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Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards

CCW Civilian Pistol Safety Training Course
INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

P.A. 381, 2000

Sec. 5j. 1(c) The instructor of the course is certified by this state or a national organization to teach the 8-hour
pistol safety training course described in this section.

The Michigan Commission On Law Enforcement Standards will certify instructors to teach the 8-hour pistol safety training
course if they meet all of the following requirements:

The individual:

1. shall have attended a firearm instructor training course registered with MCOLES, or a firearm instructor training
course that was nationally or state recognized, at least 40 hours in length, and a

2. certificate of successful completion was received,;

3. has demonstrated the ability to present firearm training curriculum;

4. shall be a current MCOLES certified law enforcement officer or a former MCOLES certified law enforcement
officer who was not separated in violation of P.A. 203 of 1998, as amended, 28.609b; or is a current/former law
enforcement officer from another state who is/was recognized by the state Post as a certified law enforcement
officer, or is a current/former federal law enforcement officer, or a current/former member of the U.S. Armed forces;

5. shall not have been terminated, allowed to resign in lieu of termination, or asked to leave employment with any state
or federal law enforcement agency, or dishonorably discharged from the military;

6. shall not have been convicted of a felony or any offense listed in P.A. 381, 2000 that would make him/her ineligible
to obtain a CCP license;

7. must be employed, or been employed, on a full time or part time basis, by a MCOLES recognized Michigan law
enforcement agency, or a MCOLES approved basic police training location;

8. must be designated as a law enforcement agency or basic training location firearm instructor;

9. keeps him/herself current on firearm related laws, technology, and instructional issues through professional

development (e.g., training certificates); and submits a lesson plan that is based upon the MCOLES training
objectives and the law.

The following procedure shall be used to apply for certification to teach the 8-hour pistol safety training course:

1.

2.

A MCOLES “Instructor Certification” application shall be completed and submitted to the Career Development
Section, 106 W. Allegan Suite 600, Lansing, MI, 48933.

A letter shall be submitted with the application, signed by the chief administrative officer of the law enforcement
agency or the Director of the basic police training location that employs the applicant. This letter shall include a
statement that:

identifies the individual by name and social security number;

indicates the individual is an employee of the agency or training location;

he/she is a firearm instructor for that organization;

he/she has demonstrated the ability to present firearm training curriculum; and

requests MCOLES certification that allows the individual to teach the 8 hour pistol safety training course.
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Upon receipt of the application, Commission staff will review the documentation to verify compliance with the
requirements of P.A. 381 and the MCOLES.

Providing all MCOLES and P.A. 381 requirements have been met, a certificate and certification number will be
issued to the applicant which states that the applicant is certified to teach the 8-hour pistol safety training course.
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