Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs

MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION (MLCC)
525 W. Allegan Lansing, Ml 48933
P.O. Box 30005 Lansing, Ml 48909

Michigan Wine Maker & Small Wine Maker
Requirements and General Information

A “Wine Maker” license is issued by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission to a person located in Michigan
to manufacture wine and to sell, at wholesale or retail, wine manufactured by that person.
= MCL 436.1113(9)

A “Small Wine Maker” means a Wine Maker that manufactures or bottles not more than 50,000 gallons of
wine in 1 calendar year.
= MCL 436.1111(10)

A Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker License:

= May sell wine they manufacture to licensed Michigan wholesalers and to licensed Michigan retailers.

= May offer free or may include a charge for samples to consumers from the winery premises.

= May sell wine they manufacture directly to consumers for off-premises consumption (take-out) from
the winery premises.

= May sell wine they manufacture to consumers for on-premises consumption at the winery in
conjunction with a restaurant at the winery premises.

*» Must obtain a “Wine Producer’'s” Basic Permit from Alcohol, Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
(“TTB").

» $100.00 annual license fee for Wine Maker; $25.00 annual license fee for Small Wine Maker.
License renews annually on May 1. License fee may not be prorated for part year licensure and is
payable at the time of initial application.

How To Apply For A License:

Please refer to the “Manufacturers & Wholesale License Application Process” information sheet for applicable
forms and required documents

All forms are available on our website at: www.michigan.gov/lcc ---> Commission Forms ---> Manufacturers
& Wholesalers.

Licensing Requirements:

Federal Basic Permit
Receipt of a Federal “Wine Producer and Blenders” Basic Permit issued by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and
Trade Bureau (“TTB”) is required prior to the issuance of a winery license.

=  Administrative rule R 436.1708 (1)

For Federal Basic Permit info contact: Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)

550 Main St. Room 8002

Cincinnati, OH 45202

513-684-3337

www.ttb.gov
Bond Application
Receipt of a Surety Bond (Form MW-816) executed by an insurance company authorized to do business in
Michigan in the amount of $1,000.00 for the first year licensed is required prior to issuance of the license.
Each subsequent year of licensure bond amount is based upon an average of excise taxes paid in the last
calendar year, with a minimum amount of $1,000.00. Bond form (MW-816) & instructions can be found on
our website. Bond does not need to be submitted until applicant has received notification from our office of
approval for their license application by our Commission.

= MCL 436.1801 (1)(a)


http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
http://www.ttb.gov/

Proof of Financial Responsibility

A statutory requirement to provide security for liability of not less than $50,000 prior to the issuance of the
license. May be in the form of cash, unencumbered securities, liquor liability insurance, constant value
bond, or membership in a group self-insurance pool authorized by law that provides security for liability under
Section 436.803 of the Liquor Control Code. Proof of Financial Responsibility Form LC-95 & instructions
can be found on our website. Does not need to be submitted until applicant has received notification from
our office of approval for their license application by our Commission.

= MCL 436.1803

Server Training Requirement
A licensee authorized to sell or sample alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption is required to have
present on the licensed premises, at a minimum, supervisory personnel on each shift and during all hours in
which alcoholic liquor is served who have successfully completed a server training program approved by the
Commission. Server Training forms will be mailed upon Commission approval of the license application.

= MCL 436.1501(1), Administrative rule R 436.1060

Food Establishment License

The Michigan Food Law (Act 92, P.A. of 2000) requires all food establishments, including processing
operations such as wineries, breweries and distilleries to obtain a food establishment of one type or another.
Contact the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (“MDARD?”) for details on the specific
food establishment license required for your operation. The MDARD may be contacted as follows:

MDARD Central Licensing
P.O. Box 30746

Lansing, MI 48909
800-292-3939
www.michigan.gov/mdard

General Information:

Church and School:
A new application to sell alcoholic beverages at retail (including manufacturers), or a request to transfer
location of an existing license, may be denied if the contemplated location is within 500’ of a church or school.
The Commission may waive the church/school provision if the church or school does not file an objection to
the proposed license. If the church or school files an objection, the Commission will hold a hearing before
making a decision on the issuance of the license.

= MCL 436.1503

Manufacturing & Labeling
Wine must be manufactured and labeled in accordance with federal wine regulations published in the Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 27, Part 4 and (CFR), Title 27, Part 24. Contact the TTB for details.

= Administrative rules R 436.1707, R 436.1708

Label Registration
Wine products must have all labels approved by the Commission prior to the wine being sold in Michigan. The
Commission uses an on-line label registration process which requires prior registration with the TTB. Upon
licensure, you will be provided with a password and instructions to access the on-line registration site. There
is no fee for Michigan label registration.

= Administrative rule R 436.1719

Mandatory Label Information (Pursuant to TTB Regulations):
= Brand name listed.
= Class, type or, in lieu of, a truthful and adequate statement of composition shall appear on the
brand label of the product.
= Name and address of bottler or packer and place (city/state) where bottled. Name must be
preceded by “Bottled by” or “Packed by".


http://www.michigan.gov/mdard

= Alcohol content must be listed. By definition, wine may contain ¥2 of 1% or more alcohol by volume
but not more than 21% alcohol by volume. Table wine with alcoholic content of 11%-14% does not
have to list the actual alcohol content. Listing “table wine” is adequate.

= Net contents.

For Federal Labeling information contact: Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
Alcohol Labeling & Formulation
650 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20226
866-927-2533

www.tth.gov

Wine Excise Taxes & Monthly Reports

Wine excise taxes apply to both wine and mixed wine drink. The Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker shall pay
the Michigan wine excise tax or may designate a wholesaler to pay the tax on their behalf for all wine or mixed
wine drink manufactured by that Wine Maker and sold in this state. A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker is
required to submit a Michigan Wine Tax Report and Michigan Winery Monthly Report of Sales no later than
the 15" of each month regardless if a wholesaler has been designated to pay the taxes. If a wholesaler has
been designated to pay tax on wholesale shipments to retailers, the Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker must
still submit any tax payments for on-site tasting room wine sales.

Sacramental wine sold to churches is exempt from taxes. Sales made by a Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker
out-of-state are nontaxable.

Tax Rates: 16% or less alcohol by volume = $.135 (13 Y2 cents) per liter.
Over 16% - 21% alcohol by volume = $.20 (20 cents) per liter
= MCL 436.1301, Administrative rule R 436.1725

For further questions relating to wine tax, please contact our Financial Management Division at: (517) 284-
6352.

Samples To Consumers
A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker may offer free or may include a charge for samples to consumers for on-
premise tastings at the winery premises. The samples must be of products manufactured and sold under the
Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker license.

= MCL 436.1537 (3), MCL 436.2025

Sales To Consumers From Winery

A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker is authorized to sell wine manufactured by the Wine Maker or Small Wine
Maker from the winery premises to consumers for off-premises consumption (take-out sales) with no
additional license.

A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker may also sell wine they manufacture by the glass for consumption on the
premises in a restaurant at their winery premises that is owned by the Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker or is
leased to another person. Only wine manufactured by the Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker may be sold by
the glass in a winery restaurant.

= MCL 436.1111(10), MCL 436.1113(9), MCL 436.1537(2)

Direct Shipping/Deliveries to Consumers

A Direct Shipper license is required for in-state and out-of-state wineries to ship domestic wine directly to
Michigan consumers. This license does not allow direct shipment of imported wines. License fee is $100.00
annually (renewable May 1) and allows total annual shipment to Michigan consumers of 13,500 liters (1,500 9-
liter cases). Direct Shippers must pay Michigan excise taxes (quarterly) and Michigan sales tax. The age of
the person placing the order must be verified by obtaining a copy of a photo identification issued by a state or


http://www.ttb.gov/

the federal government of the person placing the order, or by utilizing an identification service approved by the
Commission. You must record and maintain records of the name, address, date of birth and telephone
number of the person placing the order on the order form. The Direct Shipper must stamp, print, or label on
the outside of the shipping container that the package “Contains Alcohol. Must be delivered to a person 21
years of age or older.” A label must be placed on the top panel of the shipping container listing the Direct
Shipper license number, order number, the name and address of the individual placing the order, and the
name of the designated recipient if different from the name of the individual placing the order. The person
delivering the alcohol shall verify the person accepting delivery is of legal age.
= MCL 436.1203, MCL 436.1537(d)

Tasting Room Location
Licensed Wine Makers/Small Wine Makers may apply for a Tasting Room location approval located off the
winery licensed premises. The Wine Maker/ Small Wine Maker may offer free or may include a charge for
tastings to the consumer and may sell for off premise consumption only, wine made by the Wine Maker/Small
Wine Maker. As with other tastings & sales, only wine made by the Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker may be
sampled or sold at the Tasting Room location. Under no circumstances may any other alcoholic beverage
products other than those produced by the Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker be sampled in the Tasting Room.
Wine can not be sold by the glass for consumption at the tasting room premises. Only samples may be
provided. An annual license fee of $100.00 per location shall be paid for the Tasting Room location.

= MCL 436.1537(4)

Other Manufacturing licenses
A Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker may obtain other manufacturing licenses including a Brandy Manufacturer,
Micro Brewer/Brewer, Manufacturer of Spirits, Manufacturer of Mixed Spirit Drink or a Small Distiller which
allows the manufacture and sale of wine, brandy, mixed spirit drinks or distilled spirits.

= MCL 436.1111(9), MCL 436.1109 (3)(6), MCL 436.1113(9)

Permits
There are additional permits that a Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker may apply for to be held in conjunction
with their primary license.

= Beer and Wine Tasting Permit - A Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker may obtain a Beer and Wine
Tasting Permit which allows beer and wine tastings to be conducted on licensed off-premises
accounts that hold a Specially Designated Merchant (SDM) license. There is a one time $70.00 fee
for this permit. Upon issuance of this permit notification of sampling events must be received at least
10 days prior to the event and all employees or licensed agents conducting the sampling event must
have successfully completed a server training program approved by the MLCC.

= Farmer’s Market Permit — permit for a qualified Small Wine Maker who manufactures or bottles not
more than 5,000 gallons of wine in one calendar year combining all licensed locations, to conduct free
wine tastings and sell, for consumption off the licensed premises, wine produced by that Small Wine
Maker at a Farmer’s Market.

= Qutdoor Service Permit - Permit allows the sale and consumption of alcoholic beverage in
outdoor patio areas. The area must be under the control of the licensee.

= Specific Purpose Permit - Permit required to remain open for business after the legal closing hour of
2:00am, or to be open for business before 7:00am Monday through Saturday, or to open before 12:00
noon on Sunday, for the sale of food.

= Direct Connection - Technically this is not a Permit but rather permission from the Commission to
maintain a direct connection between licensed premises and nonlicensed premises. This permission
will be required if your operations include multiple license holders who maintain inside connections to
either nonlicensed premises or licensed premises under the control of another licensee.

» Living Quarters Permit - Permit required when living quarters are directly connected to the licensed
premises.

= Dance Permit - Permit required for dancing by customers on the licensed premises. Dance floor
must be clearly marked, void of tables and chairs when in use and a minimum of 100 square feet in
dimension. Permit allows for dancing during the legal hours for the sale of alcoholic liquor only.



= Entertainment Permit - Permit required for monologues, dialogues, motion pictures, still slides,
closed circuit television, contests, or other performances for public viewing on the licensed premises.
An Entertainment Permit does not allow topless entertainment. Permit allows for entertainment only
during the legal hours for the sale of alcoholic liquor. You do not need an Entertainment Permit for
live bands, the playing of an orchestra, piano, or other types of musical instruments, singing or the
viewing of any publicly broadcast television of a federally licensed station.

» Sunday Sales AM — Permit required for the sale of wine from 7:00 a.m.-12:00 noon, unless prohibited
in the county and local governmental unit where the licensed establishment is located. $160.00 fee.

Sales To Wholesalers and Territory Agreements

A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker may sell their products to licensed Michigan wholesalers who in turn may
resell the wine to licensed Michigan retailers. A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker must grant each of their
wholesalers a written agreement specifying the brand or brands to be distributed and the territory where sales
are granted. Wholesalers are prohibited from selling alcoholic beverages outside of their assigned sales
territories. Beginning June 1, 2010, Michigan statute prohibits a manufacturer from assigning the right to sell a
specific brand or brands of wine to more than one wine wholesaler in the same sales territory. However, a
manufacturer may continue an agreement that was in effect on June 1, 2010, which assigned the distribution
rights to more than one wine wholesaler for a specified brand of wine in the same sales territory. All sales to
wholesalers must be for cash only. Quantity discounts to wholesalers are legal as long as the discount is
nondiscriminatory.

= MCL 436.1305, MCL 436.1307

Sales To Retailers

A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker is authorized to sell their wines to licensed retailers. A Wine Maker or
Small Wine Maker selling their wines to retailers must file with the Commission in Lansing, before January 1,
April 1, July 1, and October 1 of each year, a schedule of the net cash prices to retail licensees. The net cash
price shall not be changed during the quarter without first notifying the Commission in writing of the price
changes. "Post offs" (price reductions) shall not be granted for periods of less than 14 consecutive calendar
days in duration. Quantity discounts to retailers are prohibited. All sales to retailers must be for cash only.

" MCL 436.1111(10), MCL 436.1113(9), Administrative rule R 436.1726

Interest In Another License
Michigan statute strictly prohibits a Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker from holding any interest, directly or
indirectly, inawholesale or retail license. Examples of prohibited interests include: stock ownership, leasing
real estate to/from a wholesale or retail licensee; interlocking officers or directors between licensees; financial
interest such as a moneylender with a wholesale or retail licensee. A Michigan manufacturer may hold
interest in another licensed supplier under MCL 436.1603. The Commission may also approve a Wine Maker
or Small Wine Maker participating with 1 or more Wine Makers or Small Wine Makers in an alternating
proprietor operation subject to the written approval of the United States Department of Treasury, Alcohol and
Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, in accordance with 27 CFR part 25, subpart F, section 25.52.

» MCL 436.1603(8)(13)

Rebates, Special Purchase Allowances, & Quantity Discounts

A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker is prohibited from rebating any money to wholesalers. A special
purchase allowance may be offered to wholesalers as long as the allowance is offered to all wholesalers and
is based on the wholesaler purchases at the time of the allowance and not based on past sales. A Wine
Maker or Small Wine Maker may offer quantity discounts to their wholesalers but may not offer free
merchandise to their wholesalers.

= MCL 436.1609

Bulk Wine Used For Blending
A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker may purchase bulk wine to be used for blending purposes from a
licensed Outstate Seller of Wine. A shipment of bulk wine to a Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker must be
accompanied by a “Release of Alcohol or Alcoholic Beverages for Commercial Use” (LC/MW-350) approved
by the Commission.

= Administrative rule R 436.1721



Salesperson License

Any person employed by a Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker to sell, deliver, promote, or otherwise assist in
the sale of alcoholic liquor in this state is required to hold a Salesperson license issued by the Commission.
Office staff and winery personnel who work exclusively at the winery premises and have no personal contact
with retailers or consumers off the winery premises do not need a Salesperson license. Salesperson’'s must
be 18 years of age or older. Salesperson licenses are $35.00 for three-year licensing period. Licensed
salespersons are prohibited from being employed by a retail licensee on a paid or any other basis. Licensed
truck drivers or delivery persons are prohibited from consuming alcoholic beverages while on duty.

»  Administrative rule R 436.1853

Aid and Assistance

MCL 436.1609, and Rule 436.1035 prohibit alcoholic beverage manufacturers, suppliers, wholesalers or
warehousers from aiding or assisting any other licensee by giving them anything of value. Further, alicensee
is prohibited from accepting aid and assistance from another industry member. Alcoholic beverage suppliers
are prohibited from giving anything of value to their wholesalers or retailers. Likewise, alcoholic beverage
wholesalers are prohibited from giving anything of value to their retailers. This principle is the cornerstone of
Michigan’s trade practices regulatory structure. It is designed to provide a level playing field for all industry
members. Suppliers, wholesalers and warehousers are prohibited from giving anything of value to retail
licensees, including but not limited to: alcoholic beverages, merchandise, furniture, fixtures, equipment,
uniforms, cash or loans, labor, etc.

This same principle prohibits suppliers and wholesalers from providing free advertising, incentive programs,
free or discounted product, draft system installation and maintenance, etc. Violations in the aid and
assistance statute will result in all participants (retailer, wholesaler and supplier) being cited before the
Commission.

Section 609 (3) of the Code, includes exceptions to the prohibition of items and services that a licensed
supplier, wholesaler, or warehouser may provide to any other vendor. Some of these exceptions include
allowing suppliers, wholesalers, and warehousers to provide advertising items that have no use or value
beyond actual brand and price advertising, including, but not limited to: mirrors, napkin holders, and table tents
to licensees. Further, Section 609 (5) allows retailers to possess and use beer and wine brand logoed
barware, including, but not limited to: glassware, coasters, and napkins if they have been purchased from a
third party barware retailer and also allows retailers to possess and use spirit brand logoed barware, such as:
glassware, coasters, and napkins if purchased from a manufacturer of spirits, vendor of spirits, a licensed
salesperson,or broker, or a third party barware retailer.
= MCL 436.1609, Administrative rule R 436.1035

Record Retention
All licensees are required to maintain all sales, purchase and salesperson expense records for a minimum of
four (4) years. Records may be maintained electronically or otherwise as long as a hard copy of the record
can be created upon demand.

= Administrative rules R 436.1007, R 436.1641, R 436.1865

Sales For Cash Only
The Liquor Control Code requires the sale and purchase of all alcoholic beverages to be for cash only, at the
time of delivery to wholesalers or retailers. Consumers may use bona-fide credit cards to pay for purchases
from the winery.

» MCL 436.2013

Inspection of Premises and Books & Records
A licensee must make the licensed premises available for inspection and search by a Commission
Investigator or any law enforcement officer empowered to enforce the Commission’s rules and code during
regular business hours or when the premises is occupied. The Commission or its duly authorized agent may
examine the books, records or papers of a licensee.

= MCL 436.1217, Administrative rule R 436.1645 & R 436.1728



Samples

Wine Makers and Small Wine Makers are allowed to sample their products with on-premises or off-premises
retail licensees and the retailer's employees. Sample tastings may not be offered to consumers by the wine
maker at a licensed on-premises or off-premises account. All containers used to sample products with
retailers must be marked with the word “Sample” in lettering at least “2-inch high. While Wine Makers and
Small Wine Makers may offer tasting samples to retailers from multiple beverages, only one (1) sample
container of 750 ml size or smaller may be left with a retail licensee for sampling by the retailer and their staff.
A sample container must be removed from the premises within 24 hours and again may not be sampled by
consumers.

»  Administrative rules R 436.1001, R 436.1421, R 436.1511, R 436.1513, R 436.1863

Purchasing Drinks For Consumers
A licensed Salesperson of a manufacturer of wine, for promotional purposes, may purchase one (1) drink for
each customer of an on-premises retail licensee only. The drink shall be purchased from the on-premises
licensee and shall be of a brand represented by the salesperson.

»  Administrative rule R 436.1865

Advertising and Promotions
Inside advertising signs must be unilluminated and no more than 3,500 square inches in dimension. Alcoholic
beverage advertising provided by suppliers and wholesalers to retailers shall not have any use or value
beyond the actual advertising of brands and prices of the alcoholic liquor, other than the exceptions provided
in MCL 436.1609(2)(30(4).

e Administrative rules R 436.1305 - R 436.1331 MCL 436.1609

Compliance with Laws, Zoning & Ordinances
A Wine Maker or Small Wine Maker must comply with all state and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation,
and health laws, rules and ordinances.

¢ Administrative rules R 436.1003, R 436.1105(3), R 436.1702

How to Contact the Michigan Liquor Control Commission
Questions relating to Wine Maker/Small Wine Maker licenses and other non-retail licenses may be directed to:

Michigan Liguor Control Commission

Manufacturers & Wholesalers Section

P.O. Box 30005

Lansing, Ml 48909

Toll free 866-813-0011 Fax 517-763-0060

E-mail: MLCCMWapplications@michigan.gov Website: www.michigan.gov/lcc
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