
BOILER INFORMATION - REPAIRERS EXAMINATION 
 

In an effort to give you guidance as you prepare for the upcoming boiler examination, please read the following 
information. 
 
Repairer’s examination (class I - IV), you will need to study the following: 
 a. The Michigan Boiler Rules – 2013 edition (effective November 30, 2013) 
 b. The Michigan Boiler Act 290 or 1965 (amended February 12, 2014) 
 c. ASME Code Section I, IV, IX  - 2010 edition with 2011 addenda  
 d. ASME B31.1 Power Piping 2010 edition 
 e. National Board Inspectors Code 2011 edition 
 
 
The examinations are Open Book. The examinee is responsible to bring the applicable codebooks to the 
examination. 
 
Examinations, offered quarterly: March, June, September, and December. 
 
NOTE: Electronic copies and/or photocopies of the codebooks are Not allowed during examination. 
 
All applications must be in the Boiler Division office 30 days prior to the examination date. 
 
To purchase the Michigan Boiler Act and Rules submit a check or money order payable to State of Michigan in 
the amount of $10.00; mail to Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of 
Construction Codes P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909. In lieu of payment, you can download and print a copy 
from the Bureau’s website at www.michigan.gov/bcc. 
 
To purchase the following: 
National Board Inspection Code book call 1-614-888-8320  
ASME Code books  call 1-800-843-2763. 
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