCL 436.1903(1), the Commission shall impose a suspension or 

revocation of the 2014 Specially Designated Distributor and Specially Designated 

Merchant licenses with Sunday Sales Permit (P.M.) held by CK Express, LLC, d/b/a 

Buddy’s Liquor (licensee) at the above-noted address, as the licensee was found liable 

for three (3) violations of MCL 436.1801(2) on different occasions within a 24-month 

period.  Those violations occurred on February 20, 2013, October 4, 2013 and August 

4, 2014. 

The penalty hearing was held on January 22, 2015 at the Commission’s 

Southfield office.  Representing the licensee at the hearing was sole member, Cindy 

Karadsheh.  

After reviewing the record of the three (3) violations within a consecutive 24-

month period which necessitated the penalty hearing, hearing arguments from Ms. 

Karadsheh, and review of the MLCC file, the Commission finds that revocation of the 

licenses is not necessary in this matter.  However, the Commission further finds that a 
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suspension of the licenses is required, and the licensee has demonstrated reasons to 

order a suspension in this matter for the following reasons: 

 

• The Commission finds that the licenses were originally issued to the 

licensee on June 12, 2012.   The minors were sold or furnished alcoholic 

liquor in violation of MCL 436.1801(2) within a timeframe of approximately 

18 months; and the licensee acknowledged each violation and was 

assessed fines in all three (3) matters.  The minors were 19 and 20 years 

of age, and identification was not requested in the incidents that occurred 

on February 20, 2013 and October 4, 2013.   

• The Commission finds that the employee who made the illegal sales on 

February 20, 2013 and August 4, 2014 was terminated.  The employee 

responsible for the illegal sale on October 4, 2013 is the licensee’s father, 

Jalal Karadsheh, who currently oversees the daily operation of the 

business.  The police report from this sale on October 4, 2013 notes that 

the selling clerk used profanity during his conversation with the police 

officer. 

• The Commission finds that the licensee did not take any actions after the 

first, second or third violations, other than terminating the selling clerk in 

the first and third violations, to prevent future sales to minors.  The selling 

clerk in the second violation is still employed at the store and is the 

manager for the store. 

• The Commission finds that the licensee stated that the store manager, 

Jalal Karadsheh, verbally trains the employees; however, the police report 

from the first violation on February 20, 2013 contains a statement by the 

selling employee stating that the employee has been in the business for 

20 years and has never received any formal training. 

• The Commission finds that while the police reports mention that an 

identification scanner may be available, the selling clerk in the third 

violation stated that the store has a scanner, but alleged that it does not 

always work.  When asked about an I identification scanner at the store, 

the licensee stated that she was not aware of the store having one and 

could not provide any further information on it. 
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• The Commission finds that while the store manager may have instituted a 

policy of now “carding” all patrons prior to completing the sale and service 

of alcohol, the licensee has not demonstrated any written policies or any 

uniform training policies for employees to prevent future sales to minors. 

 

  Under MCL 436.1903(1), the Commission shall issue a penalty of suspension or 

revocation in this matter.  The Commission finds that a fifteen (15) day suspension is 

warranted for the reasons stated on the record, to be served on February 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 

9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17, 2015. 

 

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that: 

A. The 2014 Specially Designated Distributor and Specially Designated 

Merchant licenses with Sunday Sales Permit (P.M.) held by CK Express, LLC, d/b/a 

Buddy’s Liquor are SUSPENDED for fifteen (15) days to be served on February 3, 4, 5, 

6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17, 2015. 

B. The suspension is to run consecutively and not concurrently with any 

other suspension ordered by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission for this licensee. 

    

           MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

          

  
  
 

 
 Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner 

 
 

 
 Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 
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