
2000 MICHIGAN
College Tuition and Fees Credit
Issued under P.A. 7 of 1995. Filing is voluntary.

Limitations To be eligible to claim the credit you must be a permanent
Michigan resident and your adjusted gross income must be
$200,000 or less.

Credit Amount (Complete all columns and round all amounts to the nearest dollar.)

Col. A
Student Name

Col. B
Student Social Security Number

Col. C
Name of Michigan College

or University Attended

Col. D
College or
University

Code Number

Col. E
Amount of

Undergraduate
Tuition and
Fees Paid

Col. F
Multiply Each

Amount in
Col. E by
8% (.08)

Col. G
Credit Amount

(Amount in Col. F
or $375 Maximum

Per Student)

a

b

c

d

Total Credit Amounte 4. $

4.

Carry this amount to your MI-1040, line 25.
(Cannot exceed $375 per  student.) .00

Adjusted gross income from your MI-1040, line 10      3. .003.

5. Is someone else contributing to undergraduate tuition and fees for the student(s)
listed above? If  "yes," enter the requested information on line 6. YES NO

I authorize Treasury to discuss my claim
and attachments with my preparer.

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that the information in this claim
and attachments is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that this claim is
based on all information of which I have knowledge.

Filer's Signature

Spouse's Signature

Date

Date

Preparer's Name, Address, PTIN and/or FEIN.Do not discuss my claim
with my preparer.

5.

Michigan Department of Treasury, 2871 (Rev. 10/00)
Formerly C-4382

Schedule CT

Column A
Student Identification
From Line 4 Above

a

b

c

d

Column B
Name and Address of Contributor

6. Enter the information below if someone else is contributing to undergraduate tuition and fees for the
student(s) listed on line 4. Continue using the same "a" through "d" references.

To claim this credit, you must file an original form, a copy of this form,
or a Treasury-approved substitute form.

Attachment Sequence No. 07

www.treasury.state.mi.us

Attach to form MI-1040.
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�  1.  Filer's First Name, Middle Initial and Last Name �  2.  Filer's Social Security Number



MICHIGAN COLLEGE TUITION AND FEES CREDIT
GENERAL INFORMATION

A nonrefundable Michigan income tax credit for
college tuition and uniformly-required fees paid on
behalf of a student is available for 2000.
Uniformly-required fees are those fees which are
paid by all students attending the named college
or university.

To claim this credit, a taxpayer must be a
permanent resident of Michigan at the time the
tuition and fees were paid, have adjusted gross
income of $200,000 or less, and file a Michigan
Income Tax Return (form MI-1040).

The student must attend a Michigan institution of
higher education which certifies that tuition will not
increase in the ensuing academic year by more
than the preceding year's rate of inflation. See the
list below. If your school is not listed, you may not
claim the credit.

The amount of the credit is limited to 8 percent of
tuition and fees paid per student. The credit
cannot exceed $375 for each student in each tax
year and can only be taken for four years per
student.

Students attending an institution providing
programs solely for sectarian instruction or
religious worship are not eligible for the credit.

When computing the credit remember:

•  The student must be working on an
undergraduate degree or certificate.

•  Use the amount of tuition and fees actually
paid by the claimant during the tax year. Tuition
and fees paid by student loan funds are eligible
for the credit. Do not include the amount
covered by MET contracts, scholarships,
grants, etc.

•  The cost of books, room and board,
transportation, etc. are not considered tuition
and fees paid and therefore cannot be used in
the computation.

•  The credit cannot exceed $375 per student,
even if two or more individuals have
contributed to one student's education.

•  Amounts paid into (or under) a MET contract
do not qualify as tuition paid.

Treasury may request proof of tuition and fees
paid. Failure to attach your Schedule CT to
your MI-1040 can delay processing of your
return.

2000 MICHIGAN COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY CODE LIST
Approved colleges and universities are listed alphabetically with code numbers to the left of the name.

Ave Maria College (Ypsilanti)
Bay Mills Community College
Delta College
Glen Oaks Community College
Great Lakes Christian College
Henry Ford Community College
Kellogg Community College
Kendall College of Art & Design
Kirtland Community College
Lake Superior State University
Lansing Community College

0221
0505
0508
0512
0300
0524
0540
0335
0544
0020
0552

0556
0568
0572
0584
0592
0612
0385
0624
0616
0632
0636

Macomb Community College
Mid-Michigan Community College
Monroe County Community College
Muskegon Community College
Northwestern Michigan College
Oakland Community College
Olivet College
St. Clair County Community College
Schoolcraft College
Washtenaw Community College
Wayne County Community College


