APPLICATION TO AMEND A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD DUE TO A LEGITIMATION
(This form is to be used to change mother’s and child’s names due to marriage)

PLEASE READ AND FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS MAIL APPLICATION AND PROPER FEE TO:
For additional information: Vital Records Changes
Vital Records Changes P.O. Box 30721
(517) 335-8660 Mon-Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm ET Lansing MI 48909
PERSON REQUESTING NAME CHANGES PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY AND LEGIBLY

Please provide your name and complete mailing address to mail the new record to you and a phone number to contact
you if there are questions regarding this request.

Person Requesting Name Changes:

Mailing Address:

City/State/Zip:

Daytime phone to contact you: Area Code & Number - -

ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible to change names on a Michigan birth record due to a marriage, you must be the person named on the record
(must be at least 18 years old), parent named on the record, legal guardian of the person(s) named on the record or a legal
representative of the person named on the record. Please check the item that applies to you:

9 Person named on the record (must be at least 18 years old) 9 Legal guardian of the person(s) named on the record
9 Parent named on the record O Legal representative of the person named on the record

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

The change of mother’s and child’s names on the birth record requires evidence of a marriage to the father named on the record.

9 A copy of the marriage record is attached. *

* Documentation will be returned to you when the request has been completed.

INFO TO
LOCATE NAME DATE OF BIRTH
MICHIGAN AT First Middle
BIRTH BIRTH:
10 Mo Day Year
Last
GENDER
OF
9 Female BIRTH: Hospital (If known) City County
MOTHER'’'S NAME
BEFORE FIRST MARRIED: First Middle Last




TO CHANGE THE CHILD’'S NAME OR MOTHER’S NAME DUE TO MARRIAGE

If thereis any change in the child’s or mother’s names from that originally recorded on the birth record, please indicate

the name change below.

CHILD’S FULL NAME AS YOU WANT IT TO .
APPEAR ON THE NEW BIRTH RECORD First

Middle Last

MOTHER'’S CURRENT FULL NAME First

Middle Last

A SIGNATURE IS REQUIRED TO PROCESS THE APPLICATION.

BOTH SIGNATURES ARE REQUIRED WHEN REQUESTING A NAME CHANGE FOR THE CHILD.

K Signature of Person
Requesting Name Changes:

Date:

K Other Signature:

Date:

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY - DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA

PAYMENT - The fee for amending mother’s and child’s
names on a Michigan birth record due to a marriage is
$26.00 and includes one copy of the record with the
changes made. Additional copies of the new record are
available for $5.00 each when ordered at the same time.
Payment must be made by check or money order and
made payable to the “ State of Michigan.”

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly make
false application to change or amend a Michigan birth record ma
be fined not more than $1,000 and/or imprisoned not more thal
one (1) year. MCL 333.2894(1)(b) and (c).

o< n

Application Fee $26.00 $26.00
(Non-Refundable)
Fee includes one (1)
certified copy of the

DCH-0910 Rev. 03/01/2002 By Authority of MCL 333.2871(1) and 333.2891(9)(a)

record
$5.00 $
___ Additional Each
Certified Copies
TOTAL ENCLOSED: $




