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Bureau of Professional Licensing 

Physician’s Assistant FAQ 
 
1.  How do I verify my Michigan PA license to another state? 

 
We can provide written verification of your licensure status to another state within 20- 
30 business days. This document is also referred to as a "letter of good standing." You 
need to send a written request for license verification that provides this office with the 
name and address of the board you wish to receive the documentation. This request 
should include your name, license number and your signature and must be 
accompanied by the required $15.00 fee made payable to the State of Michigan. 
The verification process generally takes 20-30 business days from the time the 
request is received by the Department. The request should be mailed to:  
 

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs 
Bureau of Professional Licensing 

Health Professions Licensing Division 
Attention: Verifications 

P.O. Box 30670 
Lansing, MI 48909 

 
2. How do I file a complaint against a health care professional? 
  

Information can be located on the Bureau of Professional Licensing’s website at 
www.michigan.gov/bpl.  Under “File a Complaint”, there are instructions and forms 
regarding filing a complaint against a health care licensee. 

 
3. Do I need to complete continuing education? 
 

No.  Currently the law does not require continuing education for renewal.  A 
licensee is responsible for maintaining their competence in the profession, but a 
licensee does not have to demonstrate the ways he or she is doing that for renewal. 
 

4.  How long is the PA license issued for? 
 

An initial license is valid until the next license expiration date of the profession 
unless the license is issued less than 120 days prior to the expiration date and 
then it will carry to the following year. After your first renewal, your license will be 
valid for 2 years.   
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
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5. My renewal date is coming up soon.  I know that the license will be valid until 
the expiration date after I renew.  Since I will be moving next year, I only want 
to renew it for 1 year.  Can I do that? 

 
No.  It can only be renewed for the full time period. 
 
 

6. When can I renew my license?  How do I renew my license? 

Licensees can begin to renew their licenses approximately 60 days prior to the 
expiration date of their current license. 
 
Licensees will be mailed a renewal notification to their address on record 
approximately 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license.  Remember to 
notify the Department in writing of any address change.  It’s a licensee’s 
responsibility to renew his or her license on time.  Failure to receive the renewal 
notification, or to notify the Department of an address change, does not exempt a 
licensee from renewing their license on time. 
 
Licensees are required to renew their license(s) by using the online renewal 
system at www.michigan.gov/elicense using a debit or credit card containing a 
MasterCard, Visa or Discover logo or by electronic check. 
 
 

7. How can I change my name or address? 
 

Name changes must be submitted in writing by downloading the Data 
Change/Duplicate License Request Form. Address changes can be submitted 
online at www.michigan.gov/elicense or in writing by downloading the Data 
Change/Duplicate License Request Form. The form can be faxed to 517-353-2044 
or mailed to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of 
Professional Licensing, PO Box 30670, Lansing, MI 48909.  
 
New licenses are not automatically issued for name and/or address changes. To 
receive a license with your new name and/or address, you must submit a $10.00 
fee per license with your request. Duplicate licenses can be paid for online at 
www.michigan.gov/elicense.  The Data Change/Duplicate License Form can be 
faxed to 517-335-2044 if a new license is not being requested. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/elicense
http://www.michigan.gov/elicense
http://www.michigan.gov/elicense
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8. What happens if my license expires? 
 

If your license or registration is not renewed within 60 days after the expiration 
date, your license will lapse. The expiration date will reflect the original expiration 
date -- it will not include the grace period. For example: If your license expires 
January 31, you have until midnight March 31 to pay your renewal fee. If you do 
not pay by midnight March 31, your license is considered lapsed as of January 31. 
You will need to check with the agencies that provide reimbursement for your 
services to see if they honor the grace period.  
 
When your license lapses, you can no longer practice your profession nor can you 
identify yourself as a licensed or registered individual. Practicing without a valid 
license or registration is a felony under the Public Health Code and can result in 
legal proceedings as well as disciplinary actions.  
 
It is your responsibility to make sure your license is current and valid. The 
Department sends renewal information to the last address on file approximately 90 
days prior to the expiration date. It is your responsibility to notify the Department 
of a change of address, in writing, within 30 days of the change.  Failure to receive 
a renewal notification does not exempt you from renewing your license.  

  
 
9.  The application asks for the state(s) I have been licensed in and asks for the 

basis of licensure. What does that mean? What if I’m licensed in more than 
one state? Do you need verification from all states I have ever held a license 
in?  
 
In the “Basis of Licensure” box on the application, you need to indicate whether 
you became licensed in that state by Exam or by Endorsement.  
 
The Department must have verification from all states where you hold or have ever 
held a license (active or inactive). This is to ensure that your current license is in 
good standing and you have not had any disciplinary actions or suspensions.  
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10. There have been changes to the Public Health Code and Administrative 
Rules that require licensees and individuals seeking licensure to complete 
training in identifying victims of human trafficking.  When does this take 
effect? 

 
Beginning with the March 2019 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, 
licensees must have completed training in identifying victims of human trafficking 
that meet the standards established in Administrative Rule 338.6103 in order to 
renew their license. 
 
Beginning March 17, 2021, individuals seeking licensure must have completed 
human trafficking training prior to obtaining a license as a PA. 
 
Licensees, or individuals seeking licensure, must complete training in identifying 
victims of human trafficking only one time.  The Department may select and audit 
a sample of individuals and request documentation of proof of completion of 
training. 

 
 
11. What license types are available and how can they be obtained? 
 

New License: You have never held a license in this profession in Michigan or any 
other state.  
 
Endorsement: You hold a current license in another state in this profession and 
you wish to become licensed in Michigan.  
 
Relicensure: If you have ever held a Michigan license in this profession but your 
Michigan license has expired, you must apply for relicensure.  

 
 Applications for licensure can be obtain from the Department’s website at 

www.michigan.gov/bpl.  
 

12.  Is everything in my file complete? How can I find out what is missing?  
 

Approximately 3 weeks after the Department receives your application, you will be 
sent an Application Confirmation letter from the Department with a customer 
number, fingerprint information and instructions for checking your application 
status online at:  www.michigan.gov/appstatus.  Additionally, the Department will 
send you a deficiency letter informing you of any missing information once the file 
has been reviewed. 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
http://www.michigan.gov/appstatus
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13. How long does it take to process my application? 
 

Applications are processed as quickly as possible.  Applications are processed in 
the order they are received. 
 

14. How long does it take for your office to receive my correspondence? 
 
It takes approximately 7-10 days from the mail date for our office to receive outside 
mail. 
 

15. I work in more than one location.  How can I have my license on display in 
all of my work areas? 

 
You may make photocopies of your professional license to display in other work 
sites. 

 
16.  Do I need a practice agreement? 
 
 Recent legislation taking effect March 22, 2017 has amended the Michigan Public 

Health Code (Code), 1978 PA 368. Pursuant to 2016 PA 379, a physician’s 
assistant shall not engage in the practice as a physician’s assistant except under 
the terms of a practice agreement that meets the requirements of the Code. The 
required contents of a practice agreement may be found in the Public Health Code 
at MCL 333.17047 (medicine), MCL 333.17547 (osteopathic medicine & surgery) 
or MCL 333.18047 (podiatric medicine & surgery) of the Public Health Code found 
on the Department’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl under “Laws, Rules & Other 
Resources”. 

 
17. If I obtain my physician's assistant license, am I eligible for a controlled 

substance (CS) license in Michigan? 
 

As of March 22, 2017, an individual who is licensed as a physician's assistant in 
Michigan is eligible for a controlled substance license.  
 
Pursuant to MCL 333.17076(2), 333.17548(4) and 333.18051(2) of the Public 
Health Code, a physician’s assistant who is a party to a practice agreement may 
prescribe a drug in accordance with procedures and protocols for the prescription 
established by rule of the Department in consultation with the appropriate board. In 
order to prescribe a controlled substance that is included in schedules 2 to 5 of 
Part 72 of the Code, a physician’s assistant must obtain a controlled substance 
license from the Department. The application for a controlled substance license 
may be found on the Department’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl.  If a 

http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
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physician’s assistant prescribes a drug, the physician’s assistant’s name and DEA 
registration number, must be used, recorded, or otherwise indicated with the 
prescription.  

  
In addition, physician’s assistants who have their controlled substance (CS) 
license and their own DEA registration number will be able to register to the 
Michigan Automated Prescription System (MAPS) in April 2017.  Physician’s 
assistants who do not have their CS license nor DEA registration number will have 
to register as a delegate of the physician with whom they have a practice 
agreement to use MAPS. 
 

18. Can you give me information on how to get a DEA license or about my DEA 
license? 

 
The State of Michigan and the DEA are two separate entities. The DEA is a federal 
agency. If you have any questions concerning your DEA registration, you can call 
them directly at 1-800-882-9539. You may also use the internet to access the DEA 
at www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drugreg/index.html. 
 

19. Can I submit the renewal application for my controlled substance license 
before submitting the renewal for my professional license?  

 
The professional license must be renewed first.  If the Department receives the 
controlled substance renewal but not the professional license renewal, neither 
license will be renewed. 
 

20. Do I have to renew my controlled substance (CS) license if I am not currently 
living in Michigan and my professional license is active?  Can I renew my CS 
license later if I move back to Michigan? 

 
You do not have to renew your CS license unless you are currently prescribing 
controlled substances in Michigan under the practice agreement. You can get your 
CS license reinstated at a later time as long as your professional license is active 
in Michigan. You would do this by submitting a Controlled Substance Application 
to the Department.  You can download the most current application at 
www.michigan.gov/bpl under Health Licensing (Apply & Renew) and select 
Pharmacy from the listed professions. 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
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