Replacement Water Heater or Residential Heating System/HVAC Permit Application

Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

90/125

Bureau of Construction Codes

P.O. Box 30255, Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: 517-241-9313

www.michigan.gov/bcc

SINGLE FAMILY DWELLINGS ONLY

Authority: 1972 PA 230 Penalty: Failure to provide information may result in denial of your request.			LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.						
I. Project or Facility Information Check One: Check Replacement Residential Heating System/HVAC (125) Replacement Water Heater (90)							iter (90)		
NAME OF OWNER/AGENT				CHECK ALL DISCIPLINES THAT REQUIRE DIRECT REPLACEMENT CONNECTIONS					
				Electrical	Mechar	nical	Plumbing		
STREET ADDRESS AND JOB LOCATION (Name)	Street Number and	CITY		ZIP CODE		COUNTY			
NAME OF CITY, VILLAGE OR TOWNSHIP IN WHICH JOB IS LOCATED									
□ City □ Village □ Township OF:									
II. Applicant/Facility Contact Information									
INDICATE WHO THE APPLICANT IS	NAME OF PLUMBING CONTRACTOR OR HOMEOWNER			E-MAIL ADDRESS					
Contractor									
Homeowner									
ADDRESS (Street Number and Name)				CITY	STATE		ZIP CODE		

Instructions:

This permit is for direct replacement connections only on conventional LP or natural gas storage water heaters, electric water heaters or tankless water heaters or the replacement of residential heating systems/HVAC. 1956 PA 217 and the Michigan Electrical Part 8 rules allow plumbing and mechanical contractors to perform certain electrical wiring as defined in the act as well as secure electrical permits and inspections.

III. Fee Schedule: YOU MUST APPLY FOR TWO INSPECTIONS FOR EACH PERMIT. PLEASE INDICATE WHICH TWO INSPECTIONS BELOW.

	Fee	# Items	Total					
1. Application Fee	\$75.00	1	\$75.00	Where to Submit Application:				
Inspections Needed:								
2. Electrical Final	\$75.00			The Bureau of Construction Codes is responsible for code enforcement in units of government throughout the state which have no local program. Permit applications for state issued permits should be sent to the address on the front of this application. You can determine if the state has jurisdiction by checking the Statewide Jurisdiction List at www.michigan.gov/bcc. If you are not sure whether a state permit or a local permit is appropriate, contact our office or your local building inspector. Questions regarding state issued permits may be directed to the Office of Management Services, Permit Section at 517-241-9313. Code questions may be directed to the Electrical Division at 517-241-9320, Mechanical Division at 517-241-9325 or the Plumbing Division at				
3. Mechanical Final (gas piping and venting)	\$75.00							
4. Mechanical Final (Residential Heating System/HVAC)	\$75.00							
 Plumbing Final (water heater supply and relief valve) 	\$75.00							
A separate form is required for Residential Heating System/HVAC)	•	Heater or TOTAL FEE		517-241-9330.				

IV. Signature

 Section 23a of the state construction code act of 1972, 1972 PA 230, MCL 125.1523A, prohibits a person from conspiring to circumvent the licensing requirements of this state relating to persons who are to perform work on a residential building or a residential structure. Violators of section 23a are subjected to civil fines.

 SIGNATURE OF CONTRACTOR (Contractor must hold both Plumbing and Mechanical Licenses for a Water Heater Permit)

 MECHANICAL LICENSE NUMBER
 EXPIRATION DATE

 FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER (or reason for exemption)
 UIA NUMBER (or reason for exemption)

 WORKERS COMPENSATION INSURANCE CARRIER (or reason for exemption)
 VORKERS COMPENSATION INSURANCE CARRIER (or reason for exemption)

 V. Homeowner Affidavit
 I hereby certify the electrical, mechanical and/or plumbing work described on this permit application shall be installed by myself in my own home in which I am

I hereby certify the electrical, mechanical and/or plumbing work described on this permit application shall be installed by myself in my own home in which I am living or about to occupy. All work shall be installed in accordance with all Michigan Codes and shall not be enclosed, covered up, or put into operation until it has been inspected and approved by the State Inspector. I will cooperate with the State Inspector and assume the responsibility to arrange for necessary inspections.

SIGNATURE HOMEOWNER (Homeowner signature indicates compliance with Section V. Homeowner Affidavit)