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                     Michigan Department of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs  
               MICHIGAN LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION (MLCC) 
                                            P.O. Box 30005 
                                          Lansing, Michigan  48909-7505 

 
                          Michigan Manufacturer of Spirits     

                       Requirements and General Information 
 

 
 
A Manufacturer of Spirits license: 

 License issued by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission to manufacture spirits. 
 May offer free samples to consumers for on-premise tastings from the manufacturing premises. 
 May not sell spirits directly to consumers for either on-premises consumption or for off-premises 

consumption (take-out). 
 May not sell spirits directly to Michigan retail licensees. 
 May sell spirits to the Michigan Liquor Control Commission who acts as the wholesaler of spirits 

in Michigan. 
 The Commission resells spirits through its spirit distribution system. 
 Must contract with an Authorized Distribution Agent (“ADA”) to warehouse and deliver spirits to 

retailers through the Commission’s spirit distribution system. 
 Must obtain a Federal “Distilling, Rectifying, Blending and/or Bottling Spirits” Basic Permit from 

Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (“TTB”). 
 $1,000.00 annual license fee.  License fee may not be prorated for part year licensure and is 

payable at the time of initial application. 
 
How To Apply For A License: 
 
Please refer to the “Manufacturers & Wholesale License Application Process” information sheet for applicable 
forms and required documents. 
 
All forms are available on our website at:  www.michigan.gov/lcc  ---> Commission Forms  --->  Manufacturers 
& Wholesalers. 
 
Licensing Requirements: 
 
Federal Basic Permit: 
Receipt of a Federal “Distilling, Rectifying, Blending and/or Bottling Spirits” Basic Permit, issued by the 
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (“TTB”) is required prior to the issuance of a Manufacturer of 
Spirits license. 

▪Administrative rule R 436.1827 
 

For Federal Basic Permit info contact:   Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau  
                                                      550 Main St.  Room 8002 
                                                      Cincinnati, OH 45202 
                                                      (513) 684-3337  
                            www.ttb.gov 
 
Proof of Financial Responsibility: 
A statutory requirement to provide security for liability of not less than $50,000.  May be in the form of cash, 
unencumbered securities, liquor liability insurance, constant value bond, or membership in a group 
self-insurance pool authorized by law that provides security for liability under Section 436.803 of the Liquor 
Control Code.  Proof of Financial Responsibility Form LC-95 & instructions will be mailed to applicant upon  
Commission approval of the application. 

 MCL 436.1501(1) 
 
Server Training Requirement:   
A licensee authorized to sell or sample alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption is required to have 
present on the licensed premises, at a minimum, supervisory personnel on each shift and during all hours in 
which alcoholic liquor is served who have successfully completed a server training program approved by the 
Commission.  Server Training forms will be mailed upon Commission approval of the license application.   

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
http://www.ttb.gov/
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 ▪  MCL 436.1501(1), Administrative rule R 436.1060 

Food Establishment License 
The Michigan Food Law (Act 92, P.A. of 2000) requires all food establishments, including processing 
operations such as wineries, breweries and distilleries to obtain a food establishment of one type or another.  
Contact the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (“MDARD”) for details on the specific 
food establishment license required for your operation.  The MDARD may be contacted as follows: 
 
 MDARD Central Licensing                                     
 P.O. Box 30746 
 Lansing, MI 48909 
 (517) 241-6666 
             www.michigan.gov/mda 
 
General Information: 
 
Michigan Spirit Distribution System: 
Michigan operates as a “control” state for the sale of spirits.  The Commission acts as the wholesaler for all 
spirit products.  A Vendor of Spirits sells spirits to the Commission.  The Commission then resells the spirits to 
both on and off-premises retail licensees.  Spirit products are warehoused and delivered to retail licensees by 
Authorized Distribution Agents (“ADA”).  An ADA is required to be certified by the Commission and is also 
required to have a contract with each Vendor of Spirits they represent to deliver their particular spirit products. 
Spirit products that are sold to consumers for off-premise consumption by licensed Specially Designated 
Distributors (“SDD”) are sold statewide at uniform prices set by the Commission.  The uniform price set by the 
Commission is determined by the cost of the spirit product to the Commission plus a 65% mark-up, plus a 
combination of specific taxes.  All of the aforementioned components of the system are further described 
below. 
 
Vendor of Spirits: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits must also register with the Commission as a "Vendor of Spirits" in order to sell their 
spirit products to the Michigan Liquor Control Commission.  Michigan is a "control" state, which means the 
Michigan Liquor Control Commission acts as the wholesaler for all spirit products, excluding mixed spirit 
drinks.  The Commission purchases spirits from Vendors of Spirits.  The Vendor of Spirits is responsible for 
registering product lines and filing quotations with the Commission.  The Commission then adds the statutory 
mark-up (currently 65%) and specific taxes (currently totaling 13.85%) and sells the spirits to licensed retailers 
who in turn may sell to consumers.  There is no fee for registering as a Vendor of Spirits.  There is also no 
licensing investigation for registering as a Vendor of Spirits.  Additional information on registering as a Vendor 
of Spirits may be found at the Commission’s Website www.michigan.gov/lcc, then click on “Products”.  
 
Authorized Distribution Agents: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits who wishes to sell its spirits through the Commission’s spirit distribution system as a 
Vendor of Spirits must contract with an Authorized Distribution Agent (“ADA”) to warehouse and distribute their 
spirits. The ADA is required to be certified by the Commission to store and deliver spirits.  A signed contract 
with a Certified ADA is required to be filed prior to the Commission approving any product distribution. 
 
An ADA must have a written contract with each Vendor of Spirits they represent. The contract must specify the 
following: 

 The contract must designate each brand of spirits the ADA is authorized to warehouse and deliver. 
 The contract must specify the ADA’s authorized geographical delivery area.  Statewide distribution 

must be covered by an individual ADA or by contracting with multiple ADA’s. 
 The contract must indicate the responsibilities of both parties. 
 The contract must have a specific beginning and ending date. 
 The contract must specify the amount per case to be paid to the ADA by the Vendor of Spirits.  This 

warehouse/delivery fee must be a minimum of $8.32 per case.  (The MLCC pays the Vendor of 
Spirits $6.97 per case to partially offset this warehousing/delivery fee.) . 

 Both the ADA and the Vendor of Spirits must sign the contract. 
 
An ADA is required to make weekly deliveries to any retail licensee making a one case or more minimum 
order.  An ADA may not charge any split case fees nor may they charge any delivery fee except for emergency 
orders placed by retail licensees in addition to their weekly delivery.  In such cases, an ADA may charge a 
$20.00 delivery fee.  The ADA is responsible for collecting payment from the retail licensee on behalf of the 
Commission and is responsible for submitting various sales documents to the Commission.  An ADA may not 

http://www.michigan.gov/mda
http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
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have any interest, directly or indirectly in any Vendor of Spirits or in any retail licensee.  A Vendor of Spirits 
must make each of its products available statewide to all retail licensees.  While a Vendor of Spirits may utilize 
more than one ADA to cover the state, all document transmittals required by the Commission must be done by 
only one ADA. 
 
Vendor Representative: 
Vendors of Spirits are required to license an individual as a Vendor Representative who will represent them in 
transactions with the Commission.  The Vendor Representative license fee is $50.00 for a three year period.  
Additional information and application for Vendor Representative licenses may be found at the Commission’s 
Website www.michigan.gov/lcc. 
 
DEFINITIONS: 
"Alcoholic liquor" means any spirituous, vinous, malt or fermented liquor, liquids or compounds, whether or 
not  medicated, proprietary, patented, and by whatever name called, containing 2 of 1% or more alcohol by 
volume which are fit for use for beverage purposes.  The commission shall define and classify alcoholic liquor 
according to alcoholic content as belonging to 1 of the varieties hereinafter defined. 
 
"Spirits" means any beverage which contains alcohol obtained by distillation, mixed with potable water or 
other substances, or both, in solution, and includes wine containing an alcoholic content of more than 21% by 
volume, except for sacramental wine and mixed spirit drink. 

 MCL 436.1105(2), MCL 436.1111(13) 
 
Manufacturing & Labeling: 
Spirits must be manufactured, identified and labeled in accordance with federal spirit regulations published in 
Code of Federal Regulations Title 27, part 19 and Title 27, part 5.  Contact the TTB for details. 

 Administrative rules R 436.1825, R 436.1827 
 
Product Registration: 
All spirit products must be registered with the Commission prior to their introduction in Michigan.  All spirits are 
now registered on-line through the Commission’s E-Quote system.  Each Vendor of Spirits is provided with a 
User Name, Password and Database Identifier to access the on-line E-Quote spirit registration system.  For 
more information on Michigan’s on-line spirit product registration system, visit the Liquor Control 
Commission’s Website at www.michigan.gov/lcc or contact the Commission’s Financial Management Division 
at (517) 322-5882. 

 Administrative rule R 436.1829 
 
Mandatory Label Information (Pursuant to TTB Regulations): 

 Brand name. 
 Class, type or, in lieu of, a truthful & adequate statement of composition shall appear on the 

brand label of the product. 
 Name and address of bottler or packer where bottled or packed. 
 Net contents. 
 Government Warning Statement. 
 Alcohol content. 

 
For Federal Labeling information contact: Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau 
                                                         Alcohol Labeling & Formulation 
                                                                   650 Massachusetts Ave., N.W. 
                                                                      Washington, DC 20226  
                                                                        (866) 927-2533 
                                                                         www.ttb.gov 
 
Hospitality Room – Sampling by Consumers: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits may allow persons 21 years of age or older to sample spirits manufactured by them 
at no charge in a hospitality room located at the manufacturing premises. 

 MCL 436.2025 
 
Church and School: 
A new application to sell alcoholic beverages at retail (including manufacturers), or a request to transfer 
location of an existing license, may be denied if the contemplated location is within 500’ of a church or school. 
The Commission may waive the church/school provision if the church or school does not file an objection to 
the proposed license.  If the church or school files an objection, the Commission will hold a hearing before 

http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
http://www.ttb.gov/
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making a decision on the issuance of the license. 
 MCL 436.1503 

Interest In Another License:  
A Manufacturer or Spirits is prohibited from holding any direct or indirect interest in any wholesale or retail 
license.  Examples of prohibited interests include stock ownership; leasing real estate to/from another 
licensee; interlocking officers or directors; and financial interest in any manner, such as a moneylender, in 
another license. 

 MCL 436.1603 
 
Other Manufacturing licenses: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits may obtain other manufacturing licenses including a Small Wine Maker, Micro 
Brewer/Brewer, and Manufacturer of Mixed Spirit Drink which allows the manufacture and sale of wine, beer 
and mixed spirit drinks. 

 MCL 436.1105(10), MCL 436.1113(9), MCL 436.1105 (11), MCL  436.1109(6) 
 
Spirit Consumer Sampling Event license: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits, a Small Distiller, or Vendor of Spirits may obtain a Consumer Sampling Event 
license which allows spirit samplings to be conducted on licensed off-premises accounts that hold a Specially 
Designated Distributor (SDD) license.  There is a one time $70.00 fee for this permit.  Upon issuance of this 
permit notification of sampling events must be received at least 10 days prior to the event and all employees 
or licensed agents conducting the sampling event must have successfully completed a server training program 
approved by the MLCC. 
 ▪  MCL 436.2027(1) 
 
Permits: 
There are additional permits that a Manufacturer of Spirits might want to apply for to be held in conjunction 
with their primary license. 
 
       ▪        Outdoor Service Permit- Permit allows the sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages in outdoor 

patio areas.  Consumption is limited to samplings only for a Manufacturer of Spirits of the alcoholic 
beverages manufactured at their licensed distillery.  The area must be under the control of the 
licensee. 

     Specific Purpose Permit - Permit required to remain open for business after the legal closing hour of 
2:00am, or to be open for business before 7:00am Monday through Saturday, or to open before 12:00 
noon on Sunday, for the sale of food. 

     Direct Connection - Technically this is not a Permit but rather permission from the Commission to 
maintain a direct connection between licensed premises and nonlicensed premises.  This permission 
will be required if your operations include multiple license holders who maintain inside connections to 
either nonlicensed premises or licensed premises under the control of another licensee. 

     Living Quarters Permit - Permit required when living quarters are directly connected to the 
licensed premises. 

     Dance Permit - Permit required for dancing by customers on the licensed premises.  Dance floor 
must be clearly marked, void of tables and chairs when in use and a minimum of 100 square feet in 
dimension.  Permit allows for dancing during the legal hours for the sale of alcoholic liquor only. 

     Entertainment Permit - Permit required for monologues, dialogues, motion pictures, still slides, 
closed circuit television, contests, or other performances for public viewing on the licensed premises.  
An Entertainment Permit does not allow topless entertainment.  Permit allows for entertainment only 
during the legal hours for the sale of alcoholic liquor.  You do not need an Entertainment Permit for 
live bands, the playing of an orchestra, piano, or other types of musical instruments, singing or the 
viewing of any publicly broadcast television of a federally licensed station.  

     Sunday Sales AM – Permit required for the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink from 7 a.m.-12:00 
noon, unless prohibited in the county and local governmental unit where the licensed establishment is 
located.  Consumption is limited to samplings only for a Manufacturer of Spirits.  $160 fee. 

     Sunday Sales PM – Permit required for the sale of spirits and mixed spirit drink from 12 noon-2:00 
a.m. Monday morning, unless prohibited in the county and local governmental unit where the licensed 
establishment is located.   Consumption is limited to samplings only for a Manufacturer of Spirits.  $15 
fee – 15% of the license fee. 
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Salesperson License: 
Any person employed by a Manufacturer of Spirits to sell, deliver, promote, or otherwise assist in the sale of 
Alcoholic liquor in this state is required to hold a Salesperson license issued by the Commission.  Office 
personnel who work exclusively at the manufacturing premises and have no personal contact with consumers 
off the licensed premises do not need a Salesperson license.  Salesperson's must be 18 years of age or older. 
A Salesperson license is $35.00 for a three-year licensing period.  Licensed salespersons are prohibited from 
being employed by a retail licensee on a paid or any other basis. Licensed truck drivers or delivery persons are 
prohibited from consuming alcoholic beverages while on duty. 

 Administrative rule R 436.1853 
 
Aid and Assistance: 
Section 609 of the Code, being MCL 436.1609, and administrative rule R 436.1035 prohibit alcoholic beverage 
manufacturers, suppliers or wholesalers from aiding or assisting any other licensee by giving them anything of 
value.  Further, a licensee is prohibited from accepting aid and assistance from another industry member.  
Alcoholic beverage suppliers are prohibited from giving anything of value to their wholesalers or retailers.  
Likewise, alcoholic beverage wholesalers are prohibited from giving anything of value to their retailers.  This 
principle is the cornerstone of Michigan’s trade practices regulatory structure.  It is designed to provide a level 
playing field for all industry members.  Suppliers and wholesalers are prohibited from giving anything of value 
to retail licensees, including but not limited to: alcoholic beverages, merchandise, furniture, fixtures, 
equipment, uniforms, cash or loans, labor, etc. While wholesalers and suppliers may provide point-of-sale 
materials such as posters, banners, table tents, flyers, etc., to retailers promoting their brands and prices, they 
are prohibited from providing anything that has any secondary use, value or purpose, other than actual 
advertising value to retailers without prior Commission approval.  This same principle prohibits suppliers and 
wholesalers from providing free advertising, incentive programs, free or discounted product, draft system 
installation and maintenance, etc.  Violations in the aid and assistance statute will result in all participants 
(retailer, wholesaler and supplier) being cited before the Commission. 

 MCL 436.1609, Administrative rule R 436.1035 
 
Inspection of Premises and Books & Records: 
A licensee must make the licensed premises available for inspection and search by a Commission 
Investigator or any law enforcement officer empowered to enforce the Commission’s rules and code during 
regular business hours or when the premises is occupied.  The Commission or its duly authorized agent may 
examine the books, records or papers of a licensee. 

 MCL 436.1217, Administrative rule R 436.1645 
 
Samples to Retail Licensee and Staff: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits is allowed to sample their products with on-premises or off-premises retail licensees 
and the retailer’s employees.  Sample tastings may not be offered to consumers at licensed retail accounts.  
All containers used to sample products with retailers must be marked with the word “Sample” in lettering at 
least ½-inch high.  A sample container must be removed from the premises within 24 hours and again may not 
be sampled by consumers. 

 Administrative rules R 436.1001, R 436.1421, R 436.1511, R 436.1513, R 436.1863 
 
Purchasing Drinks For Consumers: 
A licensed Salesperson, for promotional purposes, may purchase one (1) drink for each customer of an on-
premises retail licensee only.  The drink shall be purchased from the on-premises licensee and shall be of a 
brand represented by the salesperson. 

 Administrative Rule R 436.1865 
 
Advertising and Promotions: 
Inside advertising signs must be unilluminated and no more than 3,500 square inches in dimension. 
Advertising that promotes anything other than or in addition to your alcoholic beverage product requires prior 
commission approval.  Point-of-sale advertising may not contain the name of any retail licensee of promote 
anything other than your products.  Advertising on anything having any secondary value, use or purpose other 
than advertising, requires prior Commission approval.   

 Administrative rules R 436.1301 – R 436.1339 
 
Compliance with Laws, Zoning & Ordinances: 
A Manufacturer of Spirits must comply with all state and local building, plumbing, zoning, sanitation, and health 
laws, rules and ordinances. 

• Administrative rules R 436.1003, R 436.1105(3), R 436.1702 
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How To Contact The Michigan Liquor Control Commission: 
Questions relating to a Manufacturer of Spirits license and other non-retail licenses may be directed to: 
 
 Michigan Liquor Control Commission 
 Manufacturers & Wholesalers Section 
 P.O. Box 30005 
 Lansing, MI  48909 
 Toll –Free: 1-866-813-0011 
 Email: MLCCMWapplications@michigan.gov 
 Website: www.michigan.gov/lcc 
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