
Bureau of Professional Licensing 
Barber FAQ 

(PA 299 of 1980) 

The answers provided are not meant to be a substitute for legal advice. 

The law applicable to this profession is found at the following link: 

http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-act-299-of-1980  
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-299-1980-11  
http://w3.lara.state.mi.us/orr/AdminCode.aspx?AdminCode=Department&Dpt=LR&Level_1= 
Bureau+of+Professional+Licensing 

Contact Information: 

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs 
Bureau of Professional Licensing 
Licensing Division 
PO Box 30670 
Lansing, Michigan 48909 
(517) 373-8068 
BPLHelp

1. What is the process to have a certification of my Michigan license sent to another
state?

The State of Michigan offers a detailed license report, which is a signed document providing 
the license history. To obtain a detailed history of a license, complete form LCE-801 Detailed 
License Verification Request along with the $15.00 processing fee for each number of 
documents desired. 

The State of Michigan also offers a license status only report, which is a signed document 
indicating the current status of the license. You may request a Status Only Verification 
Request form at BPLHelp@michigan.gov. The completed form along with a $5.00 processing 
fee must be submitted for each number of documents desired. 

2. Can I renew my license online?

Yes, you may renew your license by visiting our website at www.michigan.gov/elicense. 
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3. Can I apply for relicensure online?

No.  You need to submit an Application for Relicensure form. 

4. My license was lost/stolen/destroyed, how do I get a new one?

Submit the Request for Duplicate License form. 

5. Can I come to your office to pick up my license?

No, the licenses are not printed from this office and are not available for pick-up. 

SHOPS 

1. What do I need to do if I change my shop location?

Licenses are issued to a specific address; therefore, you must submit a new application and 
all other required documentation (i.e. floor plan) to obtain a new license for the 
establishment. 

2. Since I am submitting an application for a shop that already exists, am I required to
send in a diagram with my application?

Yes. 
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