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WHAT’S HAPPENING 

E.W. Ensroth Decision: 90-Day Issuance Rule 

On May 3, 2011, the Construction Safety and Health Division issued a citation against E.W. 
Ensroth Company (Ensroth) following a fatality and spinoff investigation conducted by a General 
Industry Safety and Health Division compliance officer.  The company timely contested the 
citation to the formal hearing step. The company then filed a motion to dismiss the citation on the 
grounds that MIOSHA issued the citation beyond 90 days from the completion of the inspection 
or investigation. 
 
The Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Act (MIOSH Act) requires MIOSHA to issue a 
citation “within 90 days after the completion of the physical inspection or investigation.”   

 
Ensroth asserted that the inspection or investigation was actually completed on January 24, 
2011, the last date information from the company was provided to the compliance officer.   
Ensroth asserted that based upon the January 24 date, the 90-day timeline for citation issuance 
expired on April 24, 2011, and thus the May 3, 2011, citation was untimely issued. 

 
MIOSHA contended, among other things, that the inspection or investigation was completed on 
the date the compliance officer conducted the closing conference.  Using the closing conference 
date, MIOSHA contended the 90-day timeline to issue citations expired May 9, 2011; therefore, 
the May 3, 2011, citation was timely.  

 
Earlier this month, the judge concluded the citation was timely issued and denied the company’s 
motion to dismiss.  The Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) ruled that closing conferences are 
required by law under Section 29(8) of the MIOSH Act and by the administrative rules which 
govern the inspection and citation issuance processes.  The ALJ found: 

 
…since the closing conference is mandatory it must be considered to be 
part of the inspection.  No inspection is complete without a closing 
conference either happening or being declined. 

 
The judge also agreed with MIOSHA that the usage of the closing conference date to signify the 
completion of the inspection or investigation is the most practical manner to determine when the 
clock for citation issuance begins to run.  “Under the rule proposed by Ensroth, the point at which 
an investigation ends and the clock starts running would be very hard to determine.”  

 
Since the closing conference held with the company on February 8, 2011, marked the end of the 
inspection, the citation was issued within the 90-day deadline. 

For more frequent 

updates on MIOSHA 

activities:  

Like us on   or 

Follow us on . 

  

If this email was 

forwarded to you and 

you would like to 

subscribe, please visit 

our website.  

Register for your FREE 

MIOSHA eNews today!  

  

 

http://www.facebook.com/MichiganOSHA
http://www.twitter.com/MI_OSHA
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-61256_11407_15317-115758--,00.html


  

Tipped Employees 

In addition to Act 390, Michigan Payment of Wages and Fringe Benefits, the Wage and Hour 

Division also enforces Act 154, Michigan Minimum Wage and Overtime law.  This Act applies 

to employers in the State of Michigan that have two or more employees age 16 or older.  

Michigan’s Minimum wage is $7.40 per hour, which began July 1, 2008.  The federal minimum 

wage is $7.25 per hour.  When an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum 

wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two minimum wage rates.   

 

Under Act 154 employers are allowed to pay tipped employees $2.65 per hour as long as the 

tipped employee receives at least $4.75 per hour in tips to bring them up to the Michigan 

minimum wage of $7.40.  A tipped employee is someone who customarily and regularly receives 

tips or gratuities from patrons or customers for services in the course of their employment. 

Tipped income is reported as indicated by the employee’s declaration for tax purposes. In 

addition, it is required that the employer inform the employee of this tip credit allowance before 

the credit is utilized.  Tips received are verified by tip statements signed by the employee or an 

electronic tip report signed by the employee.  The employer must maintain a record of the tips 

received for each pay period, i.e., weekly, bi-weekly, semimonthly, or monthly. 

 

The tip statement is maintained in the employment record.  The combined total of tips received, 

cash wages paid, and employer's required contribution must not be less than the applicable 

minimum hourly rate. 

 

When tips are charged on a credit card the employer must pay the credit card company a 

percentage rate for its collection services.  The employer may pay the employee the amount of 

the tip indicated, less the percentage rate.  The amount actually received by the employee shall 

be used in determining whether the employee was paid at the prescribed minimum wage. 

 

Anyone who believes they are not being paid at least minimum wage of $7.40 per hour has three 

years from the date of the violation to file a claim.  Questions regarding the Michigan Minimum 

Wage law should be directed to the Wage and Hour Division at 517-322-1825 or 313-456-4906.  

 

Michigan Industrial Ventilation Conference  

Industrial ventilation experts from across the United States and Canada will provide instruction 

and lectures on the design, construction, operation, maintenance, and testing of ventilation 

systems. The Conference offers three levels of system design classes (Phase I, Phase II, and 

Nonstandard Air) as well as an Operations & Maintenance class.  There are also two optional 

workshops: Troubleshooting Workshop and Combustible Dust Workshop.   

February 4-7, 2013: Ventilation Conference  

February 8, 2013: Combustible Dust Workshop (3/4 day w/lunch) 

February 8, 2013: Troubleshooting Workshop (3/4 day w/ lunch) 

MEDIA 

September 10, 2012 – Cintas Macomb Facility Receives State Award for Outstanding Safety 
and Health Record 

All MIOSHA Press Releases can be viewed on our website. 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
 

October 17, 2012 – Occupational Health Standards Commission Meeting @ 9:30 am –  
State Secondary Complex, General Office Building, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing –  
Conference Room B 
 
November 7, 2012 – Construction Safety Standards Commission Meeting @ 9:30 am – State 
Secondary Complex, General Office Building, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing – Conference Room B 
 
December 12, 2012 – General Industry Safety and Health Standards Commission Meeting @ 
9:30 am – State Secondary Complex, General Office Building, 7150 Harris Drive, Lansing – 
Conference Room B 
 
 

QUICK LINKS 
Agency/Division Instructions/Memorandums  
Asbestos Program 
Ask MIOSHA 
Consultation Education & Training (CET) Division  
CET Request for Consultative Assistance Services 
CET Training Calendar 
Construction Safety & Health Division (CSHD) 
DVD/Video Library Service 
Employee Safety, Health and Discrimination Complaint Forms 
General Industry Safety & Health Division (GISHD) 
Laboratory & Equipment Services 
Michigan Alliances 
MIOSHA FOIA Request Form 
MIOSHA Homepage 
MIOSHA News 
MIOSHA Publications 
MIOSHA Standards 
MIOSHA Training Institute (MTI) 
MIOSHA Variances 
Strategic Plan & Initiatives 
Telephone, Mailing and Email Addresses 

To sign up for our MIOSHA ListServ Messages, click on the links below: 

MIOSHA Standards Updates 

MIOSHA Training Institute (MTI) Announcements 

 
For more frequent updates on MIOSHA activities, please visit www.michigan.gov/miosha.  

Like us on  Facebook and  Follow us on Twitter! 
 

To unsubscribe from the MIOSHA eNews, click here and follow the instructions to remove 
your email address. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

LARA is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other  
reasonable accommodations are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 
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