
STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
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* * * * * 

 
 
 
In the matter of the request of         ) 
       ) 
WHRB, INC.      ) Request ID No: 768122 
20925 Inkster     )             
Farmington Hills, Michigan  48336  ) 
       ) 
Oakland County     ) 
       )   
 
 
 At the November 19, 2015 hearing of the Michigan Liquor Control Commission 

(Commission) in Southfield, Michigan. 

 
 

PRESENT: Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 
Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner 
Dennis Olshove, Commissioner  
    

                              
LICENSING APPEAL ORDER  

 
 On September 3, 2014, WHRB, Inc. (applicant) filed a request to transfer ownership 

of the 2015 Specially Designated Distributor and Specially Designated Merchant licenses 

with Sunday Sales Permit (P.M.) from the Estate of Duraid A. Lossia, with Nidhal Lossia as 

court appointed Personal Representative, to be held at the above-noted address. The 

applicant also requested a new Sunday Sales Permit (A.M.).  

At a meeting held on October 7, 2015, the Commission denied this request under 

administrative rule R 436.1105(2)(a) after considering the operating record of applicant 

stockholder, Wisam Hanna, as a current licensee of the Commission who has been cited 

and found responsible for multiple violations of the Michigan Liquor Control Code and 

Administrative Rules, including four (4) violations of the sale of alcoholic liquor to a person 
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under 21 years of age, which is contrary to MCL 436.1801(2).  Two (2) of the incidents 

involved a 17-year old minor, and the most recent violation that occurred on May 12, 2015 

was to a 20-year old.  The violation record also includes 2012 and 2014 violations involving 

narcotics paraphernalia on the licensed premises. 
The request was also denied under administrative rule R 436.1105(2)(j) after 

considering the effects that issuance of a license would have on the health, welfare, and 

safety of the general public when determining whether an applicant should be issued a 

license or permit. 

Joseph Shallal, legal counsel on behalf of the applicant, submitted a timely request 

for an appeal in this matter and represented the applicant at the November 19, 2015 

hearing, held at the Commission’s Southfield office.   

After hearing arguments, reviewing the MLCC file, and discussion of the issue on 

the record, the Commission finds that the applicant sufficiently demonstrated a course of 

action has been taken to assist in preventing further violations of the Michigan Liquor 

Control Code and Administrative Rules.  

Article IV, Section 40, of the Michigan Constitution (1963), permits the legislature to 

establish a Liquor Control Commission, which shall exercise complete control of the 

alcoholic beverage traffic within this state, including the retail sales thereof, subject to 

statutory limitations.  MCL 436.1201(2) provides the Commission with the sole right, power, 

and duty to control the alcoholic beverage traffic and traffic in other alcoholic liquor within 

this state, including the manufacture, importation, possession, transportation and sale 

thereof. 

 The licensee is authorized to do business in Michigan, as required under MCL 

436.1535 for licensure. Under MCL 436.1537(1)(f) and (g), the licensee may sell spirits, 

mixed spirit drink, beer and wine for consumption off the premises, only. 

The Commission finds sufficient reasons to reverse its denial issued in this matter 

and to approve the applicant’s request for the reasons stated on the record. 
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:  

A. The denial order of October 7, 2015 issued in this matter is reversed and the 

applicant’s request to transfer ownership of the 2015 Specially Designated Distributor and 

Specially Designated Merchant licenses from the Estate of Duraid A. Lossia, with Nidhal 

Lossia as court appointed Personal Representative, is APPROVED, subject to the 

following: 

1. The licensee shall submit to the Commission a warranty deed or quit 

claim deed. 

2. The licensee shall submit to the Commission and acceptable and 

executed Lease Agreement between WHRB, Inc. and Inkster-Byron 

Investment LLC. 

3. The licensee shall submit to the Commission verification that WHRB, 

Inc. received a loan in the amount of $153,000.00 from Wisam 

Hanna. 

4. The licensee shall submit to the Commission verification that Inkster-

Byron Investment LLC received a loan in the amount of $80,000.00 

from Wisam Hanna. 

5. The licensee shall submit to the Commission form LCC-301 “Report 

of Stockholders/Members/Partners”. 

6. The license shall submit to the Commission form LCC-107 “Closing 

Form for License Sale”. 

7. The licensee shall submit to the Commission the remaining Specially 

Designated Distributor license and/or permit fees in the amount of 

$113.85, pursuant to MCL 436.1525(1)(k). 

8. The licensee shall provide proof of financial responsibility providing 

security for liability as required under MCL 436.1803.  Failure to 

maintain proof of financial responsibility providing security for liability 

will result in the immediate suspension of the subject licenses and 
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permits until the licensee provides the Commission with proof of 

financial responsibility as required under MCL 436.1803.  

 B. The applicant’s request to transfer the existing permit to sell alcoholic liquor 

after 12:00 Noon on Sundays is APPROVED, subject to the following: 

1. A reference to the time of day includes daylight savings time, when 

observed. 

2. This permit is subject to revocation by operation of law or otherwise if 

the Commission receives notice from a county, city, village or 

township that it prohibits the sale of spirits, mixed spirit drink, or beer 

and wine during the time authorized by this permit. 

C. The applicant’s request for a new permit to sell alcoholic liquor between 7 

A.M. and Noon on Sundays is APPROVED, pursuant to Public Act 213 of 2010, MCL 

436.2111-2115.  This permit is subject to revocation by operation of law or otherwise  if the 

Commission receives notice from a county, city, village, township, or the local 

governmental unit, that it prohibits or otherwise objects to the sale of spirits, mixed spirit 

drink or beer and wine between the hours of 7 A.M. and Noon on Sundays.  If notice and 

supporting documentation is received by the Commission, a show cause hearing will be 

scheduled before the Commission under administrative rule R 436.1925(1) to determine if 

the permit must be revoked. 

D. Under administrative rule R 436.1003, the licensee shall comply with all state 

and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation, and health laws, rules, and ordinances as 

determined by the state and local law enforcements officials who have jurisdiction over the 

licensee.  Approval of the licenses and permits by the Michigan Liquor Control 

Commission does not waive any of these requirements. The licensee shall obtain all other 

required state and local licenses, permits, and approvals before selling or serving alcoholic 

liquor. 

E. Failure to comply with all requirements of licensure in the State of Michigan 

will result in the licensee being charged with a violation of the Michigan Liquor Control 
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Code, Administrative Rules, and Commission order, which may result in fines, suspension, 

and/or revocation of the licenses and permits. 

 

 

             MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

           
 

 
 Andrew J. Deloney, Chairman 

 
 

 
 Teri L. Quimby, Commissioner 

 
 

 
 Dennis Olshove, Commissioner 
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