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BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. 

MICHIGAN PHYSICIAN'S ASSISTANT LICENSING GUIDE 
Recent legislation taking effect March 22, 2017 has amended the Michigan Public Health Code 
(Code), 1978 PA 368. Pursuant to 2016 PA 379, a physician’s assistant shall not engage in the 
practice as a physician’s assistant except under the terms of a practice agreement that meets 
the requirements of the Code. The required contents of a practice agreement may be found in the 
Public Health Code at MCL 333.17047 (medicine), MCL 333.17547 (osteopathic medicine & 
surgery) or MCL 333.18047 (podiatric medicine & surgery) of the Public Health Code found on 
the department’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl under “Laws, Rules & Other Resources”. 
 
An individual who is licensed as a physician's assistant in Michigan is eligible for a controlled 
substance license. Pursuant to MCL 333.17076(2), 333.17548(4) and 333.18051(2) of the Public 
Health Code, a physician’s assistant who is a party to a practice agreement may prescribe a 
drug in accordance with procedures and protocols for the prescription established by rule of the 
department in consultation with the appropriate board. In order to prescribe a controlled 
substance that is included in schedules 2 to 5 of Part 72 of the Code, a physician’s assistant must 
obtain a controlled substance license from the department. The application for a controlled 
substance license may be found on the department’s website at www.michigan.gov/bpl.  If a 
physician’s assistant prescribes a drug, the physician’s assistant’s name and DEA registration 
number, must be used, recorded, or otherwise indicated with the prescription.  
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR PHYSICIAN'S ASSISTANT LICENSE BY EXAMINATION  
(first license) 
 

• Graduate from an accredited Physician's Assistant (PA) educational program. 
• Pass the PANCE examination administered by the National Commission on 

Certification of Physician's Assistants (NCCPA). 
• Submit the Physician's Assistant by Examination application found 

at http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_72603_27529_27550---
,00.html with the $90.90 fee.  If also applying for a controlled substance license, the 
fee is $161.60. 

• May also submit an additional $35.35 fee to apply for a temporary license if have 
completed the PA educational program, but have not yet taken the PANCE 
examination. 

• A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required.  Fingerprints must 
be taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after 
the license application and fee are received. 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
http://www.michigan.gov/bpl
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_72603_27529_27550---,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_72603_27529_27550---,00.html


 
 

Updated 01/13/2017 
  Page 2 of 2 

 

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

CUSTOMER DRIVEN. BUSINESS MINDED. 

ELIGIBILITY FOR PHYSICIAN'S ASSISTANT LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT 
(currently licensed in another state) 

If first licensed in another state to practice BEFORE July 7, 1986, graduated from 
an accredited Physician’s Assistant (PA) education program: 

• Submit the Physician's Assistant by Endorsement application found 
at http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_72603_27529_27550---
,00.html with the $90.90 fee.  If also applying for a controlled substance license, the 
fee is $161.60. 

• Pass the PANCE examination administered by the National Commission on 
Certification of Physician's Assistants (NCCPA). 

• Arrange for submission of verification of licensure in any state or province where 
licensed, even if the license is no longer active. 

• A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required.  Fingerprints must 
be taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after 
the license application and fee are received. 
 

If first licensed in another state ON OR AFTER July 7, 1986: 

• Submit the Physician's Assistant by Endorsement application found 
at http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_72603_27529_27550---
,00.html with the $90.90 fee.  If also applying for a controlled substance license, the 
fee is $161.60. 

• Official transcripts to be submitted to this office from an approved educational 
program from which you graduated.  Transcripts must show degree awarded and 
the date conferred. 

• Pass the PANCE examination administered by the National Commission on 
Certification of Physician's Assistants (NCCPA). 

• Arrange for submission of verification of licensure in any state or province where 
licensed, even if the license is no longer active. 

• A fingerprint report and criminal background check are required.  Fingerprints must 
be taken using the instructions and ID numbers that are sent to the applicant after 
the license application and fee are received. 
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