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MI-1040CR-9 T | |

MICHIGAN 1996 Senior Citizen g

Prescription Drug Credit Claim

You may apply for this credit only if you or your spouse is age 65 or older.
Issued under P.A. 281 of 1967. Filing is voluntary.

» 1. | Your First Name, Middle Initial and Last Name » 2| Your Social Security Number
If a Joint Return, Spouse's First Name, Middle Initial and Last Name » 3. | Spouse's Social Security Number
Home Address (No., Street, P.O. Box or Rural Route) » 4.| AGE. Check the box if
you or your spouse was Yoy Spouse
City State ZIP Code age 65orolderasof »a[ | »b.[ |
December 31, 1996.

Limitations To be eligible for this credit, you must be age 65 or older and your household
income must be less than $11,610 for single persons or $15,540 for married people.
If you or your spouse lived in a licensed health care facility, see instructions on back.

»5. Licensed Health Care Facility Residents (see instructions for definition):
Check the box if you or your spouse lived in a licensed health care facility You  Spouse
for 6 consecutive months in 1996 »a[] »b[]

1996 Household Income (see instructions)
6. Enter your household income on this line.
This amount is on your 1996 MI-1040CR-7 (line 30), 1996 MI-1040CR
(line 30) or 1996 MI-1040CR-2 (line 29) > 6. .00

Your Credit Amount

7. How much did you spend for your prescription drugs in 19967
Include your drug costs only if you are age 65 or older and your

spouse's costs only if your spouse is age 65 or older > 7. .00
8. How much of line 7 was paid by or reimbursed to you by insurance? .. » 8. .00
9. Subtract line 8 from line 7 9. .00
10. Multiply your household income (line 6) by 5% (.05) 10. .00
11. Your Credit. Subtract line 10 from line 9 »11. .00

(Maximum $600 for single persons, $1,200 for married people both age 65 or older.)
The amount of your credit may be reduced by state law.

| declare, under penalty of perjury, that the information in this claim and | declare, under penalty of perjury, that this claim is based on
attachments is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. all information of which | have knowledge.
|:|I authorize Treasury to discuss my claim Do not discuss .
and attachments with my preparer. with my preparer. Preparer's Signature, Address, Phone and ID No.
Your Signature Date
Spouse's Signature Date

To be eligible you must file this claim by June 2, 1997. Mail To: Michigan Department of Treasury
Claims will be paid after August 1, 1997. Lansing, M| 48956



HOW TO FILE YOUR PRESCR

Michigan’s prescription drug credit program was created

to help low income senior citizens pay for drugs prescril
for them by their doctor. To receive a credit, you must &
a Michigan resident, you must have had your 65th birth

on or before December 31, 1996, and you must meet the

income requirements on the form.

Special instructions for married people
* You must claim this credit jointly. Include income froi
both spouses in household income on line 6.

* If one of you is under age 65, you cannot claim a cre
for that person’s prescription drugs, and your maximu
credit is $600. For example: You are age 67 and pai
$400 for your prescription drugs in 1996. Your spous
is 64 and paid $300 for prescription drugs. Enter $4Q
on line 7.

Special instructions for part-year residents

and claims for deceased taxpayers
A part-year resident may claim a credit for the prescripti
drug costs paid while a Michigan resident. Include in yo
household income (line 6) only the income received whi
you were a Michigan resident. Annualize your househol
income to make sure you qualify.

The estate of a qualified taxpayer who died in 1996 (or
1997 before filing a 1996 claim) may be entitled to a
credit. If the taxpayer doemt have a surviving spouse,
annualize income to make sure he or she qualifies.

To annualize income:divide 366 by the number of days
the claimant was a Michigan resident in 1996; then
multiply the answer by the claimant's income. If the
annualized income is more than $11,610 (for single filen
or more than $15,540 (for married filers), miat file this
form. If the annualized income is less than these limits,
figure the credit using thectual household income on

line 6.

Licensed health care facility residents
If you lived in a licensed health care facility at least six
consecutive months in 1996, you cannot claim this cred
A licensed health care facility is a nursing home, a hosp
long-term care unit, a county medical care facility or a
mental health facility. Check the box on linéf $his
applies to you.

A married filer whose spouse is not eligible for this cred
because he or she lived in a licensed health care facility
may still claim a credit (maximum $600). You must still

include income from both spouses in household income.

Subsidized senior citizen apartments, adult foster care
homes and licensed homes for the aged amet licensed
health care facilities. If you live in any of these, you
may apply for a credit.

IPTION DRUG CREDIT CLAIM

Household income

)e?ou probably completed a schedule of household income
;ewith your property tax credit claim or your home heating
®redit claim. If you did, enter your total household income
on line 6. If you did not, request one of these forms (see
below); complete the household income schedule portion
of the home heating credit claim (MI-1040CR-7, lines 13 -
m 30), property tax credit claim (MI-1040CR, lines 13 - 30),
or property tax credit claim for veterans and blind people
§it(MI-1040CR-2, lines 12 - 29); and enter your household
mincome online 6 of this form.

i Line-by-line instructions
€ Lines not listed are explained on the form.

0
Line 4: To file this form, you or your spouse must have
been age 65 or older in 1996.

Line 7: This includes the medications your doctor
Igrescribed for you, and insulin, syringes and needles. It
O'Yoesnot include over-the-counter medicines like aspirin

Uland cough syrup.
le, . : . . .
d Line 8: Frequently insurance companies or Medicare will

reimburse you for a portion of your prescription costs.
You must subtract the portion they pay directly to you
from the amount you paid.

Line 11: If line 9 is greater than line 10, you qualify for a
credit. Enter the difference between line 9 and line 10 on
line 11. It cannot be more than $600 ($1,200 for married
couples filing jointly).

Filing instructions

s)You may file this claim with your income tax return, home
heating credit or property tax credit claim if you are filing
any of these Do not staple it to your return; fold it and
leave it loose in the envelopé&tate law prevents Treasury
from processing claims filed after June 2, 19B¢asury

will not issue any prescription drug credit refunds until
after August 1, 1997.

State law limits the total amount for all prescription drug
L. credits to $20 million. If the total credits claimed is more
it8han $20 million, all credits will be reduced proportionally.

Because of this, the amount of your actual credit may be

less than what you claimed.

—

Treasury field offices no longer prepare credit claims. If
you need additional help, call 1-800-487-7000.
Deaf, hearing or speech impaired persons
call 517-373-9419 (TDD) or the Michigan Relay Center at
1-800-649-3777.
Mail your claim to:

Michigan Department of Treasury

Lansing, Ml 48956






